Skip to content

Flashback – Part 1

November 10, 2009

Writers block, my foot ! (Well, actually my left foot, I donno why, but I kinda like my right foot)

Anyway, I guess I am out of that block, atleast as of now ! As mentioned in the previous post, I did finish writing a few posts, but then again, since I am approaching my 200th post soon, I thought I might as well save all those to publishΒ as an occasion post πŸ˜€

They say, the best way for bloggers to come out of Writers block is to do tags and here I am with an old and beaten-to-death tag – The Memories Tag. Rashmi tagged me for this like months ago (April 30 this year, to be precise), but I didn’t want to do this because it would make me all nostalgic and mushy. I am a home sick psychopath who gets into a sober mood each time I come back from home; that’s like twice in a month and didn’t want to go through those emotions, atleast for a post ! So guys, I am warning you, this is going to be an ultra boring post for some of you, all the best ! Keeping the length of the post in mind, I am splitting the post into two and there isn’t a specific order for any of the memories listed here. Btw, the tag was to list only nine sweet memories; I have done one extra, if that’s not going to be a problem with you guys !

Β 1. Kabhi Tata, Kabhi Gum !

I was in my 10th and I had this habit of buying chewing/bubble gums every day; yes every day ! My mom used to keep coins at the top of the fridge for easy access and every afternoon, before my bus would come, I used to get 25 / 50 fils (paise in UAE) for my gums, most of the times without even consenting her. There was a particular day when I was late for school trying to find some coins for my gum and ultimately asked my mom for it. She said she didnt have change and asked me why I needed the coins everyday. There was a heated argument that followed and I shouted at her and stormed out of the house slamming the door (which I do even today, sigh!).

That evening before dinner, when I went to the kitchen for a hot chappathi during my studies, my mom said she was upset the whole afternoon because of my behavior. She said every day I leave the home only after waving a tata to her, and that she was upset only because she missed that tata of mine and not for all my shouting and arguments.

That’s when even I realized, there wasn’t a single day when I had stepped out of home to school without waving a tata to my mom. God knows, I mean, only my mom knows when I started doing it. I don’t do it these days though, stopped it when I started going to college, but I don’t forget to say β€œmom, Im leaving” whenever I step out of home even today.

Btw, I stopped having gums ever since that incident and took a resolution not to touch it again ever. This is the first time I am declaring this secret of mine anywhere; I always smile when people ask me the reason behind this resolution !

Β 2. Waaaaaaaaaahhhh !!!

Β Speaking of tata, how many of you remember your first day in school ? Well, I don’t remember it completely, but I have this faint memory of me crying inside the bus asking my dad not to leave me. After the bus started moving, I went running to the last seat looking for my dad through the glass when I found him waving his hand at me. I threw the bag and water bottle on the bus and continued crying at the top of my voice. The bus conductor came and sat next to me and I don’t remember anything after that!!! Probably he had to hit on my head to shut me up ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Β 3. Indoor games !

Our family and Rakesh’s used to share an apartment while we were in Dubai. The guy literally grew up with us. I don’t know how it was for my brother, but this guy was a pain in the wrong place for me back then; he still is ! Anyway, Rakesh used to be so young then and had none to play with; we were his only hope of some kind of entertainment. Me and my brother would play cricket in the corridor along with our neighbor Girish and Rakesh was always our official ball boy !! We also played Donkey in our corridor and Rakesh used to be the ever green donkey !!! For those who didn’t know, donkey is a game played by three. One player, ie, the donkey, stands in the center and the other two on each ends keeps throwing the ball to each other making sure that the donkey doesn’t catch hold of it. Poor Rakesh,Β  there were times when he actually caught the ball from me, but since he was the youngest guy then, he had to listen to me. Moreover, that was the only way I could take my revenge on him !! and yeah, we also loved playing those treasure hunt games. My bro used to give us treasure maps marked with β€˜X’ in it and also with some weird clues in chits, that would either lead us to another clue or to the treasure. Once we found a chit in the kitchen and that said, β€œfollow the balloon that’s in the hall”. Rakesh and me kept searching for the balloon in the hall the whole afternoon and finally declared our defeat. When we asked my bro about the balloon, he asked us to look carefully at the curtain; it had a picture of a hot air balloon and the next clue to the treasure was behind the curtain !!

Rakesh, do you wanna add some more to all the fun we used to have ?

Β 4. The Heavy-Weight letter !

