Skip to content

Once upon a time in Europe – Part 5 – Peak District (UK)

January 12, 2010

Here I go again with the fifth part of this never ending Europe travelogue series !!! But don’t you worry fellow blogmates, I had taken a new year resolution to complete this series atleast by the end of the year ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Continued from Part 4 :

The movie got over at 1 am and we retired back home. It was a three hours drive to Sheffield and it was raining Dinosaurs ! Kudos to Navin for driving us back home safely inspite of the weather and the bad light and yeah also me snoring in the front seat ! Reached home at around 3 ish in the morning; I had my medicines, didn’t even bother to change my clothes and crashed in the hall itself.

It was only in the morning that I realised where I slept. The previous night after the movie, I remember sitting in the car and discussing about the movie on our ride back home. That’s it ! and I also remember getting inside a lift. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Gawwd, I must have slept like a pig to have forgotten everything. Rubbed my eyes and took a nice tour of the house. It was a wonderfully furnished apartment with spacious rooms and ofcourse extra quiet bathrooms. The view from their balcony was so pleasant; not great but really really pleasant ! I felt weak because of the fever and had medicines along with my breakfast. Couldn’t go out anywhere because of my health andΒ  the next couple of days were equally bad !!! I was literally bed sofa ridden with my fever and all I did was eat and watch the kids play. But I must admit, there is no other better time pass than watch kids play! The TV shows in Europe were really boring. But in the UK, atleast I could understand what they were speaking. Back in Switzerland, all the shows were in German !! My friend had some issues with their Internet at home and so no mails or blogs too; I was totally cut off from the outside world in all possible ways. However, I made it a point to go for a walk in the evenings. How long can a person be idle at home? And sob sob ! that too during vacations !!!

My stay in the UK was during the summer and according to me, the weather over there is highly unpredictable. It so happened that once when me and my friend were on our usual evening walk, it started raining heavily out of nowhere. We had to rush inside a hypermarket to escape from the rains since I already had cold. And guys, I am not making it up but as soon as we took shelter inside the shop, the rains stopped and the sun started shining at its best !! Crazy country, I tell you !

It took me a couple of days to feel better and was back to form only by the second last day of my stay in UK. Duh !!!! That evening, Navin took me and the rest of us to Peak district. Below are some of the snaps taken from there :

(From left) Anita, Kaira, Me and Karan

My camera was fed with a lot of scenery by now and we returned back home playing Tamizh kuthu (danganakka) songs in the car. Now that’s what I call real fun !!! Singing along dapaankoothu songs in a foreign location !!!

After reaching home, I started packing for the next day flight back to Swiss.

The flight was at 5 in the evening but I had to travel from Sheffield to Luton in a train which is a three hour journey. The train was at 12 in the noon and since Navin was stuck at work, Anita and her nephew, Karan had to come to see me off at the station. I got into the train and when the train started to move, I waved my hands at them; but I had that weird β€˜lump in the throat’ feeling. Departures have always been depressing for me. I couldn’t take it anymore and tears started flowing down my cheeks, almost at the same speed as the train. My co-passenger would’ve thought – β€˜Bloody Indian sentiments’. But what to do, that’s how I am and I hate handling such situations; I am just not good at it.

Oooh, its not over yet. Stupidity and misadventures never leaves me, right? The ticket checker, or should I say cheater, asked me where I wanted to go and I replied Luton airport. He then said that Luton city station comes before Luton airport station and asked me to get down at the city station itself. I have this idiotic habit of listening to elderly people, and so I got down taking his advise. Didn’t I mention about the unpredictable weather there? Well, when I got into the train, the weather was just fine but three hours later when I got down at Luton city station, it was like getting inside a cold storage. I was shivering and could even listen to my teeth chattering ! I had no clue as to where to go and how to reach the airport from there. So went up the stairs to find some help and I approached this black officer guy. Remember the train which I was in? Apparently, that train would have dropped me directly at the airport. I shouldve guessed so, why else should the ticket mention Luton Airport in it ! According to that officer, there are free buses to the airport just outside the station and that’s available every 15 mins. I had to walk all the way to the entrance with my teeth still chattering and board in one of the buses when all that I had to do was to not listen to the ticket cheater and sit in that same damn train !!!

