Skip to content

In the name of sports…..

May 24, 2011

Oh, I wanted to write this post soon after watching the finals of the ICC World Cup. But these days, it’s just not possible to blog whenever I wish to. Sigh !

What is with me and sports? I really don’t have an answer. Is it because I don’t understand it just like the rest of you or is it because I am simply not interested. Many of my friends have asked me this question. And you should see the expression on their faces when I tell them that I hate sports and I don’t even follow cricket; its priceless.

Honestly, I find cricket to be very boring and watching that on TV is laborious. There have been days when I was forced to watch cricket and all that I cared for was the frequent commercial ads. Any which ways, it’s always been more ads on TV and very less of the game 😀 😀 😀 And oh, those test matches, they are like black and white parallel cinema for me – ultra boring.

But there was a time when even I used to play cricket. Ok, how many of you fainted? Yeah, it’s true and cricket has been the only sport for which I had been associated with on a frequent basis. I have played badminton a few times with my cousins, which, I believe, is very common among Indian families during a get together. And also football, twice or thrice during school days, but I was always asked to be the goalie because of my size back then. Our team was great, I guess, for I don’t remember doing anything near the goal post other than humming and kicking stones out of my way. Hmmpphh!

My interest has always been in music and movies and during childhood, I was so damn busy with my sticker collection and video games. My bro was just the opposite (well, he still is) and went out to play cricket with his friends every weekend. When my parents started getting concerned about my increasing weight, they compelled my brother to take me with him whenever he went out to play. My brother used to curse me each time he had to do that because he knew very well about my cricket skills; I still can’t catch a ball properly to save my life!

What my parents didn’t realize was that all his friends are of his age group, about four years elder to me, and they were pretty huge in size, vertically. I could get easily hurt if I was the batsman and they, for sure, were not going to let me handle the ball. My brother, probably, knew this and so, asked me to stay as far as possible in the field. While they played, I simply stood in the sand either looking at the skies, or singing or even talking to myself. According to a small kid’s brain, I am in my brother’s team and I am playing cricket; I am a fielder, you see! The ball rarely reached my corner and instead of throwing it to ‘my team’, I used to run towards them like an obedient child, place it in their hands and get back to my position!!! Eventually, I got bored; there weren’t enough avenues in the ground to display my ‘creative skills’ and I got fed up talking and listening to myself. I remember asking my mom a couple of times not to send me with my brother, but she turned a deaf ear towards all my requests. Poor woman, she wanted me to have some kind of physical activity!

In a few days, one of my brother’s friends brought his brother along with him. This chap was younger than me by a year or so and his position in the team was just like mine; a useless fielder at some corner. For a change, the like poles didn’t repel. Both of us clicked instantly and decided to stay away from the boring ‘big boys’ game. We sat together in the sand and started making use of our ‘creative skills’; you know, like sand castles and stuffs, and also performed role plays from the movies that released back then. This continued for a while and I was beginning to enjoy my weekends.

And, now comes the twist in the tale. My new found friend somehow developed his cricket skills, while I chose to remain the same. He got promoted and started actually playing with the ‘big boys’; yeah, traitor !!! and I got stuck to my corner; once again, all alone. One such day, I saw this chap facing a ball and running along with his brother in the pitch. That’s when I realized the embarrassment I must have caused to my brother all those days. Neither did I show an interest nor did I bother to learn the game. The other reason why I didn’t want to play was because I always used to feel inferior with my abnormal fat accumulation. I was teased and bullied in my class for being fat and I was afraid of being treated similarly by my brother’s friends. I put my little foot down and told my mom that I won’t go to play anymore. Moreover, my brother and his friends switched from tennis ball to cork ball and that came as a blessing in disguise. My parents had to find new methods of weight reduction like jogging and karate and I bid farewell to cricket, in spite of my brother trying to hone my cricket skills through indoor cricket.

