Skip to content

Once upon a time in Europe – Part 4 – London (city)

December 2, 2009

Continued from Part 3 :

Bro : Don’t oversleep. We would have to go to my office first, get the printouts, catch a tram and then your train, which is at 8.30. Since we have already checked in online, you just have to go directly to the immigration.

Me : and whens the next train ?

Bro :  8.50, which is of no use. Because you would reach Zurich by 9.50 and I don’t think they would let you in for the 10.30 am flight.

Me : Gulp. Ok, will wake up at 6am, that’s enough, na?

Bro : No, wake up at 5 am. You spend a lot of time in the bathroom !

Me : Don’t worry, I wont be late. Will wake up by 6.

Bro : (sigh!) Whatever !!!

After dinner, I checked some of those castle snaps and by 12.30 went to bed quoting Joeys ”LONDON BABY” !!!

Woke up at 6 am, with a high temperature and a horrible cold. My body was aching because of the previous day’s adventures and was feeling lazy to get up from where I was lying. I knew my brother would murder me if I don’t get up and the very scare drove me to complete my routines. Blame it on early morning, I refused to come out of the closet and my brother started yelling that it was getting late. And later, when my bro was busy with his routines, yours truly instead of getting dressed sat with the laptop and started going through all the e-mails. When my bro came out, I was still with the laptop in my indoor dresses. He blasted at me for being lethargic and asked me if I didn’t want to leave.

If you all remember the previous part, my bro forgot to get the printout of the tickets. The only place to get the printouts during those wee hours of the day was my bros office. So were supposed to get into some tram, go to his office, get the printouts and then board another tram that would take us to the railway station. From there, I was supposed to board a train at 8.30 to reach Zurich airport, which is another one hour from the station. The flight to London was at 10.30 from Zurich and if I missed that train at 8.30, I could never fly.

Got dressed and by the time I came out, we were really really REALLY late. In a few minutes, we got out of the house and started running towards the first tram. On the way, my brother sprained his back, but still ran to get the tickets. During that ‘morning jog’ of ours, I realized that I was feeling cold and forgot to get my jacket from home. I asked him if I could run back home and get my jacket. Before even I could complete my statement, he stared directly into my eyes like one of those movie villains and yelled, “Don’t even think about it!”.

It was 8.10 am when we reached the station and I had just 10 mins to rush to the 14th platform. My brother asked me to run for the train and said he would get a timetable for me from the counter along with his tickets. I ran and finally got into the train, kept my bag on a side and looked out of the door to see where my bro was. It was 8.19 and my bro was nowhere in sight. Just when I lost all hope, I looked out to have one last glimpse. There he was, running with his sprained back from the opposite direction. I enquired about his back pain and all he gave was a ‘hmmm’. 8.20, the doors closed and the train started moving. Waved my hands and left Basel with feelings of guilt inside for hurting my bros back.

As soon as I got into the gate for security check, they made the announcement for the flight. Wanted to call my bro after reaching inside, but didn’t have time. After all that hurry burry, I could feel the temperature of my body going high and my body was aching like crazy. Had a tablet and made myself comfortable inside the flight. During take off, they made an announcement inside the flight to take precautions for swine flu,which was a big thing back in May. Tan ta daaaan. I decided to play a small prank; I made up a few fake coughs and sneezes to scare my co-passengers. And I cant believe, they all fell for it; idiotic westerners I say !!! But it was me who had to suffer at the end because of that prank; that entire fake cough drama injured my throat further and aggravated the cold that I already had. Sigh !!

The flight arrived on time and I waited at the airport lobby for my friend and her family to pick me up. They resided in Sheffield back then, which is about 3 hrs from Luton Airport. For some goddamn reason, they were late and I was kinda worried if I landed at the right airport, my sense of geography is that bad you see. I didn’t have coins to use the phone at the airport and so got a tomato cheese sandwich for myself and called them to check where they were. I also called my s- I- l and informed her about my situation. I waited for about half an hour and made a call once again. This time they were at the parking lot and asked me to come over. Together we drove down to Eastham and by together, I mean, my friend, her husband Navin, and their daughter Kaira, her mom and also her nephew Karan. Well, that wasn’t the first time I met them; we are more or less like a family and I knew Navin even before they got married. The very fact I could get to see all of them in a different place itself was very exciting. Infact, that was one of my other dream/wish (like the snow and the castle ones); hanging out with Anitha in some other land other than India 😀 😀 😀 (Btw, I had written about her over here) I was surprised when I reached Eastham – the place was infested with Asians, no Indians. Wherever I turned, I could see only our people and yes, the place was also over crowded, just like how you find it here in India 😉 We had our lunch at a restaurant named ‘Chennai Dosa’ (I left a deeeeep sigh of relief after all the misadventures I had with the european food) and to my surprise there were more than 5 Chennai Dosa restaurants on the same street!  Meanwhile, my fever took a toll on me and so got some medicines from a nearby drug store and had it along with the lunch.

