Skip to content

the names…how,when,what and why!!!

July 15, 2007

Somewhere in april 1981, I was named vimal , obviously after a long screening process.My dad suggested names like rajesh, jijesh etc. yewww…i hate names that end with ‘sh’ and by god, I would have come up with a different name by the time I grew up.Vimal is a wonderful name and I thank my mom for suggesting and naming me that. Vimal means pure…dont know how many could corelate them after knowing me.None of us in the family tree has had a pet name and so neither did we(me n my elder bro).But being the youngest in my family, my dad calls me ‘kunjan’, and that too very rarely.
Over the years, I got a lot of nicknames though.During my school days, one brat named Vinayan(still friends!!!) called me ‘gundumani’ as I was abnormally fat(the word abnormal is used here in a different context altogether, cant mention everything here, this isnt my autobiography, rt?). The name vanished after my schooling, but that wasnt the end.During my +2 and UG, I was called ‘nattu’ and ‘pottu’ simultaneously for my looney antics(atleast that was their reason for naming me with such names).One of my senior, Gowri, even send a bday card to my home with the name Nattu.Believe me, when the post man came with the card, my mom sent him away saying theres no one by tht name.And guess what, my friends and seniors call me these names even today.
Then came my favourite nickname which I myself use it now in different places – officially. ‘Vimmuuu’- – two friends of mine during my MBA, Priya and Anita, started calling me and that too during the early days of our college.Now because of them and also thanks to orkut, people in my office including the companys director calls me vimmuuu. It is also different in its spelling and it was Anita who came up with such a unique spelling – double m, triple u. Now, another friend of mine,Divya, even has a meaning for it. Its like , V (spelt as W.e. ) , double me and triple you; ie, whatever you give me in doubles would be given back to you in triple folds.So people, when you are planning to write ‘ vimmuuu ‘ the next time, please keep the spelling in mind, I also have plans to patent that name…hehehe….

Nicknames like our real names also stay forever, atleast thats how we want it to be; for various reasons.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Priyadarshini Vasudevan permalink
    July 15, 2007 7:37 pm

    Vimmuuu.. hhahahahaha

  2. theSaintlySinner permalink
    July 16, 2007 10:51 pm

    so..its going to be another one of those Orkut style things,eh? Somethings never change :))

  3. Gowri permalink
    July 23, 2007 3:11 pm

    Well Nattukutta…….did I really do that??? send a postcard in the name Nattu???? Hmmmm…..I was smart then wasnt I? 😉 But a good start!!!

  4. Prachi permalink
    July 26, 2007 1:22 pm

    Vimmuuu… I give u another name … ” Mirror ” 😉

  5. remabh permalink
    February 14, 2009 3:07 am

    “vim” uuuuuu

    😀

  6. August 4, 2009 10:07 am

    Nice post Nattu 😉

    Never knew that double m triple u meant so much 😉 Will keep in mind!

  7. November 20, 2009 4:45 pm

    The nickname that was stuck with me was “Chotu’ thanks to my size 🙂

    • June 22, 2010 8:43 pm

      I cant believe you revealed your nickname here. I thought it was supposed to be a secret !!! I kept my mouth shut all these days for no reason, huh ? 😀 😀

  8. June 22, 2010 8:36 pm

    Is this some planned thing 🙂 Deeps just posted on exactly the same topic 🙂

    • June 22, 2010 8:38 pm

      LOL, this post of mine was published way back in 2007 !!! I happened to link this post there in her comments, thats all !!! how did you even know about this post in the first place ?? 😀 😀 😀

      • June 22, 2010 9:37 pm

        It came on my reader! So I came rushing, before you left comments about selective reading 🙂

  9. June 22, 2010 8:39 pm

    I like Gundumani 🙂 That is real cute 🙂

    And ‘Vimal means pure…’ – Peru nattichu alle, bathroom posts and everything 🙂 You might as well have had a name with an ‘sh’ and the end 🙂 Half the time I get your spelling wrong, as I cannot remember how many u’s and how many m’s. Why couldn’t you have gone in for something simpler 🙂

    • June 22, 2010 8:42 pm

      Tell me how did you know about this post if you hadnt read my comment in deeps post !!! 😀 😀 😀 Its killing me !

      • June 22, 2010 9:39 pm

        Hey – it came on my reader – shall I send you the screen-shot as proof?

        I commented on Deeps, went back to the reader, and found your new post update!

  10. June 22, 2010 9:42 pm

    2007! I have to dig through your archives one day 🙂 Never know what priceless gems could be found here 🙂

  11. June 22, 2010 11:16 pm

    Lol…. Vimal is a Guthka brand… are you aware ??? that tooo KESAR YUKT !!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 😛 Buhahahhahaha

  12. June 23, 2010 1:59 am

    2007 it seems! why then my google reader gave false information? 😮

    and I dont have a nick name.

  13. June 23, 2010 5:32 am

    I’m sure I read this earlier. but anyway, with your free publicity link from deeps’ blog I landed here now :-))))) Btw, remember the ‘Only Vimal’ ad from yester years? were ur parents inspired by that, by any chance? And yeah, thank them abundantly for not choosing ‘Jijesh’.

  14. June 23, 2010 10:06 am

    ha ha ha..gundumani…adenikku ishthaayi!! So uncle auntie gave you a name which means pure hoping you would be true to your name…and you did everything to prove them wrong…kashtham!! 😈

    I liked your friend Divya’s interpretation of double m and triple u in your name…. so the next time I meet I will give you 10 packs of kitkats….so now you know how much you have to give me back 😀

  15. June 23, 2010 10:02 pm

    Gundumani… thank god.. nobody called me by that name till now 😀 😀

    the reason behind Vimmuuu is really good 🙂 🙂

  16. June 24, 2010 4:11 pm

    Was reading through Deeps’ post on nicknames and found your link there! Must say, quite an entertaining post here! Gundumani. Lol 😀 Can truly empathize with that for the fact that I used to be called Gundumulaku by my maternal uncle! Partly coz of I were chubby, and mostly coz I were a total brat, a complete prankster! 😀 Hehe!! Thankfully, thats now history!! 😉

    N yea, must say, Vimmmu sounds real cuteee! 😀

  17. September 15, 2010 4:43 pm

    Oh wow! That’s simply super! I concur, the u-s are absolutely necessary and so its Vimmuuu. 🙂

Leave a Reply