That didn’t give you guys a picture of me as a player, did it? Well, it was during 1995-1996, after my brother left to India for higher studies, that I actually played the game. We had shifted to another city by then and the only friends I had initially were a few Pakistani guys of my age. I used to cycle like crazy during those days as part of my weight reduction strategy and that’s how I befriended them. These guys played cricket every evening outside our apartment and one evening, the leader of that group, asked me if I was interested in joining them. I told them honestly about how I played, but to my surprise, they were ok with it and gave me free coaching. I guess, they didn’t understand the ‘hindi’ I spoke 😀 😀 I am not kidding folks, it is from them I learnt how to hold the bat, how to hold my fingers while bowling, and how to position my palms while catching a ball. They first tried ‘understanding’ my batting skills and found out that I really suck in it. Apparently, I had issues with my calculations and could face only 5 out of 10 balls. I was taught bowling next and that’s where I showed some potential. They tried teaching me the techniques of fielding, but since I was beyond repair, they had to give up. I was advised to work on my bowling and that’s exactly what I did. In due course, I became a part of their team and was one of their main bowlers, delivering even (only out of fluke) spins and googlys. Apart from playing a few matches within the team, I was also given an opportunity to be a part of an important match played against another team, more like a inter-apartment match. Oh, we lost, but I simply can’t forget that day; I took a wicket and being the last batsman, I also managed to take a few runs. Even though the results weren’t favourable for our team, I was more than happy for being part of a cricket match, for being recognized, and for not letting down the team. That was the last match I played with those guys; I was in my 10th and had to concentrate on my board exams. Mr. Shehzaad and Mr. Tariq – wherever you guys are, thanks a lot for all those coaching and also for not giving up on me!

After my 10th, we relocated to India and I realized that my brother had passed on his cricket ‘legacy’ to all the cousins there. Since I was the eldest among the kids (after my brother, of course, and a cousin who used to visit us only during study holidays), I was looked upon as a hero and a great cricketer who could also provide background scores during the game 😀 😀 😀 But guess what, whenever my brother made a visit during his holidays, I would be reduced to a zero who was only capable of bowling. The moment he leaves, I am their hero, again! 😀 😀 😀

I also got an opportunity once to play a match in my college. The team had a shortage of one player and they asked me if I could join. I had an injury on my forehead that day and tried my best to avoid using that as a reason. But since my best friends were a part of the team, I couldn’t handle their pressure. I went last for batting, as usual, and got out without taking even a single run. Teeeeheee. When it was time for our team to bowl, I wasn’t confident enough and to avoid giving any further embarrassment to my friends, I decided to take advantage of my forehead injury. I told the team that I have a bad headache and that I would stay back for fielding. But during the match, a ball was hit high up in the air that came towards me. Idiots; they just can’t let me live in peace or what! I could listen to everybody screaming “Vimal, vimal, catch the ball, cattttccchhh the…..”. I remembered my Cricket Gurus words while the ball was dropping down……brought my arms closer….opened my palms…focused my eyes on the ball and concentrated on my fingers……fixed my position….and…..

I couldn’t believe my luck; I caught the ball!!! That was the first time I ever caught a ball during a crucial moment. I stood there for sometime not knowing what to do. The team came towards me and expressed their excitement. I was in a trance state; so much so that, I still don’t remember if we won or lost the match 😀 😀 😀 😀

During my graduation days, my maternal uncle and his family had a habit of visiting us every summer, especially when I was in my study holidays. My brother worked in Bangalore back then and whenever he came down to see my uncle, both of them made sure that they ‘played some good cricket’ ! They used to invite me for the game which I guess was only because they wanted a ball boy and, to be honest, I sucked at that too. But even if it was otherwise, I wasn’t interested. I always used ‘exams’ as a reason to stay away from the game, the embarrassment and their happiness. But thanks to my loving sister, there were times when I couldn’t escape; she would squeeze out whatever self esteem I had by saying that our dog could play better cricket than me, and that used to wake up the lion inside me! That ‘waking up’ never made any difference to the way I played though 😀 😀 😀

We played inside the compound of our home, on a concrete floor and since it was on the road side, people could easily watch us play. Shorts and Bermudas weren’t popular in our place back then and there were these girls who giggled each time they passed by our home. For them, watching three grown-up men running around in shorts, was a rare sight. No, we didn’t bother to wear long pants; my uncle somehow seemed to enjoy all those giggles ! These army men, I tell you !