My brother and me were big fans of WWF (World Wrestling Federation) and were literally addicted to it. We started watching them ever since we got our cable connection at home and would keep watching all the re runs too. We used to imitated a few of the wrestlers, trying to act and speak like them and once I even got my finger fractured when my bro was trying a wrestling maneuver on me. After my brother left to India for his studies, I lost my WWF company and in the initial days, I used to sulk while watching them because I missed him so badly. I knew my bro had no ways of watching WWF from where he stayed, so I started updating him with my letters. No, not emails, physical letters! I used to send him letters with each and every description, even with the most prominent dialogues !

It was the 1995 Royal Rumble and my bro asked me over the phone as to whats happening. I told him that as usual I would send him a letter with all the updates, right from the screening level. I wrote, and wrote, and wrote, stuck pictures, drew the Royal Rumble flow chart, and again wrote and wrote and wrote. It finally came upto 19 pages, front and back !!! I had a tough time convincing my dad to post it to India; with all the pictures in it, the letter was really really heavy!! I don’t know if my bro had read all those 19 pages (because he hardly reads a long email from me πŸ˜‰ ), but I still remember how much I enjoyed spending my time writing that letter; it was like watching WWF with him once again.

Β 5. For my mom !

Β I was in my kindergarten and I had this habit of collecting leaves and flowers that fell on the school ground to take them home. During the break, after having my food, I would go to the ground and pick all those withered leaves and stuff it in my tiffin box. I remember once asking permission from the teacher to use the restroom so that I could collect a few more of those leaves and stuff it in my small pocket. Well it seems, I had a reason for taking those leaves and flowers along with me from school all the way home. I don’t remember the reason but according to my mother, this was my explanation back then – I was taken to Dubai at a very young age and we all have been living in a flat ever since. I had been seeing my mom always at home inside the four walls and I was under the impression that my poor old mom never seen or knew what a tree or a leaf was ! Leaves and flowers weren’t the only stuffs I got for my mother during my kindergarten days. There was this girl named β€˜Abidha’ in our class; I used to come back home with her hair clips and bands for my mom !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Aaaaahhh…those were the days. Its not over yet ! Part 2 coming soon !!

99 Comments leave one →
  1. anitha permalink
    November 10, 2009 5:28 am

    hey looooosey……. :):)
    just loved the last one… its so cute of u… :):)

    • November 10, 2009 5:32 am

      loooooooooooooooooseeeyyyyyyyyyyyy…..this is your first comment in this blog !!! welcomeeeee !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      the last one? you mean, getting Abhidas hair bands ??? πŸ˜‰

  2. November 10, 2009 6:10 am

    Lemme be happy with second place πŸ™‚

    • November 10, 2009 6:26 am

      This is a sweet post (very unlike you), this is a cute post (you wrote it?) and those are some lovely memories (they am sure are yours ;-)). More words releasing from my key board pretty soon πŸ™‚ BTW technically i am first though i won’t explain the technicalities πŸ˜‰

      • November 11, 2009 1:49 am

        you shouldve stopped with this comment. Im choking already ! πŸ˜€

  3. November 10, 2009 8:48 am

    This is an excellent tag.
    Loved the 5th one most. Can’t wait to read the second part.

    Congratulations on completing almost 200 posts. That’s a big achievement.

    Cheers!!

    • November 11, 2009 1:50 am

      Excellent tag, huh? Buhahahahhahahaha !!!

      Heyy, you are the first one to congratulate me for the 200 ! Thanks for the advance wishes ! πŸ˜€

  4. November 10, 2009 8:57 am

    Excellent. Sweet Memories ,btw what did that conductor say to you??? πŸ˜‰

    • November 10, 2009 4:58 pm

      I forgot to tell that I still watch WWE, Undertaker is till there and HBK and HHH also. Hulkamania has joined TNA and same goes true for Ric Flair,

      woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

      Want any info, contact me πŸ˜‰

      • November 11, 2009 1:52 am

        I donno yaar. Im telling you, I dont remember anything after that ! Probably he hit me real hard and I fell unconscious ! πŸ˜€

        I stopped watching them like 8 years back ! Complete drama these days ! and those oldies are still wrestling??? Cmon, they mite be as old as grandad !!! πŸ˜€

        • November 11, 2009 11:09 am

          Hellow! They have transformed into legends πŸ˜€

          U, HHH, HBK are 44, 45, 45 while the other 2 are above 70 πŸ˜‰
          even u can defeat them πŸ˜€

  5. November 10, 2009 9:08 am

    me 4th! 😦 now let me go back and read the post.. πŸ˜›

    • Rohini permalink
      November 10, 2009 9:21 am

      awww…. hugs for the last one! πŸ™‚
      WWF – my brother was a big fan and he used to watch runs and reruns and re-reruns too! 😦
      love for gum during those days – Looks like everyone had this love! πŸ˜›
      I know little things about my first day at school – like having torn Mum’s saree pallu with my teeth (yup they were really strong) and then having slapped my teacher for making me stay at school!
      Anyway, great tag… waiting for the next part..

