Skip to content

Once upon a time in Europe – Part 1 – Basel

September 5, 2009

There cannot be a better title than this, na? I have been thinking of publishing this Europe series since June. But, in the meanwhile, I got stuck in a state of dilemma if I should go ahead with that idea or not. Finally, took a One Rupee coin and tossed to arrive at a more ‘mature judgement’. Assigned Tails to ‘I should’ and Heads to ‘I shouldn’t’. Heads came up, but I had always liked only Tails, and so here it is. 😀 😀 😀

 Ok, now before I get into the post, let me make it clear to you all that, this is, in no way, a travelogue. I don’t think I can ever do justice to such a write up. Moreover, I really don’t remember what all I had seen there and now that it’s almost 4 months after my return, I even forgot whatever I was supposed to remember. 😀 😀 😀

I left to Swiss exactly three days after I had made an announcement here in my blog. I traveled in Emirates and the flight was first from Chennai to Dubai and then, had to board another one from Dubai to reach Zurich. I personally hate flight journeys; they are too bohoring! And yes, too many restrictions; cant walk freely, cant sing loudly, cant roll over while sleeping! Sheeesh !! I couldn’t sleep the previous day because of my shift timings and I had to go to the airport directly from work. My eyes were already worn out and my body was aching like crazy. I tried making myself comfortable in the seat to find some sleep, but no way! and even if I slept, I would miss out on all those goodies they served inside the flight. So I kept my eyes wide open, switched on the TV and watched movies all through the journey !

By the time the flight touched Zurich airport, I started feeling feverish and developed a nasty cold. My brother was already there at the airport and together we proceeded to board a train to Basel, the station for which is just below the airport (Zurich Flughafen). How convenient, huh? Railways and Airports at the same place !

Train ticket from Zurich airport to Basel station

Train ticket from Zurich airport to Basel station

Reached Basel station in one hr and got into a tram right in front of the Basel station (Basel SBB) that dropped us at a junction that’s like 5 mins from my bros home.

Tram ticket from Basel station to Claraplatz

Tram ticket from Basel station to Claraplatz

My sis-in-law and brother were actually surprised to see a slim ‘n’ trim version of me. When they had left from India, (which was just two weeks before I reached Swiss), I was at my bulkiest best. I managed to reduce 6 kgs in two weeks just for this trip so that I could get into some of my fav Tees and also to fit into a single frame of the camera 😀 😀 😀

After all those general ‘just arrived’ conversations, I got into the bathroom to wash my face and legs, and came out to get my clothes for taking a shower. Meanwhile, my bro went into the bathroom and :

Bro : Daaaa, what did you do??? Did you pee on the floor ?

Me : Whaat? Me? No ! Why ?

Bro : Then, how come theres errr…liquid on the bathrooms floor  ?

Me : I washed my legs, that’s all !

Bro : You stupid, you aren’t supposed to wash your legs on the floor?

Me : Why? some kind of rule here in Swiss?

Bro : No, you are supposed to do that in the tub over there !

Me : What crazy land ! Theres no drainage system here or what ?? Oh Btw, oops !

Bro (sighs!)

 

That was his first sigh ! Little did he know that he would be sighing this way for the rest of that month !

But, these westerners are crazy, I tell you. They still have no idea how to construct their bathroom. No exhaust fan, no drainage system, and only paper to clean your ass ! C’mon, is it that difficult to have a provision for water in the bathroom and isn’t it more convenient to have water than stocking all those papers ? I guess, they still want to follow the style of Neanderthal Men who used to clean and cover themselves with leaves! Believe me, if there was any place in Europe that I was afraid to go or I didn’t want to go, its those bathrooms! I don’t understand why its so freaking silent once you enter the bathroom ! Even if a single drop of water fell on the bathroom floor, it would sound like a tsunami to people sitting outside. Well, its not that I make disgusting noises all the time when I am inside, but damn, the silence made me so damn conscious! I was afraid if I would at any time…you know…you know….!!  

Anyway, the embarrassing jokes about my ignorance on the architecture of western bathrooms continued for a while between my brother and sister in law and later on the jokes reached my uncle in Dubai who fortunately supported me. At about 5 in the evening, I dozed off on the sofa and woke up when the sun’s rays hit directly onto my face. The suns rays were too bright for my already worn out eyes, checked the time on the clock and I got a shock of my life.

It was 8.20 !!!

“Did I sleep for one whole day? How come no one woke me up for dinner last night? And how did I even end up sleeping for one whole day when I find it difficult to sleep for more than 6 hrs on a normal day?”. Rubbed my eyes and checked the time again , now on my mobile. It read 12.20 am IST; subract fours for Swiss time – “its 8.20 pm. Whaat? 8.20 pm ???” I went to the balcony and had a nice look outside; went back in checked the clock again. “8.20 pm? So, I did wake up on the same day, phew !! But what on earth is happening? Why is sun shining at this hour ?”

 Me :Bro, its 8 pm and our good old sun is still up there, shining at its best ! Weird isn’t it?

Bro : Havnt you learned that in geography ? The days are longer during the summer ! This is what it means!

Me : Oh! It doesn’t happen this way, back in India. This is the craziest thing I have ever seen. Its 8.20 pm !!!

Bro (sighs again! and pretended as if he wasn’t listening to me anymore)

 

And I kept looking out, the bloody sun was up there smiling till about 9.30 pm !!! I wanted to go out for a walk, but my bro was a little scared to send me outside after all the ignorance that I was showing off on that day. I assured him I would be back and went out.

In not more than 10 mins, I rushed back home shouting, “Whaat a country ! You call this summer ??? It was like being inside a freezer out there”, to which my bro casually replied, “Oh, you forgot to take a jacket along with you, didnt you ?”.