After lunch, we left the car in one of the alleys and walked to the nearest subway, hopped on into a metro and reached Central London. Please note that the initial hopping on’s to the metro was very easy !! See, I am smiling in the below snap 😀 😀

As soon as we got up from the subway, there was the Westminster Abbey right in front of us ! and of course the Big Ben too! Guess what, I never knew that the Big Ben and Westminster Abbey were together !! 😀 😀  Even after taking a lot of snaps near the Big Ben, I kept asking Navin where the Big Ben was !!! 😀 😀 😀

From there, we walked towards the London Eye. They say, we could see the whole of London when your cable reaches the highest altitude. But the damn thing was too slow for me to get excited and I really didn’t want to get into it. But sometimes, you are helpless. Karan was standing on his toes asking someone to accompany him and I had to push myself into it; couldn’t say no to that little chap.

The London Eye

View from the London Eye

View of Westminster Abbey from the London Eye

The next stop was Buckingham Palace and the Green Park. We were awfully late to get into the palace and had to be content with the outside view.

The Gate of Buckingham Palace

The Green Park

We then proceeded towards St.Pauls Cathedral and from there we took a stroll on the streets of London.

Totally lost !! 😀

The Tower bridge

By then, we were fed up with the metro!! Going up and down the subway and getting on and off from the metro with two kids (one on a pram), an elderly woman, and a literally sick and tired person (that’s me!) would’ve been one helluva task for my friend and her husband. I was getting weaker and taking my health into consideration, we all decided to wind up for the day. Got back to Eastham, had our dinner at yet another Indian restaurant and drove to Ilford to watch the premiere of a Tamil movie – Sarvvam. So what if I wasn’t well? A movie wouldn’t do any harm !! 😀 😀

The movie got over at 1 am and we retired back home. It was a three hours drive to Sheffield and it was raining Dinosaurs ! Kudos to Navin for driving us back home safely inspite of the weather and the bad light and yeah also me snoring in the front seat ! Reached home at around 3 ish in the morning; I had my medicines, didn’t even bother to change my clothes and crashed in the hall itself.

To be continued….

Next in this series : London (Peak District)

Also read : Part 1 – Basel, Part 2 – Zermatt, Part 3 – Chataeu de Chillon

Next Post : ‘V-Lokam’- Behind the curtain

146 Comments leave one →
  1. anita permalink
    December 2, 2009 10:02 pm

    loooooooooseeyyy…. first !!!

    finally you put this part !! So when are you coming next ?? 😉

    • December 3, 2009 1:39 am

      To london???? When are you getting me the tickets 😉

  2. December 2, 2009 11:30 pm

    My boots came second!!! Yay!!!! :mrgreen:

  3. December 2, 2009 11:44 pm

    I refused to come out of the closet!!! 😯 You are a goblin or what to get inside the closet to perform your morning rituals? 😛

    Sheesh you played a prank on the flight? Thank your stars that they didn’t throw you out before taking off!!!

    I loved the Totally lost photu bestest….hee a nice caption was coming in my mind but these days am in the Thanksgiving spirit of things, so refraining from even commenting on that first photo 😀

    Next post is V-lokam- behind the curtains?? 😯 ayye plz plz no more bathroom shower stories. :mrgreen: Think of your soon to be changed status at least 🙄

    • December 3, 2009 1:42 am

      ayyeyy…idu endu vrithiketta pose aanu ???? cheyy !!! kandittu enikku lajja thonunnu !!! 😀 😀 😀

      ROFL @ goblin !! 😀 😀 😀 How I wish ! 😀

      I played the prank after the flight had taken off ! Im not dumb, you see ! 😀 😀 😀

      first photo…I know what you wanted to comment….Kaakka Kaakka Surya style, na…I know ! 😀 😀

      to be changed status??? whats that 😉

      • December 3, 2009 3:18 pm

        vrithiketta manassinu ellam vrithikettadaaye tonnullu…ayyayyeeee,che che 😈

        • December 3, 2009 3:28 pm

          ohh, ippo ente manassaanu kuzhappam !!! sherikkum nokkiye aa pic !! chey chey !!