      • November 11, 2009 2:08 am

        You still here??? how come I didnt see you for a few of my previous posts ?? πŸ˜€

        LOL, wrigleys, huh???? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        you slapped a teached ????????????? Gaawwdd ! Im nice with you from now on !!!

        Ohh, great tag, huh? another victim !! πŸ˜€

      • November 11, 2009 2:11 am

        Yea was here only… just got a little busy with some stuff.. anyway, yup better be careful with me I did slap my teacher and she still remembers it! πŸ˜›

  6. November 10, 2009 10:47 am

    Oh !!! What a fantastic post, Vimmuuu !!!! πŸ™‚

    I am all smiles reading these wonderful memories of yours. πŸ™‚

    The chewing gum incident touched me so much – the love between a mom and his son shone thru !!! πŸ™‚

    You wrote letters ????? Scan one and post that too !!!!! 19 page letter – you are the ultimate !!!! πŸ˜†

    Are you trying to justify your act of taking that girl’s hairbands and clips home ????? Are you sure, you gave it to your mom ??????

    Such cute and touching incidents – yours being the first post I am reading today – it just warmed my heart !!!! πŸ™‚

    Waiting for the second part !!!!!

    • November 11, 2009 2:10 am

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I dont have any of those letters ! How will I ? I am the sender, remember ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Heyy, I got those with that girls permission πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Thanks for those words !

  7. November 10, 2009 10:52 am

    Sweeet post indeeed.. esp last one :)))

  8. November 10, 2009 10:57 am

    hey… the last one is really cute… assuming your mom didnt know anything else apart 4 walls in the world… other stories are interesting and funny as well…
    waiting for the second part πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:11 am

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ God knows what my mom did with all those flowers ! πŸ˜€

  9. November 10, 2009 11:02 am

    Awesome Vimmuuu! You took me back in time, to some of the best phases of my life – the early 80s, when life seemed all of bliss, bright sunshines, long walks with Mum, lots of Chew gums, phantom smokes…… what can I say, now that they seem so far away!

    Thankfully, I have a sterling memory which I access often, to revisit those wonderful and unmatched times!

    Whether or not my children will have that luxury, I’m not too sure, though I wish!

    • November 11, 2009 2:13 am

      I know ! God I wish we didnt have to grow up ! I miss all those; life sucks big time now !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You have children??? I thought you werent married ??? Ohhhh…ahhaaaa…now I get it !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  10. November 10, 2009 11:09 am

    Awwwo…So schweeet !!!! ..

  11. November 10, 2009 11:18 am

    @no 5

    good thing u didnt bring the whole girl along with the hair bands n clips!
    hhehe!!

    will be back to comment in detail!
    c ya later bro!

    • November 11, 2009 2:15 am

      Ohhh, you know mom ! do you think I could do that ?? πŸ˜€

  12. November 10, 2009 11:24 am

    This is really superb bro… The memories are really sweet… Me too a big fan of WWF… even now too I Watch it occasionally…
    Loved your 1st and 5th memory they are too cute πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:17 am

      WWF was good back then. I dont watch it these days !

      πŸ˜€

  13. November 10, 2009 11:31 am

    SO you used to irritate girls even then?? You stole that poor girl’s hair pins etc?? tccch!!!tcch!!! πŸ˜€ But honestly that was such a sweet gesture of your for ur mom *am getting that choky feeling*

    19 page letter??? You can make a book out of it πŸ˜€

    And that Chewing Gum Incident is sweet as well!!! U gave it up for ur mom?? :-)So u do have a heart somewhere πŸ˜‰

    *Am dying of that choking feeling*

    • November 11, 2009 2:29 am

      I didnt steal them ! I might have asked and she gave them, I was irresistible back then too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      19 page book??…that should be a manual, na?

      LOL, of course I do have a heart? Why else should I respond to your comments ???

      • November 11, 2009 6:14 pm

        Irresistible back then too??? ROFL!!! :-p

        This profile pic of will qualify under all categories but irresistibility πŸ˜€

        • November 13, 2009 5:20 am

          Heyyy…wait till you see the second part !! Its got snaps !! tan ta daaan !