Now, tell me guys, who would even think of carrying a jacket in this planet during summer ?

Well, here are some of the snaps that were taken in and around Basel on two different days. Please note that I am a hopeless photographer when it comes to sceneries and locales. Give me a few human beings and I can show off my photographic skills. 😀 😀 😀

 IMG_3746

 

IMG_3745

IMG_3747

IMG_4170

IMG_3783

Tri-nation point. pointing to the left, its France; Swiss on this side of the photograph and Germany to its right

Tri-nation point. pointing to the left, its France; Swiss on this side of the photograph and Germany to its right

IMG_4189

Thats me up there ! Not the one holding the spear, the one having the child :D

Thats me up there ! Not the one holding the spear, the one having the child 😀

After the first day ..…..

Bro : What is it that you want to see here in Swiss ?

Me : Snow ! It has always been my dream to touch snow. Any near by place ?

Bro : You are already sick. Can you travel? And that too snow?

Me : That’s ok. Cold and Cold, it will neutralize 😀

Bro : Snow it is, then ! Get ready, we are leaving to Zermatt tomorrow !

 

Next part in this series : Zermatt.

 

Next Post : The  aTbAcG

144 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2009 2:08 am

    Mukaala…. Muqabala… Hoga…. Ooooh Laila!!!! OWEYO!!!!!
    😀 😀 😀

    FIRST!!!!!!!

  2. September 5, 2009 2:10 am

    Second 😀 😀

    lets dance crafty 😀

    • September 5, 2009 2:13 am

      YAYIE KANAGU!!!!!

      Hurray for the night owl blogger association! 😛 😛

      we must dance Prabhu deva style!!!!

      • September 5, 2009 2:31 am

        yeah yeah. just now found the right Prabhudeva Song…

        how is that???

        😀 😀

        we night owls rock 😀

      • September 5, 2009 2:59 am

        classic song kanagu!!!!

        i was planning on putting this song on comment, but put the other one instead! and now u put it with vid!!! excellent!!!!

        😀 😀 😀

        take it easy is what we will do for the weekend!!!! yippeeeee!!!

      • September 5, 2009 10:41 am

        Hw did I miss being online sday 😦 😦 😦

        But, what stops me from dng the DANGANAKA 😉

      • September 5, 2009 12:12 pm

        Hey I love that Urvashi song… really.. !!!

      • September 5, 2009 4:45 pm

        Kyaa?? Dance is over ????? 😉

      • September 6, 2009 1:30 pm

        @ Swaram: You did not miss being online Swaroo!!! U were buzy in zzzzzzzz

        We night owls were on the prowl tho!! :mrgreen:

  3. September 5, 2009 2:12 am

    Ha..ha..ha..ha.. let me laugh some more and then will write my comment.

    • September 5, 2009 2:20 am

      *saying on Solilo’s behalf*

      THIRD!!!!!

      now come and join us in dance, DON SOLI!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

      • September 5, 2009 8:59 am

        Gosh perfect comments for this beautifully written TRAVELOGUE 🙂

      • September 5, 2009 9:04 am

        Heads came up, but I had always liked only Tails, and so here it is. What a hilarious post to read with a morning cup of tea 🙂

      • September 5, 2009 12:28 pm

        BTW why did you put the pictures of the tickets ????

        was that to make us believe you actually went there ??? huh ??

        Vim : hehehehe….arey no yaar. I will write that in my next post 😀 😀

  4. September 5, 2009 2:17 am

    “Bro : Daaaa, what did you do??? Did you pee on the floor ?”

    Ha..ha..ha..ha.. no wonder you asked OG if he is peeing in the profile.

    There’s no exhaust fan? There must be. Perhaps you forgot to switch it on. 😆 Poor your brother and SIL.

    Oh! so you reduced weight so as soon as you could sight a Yash Chopra banner, you could jump in and do a Rahul in coloful tees and jeans. 😀

    Nice pictures. I like 4,6,7.

    • September 5, 2009 12:12 pm

      ROFL 😆

      Solilo is right… so this is where the P***ng story started… 😆

      God !!!

    • September 5, 2009 6:10 pm

      LOL !!! No, its not from here. Check his foto properly. He is pissing without any ones knowledge !! 😀 😀 😀

      No, there are no exhaust fans !!! I even noticed that in UK !!! Im not kidding !!! can you believe it !! 😀 😀 😀 So, you guys have exhaust fans in the US, huh? Good !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, I did look out for all those Chopras in Europe ! 😀 😀 😀

      • September 10, 2009 1:06 pm

        Umm….. Vimmuuu…… There are exhaust fans in the UK and Europe. Well every place and home I have visited have had them. I also agree with Solilo that you must have not switched it on when going to the bathroom. Or the places you stayed probably had an auto one, meaning then the bathroom/toilet gets humid, it gones on by itself.

  5. September 5, 2009 2:27 am

    LOL bro.. 😆

    when I see the sun shining in England by 9.P.M. during those day-night matches… I used to think.. whats the need for lights here…

    /*Assigned Tails to ‘I should’ and Heads to ‘I shouldn’t’. Heads came up, but I had always liked only Tails, and so here it is*/

    LOL 😆 only you could come up with that 😀

    taking a jacket during Summer.. he he he… its really crazy…
    seems like coolness is integral part of Swiss just like hot for us 😛 😛 😛

    • September 5, 2009 6:07 pm

      Crazy country, isnt it??? Yeah, like how we wear a baniyan during winter !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

  6. September 5, 2009 2:28 am

    Pictures are also good… 🙂 especially the 7th one 😀

  7. September 5, 2009 2:44 am

    I agree!!! There cannot be a better title than this!!! How brilliant!!! Must be an effect of all this time u spent chatting with crafty …. She seems to have passed on some of her talents!