Then came the summer of 2002, when my roomie and I surprised my brother by visiting him at Bangalore on a weekend. I really don’t know why he did it, but my bro invited us for a game of cricket along with his roomies. He took us to a huge crowded ground and it took us some time to get a pitch. When it was my turn to bat, as usual, I got out, facing a few balls and without taking runs 😀 😀 😀 I took my oldddd strategy of going far when it came to fielding. After a few overs, quite surprisingly, my brother called me for bowling. There was this guy who had been batting for long and nobody could get him out. Yeah, like those predictable sports movies, it took an underdog like me to end his batting reign. I had my cricket gurus in mind……I positioned myself in the field….my brother was looking at me…. I don’t remember where my roomie was, but that’s not important here anyway…..strategically placed my fingers on the ball with the intention of delivering a spin….ran…. and….. voila….I ‘middle stumped’ him….and that too in my first ball!  I remember everybody congratulating me, but I went to that trance mode once again and I don’t remember if we won or lost that day. This proud moment, with my brother beside me, is etched in my memory and so, I decided to never be a part of serious cricket again.

My next adventure with cricket was not in an open field or at home, but inside my previous office. That’s right; that same old office which knew the meaning of ‘fun at work’. The free area between the cubicles was our pitch, a spare chair became our wicket and a sponge ball was used as our ball. However, we managed to get a real cricket bat     Once again, I flaunted my infamous fielding skills and was known only for my background music before batting or bowling. But this time, my main intention of playing was only to escape from work   We played for almost 3 months until our office moved to another location. The new place was good, but with the pillars and the glass walled cabins, it was not cricket friendly.

After a year long search, we finally discovered our perfect pitch; right next to the COO’s glass cabin 😛 We waited for the biggies in our office to leave, to start the match. There were more players this time because of the increase in the team size and things started getting serious. But it was different this time; small time arguments and yelling arose during the game because of one rotten apple who took all these matches to his heart. The fun element was lost and the game which started as a stress buster started giving more stress than work. I gradually moved out of the game and utilized this time for blogging while the rest of them kept shouting and arguing in the background! How else do you think I was so regular in all your blogs, eh? 😛 😛

And, that office cricket was the last thing I ever played in the name of sports. But then, to be honest, not many opportunities came my way for me to reject. Again, what is with me and sports? I really don’t know; unfortunately, I cannot blame this on my genes like how I usually do. My father hates cricket to the core, but he loves football. My bro was a cricket fan once upon a time, but these days, like my dad, he is more of a football guy and is an ardent follower of the European club football. My mom, on the other hand, used to watch whenever India played and it was with her that I watched the most number of matches, especially the ‘96 World Cup. Now that my dad is retired and is around all the time, I believe, she has no access to cricket   And guess what, my grannie (mom’s mother), till about a few years ago, was also following the game and even knew the bio-data of all the players!!! She would discuss with me about the players and I would shy away from the topic because of my ‘knowledge’ in it

But I am happy this way and I have zero regrets for being sports ignorant. If I was into sports, I wouldn’t have had enough time for music; I would’ve bunked college and office to watch important matches; I wouldn’t have let anybody else take control of the TV remote at home; I would’ve been busy staring at the TV in the restaurant during world cup, instead of having food, I wouldn’t have spared even in the restroom to initiate sports discussions; and for crying out loud, I would’ve ended up being just another sports loving guy!

By the way, is ‘Hide and Seek’ recognized as a sport? No ? Hmmm…..

60 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 7:25 am

    me first!! 😀

    • May 24, 2011 7:28 am

      So this long a post to tell us that you don’t dig sports!!! 🙄

      • May 24, 2011 7:28 am

        😛 😛 😛

      • May 24, 2011 12:19 pm

        Precisely what I asked too Pix!! Wish there was a ‘like’ button for your comment 🙂

        • May 24, 2011 9:10 pm

          There were no restrictions here on the number of words ! and as usual, I write whatever I like ! 😀

          • May 25, 2011 2:32 pm

            *yawn* I agree 😉
            And I made the mistake of reading the long post even after reading ur inference Pix 😛 Sigh!