          Why? thats such a cute cat ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          • November 13, 2009 1:13 pm

            Ya the cat is cute but her eyes look scary πŸ˜€ and if that is an entry for irresistibility contest use the photo of Tom am sure hearts will melt πŸ˜€ and it would suit you more πŸ˜›

            And am eagerly waiting for Part 1, dying to see your snaps.

            ROFL !!! Me dying to see your snaps πŸ˜€

  14. November 10, 2009 11:45 am

    Aww sweet sweet sweet all the way. treasure hunt, donkey heheh what fun games they were. wonder if kids still play them 😦
    And you bought back memories of royal rumble! And along with that you made me miss Hitman Hart, Shawn Michaels, Tatanka, lex luger and Razor Ramon. I don’t believe I still remember these names 😐

    A 19 page letter is some achievement eh! I miss writing letters. E-mails and instant messengers’ have ruined our lives.
    And like everyone here I loved your 5th memory πŸ™‚

    Am glad your β€œblock’s” cleared, imagine missing such a nice post πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:36 am

      you played those games too ????? Rakesh…we have someone here, wanna play donkey again ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Ohh, Shawn was my favourite. I imitated him a lot back then !! even his intro moves ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I know, physical letters were fun; receiving and reading ! The excitement when you open them, aaaaaahh !!! πŸ™‚

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • November 11, 2009 10:50 pm

        ohh yaa..im ready!!

        ….heyy…wait a second!! who is gonna be the donkey??no way!! im NOT goin to do it!
        im not falling for tht trick again!!

        • November 13, 2009 5:19 am

          LOL ! You have to !! you are still the youngest !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  15. November 10, 2009 11:53 am

    19 pages letter boss thats why your bro never asks many questions to you now
    as you explained in last travelogue ..where do you want to go and you said I want to see some castles…and he rather then inquiring more on that just searched one for you….
    Awesome chemistry it would have been with your brother…..
    so where is Abhida now πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:38 am

      Oh ya…me and bro share an amazing chemistry πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ he is the tough one and im the jerk ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Sigh !! dont even remind…Abhidaaaa…where are you ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  16. November 10, 2009 2:43 pm

    Vims, u decided to do the tag in November finally πŸ˜€ I thot u wud do it next April πŸ˜›

    Hairbands and clips – ha ha ha! And what did ur Mom do with them πŸ˜‰
    But, u were such a warm kid then eh πŸ˜‰ thinking abt what Mom hs nt seen n all that! But whatz with calling her old mom πŸ˜› She ws young then na πŸ˜‰

    WWF – me n sis too πŸ™‚ We used to collect those stickers n act crazy .. one who hd the most no. of them wud be served by friends in school .. they wud carry our bag to and fro from the bus and all that – ha ha silly fun we hd πŸ˜› Undertaker, Yokozona, Hitman πŸ˜› hw stupid it looks today πŸ˜‰

    U wrote a 19-page letter!!!! OMG!!!!

    Hw sad of Rakesh … he hd to be the donkey 😦 Gotta read his side of the story πŸ˜‰

    The gum tale is so so heartfelt! May this bond b/w u and aunty remain so sweet forever πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:42 am

      You atleast thought that ! I was not thinking of attempting this at all πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I shouldve given them back !! or wait, I must have given them to another girl..who knows πŸ˜‰

      Oh ya…those trump cards and stickers !! I so miss all them now !!

      yeah yeah, you could read his side of the story. He has commented πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Poor thing !

      Thanks a lot Swarrr !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  17. November 10, 2009 3:04 pm

    Wow! πŸ˜€

    Loved each and everything in this post. Hilarious! πŸ˜†

  18. November 10, 2009 3:14 pm

    Hahaha… I share a thing or two with you there (per my bachpan) except leaves and flowers stuff…. Never liked flowers, still don’t.

    1st one was senti one and the bestest. We all take things for granted. We hug our friends and colleagues if we meet them on regular basis. How many times our parents and siblings? And you should not say ‘Mom, I am leaving’.. You shud say ‘Mom, I will be back’. πŸ™‚

    • November 10, 2009 3:25 pm

      Awww!!! Vee that’s such a sweet comment!!!

      You two are back together??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› What with supporting him everywhere πŸ˜€

    • November 10, 2009 6:56 pm

      Awesome comment Vee! Couldn’t agree more!