    *crafty is chased by vimmuuu all over the blog*

    Vim : LOL !!! Pant..puff…puff..pant…enough, cant… puff…chase you any..puff…anymore. Im tired…pant…puff….puff…pant…

    Assigned Tails to ‘I should’ and Heads to ‘I shouldn’t’. Heads came up, but I had always liked only Tails, and so here it is.

    ROFL!!!!! Only u vimmuuu… this can be only u!!! 😆 😆

    cant walk freely, cant sing loudly, cant roll over while sleeping!

    Errr… Vimmuuu… take a cruise next time! 😛 😛
    *crafty mutters something about vimmuuu being a drama king*

    Vim : LOL, Im not kidding. Thats why I like train journeys, I dont even have to move, they move me !!!

    U did not sleep so that u will not miss on goodies they serve???
    Is there something wrong with me, have I spent too much time with u, or does that make complete sense??!! Logical I say!! 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : See, so I do speak logic 😀 😀 😀

    I managed to reduce 6 kgs in two weeks

    😯 vimmuuu…. How? Mail me… ping me… sms me…or call me…. But pliss to share the secret behind this will ya????

    Vim : Only if you stop running !!! 😀 😀 😀

    so that I could get into some of my fav Tees and also to fit into a single frame of the camera
    AHA! Your honour… I’d like to present my second evidence pointing towards the fact that Vimmuuu is Drama King….

    Vim : LOL !!!! You crazy girl !!!
    Bro : Daaaa, what did you do??? Did you pee on the floor ?
    ROFLMAO!!!! Hahahahahah!!!!! No comments…still laughing….
    😆 😆

    What crazy land ! Theres no drainage system here or what ?? Oh Btw, oops !
    AIYO!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 u and ur bathroom tales vimmuuu!!!! 😛

    Vim : They follow me everywhere 😛

    Even if a single drop of water fell on the bathroom floor, it would sound like a tsunami to people sitting outside.
    Your Honour!!!! Evidence three against Vimmuuu for being Drama King!!!

    Vim : Oh no !!! Im serious !!! 😀 😀 😀 It was too difficult to you know….

    Now, tell me guys, who would even think of carrying a jacket in this planet during summer ?
    Definitely not me Vimmuuu! I have but only one jacket I bought… I still don’t know why! And now it hangs in my cupboard and I use the pockets as storage pouches to keep watch etc….

    Vim : LOL. then why do you keep in your cupboard. Hang it outside and make it available for the rest of them in your house for storage. Your mom could keep spoon, fork and knives, na? 😀 😀

    Thats me up there ! Not the one holding the spear, the one having the child..
    Good u clarified…. I was gonna sk u what’s up u and why are u in a skirt….
    😛

    Vim : LOL @ the skirt ! Only you can observe all those areas ! I mean…ahhh, never mind ! 😀

    Btw!! Your Honour! I rest my case against Vimmuuu acquitted as Drama King with this last evidence..
    Well, its not that I make disgusting noises all the time when I am inside, but damn, the silence made me so damn conscious! I was afraid if I would at any time…you know…you know….!!
    The court declares Vimmuuu as Drama King! Case Closed!!!

    Vim : So Im acquitted now !! as drama king !!! Huh, atleast now I have a tagline !

    Love the account of ur trip!! That dream of snow… I too share the same dream! I will make it too someday!! 😀 😀 😀
    loved the trination pic! And the second one tooo! 😀
    Waiting for next part!!! Hope it has an equally brilliant title! 😛 😛

    ((((((((((hugs)))))))))))

    Vim : You will surely make it one day for your dream !!! 😀 😀

    • September 5, 2009 12:27 pm

      He is the DRAMA KING without a trace of doubt.. without the hearing… lol…

      ask Smita… !!! 😛 😛

      • September 5, 2009 6:06 pm

        Hitchy !!! you are on my side or Smitas ???

      • September 6, 2009 10:14 am

        ROFL @ crafty

        i agree with dhiren… drama king universally declared without a trial ! 😀 😀
        hmph! and vimmuuu, u dare call ME a drama queen??? lol

      • September 6, 2009 11:42 am

        main to keval mahilaon ki taraf hota hoon… 😛 😛

    • September 6, 2009 1:32 pm

      Okay Vimmuuu!!! I have stopped running!! Now tell me how you lost weight??!!!!

      *crafty sits next to Vimmuuu with her chin in her palm and eager eyes*

      😀

      • September 6, 2009 7:26 pm

        ROFL !!! You and your expressions always crack me up !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • September 6, 2009 8:15 pm

        The secret’s out!!!

        He had way too much Spicy chicken 😕 a week before he left to Europe!:?
        Is tht wht u call a Rigorous work out… eh?? ahem ahem! :mrgreen:

  8. indianworkingwoman permalink
    September 5, 2009 4:12 am

    vimmu…..hoped over from IHM….(i think…)

    nice post….and how come u did not mention, some bathrooms with carpet….or u never got lucky to see one

    • September 5, 2009 5:54 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Bathrooms with carpets??? LOL..what would they do next? include a bed, or a kitchen ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      and you shouldnt have written hoped over from IHM. I couldve guessed it from your User Id. 😀 😀 😀 😀 and yes, do you blog??? If you do, please link it here ! It would be great to hop over at your place too !!! 😀 😀

      • indianworkingwoman permalink
        September 9, 2009 10:12 pm

        yeah….i have seen it even in houses, i wonder how would they ever clean it….vacuuming does not seem sufficient in bathrooms…:)

        sure somebody called me ‘lost sis’ of IHM, and so i replied ‘soul sis’…IHM, taking a bit liberty here…. 🙂

        http://indianworkingwoman.wordpress.com, hope my id is hyperlinked too now. 🙂

  9. September 5, 2009 5:50 am

    aliyaaaaaa 😛 you tossed a coin…… to decide like “shivaji” if you had to take the “singham padhai” or the “poo padhai” 😛 😛 😛 ROFL

    OMG, you washed your feet on the floor……. classic machu!!!! Komedy thannedae nee………. satyam!!!!!!!