I was sure that the ticketΒ checker cheater would’ve been one of the passengers in the flight that took me to London and I would’ve scared him with my swine flu prank.Β  So, this time inside the flight, I was as normal as I could be; no more pranks ! πŸ˜€ Reached Swiss at 11pm and narrated the whole UK trip along with fotographs to my brother and sister-in-law. Called up Anitha to tell her about my arrival but she gave me a bad news instead – Kairas got temperature and also has running nose. She shouldve got it from me and who else ! I took everything with me back to Swiss, but left my fever and cold there for Kaira; ; I felt terrible !!

Next in this series : Interlaken (Swiss)

Next post : 30 three

99 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 2:46 am

    Am I really the first??

  2. January 12, 2010 3:04 am

    ‘I must have slept like a pig ‘ – Sleep like a pig? Do pigs sleep like that πŸ™‚

    Vim : I donno ! but pigs are getting used to such phrases ! Eat like a pig, sleep like a pig !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    So you almost went into house-arrest during vacation πŸ™‚

    Vim : 😦

    British weather is like that, my friend πŸ™‚ Why do you think I HATE rains now πŸ™‚

    Vim : LOL !! I never liked rains !! πŸ˜€

    Lovely pics! I have made up my mind to go to the Peak district next summer. Kaira has finally stopped looking scared of you πŸ™‚ She is so adorable!!!

    Vim : Please do and get similar pictures ! πŸ˜€ and btw, Im very good wid children πŸ˜€

    But I am still very angry with you – you came all the way to Sheffield and didnot call me! We are just around 40 mins away from it. We normally shop at a mall in Sheffield πŸ™‚

    Vim : what to do ? There wasnt a way to contact anyone. and moreover, I was down wid fever, na ? πŸ˜€

    So the train-checker tried to dupe you πŸ™‚ Are you sure you did not misunderstand him πŸ˜‰ LOL@swine-flu prank – am sure that must be the reason πŸ™‚

    Vim : Chance less ! He duped me alright ! πŸ˜€

    You actually transfered your fever and cold to the poor child! Bad Bad!

    Vim : 😦

    Interlaken- when will that come? In 2011 πŸ™‚

    Vim : No no,this year ! I hope ! πŸ˜€

  3. January 12, 2010 5:54 am

    Here comes the European traveler again! Beautiful pictures, especially the one of you supporting that huge tree…and with just your back…! Kya baat hai! But seriously the kid in the pic also looks scared of you! Joookingg!!! UK seems really lovely…and I can imagine the fun listening to koothu numbers in a foreign place…too good!:)

    • January 13, 2010 12:48 am

      LOL !!! I struggled real hard to support that tree with my back !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      The kid looks scared ??? Not at all !!! No kids get scared of me ! πŸ˜€

      • January 13, 2010 10:21 am

        you supported the tree… I thought you were hiding from some english woman after saying somehting nasty !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        and Indy is wrong… the kid aint scared of vimmmuu… infact its time vimmmmuu is going to be afraid of kids… !!!! πŸ˜›

        • January 15, 2010 1:17 am

          Shhhh….people will know the truth ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          I know hitchy !! The word marriage includes all those words, na ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. January 12, 2010 7:24 am

    Wow! Kaira is super cute! I wish I have a daughter! Lol, some planning eh? Considering that I’m not yet married! πŸ™‚

    Marvelous English country side – have heard tonnes about it and the loose cannon type weather – or so that I call it!

    But, I’m curious – whatever made you feel unwell during ur trip?????? Hmmmm, reaching home middle of the night after supposedly heading for a movie perhaps????? πŸ˜‰

    Lol!

    Good post Vimmuuu! Pardon the pun! πŸ™‚

    • January 13, 2010 2:42 am

      You want a kid out of marriage ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ whats happening Rakesh ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Loose cannon type weather ?? ROFL !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I wasnt well from the first day of the trip itself !! I mean, right from Chennai ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. January 12, 2010 7:41 am

    Wow! fabulous pictures.
    Kaira looks wonderful πŸ˜€
    Thats sad you fell sick in such an awesome location 😦
    Liked the use of the term “hypermarket” instead of the usual super market.

    Keep posting more fantastic pictures and your wonderful observations πŸ˜‰

    Cheers!!

    • January 13, 2010 2:44 am

      Thanks !