          • December 3, 2009 9:13 pm

            What’s wrong with that pic? When you are at a high altitude like that on top of a snowy mountain and you feel like…ahem…then what do you do? cross your fingers?? 😯

            Deeps double muahhhs for that comment (PS: Vimmu that muahs is cheek to cheek in case you again put abt booking a room again :mrgreen: )

          • December 4, 2009 12:35 am

            Where are you looking, Vimoose? 😆

            • December 4, 2009 11:40 am

              ini njaanaayittu onnumparayunnilley !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

              • December 4, 2009 11:57 pm

                Let me take print outs of these comments and gift it to your wifey on the wedding day. Now I know the venue. Mwahahahaha..

                Husband-te eyes kutthipottikatte bharya.

                • December 5, 2009 11:37 am

                  I changed the venue !! you wanna know why??? because you knew about it !!! Buhahahahhahahaha to you too !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

        • December 4, 2009 1:35 pm

          Ppl see outside what they r inside? Thatz wat u mean kya Deepu 😛

          LOL .. I agree too 😉 😉

          • December 5, 2009 2:29 pm

            Yes,Swar,thats what I meant although you interpreted it in a much more decent manner. I,in turn, called filth a filth !! 😀

            • December 5, 2009 3:34 pm

              hayyooo….enikku konjanam kaattaan mutteettu vayya !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 limitations of blogging, no smilies for that !! cheyy !!

              • December 9, 2009 8:53 pm

                madi konjanam kaattiyadu!! come on out with your next post 😛 😛

    • December 4, 2009 1:32 pm

      LOL Saksh .. pls say it .. comment on the 1st photo is most wanted here 😛

  4. December 3, 2009 12:23 am

    oh yeaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its London babyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    i’m too busy staring dreamily at the pics to reply to ur post!!! 😛 LOL
    waiting for the 2nd part now!

    kaira looks adorable as usual 🙂

    P.S.: ahem ahem! u didnt mention who suggested st paul’s cathedral to u to visit! 🙄

    • December 3, 2009 1:43 am

      stop staring dreamily at me ! Im engaged ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Ahem ahem…I didnt mention ?:D 😀 😀

      • December 3, 2009 9:05 am

        who cares abt u??? I’m in love with London!!!! 😀 😀 😀

        and NO U DIDNT MENTION!!! 👿 grrrr 😛

  5. December 3, 2009 12:31 am

    just seen the pics bro… they are really awesome.. you are tempting me to visit London someday… hopefully it should happen 😀 😀

    and will read the post tomo and comment on them 🙂 🙂

    • December 3, 2009 1:44 am

      Please do visit ! I mean, the post and comment ! 😀 😀

      • December 3, 2009 9:13 am

        pls do visit 🙂 its a lovely place! i’m sure u’ll enjoy it!
        let me know when u r going and i will also book my tickets…. will be a free tour guide for u 😀

        • December 5, 2009 11:38 pm

          thats nice of you Ash… thank you… 🙂 🙂 😀

  6. December 3, 2009 1:17 am

    Hahahahaha I just made a reference to your travel stories on OG’s and now see your blog update.

    Where are ticket scans?

  7. December 3, 2009 1:19 am

    Nice pictures and write-up. If you had some bed and bathroom tub pictures then I could have commented some more. Sigh!

  8. December 3, 2009 1:20 am

    You coughed and tried to scare them? I wonder why they didn’t throw you out. Cruel man!

  9. December 3, 2009 1:21 am

    In the last picture…that little cutie pie baby is thinking ‘daivame enne ee satan-te aduthininnu rakshikoo’ 🙄

    • December 3, 2009 1:47 am

      Adelllaam oru comment aakki ittooode ente Solilo ammachiye !!! kashtam !

      I had the ticket snaps; but not worthy enough of putting it up here. Wait, theres Paris and Disney land coming. Will put them for sure ! santhoshamaayallaaa ! 😀 😀 😀

      You wouldve commented more if I had some more bed and bathroom tub stories???? Heyy bhagwaaan….Dont you girls know that Im getting married !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      They dint throw me out because I did this after the flight taking off !! 😀 😀 😀

      Ayyadi, I guess I would have to agree with you in the last comment ! 😀

      • December 3, 2009 2:30 am

        Thante comment count koodatado Vimmu Ammava..

        • December 3, 2009 2:47 am

          hmmm…anganey !! btw, I guess for the first time, I agreed on something you commented. Check OGs post ! 😀

        • December 3, 2009 9:15 pm

          Sols no point in helping out this guy…if I had my way I would have cut pasted some of his 100 plus comments on to my blog…sigh!! not even a thank you to Sols for all that extra comment 😡

  10. December 3, 2009 2:05 am

    Wow! London 😀
    I wish to go there someday for sure. 100% plans for Olympics in 2012 😀

    Two of my school friends are getting married in UK in the coming six months, though I would love to attend their weddings and click some awesome pictures just like you am not 100% sure if I’ll make it.