    • November 11, 2009 2:47 am

      Dude…another KBK !!! I donno if we had discussed this before, but I hate flowers; all of them !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Oxyy boyyy….well said, so true !! We do all kinds of stuffs for our friends and ‘girls’, but for parents, we take them for granted !

      and that ‘I will be back’ statement…wouldnt I sound like Arnold ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      @ Smita : We have always been together ! you and your silly imaginations ! πŸ˜€

  19. November 10, 2009 5:25 pm

    What lovely memories.

    Loved your bringing leaves and other things for your mom πŸ™‚ But you still slam doors and storm out of the house?!

    I feel terrible about kids crying while being sent to school… 😦

    The 19 page letter was an indication that you were going to be a wonderful blogger one day and see here you are – if he saved it you could scan and put some pages here πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2009 2:49 am

      Yeah, I still slam doors ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Last year, I did something similar and broke the door knob ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ But otherwise, Im nice πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You felt terrible??? Im sure even your first day wouldve been something similar ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      and that 19 page letter..you think so?? My bro shouldve stopped me back then itself ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  20. November 10, 2009 7:24 pm

    @Smita, Hum judaa hi kab huye the? Aise rumors mat failaya karo. Saath the aur rahenge. Muhahahaha

    • November 10, 2009 7:55 pm

      Oh what are u saying???

      I thought u guys had parted ways!!! πŸ˜›

      • November 11, 2009 2:49 am

        No, we never ! Dont know what made you think that way !!!

  21. November 10, 2009 8:00 pm

    aww…nice post vimmuuu..
    till date, even i say ‘mom i m leaving’ before i step out of the house..waiting for part 2

  22. November 11, 2009 1:59 am

    1)Which bubble gum was it?
    big babol? or tht chupa chups one where we used to get free stickers of wrestlers?Do u remember there was this contest once where we could win a nintendo game boy!i got all the stickers except for the one with Kamala’s sign!:(

    Vim : Ohh, I think I had the one with the Kamalas sign ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    2)bus conductor?? mammooty??

    Vim : LOL ! valippu. ente eeeshwaaraaaa !! πŸ˜€

    3)”Anyway, Rakesh used to be so young then and had none to play with; we were his only hope of some kind of entertainment”

    Heyy!!whts with tht dialogue????
    u made me sound as if i was the retarded hrithik roshan frm koi mil gaya or something!! So young and no one to play with???? huh???? grrrrrrr!!

    Vim : Ok, tell me, who were your other friends during those days? tell me tell me !! πŸ˜€

    U guys made my life horrible with tht donkey game!!remebr wht all names u used to call me?? meeshilla vasu,skeleton rock etc..etc!!
    with all the horrible trauma i faced growing with u ppl..i would have defntly grown up n become a serial killer!

    Vim : hehehehe…meesha illa vaasu..skeleton rock was the best ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Ok, serial killer or cereal killer ? πŸ˜€

    And abt the balloon..i think i remebr tht clue very well..it was actually “follow where pilots flew in balloons across the white clouds ” and thn we found the chit which was hidden inside the cap of the blue ‘pilot’ pen which was on the table near the curtain!
    hehe..velyettan also hid real coins inside the shoes in the hallway,under the couch etc!

    Dude he even made special cardboard ‘king’ crowns for us as trophies whn our exam results used to come out!

    Vim : I dont remember the crown thingy ! I never excelled in my studies, probably thats y ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I think i still have a special something back at my home ;yesss….a rare hand drawing made by the saintly sinner of “The teenage mutant ninja turtles”!
    i hope its still there in my house!

    Vim : Scan it and send it da ! πŸ˜€ We could show it to his daughter ! πŸ˜€

    3)
    HULKAMANIA RULES!!
    remebr we used to watch wrestling even before cable television!
    there was this late night arabic sports programme where they used to show 30 minutes of WWF!

    Vim : Ya, I know. I meant regularly ! πŸ˜€ Hulkamania ! I kinda forgot that name ! πŸ˜€

    4)
    Even i used to collect apple seeds which were lying on the school ground and give it to aunty! she knew it wouldnt grow,but still she planted those seeds in the balcony garden just to see me happy! πŸ™‚

    man i miss those days!

    Vim : Me too da ! How I wish you never grew up ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    and i must say it was a great honour to be Shrek’s Donkey! πŸ™‚

    Vim : do you have a choice ? πŸ˜€

  23. November 11, 2009 3:15 am

    Wow..u made me remember my childhood memories too. Quite interesting!!
    I was an addict to the WWF cards’ game. I remember how WWF caught the fancy of many people around that time! lol! And the good old letters!! Nothing can beat a letter…hand writing on it gives a sense of nostalgia when we read it in future…but alas! no one does it now…in a sense, internet and e-mails have made all of us lazy!!
    And the fifth one was the best!! πŸ˜€ Thatz the best gift a boy can get home to his mom!! heee heeee! πŸ˜€ Very nice post!! Phew!! one more reason to get nostalgic!!