      I know ! But something that I would remember for ever !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ After 10 years, I might recollect this and tell someone ” Oh, I once went to the UK and was totally bed ridden ” !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You got it buddy; more nonsense coming up ! πŸ˜€

  6. January 12, 2010 9:04 am

    Nice travelogue, Vimmuuu! I have heard ‘slept like a log’ – now new addition to my vocabulary!

    Maybe the ticket ‘cheater’ don’t like us. This happened with us during the flight from London to LA,2 years back. I felt that the steward didn’t like us, don’t know why.

    The photographs are beautiful. Kaira – the name and the girl are beautiful!

    You write as if you are conversing with the readers. I think I will read the earlier posts on this subject, shortly. Keep writing…

    • January 13, 2010 2:48 am

      you havent seen pigs sleeeping ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I am telling you na. Im sure its because I played that prank and either he or his relative was there in that flight ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Will pass on the compliments ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, you are observing my writing ‘skills’ only now !! hehehee…blame it on the limitations in my vocabulary or blame it on my way of putting things forward, I always write like how I would speak to myself ! πŸ˜€

      Oh, read if you get time, cuz there might be references to the previous part now that im in Swiss ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. January 12, 2010 9:12 am

    You mean you slept like a log!! πŸ™„
    Sheeesh! Where do you come up with lines like this?!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    LOVED the pics! Especially the rain-drops one!
    Why would anyone misguide a stranger like that?! That’s just mean and spiteful.
    Poor you! hugs! What with the cold and fever and then the cold outside…

    • January 13, 2010 3:13 am

      No, I mean I slept like a pig ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Its easy, think out of the box ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      The rain drops pic was taken by Anita.

      I know !!! Only if I had his address !!!

      You have always sympathised with me !! Awwwwww…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. January 12, 2010 10:58 am

    lovely pictures. and poor you, you had to suffer during a vacation 😦
    this peak district place is truly beautiful. wish I could be there now. now ..now! yah, am so bugged!
    and I agree, listening to typical local songs in a foreign land makes you abnormally happy πŸ˜€

    next post what it eees 30 three? curious I am πŸ˜€

    • January 13, 2010 3:15 am

      Now ??? Now ??? nooo…its winter there and its totally covered by snow ! You wouldnt be able to see anything !! πŸ˜€

      No, I was only normally happy ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Curiosity kills the Shruthi ?? πŸ˜€

  9. January 12, 2010 11:19 am

    ” slept like a pig “? lol!!! You slept like you do but pigs would now be saying we sleep like Vimmuuu πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Vim : Im being referred atleast that way. No one refers you for anything ! Look how useless you turned out to be !! πŸ˜€

    Yep there is no better time pass than watching kids play, am sure they too enjoy playing infront of a joker uncle with red nose (am sure u had a running nose :-P)

    Vim : for loved ones, I dont mind being a jester ! I have no qualms ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ orchestraaaaa

    The pictures are awesome but why did you spoil the scenery by coming in the frame??? Bolo bolo tell tell!!! πŸ˜‰

    Vim : To make sure I went to these places myself ! I couldve put fotos from google otherwise, na ? Silly !! πŸ˜€

    Am sure you must have had that weird β€˜lump in the throat’ feeling and surely must have cried also but am sure Anitha was also crying seeing you leave the only difference would have been hers would have been the tears of happiness πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Vim : LOL, that could be true !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And tell you what? You shouldn’t be allowed to travel alone!! You don’t have the maturity to do so!! Someone told you something about the station & you didn’t even ask someone else, didn’t believe your ticket & blindly got down??? Tccch!!! Tccch!!! You are walking breathing distater if left alone (even otherwise so :-P)!!!!

    Vim : Guess, the next time I travel, I should get the maturity ceritficate from my doctor, na ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I obey elderly people !! Dont I listen to you always ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ if im walking breating disaster, you are my twin ! πŸ˜€

    Anyways nice account now waiting for the next installment that is whenever it comes!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Vim : Grrr…it will come soon and looks like you have got some new fans ! πŸ˜€

  10. January 12, 2010 11:21 am

    The pics are awesome as usual !!! I quite like the one, where you are leaning on a tree !!!! Very natural – of course, you cannot be the photographer for that particular pic !!!!!

    Kudos to Anitha and her family for handling the Devil with the Swine Flu !!!!

    Dappankuthu songs in the car !!! LOL !!! πŸ˜†

    And that Perk dist is really nature’s best part, I guess.