    I still dont understand as to why you posted phtos of your ticket…… we dont want proof that you travelled by plane and train……… 😛 😛

    The other photos were good……….. 😛

    • September 5, 2009 5:51 pm

      LOL. Yes, the sivaji style !!! 😀 😀 😀 and I took the singam paadai, look at the responses here 😉

      Ok, now normally, we all wash our feet on the floor, right? Alle?? No???

      The reason for the ticket photos will be up soon ! Sho, everyone has the same question !!! 😀 😀 😀

  10. September 5, 2009 8:03 am

    I liked ticket A and B after that every pic is just ok but your travel tickets are just awesome 😛 😛

    • September 5, 2009 5:49 pm

      LOL, sarcasms at its best !!! 😀 😀 😀 Will give an explanation for the tickets soon 😀

  11. September 5, 2009 8:04 am

    Is it seriously so? 9:30 p.m==sun?? I mean how is it possible or may be they are true, “Ignorance is bliss.” 😀

  12. September 5, 2009 8:38 am

    So that “shouting” (what you term as singing) is possible in that old 2 BHK in Chennai eh? Well, if I DIDN’T hear that on a day, I knew there was something wrong with you. And now you were into more problems first in the flight and then in Europe! Good, lesson learnt? 😉

    I’m quite amazed the way you described the bathrooms there. LOL @ the architects there!

    I hope you did try some European foodies as well… Write about it. My bro game me some wierd food habits of Europe and am keen to know more! 😛

    Last but not the least – sunshine @ 9:30 PM – Im almost down with fever now!!! FREAK!!!

    • September 5, 2009 5:48 pm

      Seriously, bathrooms are a problem my son !!! 😀 😀 😀

      European foodies, huh? They are the worst I have ever had !!! I didnt take much of a risk 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, it was freaking experience to see sun everyday till 9 – 9.30 in the night !!! 😀 😀

    • September 6, 2009 1:40 pm

      @ Suji:

      U have heard Vimmuuu live???? shouting…erm….singing?????

      *crafty walks away muttering how some ppl have all the luck*

      me wud do anything to hear him live! 😀 😀 😀

      • September 6, 2009 7:00 pm

        He has heard it for 3 looong years and is still cribbing !!!!! 🙂

  13. September 5, 2009 9:17 am

    Loved the last picture… you lost so much weight, I thought that was a baby 😉

    • September 5, 2009 5:41 pm

      LOL. Will upload some of my pics in the upcoming series !! 😀 😀 😀 That will stop all these sarcasms ! 😉

  14. September 5, 2009 10:47 am

    ROFLMAO 😀 😀 😆 😆 😆 😆

    U n ur bathroom tales Vimmuuu 😛

    This is unique Vimmuuu style 😉 Wonly u cn write it like this 😛 Simbly Superrrrru 😉

    ‘I would miss out on all those goodies they served inside the flight’ – Those who served the goodies u mean 😉

    • September 5, 2009 2:00 pm

      The snaps r gr8 Vimmuuu … esp. those of the tickets ROFL 😆

    • September 5, 2009 5:40 pm

      😀 😀 Actually, the ones serving the goodies Wonly !!! 😀 😀 😀 You never get an opportunity like that you see 😉

      I will give the reasons for the tickets in the next post 😀 😀

  15. September 5, 2009 10:48 am

    hahahahhahahahahaha !!!!! After deciding to write the post, whats the need for heads and tails and still you went on to post this !!!! 🙂

    All the bathroom episodes – totally funny from the way you’ve described it. Your bro SIGHed more than taking u around, na ???

    BTW, how did u reduce 6Kgs in 2 weeks ???? Pl tell us the secret method.

    The tri-nation point pic is quite interesting.

    • September 5, 2009 5:38 pm

      😀 😀 Scene, chumma scene !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, poor him ! It was tough handlig three kids for half a month !! me, his wife and their child 😉

      The diet is indeed a secret !!! Its a combination of diets and rigorous work outs 😀

      Yes, the concept of the trination point itself is interesting. A single point on earth where you can see three different countries !!

  16. September 5, 2009 11:05 am

    so finally the post is up.. i was starting to think you bluffed about the trip.. 🙂

    hey.. nice snaps..

    • September 5, 2009 5:36 pm

      LOL. You are back !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks 🙂

  17. September 5, 2009 11:25 am

    Was an interesting post Vims, waiting to read more….By the way, congrats on your engagement…Put up at least one snap of ur othr half somewhere I can see dearie…

    • September 5, 2009 5:35 pm

      Thanks and yeah, will send you one ! Where do you disappear every now and then ????

      • Ams permalink
        September 21, 2009 8:19 pm

        I don’t disappear yar….I just lie low for some time to gain back my strength, hehehe….So engaged man, how z life going? I am still waiting for a snap of both of u…Don’t forget ….

  18. September 5, 2009 11:34 am

    Those are some beautiful pics specially the 2nd last one, did YOU CLICK THEM??? 😮

    Vim : Ok, the second last pic was clicked by my bro !! have a look at his comment !!! 😀 😀 😀

    Now coming to the post, you preferred to stay awak so that you don’t miss out the goodies?? Tcch!!! Tcch!!! Tcch!!! I feel you are lying, you didn’t sleep because you were busy ogling the airhostess’s. Come one accept it because it won’t be a surprise for us 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : LOL. Shhhhh…..my bro would read this …shhhh…..