            • May 26, 2011 7:01 am

              is it because you didnt understand pesky’s language ? 😛 😛

  2. May 24, 2011 9:04 am

    I ll back to comment…. with loads actually… !!! wait… gotta rush to work for the moment !!!! 😛

  3. May 24, 2011 9:22 am

    I think you are the first individual to confess that you love the commercials more than the cricket! 🙂

    Sigh, I remember the innumerable lessons I had to ‘endure’ at the hands of my son on ‘how to catch the ball’! Really I never could get the hang of it and he used to say, ‘Ammmaaaaa!! Angane alla! Jnan paranju thannille!” 😛 Yeah, paranju thannu, but then it is my natural instinct to bring both palms together at the last minute to catch the ball 😛

    • May 24, 2011 9:16 pm

      lol, not the regular shampoo and fairness cream ads; those cola wars, or even those fevicol ads are better than the game, anytime 😀

      you tried learning cricket in this ‘old age’ ?? 😛 😛 😛 nannaayi, ellonnum odiyaathey ! 😛 😛

      • May 25, 2011 7:54 pm

        Pinne, pandu pandoru kalathu, I was young. That’s when I played cricket with my kids. Now all I play is scrabble. Vayassayille kutti! 😀 😀

  4. May 24, 2011 9:31 am

    I find cricket way too drab and uninteresting to watch! For me, it all football! 🙂

    Must say that you narration took me back in time, back to those wonderful years of childhood, often sought to be revisited!

    But wait, now that I’ve said something nice about the way you write, I’ve got to do otherwise, isn’t it 😀

    To you question, as to whether ‘Hide and Seek’ recognized as a sport. don’t you think in your case it should be SPIDE & seek? 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Boy, this has made my day 😀

    • May 24, 2011 9:19 pm

      so, you too are one of those football wannabes, eh ? 😛 😛 But yes, anytime football over cricket. It atleast gets over in 90 mins 😀 😀 😀

      not so fond of my childhood Rakesh; had a tough time, really 😉

      Oh no, why do you to drag Spidey into everything ! Wait till I lay my hands on that underwear superhero of yours ! Grrrr…

      • May 25, 2011 11:10 am

        OMG, now you want to lay your hands on Superman’s underwear. That speaks volumes of what you really want :-O

  5. Count Bratula permalink
    May 24, 2011 9:43 am

    Traitors!! You guys never even took me to the field !! 😦

    • May 24, 2011 9:22 pm

      dude, you were unmanageable as a kid ! seriously ! 😛

      • kanagu permalink
        May 25, 2011 12:35 am

        LOL!!!!! 😆 😆

        I thought the other small guy who learned cricket was my guru..

        • May 25, 2011 2:34 pm

          LOL, when I started reading, I thot his first companion ws actually u Brattu 😛

  6. May 24, 2011 10:26 am

    Hide and Seek – It’s our national sport buddy. Hide the money and run in search for it 🙂
    We must enjoy what we do isn’t it? If you are able to find life without having to play some sport then chill 😀

    • May 24, 2011 9:39 pm

      lol @ national sport ! 😀 😀 and we pay the price for their ‘funny’ games 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, as I said, no regrets 😛

  7. May 24, 2011 11:28 am

    Has anyone ever told you that “Teeeeheee” is so very feminine? Quit saying it! But may be you can use it, if u can apply lipstick as a kid u shud be allowed doing this also 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : Whoever said Teehee is feminine ??? It means giggle, thats all, and dont bring sexism in giggles ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    So, what’s the big deal in not enjoying sports? Different people different choices!! But may be u shud have played a little bit because then u wouldn’t have been such a lazy bum as u r now 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : Now who said its a big deal ! I didnt write anywhere that I missed being a sports enthusiast, did I ? 😛 😛 😛 and look whos calling me lazy bum ! turn your back to the mirror in your home and you will know what, I mean, who it is ! 😀 😀 😀

    & my sympathies are with you; bad that u were teased but that is also good in a way, it has at least prepared you for the verbal onslaught that u have to undergo 😀 😀

    Vim : verbal onslaught ??? did you mean yours ??? now, dont make me laugh ! 😛

    Vaise I feel that u don’t have an aptitude for sports (not that it is bad but u know…..) and that is why u have cooked up so many excuses 😀 😀 😀 but all said & done each to its own u like different things in life so be it. WHy do u need to defend your choice? Chilll!!! Hum to vaise bhi u ki taang kheechenge 😀 bole to in all conditions we will pull ur legs 😀

    Vim : shhhh….you are not supposed to reveal secrets here ! 😀 Grrrr….when did I ever defend my choice ??? yeah, you all pull my legs, but that didnt make me any taller 😦

    Hide n Seek?? hahahahaha!!!! My fav sport was house-house 😛

    Vim : House-house ! No girlie games for me ! 😀

    • May 24, 2011 12:04 pm

      Mine too, Smita…ghar-ghar sport was my favorite too! And now I play that with namnam whenever she lets me come close to her little kadhai, saucepans, spoons, tea-cups, chakla-belan, etc. Its THE best sport! 😀

  8. May 24, 2011 12:18 pm

    So this looooong post was to tell us your disconnect with cricket?? 🙄 🙄

    I dont follow cricket that much,except when India plays a ODI, mid you. I’d describe the a test match exactly like how you did- an ultra boring, black and white parallel cinema 😀

    But the world cup match is something that will forever be etched in my mind! Esp that 6 from Dhoni! Gives me goosebumps still!