    How much more of your Europe is pending ?????? Anyway, waiting for more pics !!!!

    • January 12, 2010 5:42 pm

      Yes yes! Kudos to Anitha n family .. hope alll izz well on their side after hosting u πŸ˜€

    • January 12, 2010 5:53 pm

      Hey !!! BTW, forgot to add something.

      Why did you believe in one guy telling you to get down at the previous station ???? You’ve got the ticket till the airport, Why the hell did you get down ????? πŸ™„

      You could have asked other co-passengers if its OK to get down at the airport station !!!!

    • January 13, 2010 3:26 am

      LOL, It wasnt a natural snap ! I gave the idea for it and I posed for it ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ yeah, dont worry, we are meeting soon, na ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      So many more……wait let me see….hmmm, interlaken, paris, disney, some more paris and the grand finale ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ all the best !!

      He wasnt one guy !!! he was the ticket checker !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and I should listen to him when he says something wid a serious face, na ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. January 12, 2010 2:19 pm

    “slept like a pig??” lol…
    kaira is choo cute… and country side is beautiful…
    good to read to ur post after long time πŸ™‚

    • January 13, 2010 2:39 am

      You are coming here after a looong time ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  12. January 12, 2010 2:44 pm

    u made me go green with those pics full of greenery πŸ˜›
    and y is it tht wenevr u smile at a cam u seem to be inspired by mcdonald clown? πŸ˜›
    nd trust u to knw how pigs really sleep πŸ˜›
    u dnt tknw th checker was a god sent angel.to give u ur due πŸ™‚ am i happy to read tht part?

    • January 13, 2010 2:38 am

      Oh then, you would come over to chennai to murder me when I put the Interlaken part ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Oh, mcdonald clown, huh ? I have heard donald duck before ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL !!! did you and smita plan together that ticket incident ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. January 12, 2010 3:01 pm

    Getting sick during a vacation..ohh It is such a frustrating thing …..poor kiddo
    Why did you travel such a long distance to just watch a movie???.

    nice pics….. look like munnar and kodai in parts(especially that lake and forest)

    • January 13, 2010 2:34 am

      I know !!! poor kiddo ??? u called me or my friends kid ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, I travelled that far to be with my friend πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Yeah, I know ! this is what I told my friends when we reached there ! πŸ˜€

  14. January 12, 2010 5:31 pm

    But I must admit, there is no other better time pass than watch kids play! Hw true :roll πŸ™„

    • January 12, 2010 5:36 pm

      Too much of posing Vimmuuu .. ws that the time u uploaded ur profile on the shaadi engines πŸ˜› But seriously, u look good in the pics with kids .. rather, make it somewhat better in those πŸ˜‰

      And eh, hw come u dint cry when u departed from Hyd 😦 Don’t say scary eyes et..al 😦 Tell me tell me πŸ‘Ώ

      • January 12, 2010 5:40 pm

        Che … misadventures n u .. ur Hyd episode … u did nt lemme do it nor did u blog abt it :grrrrr πŸ‘Ώ But poor Kaira, hw bad of u 😦

        Lovely pics though …. aaha, all that greenery makes me wanna go on a vacation nw πŸ˜›

        N eh, that next post is abt hw u r feeling @ 33 isn’t it 8)

    • January 13, 2010 2:29 am

      Exactly !!! my friend kept taking snaps of mine for me to upload in the matrimonials !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Why I didnt cry when I left Hyderabad ??? I was humiliated and harassed by you -kno-who-all !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I think I myself will blog about it someday ! Once upon a time in Hyderabad..what say ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Another vacation ????? how do u get permission for all these ????

      Nope… 30 three is something which i havnt done before ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  15. soneeta permalink
    January 12, 2010 9:32 pm

    amazing pics…looks like some country side .really beautiful.
    didn’t u leave some of ur madness along with ur fever and cold there with d kids..lol

    • January 13, 2010 1:03 am

      LOL. My madness is patented ! I dont leave it just like that ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and you are visiting this space after a decade !! πŸ™‚

      • soneeta permalink
        January 14, 2010 12:58 pm

        no..i do visit.but very late.so i dont leave a comment. more over what ever i want to say some one or the other would have already said it…so…

        • January 15, 2010 1:17 am

          thats ok ! I still value each comment and I also miss my usual comment-ors too ! 😦

  16. January 12, 2010 10:48 pm

    • January 13, 2010 12:57 am

      and u had only this comment ! sheesh !!