    • November 13, 2009 5:18 am

      Welcome to V-lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !

      I know, those WWF trump cards, na? It was a craze, no doubt !!!

      ya, I miss those hard copy letters too. Emails and the rest lacks intimacy ! There is a great sense of excitement when you open a letter and start reading whats in it ! Chey 😦

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Btw, your blog..its not updated or you linked your old URL over here???

  24. November 11, 2009 4:16 am

    dude…
    you remind me of a little girl…

  25. November 11, 2009 9:31 am

    Waving tata and crying, playing indoor games, fans of body builders, collecting leaves…. I still doubt.. Were I staying with this GUY or this GAL?? 😦

    • November 13, 2009 5:13 am

      hey u missed the letter part !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Dont worry, even I had a doubt if I was staying with an alien or an animal !!

      Waving tata and crying – kids do that; irrespective of the gender ! oh, for that you need something called heart ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      playing indoor games – I guess even we played indoor cricket !!
      fans of body builders – more than 50% of WWF viewers are men !!!!
      collecting leaves – so, there arent male botany lecturers ??

      Podai podai ! πŸ˜€

  26. November 11, 2009 9:34 am

    So, the Muhurtham was in November is it?? To do the tag?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yea… me too always waves tata to my mom, even now when I go home to Mysore and then go out for some work and all that, else the day just doesn’t begin.

    I didn’t cry at all when I joined school! Apparently, I happily waved bye to my mom and proceeded to make my teacher’s life miserable!!! πŸ˜†

    WE used to play Donkey too!! and the shortest in the group (read: ME) used to be the Donkey way too many times!! Then, went and complained to my grandpa, he made sure I was never the Donkey after that!!! 😈

    Me and my sis – we used to watch WWF too!! πŸ˜†
    you wrote descriptions of fights in letters to your bro? I feel sorry for him! long suffering for him! paapa!! :mrgreen:

    how sweet! you took hairbands and clips to your mom?!! Awww… that rates as “cute”!!

    • November 13, 2009 5:09 am

      LOL !! No muhurthum…this tag isnt my kind I thought πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Moreover, those memories would make me even more home sick ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You wave even now ??? Great ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Chey chey ! spoilsport ! you went and complained to your grandpa ??? You were the donkey because you couldnt catch the ball !! Ok tell me, what do cricketers do on the field during their breaks??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I know! he suffered back then and you guys are suffering now !

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Daanku Pixie ! πŸ˜€

  27. November 11, 2009 12:07 pm

    Those were such wonderful memories,Vimmu! How could you think we’d get bored?I know I didnt. I loved reading them.

    You know my brother used to be a die hard WWF fan. My father and I used to have so much fun pulling his leg back than that he used to get really annoyed!Father and I always told him WWF was a total hogwash and those wrestlers were people who could give stiff competition to any top actor in the industry! Boy! Brother used to get mighty defensive and shoo us out of the room. It used to be a sight!

    waiting for second part eagerly! trust me,no sarcasm here. I mean it πŸ™‚

    • November 13, 2009 5:06 am

      Deeps, do you have any idea that you are being nice to me these days ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, I can understand your brothers plight ! I used to have mega arguments with my cousins in India those days on the same topic ! But these days, I dont watch it ! Its all drama now ! I repeat NOW ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      No sarcasm??? See, what did I tell you in the beginning ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  28. November 11, 2009 12:46 pm

    AIYO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    enthoru memories aliyaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!

    1. If I say “I am leaving”, when going out, I will never hear the end of it. It always has to be, “I will go and come back”!!! ROFL!!!!!
    2. I dont have any memory of my first day in school!!!!
    3. My fav indoor game will always be book cricket!!!!!! πŸ˜‰
    4. I used to watch WWF long back πŸ˜› then I took an interest in ladies wrestling πŸ˜‰
    5. no comments!!!!!!!!!!!

    tee hee!!!!