    • May 24, 2011 9:49 pm

      No, not at all ! Read the post, you will know 😀 😀 😀

      yeah, one helluva match that was ! Donno if I would ever watch a match again 😛

  9. Vinayan.S permalink
    May 24, 2011 12:29 pm

    hahaha…loved the honest-to-god post….esp the school day football –

    “And also football, twice or thrice during school days, but I was always asked to be the goalie because of my size back then. Our team was great, I guess, for I don’t remember doing anything near the goal post other than humming and kicking stones out of my way. Hmmpphh!”
    – da…we used to play football almost daily during school lunch time – u goalie and me defender…rem v used to have our own penalty shootouts with pepsi cans (thanks to the forwards in our team who made sure the ball rarely came over to our goal post)….d football days at NIMS was fun…

    Vim : No da baniyaa, it wasnt me ! Lunch time, I never played because I was so busy standing at the canteen counter ! 😀 😀 😀 and I was too scared to play with the pepsi cans ! 😀 😀

    werent u part of the “maarampatti” games?

    Vim : you guys never played that as a game ! all the days revenge was taken on some poor bakra in the name of maarampatti; I wasnt a part ! 😀

    and u mustve forgotten….but u were really active in one sport…the WWF….u were a pro wrestler…with ur bro…sharpshooter, pile driver,clothesline…..at one time…u were the replica of Shawn ‘Heart Break Kid” Michaels….

    Vim : hehehe. didnt forget WWF at all ! But if I had mentioned WWF here, the discussions would ve gone in a different way ! Moreover, they cannot be classified under sports; its entertainment 😀 😀 😀

    hehe…lol…so wat sports are you into now…knowing you…you would still take one sport seriously – running….running into trouble and then running away from ppl out to kill u!

    Vim : LOL, Take a bow for that ! 😀

    Keep the spirits high and the let the games begin….err…continue.
    ;p

    Vim : errr….what do you mean ? 😛 C’maaaaaan ????

    • Vinayan permalink
      May 25, 2011 9:41 am

      da…i rem u being goalie and me being the defender….yeah…i agree u spent most of ur time in queue at the canteen to eat the long bread sandwich….and pepsi….heheh 🙂

      yeah …marampatti was never played as a game…it was similar to playing counterstrike with tennis balls….i have a couple of stitches out of that…5 to be exact…hehee….i still rem surender sir shouting at me while i was leaving school with a bloody nose to go to the hospital to stitch up…

      hmmm WWF was entertainment….i loved to see ur bro bash u up…i actually got the chance to see that just once….kaash!

      so wats the number of ppl out to kill u like?10? 50? nah…probably even more…but i guess Laxmi wud be the first on the list eh?hows she?

      so like i said before…nadakkatte nadakkatte…let it walk, let it walk

      • May 26, 2011 7:14 am

        LOL, yeah, you were the defender alrite ! and dont make fun of that sandwich; I havnt had such good sandwich ever ! 5 years back when I went back to school, I asked them if they still have it ! Now, its all processed food ! 😦

        but I used to love watching you guys getting hit ! enne ningal oru paadu vilichu, njaan anangiyilla ! 😀 😀 😀

        yeah, he beat me up so many times. I shouldve used my weight as a strategy to win; you know, like jumping and sitting on him ! 😀 😀 😀

        eda eda eda…ninte kalyaanam kazhiyatte….enikkonnu attahasikkanam !!! 😛

        • Vinayan.S permalink
          May 26, 2011 12:16 pm

          I completely agree…that sandwich was one of the best ever…i remember majeed-kka even stocking the sandwich for us as the demand was high for it…i’ve never been to NIMS after 96…wanna go there once…

          wish u had joined us playin marampatti …kaash…i wud’ve got lesser hits with u there…heheh lol 🙂

          ur bro was stronger…dont think the weight strategy wud’ve worked…well we’ll never knw…how about a rematch now?

          then last but not the least….y on earth wud u want to “attahasikkal” once i get married…i thought u r my frnd…wont u be there to support and console then? ;p 😀

  10. Bikram permalink
    May 24, 2011 1:56 pm

    GOt the idea sir ji… No more questions on cricket coming your way i guess…

    I am completley opposite what you described.. but being in india and not playing cricket doesnot happen often.. I am sure it never happens but exceptions like you are always there..