    • January 14, 2010 12:36 am

      well…thts coz this was the first thing tht popped into my head after i read ur post..
      and im damn sure they must have kicked u out frm the train! πŸ˜›

      Anyway nice post n pics πŸ™‚

      especially the 9th pic..wht exactly r u trying to do over there?
      No loo in the jungle huh?

      AWWW..u cried?
      now i know who is gonna cry the most at ur own wedding..hehe

      • January 14, 2010 4:55 am

        LOL !!! that has no relation except for the train journey and the ticket checker !!! now, dont tell me look like Mr. Bean !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        grrrr….since when have people started peeing like that ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        You didnt know that till now ??? Im already all tears !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        • January 14, 2010 7:48 pm

          so u mean to say u r like a walking-talking Karan Johar movie… and yet u hate his films.. …hmm??

          abt tht pic..well it seems like u r trying cover up something with tht stick.. hmmm??

          hmmmmm?????

          • January 15, 2010 1:12 am

            dude….karan johar ???? u didnt get anyone else ????

            chey ! chey ! vrithikettavan !!!

            • January 15, 2010 1:37 am

              Pavam karate chekkan πŸ˜₯ u called him vrithikettavan?? 😯

  17. January 13, 2010 12:20 am

    Longest travel post series ever!! Finish it before u go on honeymoon trip πŸ˜‰ one thing I can be sure that ticket checker over there would not have tried to dupe you πŸ™‚ there could be some mis understanding. Kaira looks sooo cute! And the snaps are awesome. But tell me what is with this “fotographs” and “Swiss” ?? why not “photographs” and “Switzerland” ?

    • January 13, 2010 12:56 am

      LOL, yeah, sure sure. Wil finish it by 2012 ! Ok? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      No, Im telling you. There was something wrong with his looks even πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      fotographs and Swiss?? I agree with the fotograph word, but Swiss is commonly used. You dont say Switzerland Bank for Swiss bank or Switzerland watch for Swiss watch, na ?? What teacher, aap bhi !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • January 13, 2010 1:09 am

        swiss = of Switzerland like Swiss Bank, Swiss airways, Swiss watches, Swiss chocolates. But reached “Swiss” is wrong. like Reached “Indian” is wrong πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        • January 13, 2010 2:32 am

          LOL, didnt think u wud even go to the extent of giving me an explanation for what I wrote !!! what happened to your sense of humor?? Didnt upgrade it yet ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          • January 14, 2010 12:44 am

            ….and swiss knife πŸ˜€

          • January 14, 2010 9:36 pm

            Ahhh u called me “teacher” so needed to correct and give the explanation na!

            • January 15, 2010 1:11 am

              teacher and cheater are made of the same letters !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  18. January 13, 2010 5:13 am

    Aww…..
    Bless you Vimmuuu…..

    That’s harsh, being sick whilst on holiday way.

    And yes. The joys on typical British weather.
    Although I must say… I LOVE THE RAIN! And look for any excuse to get drenched in it. πŸ˜€

    Never been to the peak district so can’t say much about that besides it’s beautiful. πŸ™‚

    So the ticket checker played a prank on you??
    Poor you! 😐

    And that’s soo mean that you gave your cold to that poor inocent child.
    Tut tut tut….

    • January 14, 2010 4:52 am

      I always hated rain !!!

      Peak district is awesome !! The pictures explain that right ?

      Well, I didnt do it on purpose . So I am not mean !! πŸ˜€

  19. January 13, 2010 10:23 am

    slept like a pig…. sounds so realistic !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› and I didnt say that !!!!!! πŸ˜›

    wonderful pictures of the English country side… I have always loved watching them in movies, pictures !!!! I infact love such greens !!!! Bharuch country side is almost similar in monsoons !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • January 14, 2010 4:51 am

      yeah, I dug the grave myself ! πŸ˜€ I do that always, dont I ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Oh really ??? when are you organising a trip to Bharuch for us ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  20. January 13, 2010 1:23 pm

    !!! honestly..u look more mischievous than ur kids :D:D

  21. January 13, 2010 1:24 pm

    oopss…jus nw saw the kaments..they r nt ur kids is it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ jorry opicer