    You & your obsession with bathroom’s, how it should be or how it shouldn’t be!!! Gosh!!! You can actually write a thesis on bathroom types of bathroom’s but you have already done that, 50% of your post is about that only!!!

    Vim : Im getting good reviews for my bathroom stories. Its like Salman doing nonsensical roles. Imagine him doing sensible roles, he might lose his popularity, you see 😀 😀 😀

    I mean you are giving us the first glimpse of Swiss and what I will remember is bathrooms!!!! And BTW you didn’t even read about the country before going there??? Had you read about it you wud have known about Summers et. al. So typically ignorant you!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : I didnt enquire about the country before leaving, cuz I thought we all lived in the same planet !! 😀

    Ah!!! Swiss remindes me…

    Remindes me of…

    Some Broken Promises…

    Some forgotten gifts…:-( 😦 😦

    Vim : It reminds me of the same too 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • September 5, 2009 11:35 am

      Dost Dost na raha!!! 😦

    • September 7, 2009 11:24 am

      You shameless man!!!

      You couldn’t safe keep the ONLY thing I asked you for and u r laughing also???

      huh!!!

      Jao I won’t speak to you!!!

      • September 7, 2009 7:46 pm

        The only safest thing that you asked for melts easily !!! I meant, it melts in my mouth !!! yummy those were !!!

        You wont speak to me ?????

        Jai HO !! Jai HO !!!! Jai HO !!!!

      • September 7, 2009 7:58 pm

        You ate what I asked for!!!

        And till date you said it was your friends who ate it!!!

        Humppphh!!!!

        I hate you hate you hate you!!!

        Jai Ho?? You celebrated tooo soon. Now you watch out I will keep giving you missed calls in every 10 mins at around 10 AM daily but won’t speak to you!!!

        Jai Ho!!! Jai Ho!!! Jai Ho!!! Jai Ho!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

  19. September 5, 2009 11:53 am

    lolol!
    What a funny narration.
    Reminds me of the scene from Nala Damayanti where Madhavan exclaims in the flight to Australia that how can you insult Godess Sarawati by wiping your ass with a paper 😉
    BTW, I need a telescope to view the last snap properly 😦

    • September 5, 2009 5:27 pm

      😀

      I know, thats an awesome scene, na? I just loveee it !!! I shouldve put up that scene here, na? LOL. Those ‘jacuzzi’..’kakkoozi’ scenes…awesome !!! 😀 😀 😀 Thanks for reminding me that scene. Gotta search that one in youtube right now !!!

      A few photos are too small, na? Hmmm…

  20. September 5, 2009 12:00 pm

    Wonderful snaps,who said u dont taka nice snaps,all snaps are lovely

    btw even i had the same experience when i visted my relatives house in dubai,and when i washed my legs on the bathroom floor,she told me i am supposed to wash my legs in the bathtub as i spolied her sparkling dry floor.

    • September 5, 2009 5:23 pm

      You deserve a treat for the compliments on those photos !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Even in Dubai??? I never had an experience like that in Dubai!!! I thought atleast they had brains !! 😀 😀 😀 Western influence everywhere ! Sigh !!!

  21. September 5, 2009 12:09 pm

    What is it that you want to see…….. snow ??????????? not girls ?????????? c’mon

    in between superb snaps 🙂

    • September 5, 2009 5:22 pm

      LOL. I cant tell ‘girls’ to my bro, you see !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Thankss !! 😀 😀

  22. September 5, 2009 12:19 pm

    the second last pic of the sunset is best… you should put a larger version of it… so it gets proper accolades… !!

    • September 5, 2009 5:21 pm

      Hmmm…thanks for the idea. Gotta get back home on Tuesday and do it. But I guess the resolution of the pic is small. But let me try it ! Thanks Buddy !

  23. September 5, 2009 12:25 pm

    Dude.. you just keep writing will you….

    you simply churn out some really ROFL stuff….

    and i agree… these westerners…. whats with paper huh ???

    saala… we are the more hygenic ones eh… paani waani soap voap eh… lol ROFL !!!!!!!!

    this reminds me a story… I gotta post… !!! lol..

    • September 5, 2009 5:20 pm

      LOL, I infact wrote about hygiene etc and took it off. Didnt want to extend the bathroom jokes further 😀 😀 😀 We are of course more hygienic than them ! Papers, my foot !!!! 😀 😀

      You have a story too??? Put it up sooon. Cant wait !!! 😀

  24. September 5, 2009 12:44 pm

    One of my friend mailed to our college groups from UK: ‘When these people come to India, we should have only the water and mug. No toilet paper. That would be perfect revenge’ – Poor guy! 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    • September 5, 2009 5:18 pm

      LOL, we should do that !!! Keep no toilet papers, instead water, soap, and a sprinkler !!! 😀 😀 😀 Im sure they would still not figure it out why we kept those 😉

  25. September 5, 2009 1:27 pm

    cold storage I say!

  26. September 5, 2009 2:27 pm

    Very interesting account….and the pics are actually pretty nice!

    Look forward to more of your European stories!

    • September 5, 2009 5:16 pm

      LOL. you are the only person who said its interesting. 😀 😀 😀 Thanks a tonne for that ! This would be a 7-8 part series , all the best 😀

  27. thesaintlysinner permalink
    September 5, 2009 3:59 pm

    Ahem..Ahem…7th one..thats copyrighted if you didnt know..!!

    And what did you mean by Zurich Flagenhoff ? Looks like you have given birth to an Indo-Swiss word ?? I have the pic of you upon arrival in my mobile..will try sending it over then..and i guess a pic of you in the train as well..