    • November 13, 2009 5:01 am

      1. ROFL !!! poyittu varaaam, alle ?

      2. You went to school ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      3. ohh yeah, we played that in school. I was in that cricket also πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      4. ladies wrestling, huh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I like them when they dont wrestle πŸ˜‰

      5. so sweet of you ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • March 26, 2010 2:47 am

      ROFL!!! Ladies wrestling eh OG? πŸ˜€ hmmm….and I thought you were a seedha guy πŸ˜›

  29. November 11, 2009 1:44 pm

    Sweet post vimmuu,loved the tag and good that after long u r did this tag.

    Me too have a habit of telling my mom i am leaving that too in a high pitch and i even do it now when i visit her.

    I don’t remember what i did on my first day in school,has to check with mom

    We used to get WWF stickers for gems,we used to collect it and stick it on the almariah.

    So sweet u brought leaves and flowers to show mom that there are trees outside.

    Make ur mom read this post.

    • November 11, 2009 1:50 pm

      Liked ur profile pic

    • November 13, 2009 4:59 am

      You tooo??? Same pinch then ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, Im sure you must have cried on your first day at school πŸ˜€

      My mom remembers the leaf story; but she doesnt know about the gums ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  30. November 11, 2009 2:54 pm

    @ 1 …don’t tell me U are not a fan of shahrukh\karan johar movies…
    I thought i’m the only home sick\emotional species over here…nice to know there are few more πŸ˜€
    @ 2 —i didn’t cry…was so happy 2 find so many chicks in the car πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    @3 —-wow i used play that with kids in my apartment occasionaly πŸ™‚
    @ 5 ….Y mallu ammas are drama queens…..same here bro….

    Vimmmu this is cheating cheating….where is the real stories……means proposals , rejections,vayinottams :d :d

    • November 12, 2009 11:05 am

      …Y mallu ammas are drama queens… ….sorry it is about kabhi tata….not @ 4 my mom πŸ™‚

    • November 13, 2009 4:57 am

      Its something to do with our state I guess – Kerala ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      you had chicks in your car??? and you were flirting with them even then !! πŸ˜€

      you play them even now ??? Lucky dude !

      LOL !! again, the kerala effect ! TV serial must be ! πŸ˜€

      • November 13, 2009 7:32 pm

        yeahh may be :D…..my mom talk to me like,as if still i’m a scholl kid πŸ™„ …sighh

        @ games…yeahh got a bunch of kids in my apartment….used to play with them occasionaly …….itz fun actually πŸ˜€ :D……if we won’t play with them ,then they won’t let we elders play : πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
        @ chicks ……ROFL :d :d no comments dude πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  31. November 12, 2009 9:57 am

    too cute πŸ™‚ i m sure u must have cracked ur skull thinking hard, digging up memories to record for this tag! πŸ˜€

    no seriously, tell me,what exactly did that bus conductor do??? particularly since u dont seem to remember anything after that. did he really bash u up? were u crying that hard???

    the 5th one is too sweet. LOL u actually took hairbands from girls for ur mom??? man, u must have thought she’s one deprived soul!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ god bless her!

    waiting for the 2nd installment … πŸ™‚
    and more of a peek into my reflection’s childhood days…

    • November 13, 2009 4:55 am

      Yeah, cracked real hard ! The tag is almost an year old; now you know why πŸ˜€

      LOL, there are a few here bothered about the bus conductor ! Poor guy, he must be having hiccups at his old age somewhere in Kerala !

      God bless whom, abidha ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  32. November 13, 2009 3:49 am

    I am just thinking the pile of garbage that must have collected at your place with you collecting every twig and leaf on the way home : ) But,anyways a very thoughtful child… I must say!

    • November 13, 2009 4:53 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !

      Garbage ??? yeah, my mom wouldve had a tough time !! …even washing my tiffin box !!

      See ya around !

  33. November 13, 2009 4:17 pm

    Ah..I m so later here…
    finally u got time from busy schedule for this tag πŸ™‚

    Luvd the last one..thought i doubt that u give hairband etc to ur mom ..not to any other girl in KG πŸ™‚

    • November 18, 2009 4:45 am

      LOL !!! Finally , I did !!

      and thanks for tagging me Rashmi !! I really had a nice time !

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ , it really was for my mom ! πŸ˜€ and ssshhh…..

  34. November 13, 2009 10:44 pm

    Awww Vimmuuu! That was a post so unlike you! Is your upcoming wedding turning you all mushy πŸ™‚

    Such sweet sweet memories! And the leaves for your mom was the sweetest! Did you really think that she never got to step out πŸ™‚ You must have been a really sensitive kid ! But getting your classmates hairbands and clips for your mother! LOL! Am sure she(your classmate) must not have been happy πŸ™‚

    That 19 page letter must have been something! Am sure your brother must have loved it! I used to love getting long, detailed letters! I miss those days when we used to write letters – now all the info gets across on phone and writing a letter seems almost obsolete 😦

    Such a sweet post and I would have missed it – if you had not told me yesterday!