    Am yet to read your previous parts of this series.You seemed to have had a good time 🙂

    Have fun!

    • December 3, 2009 2:27 am

      in 2012??? ….oh, probably thats how the world is going to end 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Wow, thats a nice gesture; but your school friends, are they getting married in the same month ??? Give it a try and publish your snaps ! 😀 😀

      Ohh, you didnt read the other parts of this series ??? 😀 😀 😀 Cant call them a travelogue; its filled with my experiences, similar nonsense’ !!! 😀 😀 😀

  11. December 3, 2009 5:24 am

    Well Vimmuuu……. Nice pics.

    The baby is so sweet and adorable. 😀

    And WoW! You got a fever in May?? 😯

    LoL @ you coughing in the flight and scaring the passenger.
    And btw us westerners aren’t THAT bad. We’re just more health conscious (i.e. we don’t want to catch anything) that’s all. And yes in May, swine flu was a big thing. I remember everyone carrying alcohol gel with them.

    London is great. Fortunetly been there, done that. Visited all the places you described and illustrated.

    And your friends live in sheffield. I lived there for around a year as a child (aged 8/9) but don’t remember much. I just remember Meadow Hall and that my little brother was born near there. 😕

    • December 3, 2009 5:48 am

      Understood everything in your comment except that ‘us westerners’ bit. I never knew Badrika was a western name !! 😛 😛 😛

      • December 3, 2009 5:32 pm

        Ummm Vimmuuuu……

        Badrika isn’t a western name BUT I do consider myself to be western or British Asian/Indian as I was born and breeded in the UK. 😐

        • December 4, 2009 11:52 am

          ok, you do consider yourself. that makes sense ! Because, I was born in the UAE, and that doesnt make me any less indian or more arabi !! 😀 😀 😀

          • December 5, 2009 1:21 am

            But I believe you left the UAE at quite a young age hence it’s different for you.
            Whereas for me, I’ve live in England all my life and I only come to India for a vacation.
            BUT I am a lot more Indian than a lot of British Indians living here (Meaning in comparison to other people that are born here in an Indian family i.e. I haven’t forgotten who I am and where my roots are).

  12. December 3, 2009 6:21 am

    Wow! lovely places! Enjoyed the post except that my MIL is returning from her 3 month stay in London soon…that way this post brought tears to my eyes! Sob!

    • December 3, 2009 2:09 pm

      My travelogue post made you cry ???? God, now I have seen and heard everything !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • December 3, 2009 2:22 pm

        No re, not ur travelogue…that was really cool…but when I starting thinking abt the people of my family there who will soon be coming here…ayyooooo!

        • December 3, 2009 2:27 pm

          One more thing…what have you done to our poor Smita after that last joint post…where is she? indha kodumaiye keka yarumay illaya????

          • December 3, 2009 3:36 pm

            LOL…you cried because your family is coming over??? ROFL !!!! ok, tears out of happiness or out of grief ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀

            and regarding Smita, we went to the Himalayas together and I came back on my own leaving her there with no transport !!! she should be coming soon, unless she gets attacked by the yeti !!! 😀 😀 😀

    • December 3, 2009 5:17 pm

      LOL! Can empathise with you on this, Indy!!

  13. December 3, 2009 9:05 am

    sooper pics,globetrotter ..

  14. December 3, 2009 9:54 am

    Firstly, lol@ Sakshi’s goblin remark.. had me in splits..

    and I am so jealous; you go and visit wonderful castles et al and now you have put up all these pix of this amazing place. hmph.. I wonder whats in store. I plan to go on a Europe trip sometime.Dunno when though. sigh..
    and you staged a swine flu drama! seriously you were lucky they didn’t throw you out 😉
    waiting for the next part 🙂

    p.s. your friend’s kid is so so so cute ..

    • December 3, 2009 2:11 pm

      Yeah yeah, laugh all you want to ! 😀 😀 😀

      im jealous of myself now ! I cant plan a trip alone from now on, na? Sigh 😦 😦

      Thanks, will convey her that !

  15. December 3, 2009 10:10 am

    Wow… cool pics!

    And you bro’s daughter looks cho chweet!!

    • December 3, 2009 2:12 pm

      See, this is why I say u dont read my posts 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

      go and check the post to know the mistake you had written in the comment ! 😀 😀

      • December 7, 2009 3:20 pm

        I am gonna throttle you when i do get to meet you!!! prrrrrrrrrrrrtttttt … 😛 😛

        • December 8, 2009 3:38 pm

          Heyy, I should be the one throttling you !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

  16. December 3, 2009 10:33 am

    How much you troubled you bro, for catching one flight ?????? I really pity him for having to put up with your lethargic attitude !!!!