    • September 5, 2009 5:15 pm

      Oh, thanks for the correction. I edited it now !! 😀 😀 😀

      Glad you didnt add to the whole bathroom embarassment again 😀 😀

      and yeah, yeah….thats copywrited alright!

  28. September 5, 2009 4:05 pm

    I too dont like AIR travel too much, i prefer trains but then it would be difficult to go to swiss on train, na!! 😉

    LOL @ bathroom ignorance 😉

    Cool pics

    • September 5, 2009 5:13 pm

      Ya, I know, its going to be difficult to reach there on Train. We should start a march towards the parliament for starting a new train to Swiss. What say 😉

  29. September 5, 2009 4:09 pm

    tu kaha hai aaj kal?!?!!?

  30. September 5, 2009 5:21 pm

    Hey!
    Yup they do hv weird bathroom policies 😉
    It’s even same in the States!!!

    Oh and u will never miss the goodies they serve in Emirates. They provide u with stickers to adhere to your seat, stating whether or not you want to be woken up if you fall asleep on an overnight flight.
    (U cn find it in the seat pockets infront of u)

    For instance, if you fall asleep but do want a meal, then stick the wake me up for a meal sticker on the headrest of your seat and you’ll not arrive starving.

    Emirates is a lovely flight, excellent cabin service and fabulous entertainment! Love it!

    • September 5, 2009 5:34 pm

      So, there are people who agree with me. Big Bro, you listening !!! Im not ignorant after all !!!

      Oh Btw, Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Yeah, those stickers, cute na? I thought of taking it from there and then using it whenever Im at office !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 Wake me up for a meal sticker, do not disturb while Im sleeping sticker !!!

  31. September 5, 2009 5:53 pm

    LOL..
    U wont stop telling ur bathroom tales..will you?
    the whole post was ROFL….
    waiting for the next post in the series..

    • September 5, 2009 5:55 pm

      😀 😀 Ok, no more bathroom tales !!! 😀 😀 Wait, I have one more. I will wait for a better opportunity to publish that 😀 😀 😀

      • September 5, 2009 10:37 pm

        You tend to think about your posts when you are in bathroom :D:D That’s the issue SON! :D:D

    • September 6, 2009 1:46 am

      hey thts a really funny name flughafen.fulu fluh flah flah..try repeating tht over n over..hehe 😀

      So wht happend after tht bathroom incident?
      u didnt pee in the tub, did u? 😯
      hehe

      i totally agree with u on the public toilet acoustics man.
      Even I cant understand y the toilets has to be ‘dolby surround sound’
      💡 I hereby suggest to the Swiss government that all modern toilets should be equipped with a loud music player so tht u can use it as a neutralizer; in case u decide to exert a Rock song frm ur wrong end..ahem..ahem 😕

      • September 6, 2009 1:48 pm

        Public Toilet Acoustics????
        Dolby Surround Sound???????????????

        *Crafty can’t remember when last she laughed this loud*

        😆 😆 😆 😆 😆 😆

        Rocky? U rock!!!! 😛

      • September 6, 2009 7:12 pm

        LOL, flu..flahh….flu….flah…a tongue twister, huh ? 😀 😀 😀

        NO, I DINT PEEE IN THE TUB !!!! LOL !!

        ROFL @ the dolby digital !!! It is that way !! 😀 😀 😀

        I know. We will send them a petition through the Indian Govt. to include a Home theatre system inside the bathroom !! 😀 😀 😀

  32. Veena Nair permalink
    September 5, 2009 9:11 pm

    Ah..Finally an INTERSTING post from uer end :). Ah..Six yrs here and still find the worst place in the house – “The Toilets/Bathroom”!! We have only one toilet that like adding ghee to fire..I swear..Mals when inevitable I make her go pee in the garden..and about sound proof(ing) walls its so embarrassing, even in uer own house you have think twice before going to the loo if a FOURTH person is around :). We had to change the whole floor of our previous house as our neighbours had a leak in their toilet..so lesson learnt..keep the whole HOUSE DRY :)..
    The last photo was too good..had to hunt you down in that..Will wait for the next post 🙂

    • September 6, 2009 7:18 pm

      Ahhhh…welcome back to V-Lokam !! so, you werent commenting because I hadnt written anything interesting??? 😦 😦 What to do ! We are like this Wonly 😀 😀 😀

      Yippidi yeyy !!! There are people who agree with me !! I knew it !!! But is this a problem only with us Indians !!! Why do we need a noisy bathroom ?? 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, your bathroom tales are better than mine !! 😀 😀 😀 😀 Keep them coming !!!

  33. September 6, 2009 2:19 am

    Just one question..did you meet Federer while in Basel?? ‘cos if you have,Vimmuuu,trust me I’ll take the next flight to chennai to shake hands with you personally! Just to let you know I have a HUGE crush on him!ask any of our common friends in the blogosphere,they will tell you what he means to me 😀 😀

    This travel account has been one of its kind..and you’re saying you cant do write ups!!Totally enjoyed,Vimmuuu! You knwo switzerland is one of my dream-destinations.and after seeing the snaps I’m yearning to go there all the more.will look forward to reading the Zermatt post 🙂

    • September 6, 2009 7:25 pm

      OMG !!! how many times did you know about my acquintance with Federer???? Ya, I did meet Federer during my stay ! We had lunch and dinner together and he even gave me a gift !! 😀 😀 So, when are you coming down to chennai for the hand shake !!! Im waiting !! Think, you are going to shake the hands of a person who shook his hands so many times with Federer !!!

      Switzerland is a dream destination. Seriously. The place is indeed magical ! 😀 😀

  34. September 6, 2009 9:33 am

    Ahem! Vimmuuu, what’s with – I like tails only?!! 😉

    and you and your bathroom tails! sorry, tales!! 😀

    ROFL!!