    • May 24, 2011 10:11 pm

      You ask anything about cricket, you will get the link of this post ! 😀 😀 😀

      I am happy to be that exception, I mean it ! 😀

  11. May 24, 2011 7:19 pm

    Oh great! Congrats for this coming out post 🙂

  12. May 24, 2011 11:20 pm

    Ok shake hands on this one….I have cricket fanatic friends since childhood and I was always the ‘blank abt sports-uninterested one’! So who cares even if my SRK owns a cricket eam my heart does not get pulled into the game….maybe if he is on the fiedl…hmm..just maybe! Loved reading all ur inieresting anecdotes! Blog more pah! Miss your posts!

    • May 26, 2011 7:17 am

      Lol, no wonder we all ended up being sad-blogging-people ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      ‘ my SRK ‘ ??? Ahem ahem….I hate that goat ! 😀 😀

      how I wish I was regular again ! Time constraints Indy ! Sigh !

  13. May 25, 2011 8:55 am

    LOL @ ur last line…. 😆

    Vim : I didnt know how to end this sad looong post 😛

    I liked this post, Vimmuuu…..seriously, even I dont find anything wrong, if any of the Indians cant play cricket or dislike cricket….its upto individual’s likes….but I liked the fact that u’ve seriously given it a try at every point in ur life.

    Vim : yeyyy…somebodys encouraging me atleast ! 😀 😀
    I think im just not interested in running around a ball !

    I do watch cricket, but I havent tried playing it nor do I like the crazy following of all the matches !!! Actually, this IPL has made me totally sick of cricket…. 😦

    Vim : IPL, i guess, is aimed at more of entertainment than the actual game. The only saving factor in IPL are the cheerleaders 😛 😛 😛

    For catching that ball – that was indeed a proud moment. 🙂

    Vim : hehehe…just imagine if i had let that easy ball ! I wouldnt have been alive now ! 😀 😀 😀

    Office cricket ??? Now, I am hearing that for the first time….I wish u had such spare time, so that u can visit our blogs too…. 🙂

    Vim : Office cricket was in my previous office, thats when I had enough time for everybodys blog 😀 😀 😀 😀 I still visit everybodys blog, read and then go away. Its just that im not commenting in any ! 🙂

    Congrats on the Blogadda pick !!! 🙂 🙂

    Vim : Thanks 🙂 🙂

  14. May 25, 2011 10:47 am

    I was so immersed in reading your post yest that I was about to miss my cab :P.. now you know why I am commenting today, even though I read it yest..

    Vim : This is the best compliment I have ever received for this post ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    guess what! I hate cricket too.. I hate it mainly because of all the hype in India.. I used to watch it when I was a kid but that was just because of peer pressure. Wonder why everyone’s so crazy about Cricket. I prefer football though, because the games end fast. But I feel there are better things to do in life than staring at TV for an entire day, watching people run behind balls 😀

    Vim : I know ! So much of productive time lost ! and those test cricket, they go on for days !!! 😀 😀

  15. May 25, 2011 2:42 pm

    Ahhh! So, thatz how u were blogging and commenting huh 😛
    Err where and when did u write this long a post then 😉

    Totally agree with u that each has his own choice and u found ur calling in music, but I guess it does not mean that people cannot have 2 interests 😉

    • May 26, 2011 7:30 am

      yeah, especially for your nablopomo’s back then ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      I took almost 5 days to complete this post; writing it in bits and pieces whenever I found time. Its difficult these days swarr ! 😦

  16. May 26, 2011 12:25 am

    Hey I think you have nothing against cricket… but more against your skills in cricket !!!! 😛 😛 😛 aint that evident !!! ????

    lol…

    you know we would always have someone like you just mentioned in the team… a guy who bats last and never bowls but makes up numbers 😛 😛 you need 11 people you see… to fetch the ball !!! ha ha…

    • May 26, 2011 12:26 am

      and you mean you like no other sport ??? Tennis ? running ? Football ? Billards ? Chess ?