    Coughing in the plane to scare passengers ??!!??? LOL….

    You kept asking where Big Ben is, while standing there and taking pics ????? 🙄 You are the ultimate !!!! 😆

    Great pics – beautiful London caught in the lens wonderfully !!!!

    Thats an awesome view from the London Eye !!!!

    So sweet baby !!!! Hugs to her !!!! I like the one, where she is chasing pigeons !!! 🙂

    Thank God, you spared your readers on bathroom tales, in this post !!!! Pl keep up this trend. 🙂

    • December 3, 2009 2:18 pm

      LOL, now you know the reason behind the delay for the chennai post. Im too lazy !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      I seriously thought Big Ben was at a different place, bad geography and g.k. what to do !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      The compliments for the baby will be conveyed ! 🙂

      LOL, I am sorry, im my paris part, there will be a reference again !! Cant help it ! 😀 😀

  17. December 3, 2009 11:15 am

    London is looking cool from ur snaps…i luv the one which is taken from london eye…and that luch greenery space..woww….

    and ur neice running behind pigeon….so sweet.. 🙂 🙂

    Whats behind the curtain…after bathroom and then kitchen and then brushing…whats left 🙂

    • December 3, 2009 2:15 pm

      I know. That green park snap is one of my fav !!!

      and I guess, you made the same mistake what Sakhi did !! 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, dont worry, this time its nothing to do with any of my room ! 😀 😀

  18. December 3, 2009 11:22 am

    Lovely pics !!!!!! havent read it yet… !!!!! Will be back !!!!!

    • December 3, 2009 2:14 pm

      Please do ! though I have no hopes 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

  19. December 3, 2009 1:41 pm

    vimmu aliya ,U are laletan fan or what??? 😀 😀 ……..i mean tholokke charichu (especially in 3rd and 1st)…
    nice pics….but something is missing 😦 … yeah where is London chicks???????? ……….

    • December 3, 2009 2:13 pm

      Nooooo…..anyone but that lal !! puhleezz !!! tholu charichado??? so u noticed that, huh? hehehe…I usually do that !! 😀 😀 😀

      London chicks??? LOL …cant display them here, na? will send it to you separately 😀 😀 😀 😀

      • December 3, 2009 2:45 pm

        hopefully there are no laletan fans here to :)….i lost hope in him after seeing alibhai and college kumaran(got red chillies DVD couple of weeks back…have to watch that).But anyways i’m hard core fan of pre 90 lal movies :).

        tholu charichado??? …. he he i noticed it many times though didn’t ask u 😀 😀

        • December 3, 2009 3:30 pm

          Oh yeah….I used to like him before Aaram Thampuran !!! and an advise, if you like yourself, please dont watch Red Chillies 😀 😀 😀

          oho…itharam doubts okke manassil vechirikkyaa le ??? 😀 😀

          • December 3, 2009 9:19 pm

            What does Tholu Charichodu means??? I demand a translation *curious sakshi perks up her ears*

            • December 4, 2009 11:55 am

              LOL! you a mallu rt??…and you know how mohanlal walks rt??…tholu charichukondu….means, walking with an inclined shoulder !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

  20. December 3, 2009 2:36 pm

    been out of practise….forgive me if the dance seems amatuer 😐

    maine pyaar tumhi se kiya hai….
    maine dil bhi blogging ko diya hai…
    ab chaahe jo ho jaye…..
    main office se ab na daroon…
    tere blog pe main dance karoon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    vimmuuu saare!!!!! how many did i miss? i will make it at all soon!
    haven’t read this…just came to dance!!! hugsssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!

    will be back with valid comments soon!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • December 3, 2009 3:32 pm

      LOL, you still havnt lost the touch !!! the best dancer in town !!!

      You missed so many of my posts !!! 😦 😦 😦 (the sad smiley attack) and I have no hopes of you reading all that 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 (more)

      See ya soon 🙂

    • December 4, 2009 1:30 pm

      Hw sweet of u 🙂 Came here to dance .. thanks for the comment on my blog too .. all the posts hv been crying u know .. no super-duper comments from u 😉

      Take care sis and hope u come out of this tsunami forever @ the earliest 🙂

  21. December 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    at last the london story is up!! am yet to read the post. Saw the snaps..lovely lovely lovely. The best pic is the last one…only because of that cutie-shundari pie! She is sho adorable! Touchwood!