    And, I’m repeating myself – what’s with the ticket??

    When my husband landed in USA for the first time with friends, they used
    a Coke – big bottle cut in the middle!!
    next time round, his friend carried a mug from here for exclusive bathroom
    use!! 😀 😀 😀

    lovely narration Vimmuuu!!

    Totally totally enjoyed it!!!

    • September 6, 2009 7:28 pm

      LOL, nothings with tails and tales !! and these bathroom tales arent deliberate, you see 😀 😀 😀

      heyy, that big bottle is a nice idea !! But what about the provision for water ??? You would have to stretch real hard to get the bottle connected to the taps, right? 😀 😀 😀

      😀 Thanks 😀

  35. September 6, 2009 10:20 am

    You are beginning to make bathrooms ur trademark!!! 😀 😀 😀

    as for me, i knew abt almost all parts of this post before reading this… so nothing new…

    But, in the meanwhile, I got stuck in a state of dilemma if I should go ahead with that idea or not. Finally, took a One Rupee coin and tossed to arrive at a more ‘mature judgement’. Assigned Tails to ‘I should’ and Heads to ‘I shouldn’t’. Heads came up, but I had always liked only Tails, and so here it is
    LIAR!!! 😀 😀 u were too lazy to put up the photos till now so u dawdled and hemmed and hawed and finally brought up a reason for the wait!!!

    LOL @ 8.20pm sun! i had the initial problem adjusting when i was in London. by the time it was may, sunset wud be at 10pm!!! it was freaky! but a blessing in disguise coz we got so much more time to roam around instead of worrying abt coming home late! sigh… miss those days! and as smitha says, learnt to appreciate the beauty of summer after being there. welcome relief from when sunset happens at 2pm in winter…brrrr!!

    LOL@ the pic of u holding the kid. have to examine the pic under a micrscope to identify whether its u standing there or not!! 😀 😀 😀

    • September 6, 2009 7:33 pm

      Yeah, you think I should do a series of bathroom tales??? 😀 😀 😀

      I was lazy ! Whos denying !! Thats what I wrote in the first sentence by ‘thinking’ to publish this post !!! Whatever happened to your powers of reading between the lines, woman?? Oh, I forgot, you only read between my bathroom tales !!! 😀 😀 😀

      You miss those freaking days??? Seriously??? I need it to be dark by 7pm. Period. 😀 😀 😀

      Im standing! Im standing ! Can you see me ??? now??? now??? oh crap, you got a telescope ! go get a microscope you silly girl !!!

      • September 6, 2009 9:18 pm

        would a magnifying glass do? 😀

      • September 6, 2009 10:04 pm

        y do u even need a magnifying glass? u already have a built-in telescopic ‘undakannu ‘?! :mrgreen:

      • September 7, 2009 7:32 pm

        Attaboy Rakesh !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      • September 7, 2009 9:19 pm

        @vimmuuu
        ayyada! avante oru sandosham nokke! india world cup jayichal polum ithu pole kaanilla… face tubelight aayi! 😛

        @rakesh
        athu sheri! u r making fun of ur marketing manager no. 2??? i thot u had some loyalty!

  36. September 6, 2009 12:42 pm

    came here from Varun’s blog.
    Whenever i get lost, i get to the airport and then work my way from there. the phrase/q “wer ist der flugafen?” has come in handy many times for me!!

    • September 6, 2009 7:34 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !!!

      So, you in Swiss ??? which part ???

  37. September 6, 2009 4:01 pm

    ‘And yes, too many restrictions; cant walk freely, cant sing loudly, cant roll over while sleeping!’ LOL!

    ‘nd even if I slept, I would miss out on all those goodies they served inside the flight. – GOODIES? What goodies? How come I never get any goodies – I get only tasteless food 😦

    6 kgs in 2 weeks! How did you manage that!

    Your bathroom saga – ROFL!!!

    ‘the bloody sun was up there smiling till about 9.30 pm’ – You have to live in this part of the world to appreciate that 🙂

    What lovely pics! Basel is pretty! It was a torture trying to find you holding a child in that last pic though 🙂 I needed my glasses which I pretend I don’t need 🙂

    7-8 part series you say? Can’t wait 🙂

    • September 6, 2009 7:42 pm

      No, by goodies I didnt mean the food they serve inside the flight !! I meant those kutti kutti eatables 😀 😀 😀 and shhh…the ones serving them also 😉

      The weight losing technique is a secret !!

      Ok, you named my bathroom tales as saga !!! I love it that way 😀 😀 😀

      No, please, as I mentioned, I need it to be dark by 7. Otherwise, I will be freaked out !! 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, get that microscope from Ashwathy !! Shes been complaining too !!! 😀 😀 😀

  38. September 6, 2009 10:10 pm

    nice snaps and narration 🙂

  39. September 7, 2009 12:00 am

    Brilliant narration! Loved it. Bathroom thing happened with me too when I first landed in the UK. There are no exhaust fans for sure but there are windows that can be opened in that country.

    And how much money have u deposited in the Siwss Bank? 😉

    • September 7, 2009 7:34 pm

      LOL, lucky you !!! you atleast had a window !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Shhh…about the deposit, we will speak offline !! There are people trying to trace me 😀

  40. thesaintlysinner permalink
    September 7, 2009 4:29 am

    Know what..all this bathroom topic..and I just wonder now..how did you wash your legs in only that much water..?? I mean, it was less than a rats pee!! I’m beginning to have second thots (and most horibblestestest ones) about the whole cleaning-my-leg story you narrated back then!

    Psst…you really did it,eh?