    • January 14, 2010 4:48 am

      you read the post or the comments before commenting ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Im not married yet and you give me children ! I can sue you for the emotional trauma you made me go through with that comment ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      But in a way, they are my children. I have been with them since their birth ! πŸ˜€

      seri, indha vaatti manichitten. Adutha vaaati ozhunga post padeengey ! πŸ˜€

  22. January 13, 2010 1:27 pm

    Vims…I fear now that my christmas 2009 recipes will be like your Europe travelogue …… never ending !! :rolling:

    look at you in the pics…!! all posing …the pic of you on the gate and the one with you sitting on the bench is my fav!!

    i hate departures too…in fact i hate it more when i have to leave and go…i don’t mind so much others leaving……lol…!!

    • January 14, 2010 4:44 am

      How I wish !!! I’d have company, na ? πŸ˜€

      All those poses were for the matrimonial columns !! Those days I was pretty much single and looking for !

      LOL, you are a rare breed then !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  23. January 13, 2010 5:36 pm

    hie there πŸ™‚
    it was nice reading the part 5 but to find out what made you sick and such like, i am going to prev parts ..
    fabulous pics. the bench n the gate ones are my fav too.. plus the family/group pics.

    • January 14, 2010 4:42 am

      LOL. you gonna read the other parts ?? All the best ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      See ya around !

      Btw, you linked your blogspot link over here !

  24. January 13, 2010 6:10 pm

    you surely know how to torture people by making them jealous. :p
    Wonderful post and regarding that cheating, I am wondering whether the poor guy got confused by mallu accent :p
    Waiting for the Interlaken post. I am reliving my europe trip with your posts

    • January 14, 2010 4:41 am

      LOL.All the best for the next part ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ you would want to murder me ! πŸ˜€

      No mallu accent. I just said Luton airport !!! how much of an accent can come in there ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  25. January 14, 2010 8:01 am

    Nice pics… This time I READ the post… That ticket checker would have badly wanted to get the hell out of you and boy! He knew how to do it πŸ˜€

    • January 15, 2010 1:07 am

      Oh, you did ??? I heard it snowed in sahara desert when u read the post ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      ya, he must have read about you in my post on roomies, thats y ! πŸ˜€

  26. asha permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:03 am

    helonz…
    hard disk adichu poyi…:(
    and now in cafe…i saw the pics…but not reading it now in a hurry..
    so ll soon come bck to read it.. πŸ™‚
    btw, pictures are simply superb…it looks like you ve done something in the photoshop..green colour is really green in colour πŸ™‚

    • January 15, 2010 1:09 am

      hayyyooo !!! ithreyum kaalam store cheyyda vrithikedokke poyo ?? chey !

      its ok, take your time. but was missing your leg pulling !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Nothing has been done in photoshop. that is how the place looks like ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and if you are referring me, then grrrr…. πŸ˜€

  27. January 14, 2010 1:22 pm

    Vims….you’ve been tagged πŸ™‚

  28. January 14, 2010 10:00 pm

    Well I think your friend might have learnt about your internet romance and hence got it disconnected for the period of your stay πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Vim : I was very much single by then, you sakshi !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Slept like a pig? 😯 why are you after that poor animal? Why so much discrimination? wait till Peta sues you for character assassination!!

    Vim : I am sorry to have insulted your breed ! Will take care from now on when I mention your relatives πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    “tears started flowing down my cheeks, almost at the same speed as the train” 😯 :shock 😯 Well didn’t you know its simple science? when the train moves the tears fall at the same speed only when you are looking out!!! They don’t fall like those of Meena Kumari’s….drop by drop :mrgreen:

    Vim : You mean, law of inertia ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ok, meenas tears or kumaris tears?? be specific ! πŸ˜€

    Hmmm I think the ticket cheater got an alert from FBI who is on the look out for a certain mad bathroom blogger :mrgreen:

    Vim : LOL !! could have ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Aww poor little kid…you gave her the fever?? Btw did you bring along nay gifts for her when you went visiting them??