    • November 18, 2009 4:50 am

      Grrrrrr…why are all my posts related to my wedding….grrrrrr again !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I think I was stupid and not sweet for getting those stuffs for mom ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Btw, Im still a sensitive fool ! πŸ˜‰ But guess what, Abidha was happy giving them to me ! πŸ˜€

      I know, life has become so mechanical these days with phones, sms and emails. I love those letters !!! No one sends me one but ! 😦

      Yeah, now I guess I would have to remind you of the second part also ! Sigh !!! 😦

  35. November 14, 2009 2:17 am

    Childhood memories are always the most precious. Lovely post. Makes me nostalgic about all the ones I have.

    • November 18, 2009 4:47 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Yeah !! It does make one all nostalgic !!! Do you wanna try this tag ? Please do ! πŸ˜€

  36. November 18, 2009 12:52 am

    Awwwwww…how sweeet of you, Vimmu, to have brought flowers and leaves for your Mom. She must be one lucky lady πŸ™‚

    • November 18, 2009 4:46 am

      yeah, with all those flowers and leaves, she would have been one lucky jungli lady πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  37. November 18, 2009 8:20 pm

    Be extra careful when you slam the door after marriage. I am telling you there are multiple ingenious ways wives around the world have devised to put an end to this. In case you want a list mail me (not Jeny πŸ˜› 😑 )

    At last you solved The Curious Case of Freaky Rakesh πŸ˜› From now on I will be gentle with that poor guy. Can’t blame him to be like this after all the child abuse he went through at your place πŸ˜₯ *sakshi sings Don’t Cry For Me, Blogville for Rakesh*

    Oh la you were a cute little boy back then haan? Getting stuff for your mom even if it was stolen.:mrgreen: I heard Abidha has vowed never to tie her hair like Draupadi until her husband avenges for the childhood trauma of running around clip-bandless 😳

    • November 19, 2009 12:39 am

      The curious whaat??who u callin’ a freak??huh???

      *Rakesh decides to sing a song after a long gap of 8 years*

      “aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!………………aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!……baaaaaaaaaa…..Zindagi maut na ban jaaye sambhalooo yaroo!!….Zindagi maut na ban jaaye sambhalooo yaroo!!”

      btw who is this jeny? πŸ˜›

    • November 19, 2009 9:39 pm

      Is it ??? Then after wedding, I should get a house that doesnt have any doors !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I died laughing at that Rakesh joke !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ The curious case of freaky rakesh !! How true !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You related to Abidha ??? Oh no !!! the curse is chasing me now ! πŸ˜€

      @ Rakesh : you dont know who jeny is ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ She is a fan of mine who happened to see that ladder-tattoo snap and thinks Im some bollywood hero !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  38. November 22, 2009 10:11 pm

    wonderful memories πŸ™‚ U know in our family we too have the custom saying bye and in Bongs we dont say we are going ..we say “aashchi” or “aashi” equivalent of “aati/aata hu” i.e. we are coming back.
    I had once written a 14 page letter to my sister when she was in hostel..usually my letters were of 6-7 pages. πŸ™‚

    • December 3, 2009 1:14 am

      we say aaashi when we need to sneeze πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  39. March 26, 2010 2:53 am

    awwww …This is another cute post Vimmuuu:) loved that part the most πŸ™‚ the one where you used to bring leaves and flowers for your mom:)
    awww:)

    and saying tata to her is too cute:)

    I miss those childhood days…:)

    19 page letter? *Indy looks at Vimmuuu with glee* Can there be a KRB?
    Kubh reunited bro? πŸ˜†

    coz man! with a 19 page letter you gotta be my missing friend or something ! πŸ˜†

    The charm of writing letters has just faded these days..I think its a dying art (which reminds me that this is a draft lying with me *Vimmuuu groans* πŸ‘Ώ )

    The first day of school is like that for most kids…I however grinned my way inside the gate and gave a whack to my bro to make him shut up πŸ˜€
    Mom wondered if someone had changed babies in the hospital when I was born πŸ˜€

    • March 26, 2010 2:54 am

      oh btw!~ to ask you the same question you asked me! πŸ˜›
      did you have trouble with precis writing as well? πŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. Part 2 – Flashback « V-Lokam

Leave a Reply