    • September 7, 2009 9:41 am

      i knew it! ewww !

    • September 7, 2009 7:39 pm

      LOL, like my pee is any lesser to a rats in quantity !!! Ok, the next time I get into the bathroom, you come along with me !!! 😀 😀 😀

      and that reminds me of Innocents dialogue in Ramji Rao “Adelo, ninte okke malam parishodikkalalle enikku pani” 😀 😀 😀 😀

  41. September 7, 2009 9:14 am

    ROFL at ur flight plight 😛 🙂 😛 first thing that came to my mind when i read this was …an old mallu mimic show.. showing innocent in flight 😛 uve seen tht?? athe pattane panikke pokaavu… aaara paranje..pattikkaatil ninnu nere pattanathilottu chaadan 😛 😛
    k..plsss i cant run much..with ths tummy..pls have mercy .. 😛
    and btw the pics are nice..esp the one..wherein its not u holding the sword..bt u holdng the child 😉 (which obviously meant u dnt take that pic :P) bt the idea was gr8..though u were invisible 😉

    • September 7, 2009 7:42 pm

      LOL, I did see that mimic show. That was innocents first visit to the ‘gelf’ !! and my experiences reminded you of that , huh ? Kashtam !!!

      You cant run??? when did I ask you to run??? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Now that you said that pic is nice, all the best for the rest of the pics that has me in all close ups !!! Buhahahhahahahaha !!!!

  42. September 7, 2009 10:26 am

    Wow! Very well written! Glad to have ‘travelled’ via your post! Interesting pictures!

    PS: I noticed someone making a reference to OG in the comments! On second thoughts, I’d rather not comment 😉

    Karyam Kashtam!

    • September 7, 2009 7:43 pm

      LOL, you travelled via this post !! Impossible !! yeh nahi ho sakta !!! 😀 😀 😀

      and comment on OG????where???why???how???when???whaaaat???

  43. soneeta permalink
    September 7, 2009 4:58 pm

    You know what….there is one comic character you very well resemble!! guess if u can.i know itz not difficult.aneone in this blog can say

    • September 7, 2009 7:44 pm

      You know what…I have no idea !!! Please let me know !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • soneeta permalink
        September 8, 2009 9:44 am

        u verymuch resemble calvin….but ur hobbs is missing.may be we can associate ur blog,or ur mobile or lappy wth hobbs but u r a true calvin

    • September 7, 2009 8:01 pm

      Denis? Tom?

      I feel he fits in as all comic characters because he is a Clown all the way!!!

      😀 😀 😀

      • September 7, 2009 9:22 pm

        even Kung Fu Panda!!! 😀 😀 😀 before he leanrt Kung Fu of course!!! heheh

  44. September 7, 2009 11:09 pm

    Bro : Daaaa, what did you do??? Did you pee on the floor ?

    Vimmuuu’s actual response: No way man, I only pee in bed. Like always… Sheesh!

    ROFL… Couldn’t resist Vimmuuu! 😛

  45. September 10, 2009 1:22 pm

    LoL Vimmuuuu! 😛
    Your first trip to Europe sounds like mines to India. And my phobia is also the bathroom here (as I’m still in India).

    LoL @ what your brother said about you peeing on the floor and “forgetting” to take your jacket when going out. 😆 😛

    And yes in our summer, we do have sunshine until late in the evening hence I find it strange when it does dark at 6pm in India.

    So….. Vimmuuu……. What is your secret of losing 6kg in 2 weeks??

    BTW, I love your sightseeing pics.
    And bless you, you wanted to see snow. 🙂

  46. September 20, 2009 4:40 am

    I ONLY saw one thing in the entire post..
    6 kgs in two weeks? 😯
    HOW?in gawd’s name how?

    *waiting to hear the secret* 😀 😀

    now will read properly 😀

  47. September 20, 2009 4:46 am

    The pictures are beautiful! specially the sunset one(thats sunset right?)

    *sigh* yes…its really not hard to imagine your bro sighing over your antics…
    trust me we all do the same when we read your antics 😛 😛

  48. September 21, 2009 5:11 pm

    This is a nice series,will wait for the next. 🙂

  49. luv4god permalink
    September 21, 2009 11:51 pm

    Nice post!!!

    Really the westerners don’t have the basic thinking in building their bathrooms..

    I think with their sophisticated thinking they lost their common sense some where

    Regards,
    Luv4god.wordpress.com

  50. October 3, 2009 4:19 am

    Ahem you lost weight to fit into ur fave tees or you thought you might get some swiss gal for tea?

    Ahh good you told that the guy with the spear was not you. Was way too excited after seeing the blue skirt!!!

    Ayyo we have one thing in common for sure….I have saved tickets of all kinds…first plane ticket when I was allowed to travel from Dubai for the first time without my parents, first bus tickets to college, train tickets when we had a run away marriage…..aioo too many I say and I have them in a scrap book 🙂

    Man you have any more bathroom tales here on ur blog or should I SOS crafty to give me the links???

  51. October 21, 2009 9:23 am

    awesome post….totally enjoyed ur experiences at Basel and now heading to the next in series!

Trackbacks

  1. Unravelling the Indian water mystery … « My attempt to write
  2. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 2 – Zermatt « V-Lokam
  3. Bathroom Tale and Kitchen Kalippu! « Crafty Shines
  4. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 3 – Chateau de Chillon « V-Lokam
  5. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 4 – London (city) « V-Lokam
  6. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 6 – Interlaken « V-Lokam
  7. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 7 – Disney Village (Paris) « V-Lokam
  8. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 8 – Paris City tour « V-Lokam
  9. Once upon a time in Europe – Final Part – Paris (Disneyland Park) « V-Lokam

Leave a Reply