    Vim : Yeah, I got her clothes from Swiss. But then again, those clothes were purchased by my s-i-l πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Pics are fantastic minus you of course πŸ˜›

    Vim : Oh, thanks ! But your previous display pic was better ! Everyones losing their eyesight ! now you know why a couple of them arent blogging, na ? πŸ˜€

    • January 15, 2010 1:12 am

      By profile pic di you mean to say my legs were sexy than my face? 😯 πŸ˜₯

      • January 15, 2010 1:13 am

        is this just ur face, no right ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ if you know what I mean ! πŸ˜€

        • January 15, 2010 3:51 am

          Sols “Shiva shiva” and Vim2u6’s “Vrithikettavan” 😈 πŸ‘Ώ

          • January 16, 2010 2:25 am

            Oyyy…get ur own shiva, will you ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  29. January 14, 2010 11:07 pm

    lovely post and even more lovely pics.. I live in UK so I surely can understand and agree when u say unpredictable weather.
    tidbit:3 Ws are unpredictable in England they say.. work, women and weather..

    • January 15, 2010 12:58 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      By lovely pics, you mean the ones with me, right ?

      and so, its not ‘acoording to me’ huh ! the weather IS unpredictable, then ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      and ROLF ! thanks for the titbit ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ but women are universally unpredictable ! πŸ˜€

  30. January 15, 2010 12:17 pm

    Crafty singing *ajeeb dastan hai yeh….. kahan shuru kahan khatam…. yeh kaunsi hai manzilein… na vimmuuu samajh saka na hum!!!*

    Vim : yeyyy….the songs sections !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Here I go… with my almost-never ending comment on your never-ending travelogue…

    Vim : Thats ok. Been waiting for ur comment ! πŸ˜€

    How long was this vacation vimmuuu saare? A year? Next time, can I come along?!!! πŸ˜₯

    Vim : Oh yeah, next time, just hop into one of my luggage ! πŸ˜€

    You will finish this by end of this year? *crafty looks at calendar* Aiyo! Its wonly jan till now!!!!!! Vimmuuu = :mrgreen:

    Vim : LOL !! Sigh !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    You slept like a pig…. WITH WHOM? *crafty feels supremely satisfied having put that joke on vimmuuu after him having done that to her so many times* πŸ‘Ώ
    The above line sounds corny but I am too lazy to rewrite πŸ™„

    Vim : samaadaanamaayallo !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Dammit, it must have been so frustrating to be ill during your vacation 😐 HUGSSSS!!!!

    Vim :LOL ! I shouldve got this when I was ill ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    ROFL @ unpredictable weather! So the sun shone immediately! πŸ˜€ there is another perfectly logical explanation – Murphy’s Law :mrgreen:

    Vim : Yeah, he must have been the weather reporter up there ! πŸ˜€

    First and second snap reminded me of Munnar!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Kaira is so lovely!!! Tee hee!!! That snap of you with her is like TOO MUCH!!! πŸ˜€ me loved it! Touchwood!

    Fourth snap of you by the river feels like you will any minute shake your head and start singing like dev anand β€œyeh dil, na hota bechara…kadam na hote awaara..jo khubsoorat koi apna…humsafar hotaaaa” πŸ˜€

    Vim : Dev anand ??? of all the people ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Not that he was bad back then, but I would grow old like him na ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Fifth snap again reminds me of munnar!!!!! Its breathtaking!!! *pant pant*
    Vimmuuu = πŸ™„ return of drama queen

    Vim : πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ drama queen…stay !!! πŸ˜€

    OOOOH!!! Snap of Kaira and her daddy! Its perfect!!! Did u take it? It’s really sooooper! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Vim : Nope, I didnt. Anitha did ! πŸ˜€

    Sixth one with you on the bench is my FAV from all of them!! πŸ˜€ its like a calendar snap!! πŸ˜€
    Vimmuuu saare, if u take me along next time…. There will be a slight modification…. Both on bench.. and bubbles around!!!!!!! :mrgreen: *eyeing bubble maker bottle reserved for vimmuuu*

    Vim : Ok, you blow to the right side and me to the left side , ok ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Seventh and Eight – AHA! OHO!! LIGHTS, CAMERA, POSE!!!!!! Where is sakshi???? Sakshi!!! Have you shown this to Jeny yet???????? πŸ˜†

    Vim : ROFL !!! Jenyyyyy……jaaane jeny…dhoonthaa …. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Ninth snap is full Desktop Wallpaper snap!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Tenth snap is precious too!!! πŸ˜€ Touchwood!! πŸ˜€