    Will be back..yes I AM going to be back,dont make that ‘valicha’ face 😈

    • December 3, 2009 3:34 pm

      Ayyadi !! only because of her, huh? adinte aduthu sundaranum, sumuganum, susheelanum, salswabhaavi aaya enne kaanunille ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, yeah, please be back…Kanagu, Hitchy, Crafty and now you !!! let me see aarokke varumennu !! 😀 😀 😀

      • December 5, 2009 2:42 pm

        So you didnt even spare the westerners?? You had to play prank on them too,huh?
        I love the name Kaira. Beautiful name 🙂

        BTW,count vimmula, why have covered your face with that lungi?? Please authenticae your status by flashing the ‘damshtrams’ 😈

        • December 5, 2009 3:31 pm

          LOL,enikku anganey westerners um easteners um thammil vagabedham illa…aareyum pattikkum !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

          I selected that name, good na? 😀

          and btw, thats not a lungi, but a blood red bedsheet ! 😀 😀 😀

  22. December 3, 2009 4:53 pm

    🙂 Indeed mindblowing and tempting snaps… Haven’t read part 1,2,3..sorry..

  23. December 3, 2009 5:15 pm

    Poor Vimms, getting blasted despite not being well. But ‘Sarvam’ was too much, don’t you think? Did you finally see it?

    • December 4, 2009 11:59 am

      LOL !!! atlast someones supporting me !! 😀 😀 😀

      IMHO, sarvaam was nice. I wouldnt say it as a path breaking movie, etc., I mean, even the makers never said that ! But it was any time better than those nonsensical vijay and ajith movies. and yes, also a welcome relief from the madurai action movies that come out these days, not that I dont like them. If you quite notice, the first half and the second half looks like two different movies bridged by a common factor – Chakravorthys character.

  24. December 3, 2009 5:41 pm

    Nice pics vimmu.I liked the london eye,trees and the baby snaps 🙂

    U know there is a london eye in sharjah but a smaller version

    • December 3, 2009 6:53 pm

      Why u are covering ur face like a arbi lady?

      • December 4, 2009 12:01 pm

        I have seen that sharjah eye !! Never got into it though ! I like rides that are fast 😀 😀 😀 😀

        Thats not covering. Im Count Vimmula, you know, Count Dracula !! 😀 😀 😀

  25. December 3, 2009 7:53 pm

    LOL! Your poor brother! He must have been so happy when you got on the train and left – am sure the possibility of you staying back must have been moer painful than is sprained back 🙂

    C.Vim : I know !! he wouldve had a firework at his home after I left !! 😀 😀 😀

    You played a swine flu prank? Consider yourself lucky that you were not quarantined after landing in London 🙂

    C.Vim : LOL, there was a possibility na. Gosh ! y didnt i think of that?? 😀 😀 😀

    London Eye is quite nice – but we used to love walking from Tower Bridge to Waterloo(London Eye) – it is an amazing walk. Green Park – One of the offices I worked at , was near there.. You are making me nostalgic with the mention of all these places!

    C.Vim : But you could go to these places anytime you want,na?

    You did not go into the Buckingham Palace? Che! The poor queen must have been heart broken to have missed your darshan 🙂

    C.Vim : yeah, she did. it was in the papers too !! 😀 😀 😀

    Kaira is such a sweetie pie! Look at her toddling away! Why is she looking so terrified in that pic with you? You scared her too??

    C.Vim : No, I told her that I might have to meet you !! 😀 😀 😀

    You went all the way to London, ate at Chennai dosa and watched a Tamil movie????? You did not find anything else to do 🙂 But yes, Chennai Dosa is always worth it. Even on my last trip, we managed to go there and pack a few things 🙂

    C.Vim : LOL !!! Im a proud Indian !! 😀 😀

    Seriously, your friend’s husband is amazing to drive back in the middle of the night! I can’t even imagine doing it!

    C.Vim : I know ! it was horrible !!

    And since when is Peak District in London 😉 You went to Peak district? We live next door to it and still have not managed to visit even once 😦

    C.Vim : Seriously???? I didnt know it na!! yeyy, I mean, cheyyy !! 😀 😀 😀 and for that mention on London. I wanted to write it as UK , but then the first post was written as London. so just continued ! 😀

    Lovely pics, Vimmmuu – waiting to read the next part now 🙂

  26. December 3, 2009 9:55 pm

    Im taking ‘reading this post’ as a project in itself. So will ‘achieve this target’ as and when i get time… 😐

    • December 4, 2009 12:19 pm

      Im sure you wouldve achieved the target long ago if this project was about cricket or women ! 😀 😀 😀