      • May 26, 2011 7:32 am

        Well, if I found cricket interesting, I would have tried to develop my skills, wouldnt I ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀 just like what I do in music ! so, its not about my skills ! 😛 😛 😛

        seriously???? did we ever play cricket together ? now, I wonder ! 😀

        Chess is a sport ????? Banging head on the wall ! 😛

  17. May 26, 2011 12:30 am

    I have two of my best friends who hate cricket… infact they make sure I have my phone switched off everytime India loses… so you do have company… many dont like it !!!

    • May 26, 2011 7:36 am

      lol, so next time when India loses, I know whom to pester ! 😛 😛

  18. May 29, 2011 11:20 pm

    Too long!! Poore mahine ke blog posts ka quota ho gaya! D has poor cricketing skills but he used to play in the yearly office competition to get the t-shirt they used to give 😀 He too isn’t crazy about sports unless it is some important match.

    • June 27, 2011 8:19 am

      So, he is neither here not there, eh? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Hows life in Blore ? 🙂

  19. June 2, 2011 11:29 pm

    I tried very hard to get into my school team. Once, during 8th or 9th standard, I got till the selection. There the PT master asked me if I was a bowler or batsman? I was quite perplexed at the question 😛 and said I was an all-rounder. He made me to bowl first, and was thinking if he should take me into the team. Then he said, you bat and then I will decide. I went to bat, and the first ball I faced – all the three stumps were knocked off 😀 So, my only chance of getting selected was gone!!

    Destination Infinity

    • June 27, 2011 8:22 am

      ROFL !!! and they didnt give you another chance ???? you never know, you couldve become a Dhoni !!! Hmmm…only if….

  20. June 6, 2011 5:58 pm

    You hate sports… Ok! Though when I was young, my cricketing skills were just like yours, I still loved the game… 🙂

  21. June 14, 2011 4:42 pm

    Firstly I’m sooooo sorry for being so late….
    I was not at the wedding, its on Jan 30th…. 🙂

    Vim : You mean, next year ??? Sheeesh ! 😛

    Well same pinch once again because even I’m not at all into sports be it watching or playing (do i need to say I hide in corners when it comes to discussing sports)… 😀

    Vim : LOL, I get a call from nowhere and go away with my phone when people around me discuss sports ! 😀

    Your Pakistani friends were really cute… 🙂 I wish I had also met someone like this during my childhood…

    Vim : Ahem Ahem ! Actually, they were ‘cute’ ! 😉

    Congratulations for catching the ball during your college match and for taking the wicket of that guy during your Banglore visit…. 😀 😀

    Vim : Do you know that you are the only person who is nice to me ?? 😀 😀

    Good that you decided not to be a part of serious cricket coz the word serious and you just don’t fit into the same sentence… 😛

    Vim : I take back my words ! You are just like the rest of ’em 😛 😛

    Lol at “our dog could play better cricket than you” and your army uncle…. 😀 😀

    Vim : Im seriously taking back those words of mine ! Grrr…

    Which was your previous organisation… I’m totally up for office cricket… Will they hire me…. 😛

    Vim : Do you know how to dive while fielding ??? Practice that first and I shall then put in a word to my old HR ! 😛 😛

    Hide n seek definately counts as sports….. Infact I think it should be made our national sport – a sport that the entire nation enjoys 😉

    Vim : I know ! They should introduce it in Olympics too, like Kabbadi ! 😛 😛

  22. June 21, 2011 1:16 am

    Dude i had this sudden flashback yesterday!!!!! i think i did play cricket with u guys once in our hallway. I can clearly remember this one ..err..& only game where i was out to bat for the first time in my life and since i couldnt understand the main objective of the game..ie to hit the ball with the bat, i started to kick all the balls tht i missed with my legs. Thts whn i learned the meaning of LBWWW thingy frm bigbro.Hmm i think it was big bro bowling at me and i think gireesh was also there..Somehow i dont remember seein u anywhere..Hmm strange..Anyway.. wassup? Where the hell have u been?

    • June 27, 2011 8:37 am

      Do you think I’d fit into that narrrrow hall with all you guys playing in there ???? I must have been ‘studying’ !! 😀 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Indian bloggers blog on existence of God, Thrissur Pooram, and Being Social

Leave a comment