    ROFL @ dapankuttu songs in car in a foreign land!!! My dad believes that too….. I remember us stuck in traffic in Bbay, our car was blasting β€œConfusion theerkaname…..” and the ppl stuck in traffic around us had an expression that went well with the song πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    Vim : ROFL !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ur dad is just like us, huh ? crazy !!! ….errrr… I didnt mean to call ur dad crazy, you see !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Loved the snap of you and Navin walking as well! πŸ˜€

    U CRIED??? Aiyo!!! When do we meet? I assure you will cry at the airport after meeting Crafty Kutty… only the reason will be coz your flight will be due and I won’t be allowing you to leave!:twisted: πŸ‘Ώ

    Vim : Yeah, I can imagine that…my tee being pulled from one end and the security pulling it from the other end…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    AHA! Last snap! Raindrops…water… bathroom…chey!!!! This is all your doing vimmuuu!! No, not the water in the glass πŸ˜› the one-track mind I have got now! πŸ˜›

    Vim : Sigh ! water reminds u of only bathrooms, huh ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    THAT TICKET CHEATER!!!!! ROFL @ swine flu prank!!!! Hahahahahah!!!!!!

    Vim : yeah, keep laughing !!! Will go there again and play a prank on him !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Aiyo, too bad the kiddo got ill! 😐

    Vim : 😦

    Waiting for Interlaken (Swiss) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    *crafty hums along and loiters tho she is done with comment*
    Vimmuuu = Err, did you have anything more to say?
    Crafty = erm… you remember your baby rats that went absconding…. I found them… they are in my office… will post about them soon :mrgreen:

    Vim : theres something u missed !!! keep searching !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and waiting for that awesome post !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hugssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!

  31. January 15, 2010 8:30 pm

    Crafty sixth one looks like a calendar snap?? 😯 you mean like Kingfisher calendar 😈 hmmmm let me zoom and see if it’s kingfisher types :mrgreen:

    Vim : Pervert !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Chey chey !! you wanted to see me in boxers, huh !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Jenyyyyyy….jenyyy ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • January 16, 2010 12:20 am

      Aiyo Sakshi, there you are!!!! πŸ˜€

      yes, do take closer look….

      btw…what do you think of his “jairam-style” posing against tree snap??? eh??
      have u shown this to Jeny yet? make sure she is seated when she sees it! πŸ˜†

      Vim : Noo..jeny has to stand…and i would hold her bollywood ishtyle when she faints …. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • January 16, 2010 1:43 am

        Jairam style? 😯 What all does Parvati let Jairam do I wonder πŸ™„

        haa jairam style snap of Vimmu has a kalla lakshanam to it. Crafty what do you think he is doing with that stick? πŸ˜› looks to me like he dug with that stick and buried something which should not be seen my innocent people like us πŸ˜₯

        Vim : I was digging to bury you !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  32. January 19, 2010 10:18 am

    ok, so the weather sucked.. but the scenic beauty rocked! look at the sunny side , vims..(pun unintended) the pictures say it was a pretty place.. and im sure u liked it, misadventures and all! πŸ™‚
    here’s a tip from someone who travels pretty often (within the coutnry tho) , when asking for directions/ help always and i mean ALWAYS re confirm with another person.. it saves u a lot of trouble..

    • January 22, 2010 11:46 pm

      Of course, I lovvved it ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ So what if I was a lill sick too ! I dont think I would get these opportunities again ! πŸ˜€

      LOL !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I know !!! but I trusted a ticket checker !! He can never be wrong about directions, right ?? I mean, he should not be ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  33. January 22, 2010 11:33 pm

    I am late here but had to read this peacefully … the pictures are beautiful, all such pictures remind me of books by James Herriot. It’s so terrible to be feeling less than your best when on a hoilday 😦 And I need to read part IV to understand your swine flu prank πŸ™‚ The thought of wasting time and energy when you aren’t well, or are just recovering – when you could have got down at the airport !!

    • January 22, 2010 11:48 pm

      James who ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      If I am not wrong, you did comment in part 4, but now I know you didnt read it ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 6 – Interlaken « V-Lokam
  2. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 7 – Disney Village (Paris) « V-Lokam
  3. Once upon a time in Europe – Part 8 – Paris City tour « V-Lokam
  4. Once upon a time in Europe – Final Part – Paris (Disneyland Park) « V-Lokam

Leave a Reply