  27. December 3, 2009 10:05 pm

    Hey,
    My first comment in your blog.Jai ho!!
    This post proves that you are really Mr.Crazy and Mr.Bold.
    OMG!! I was wonder struck reading that swine flu prank.
    If those pictures(except those in which you are present) are clicked by you then must say that you are a good photographer too 🙂
    (Now what is that “too” for??chumma irikkatte.. :))
    I loved 4th,6th,7th,11th,12th and 18th pic.I noticed something common in those pics.Scroll up and find it out.If you didn’t get it I will tell in my next comment 🙂
    P.S : I read some of your random posts.Danx for the laugh 🙂

    • December 4, 2009 12:31 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment and Jai ho to you too !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Mr. bold??? y ?? for that swine flu prank???? 😀 😀 D

      Yeah, those were taken by me and you are the first human being to have ever complimented on my fotographic skills !! 😀 😀 😀 and Im sure you would the last person also ! 😀

      No, didnt get the connection. I tried my best to use my ‘cheriya buddhi’; no use !

      You did??? Oh god and you still survived to write a comment ??? 😀 😀 😀

      • December 4, 2009 2:47 pm

        Mr.Bold..Yes that comment because you dared to play that prank..
        OK Now get ready for the chalu..In those pics, you didn’t do the cruelty to show up yourself.That s the reason why those pics are awesome 🙂

        • December 5, 2009 11:18 am

          oho !!! kashtam !!! now that you have mentioned it, the next part of this series will be bombarded with my pics !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

          • December 5, 2009 10:24 pm

            :):) Oh…NO…Please don’t do that kodumkrooratha.. :):)
            Anyways waiting for your next post 🙂

  28. December 3, 2009 10:11 pm

    You could have done this as a book you know? Could have made some money as well…

  29. December 3, 2009 11:34 pm

    Interesting. For someone standing in front of big ben and asking where it is? Haha In my case, I would ve thought every single clock to be big Ben until I see the real oneJ

    Interesting picture and the baby is looking damn cute!

    Clothes encountered
    It was hilarious one and well attempted…I can sense the hidden meaning clearly and that makes it a sooper post, unlike the garbage that is being churn on blogs these days..hahaha the ending was cool…So is skirt still single? Skirt chasers grey n black!

    • December 4, 2009 12:25 pm

      LOL, so equally bad in geography and g.k., huh? 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks for reading the other post too. But how did you come to know about it ? 😀 apparenly, the skirt wasnt single. I didnt even know that she was married !!! 😀 😀 😀

  30. December 3, 2009 11:36 pm

    what a funny profile pic 😀 the best pic is the kid with the pigeons 🙂

  31. December 4, 2009 12:33 am

    What is with your avatar? I thought you threw that gender change machine.

  32. December 4, 2009 2:25 am

    Haven’t Been ‘J’ So Far…. But Now Am…. This Is The City I Want To Be And Explore For All My Life…Thats What I Told My Partner….

  33. December 4, 2009 1:23 pm

    Nw that u asked for it, I hv only read till the part where u bad bad brother hurt ur bro’s bk 😛
    U r so write abt urself .. that u and probs r synonymous 😛 So much just so so much adventure to catch a train 😉 But, only u cn do it Vimmuuu and we get such super fun posts to read 😉

    Will read the full post and b bk to comment 😉 Just hope the juggling b/w coding and blogging does nt make me quote ur awesome episodes there 🙄

    • December 5, 2009 3:29 pm

      So I will just wait here for your actual comment for me to leave an actual reply. what say ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀

  34. December 5, 2009 11:18 am

    Done !

  35. December 5, 2009 8:52 pm

    Nice photos… I wished that giant wheel or what ever went fast enough for all the kids inside to be afraid of!

    Destination Infinity

  36. December 5, 2009 9:30 pm

    As usual a very interestingly written account Vimmuuu!! Loved the terrific pictures.
    You could do so much with a fever!!! I am terrible even if I have a little sore throat!! Hats off to your brother too… back pain can be bad.

    • December 6, 2009 5:21 pm

      😀 😀 But its bad when you are sick on a faaren tour, na? 😦 and I hope my brother is reading all these sympathesies thats everyone showering on him 😀 😀 😀

      and regarding the kitten…the display pic goes to the old one. stupid wordpress. hows it now?

  37. December 5, 2009 9:32 pm

    Count Vimmula looks so much like a kitten!

  38. December 5, 2009 11:41 pm

    Sorry for your brother… very poor… hurting his back… OMG… I should have asked my bro to manage by himself.. if he don’t ready by time 😛 😛

    thats a nice account bro 🙂 🙂 waiting for Eiffel tower 😀 😀

    • December 6, 2009 5:23 pm

      LOL, whatever, however, my bro wont leave me. Im very sure on that. 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Eiffel tower is the third post after this ! 😀

  39. December 7, 2009 12:10 am

    Sheesh u played a prank! That must hv realy scared them off. Nice adventures u had. And even wit fever u were able to roam abt the city!! Nice snaps

    • December 8, 2009 3:42 pm

      😀 😀 😀 Yeah, paid money and went all the way, na? didnt want to take rest !!

  40. December 7, 2009 1:08 am

    Nice snaps there… 😀
    Would wait for the next part…

  41. December 7, 2009 3:36 pm

    I so so miss my trip to London!
    You dont leave movies anywhere aaaa? 😀

    • December 8, 2009 3:44 pm

      Oh, you had been to London??? No wonder the place looked bad !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      movies and me; we are like twins !! 😉

  42. December 7, 2009 4:44 pm

    You were so scared that stayed rooted in the closet?? And you wasted the bloody time in ront of the laptop?? You really are a royal pain for your bro!!! And to add to them you even gave him a spraimn??

    C.vim : what are brothers for ?? 😀 😀 😀 😀

    How very typically you!!! And still you call HIM the villian???

    😀 😀 😀

    C.Vim : Oye ! when did I call him that ? 😀 😀

    And you should have been detained for the swine flu antics of yours!!!

    C.Vim : Blah Blah !

    All the snaps that DON’T have YOU are good otherwise you have spoiled the otherwise picture perfect locales!!!

    C.Vim : I knew you would come up with this !! The next part, mind you, is going to be only me. Buhahahahhahaha!!

    Kaira is so so cute!!!

    C.Vim : Yeah, tell me something new ! 😀 😀 😀

    BTW you should be called late lateef, I mean you are late anywhere & everywhere!!! Somebody gift you a watch & some sense to look at it at the right time!!! Bit I guess am wishing for too much!!!

    C.Vim : Yeah, you shouldve gifted me a watch, na? All I got from you is a book !! A book !!! 😀 😀

    P.S. Are you sure that those aren’t ur bro, sis-in-law & their daughter in the photgraphs!!!

    C.Vim : Do you want me to call my mom for identification? 😀 😀 😀

    • December 9, 2009 9:27 am

      Liar!!!

      And a post with ur snaps only?? *faints in advance*

      Yes a book is all what you will get from me when we we meet the next time as well 😛

  43. December 8, 2009 9:48 am

    I thought this was going to be another bathroom tale 🙂 lolll

    …how’s your cold now? good thing you did all that coughing in the air and not before boarding…else they would have stop you from boarding….some airlines are doing that here.

    • December 8, 2009 3:48 pm

      LOL !!! I just cant come out of that bathroom image, na? 😀 😀 😀

      Ohh this was in May !! But the funny thing is I caught a cold a few days back and Im just recovering. So the question is still valid ! 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, I did all those drama after the flight took off !! 😀 😀 😀

      glad to see you back !!

      • December 8, 2009 6:15 pm

        Umm…… Vimmuuu……..
        I HOPE your voicebox survived the cold that you caught.
        I lost my voice from my cold/flu (and it’s been over a week and it still hasn’t returned). 😦

        *Vimmuuu is sits in the corner sniggering :lol:*

  44. December 8, 2009 9:49 pm

    Very well narrated…

  45. December 9, 2009 3:06 am

    i liked the first picture!

    • December 10, 2009 4:14 am

      I cant believe this is all that you had to say ! 😀

      • December 14, 2009 12:05 am

        u honestly believed tht i wasnt lying?
        ?????

        I held myself back from commenting/murdering u for the 1st pic!
        its take years of karate training and practice to achieve something like tht!

        Thts all for today..have a nice day..sayonara!! vimal-san

  46. December 9, 2009 10:52 am

    LOL!!!
    What were you doing inside a closet?!! 🙄

    Sheesh! You made sure your bro sparined his back and you made him run!!
    how mean Vimmmuuu!!! :mrgreen:

    The pics are cool!
    Loved the Birds Eye the best! 🙂

    • December 10, 2009 4:13 am

      LOL, I wasnt mean Pixie ! I was just plain lazy ! 😀 😀 😀

      Birds eye nahi, Londons eye ! 😀 😀 😀

  47. December 9, 2009 11:08 pm

    Bro… you are tagged :mrgreen:

Trackbacks

  1. My nomination list – I « Straight Drive
  2. Once upon a time in Europe : Part 5 – Peak District (UK) « V-Lokam
  3. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 6 – Interlaken « V-Lokam
  4. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 7 – Disney Village (Paris) « V-Lokam
  5. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 8 – Paris City tour « V-Lokam
  6. Once upon a time in Europe – Final Part – Paris (Disneyland Park) « V-Lokam

Leave a Reply

