Skip to content

‘Phir Mile Gurrrrrrrrrrrr’

January 27, 2010

Ohhh, that’s what I felt initially when I watched the video !! ‘Pathetic’ is too sweet a word for that video ! What were they smoking while creating the video ?

Not only does it insult the old version of the song, but also made me so disgusted that I wanted to murder the person who even thought of creating a remix !

The video opened well with ARR working on the continuum; I so wanted to see how he instrument looked like and how its played. I have been in love with the instrument ever since I heard it being played at the end of Rehna Tu (Delhi 6). Infact, all the musicians and singers performed well. I was a little disappointed with Sonu Nigam and Shaan though. While the former went a little over board with his vocal expressions, the latter was so wooden especially in the Aamir part. What happened to legendary singers like Lata, SPB, Janaki, etc. ?

The actors, except for a few, literally murdered the video. SRK overacted as usual; what was he doing in that DDLJ type pose? It was like watching Raj/Rahul singing ‘mile sur mera tumhara’ to his heroine. Someone please teach him any other way of enacting songs !! Aamir was looking idiotic and he got the most stupid part in the song; a combination of Bum bum bole and all eeej well! To be honest, the only part which I liked among the film celebrities was the one which had Salman in it; that part was well written, executed and turned out really sweet and touching. And its not because I like the actor; I am sure anyone in that role would have done it equally well. But then, where was his shirt ?? 😀 😀 The rest of the actors did nothing but lip sync; all of them wasted ! Btw, I thought I saw a shadow of Abhishek Bachchan somewhere. Did you guys see him too ??? 😀 😀 and since the whole Bachchan family was there, and after watching Aishwarya and Abhishek together, I was waiting for Jaya and Amar Singh to make their appearance together !! 😀

Well, Im glad that they included the gay community; Karan Johar was awesome in that part 😀 😀 And what on earth was Deepika wearing ? Probably, she wore something at the last minute to avoid getting her clothes wet. At a particular angle, it even looked like she was standing in the water with a shrunk nightie (the Indian ones – maxi) ! 😀 Priyanka, our national winning actress, was the worst in terms of lip sync; the music in her part had wonderful notes and she had the same facial expression throughout. Shahid showed all his frustrations with Kareena in his part ! 😀 😀 Tamil actor Vikram did nothing but move his hands, by now, he is used to in his movies; wonder what happened to this talented actor these days! And yes, they had to get vikram and surya and avoid biggies like Kamal and Rajni !

Whatever happened to sports???? No Sachin, no Vishwanath Anand, no Sania; c’mon don’t tell me that the makers couldn’t get any of those sports celebrities on board for the shoot !! There were a couple of athletes who came in front of the camera from nowhere; no close up shots and all of them move rapidly. And no one from the police force; no scientists; no writers; no entrepreneurs; no industrialists; this was just pure filmi !!! and even if they wanted only actors in the video, there were a lot of other talented ones. They could have also put Mallika Sherawat and Rakhi Sawant in the video and even Himesh performing. I am sure, it wouldn’t have turned out any less ‘entertaining’ !

Leave the video, but did you guys listen to the way they raped the original song giving it different layers and styles ? and ooooh, the ending was simply horrendous !!! It appeared like they didn’t know how to conclude it. Complete trash ! Waste of time and waste of effort. Its very obvious that this video was made for publicity and had nothing to do with national integration or patriotism or whatever they intend to call it. Give me the old video any day; I get goosebumps even listening to it !

Check out the new Mile Sur only if you want to have an Om Shanti Om experience of watching a lot of film celebrities in one video :

PS : I know, the entire blogosphere by now is filled with the reviews on this confounded video. I wanted to write on this as and when I watched the video yesterday; didn’t find time. Better late bashing than never !!

156 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 7:42 am

    Looool! I like the way you’ve taken out on this! Beats me why on earth anyone would create a new version of the already existing masterpiece!

    The answer: Maybe the effect of smoking some street-side junk dope! 😉

    • January 27, 2010 7:42 am

      OMG……I’m the first today! 🙂 Wooooow!

    • January 28, 2010 1:21 am

      LOL !!! your answer explains everything now !!!

      and yes, you coming first is the biggest surprise I got this year ! 😀 😀 😀

  2. January 27, 2010 8:04 am

    I have seen the first part and OMG, it was hilarious, wtf were they doing and blv me that I dnt blv tht so mny ppl have already wasted millions of seconds and quintals of energy for the review of this piece of shit and almost every one wants to remove Aish+Amitabh+Abhishek+SRK+SEL+whoever appears in the video 😉

    • January 28, 2010 1:22 am

      LOL !!! please watch the second part too !! you would die laughing ! 😀

  3. January 27, 2010 8:05 am

    Ranbir Kapoor 😐
    That’s Insane 😛

  4. January 27, 2010 8:31 am

    For a change I totally agree with you!! What I hated about the new one?

    – Too slow
    – No closeups
    – Music is so so odd most of the times
    – The video doesn’t make the stars but it is as if the stars make the video.

    Vim : Wahhh ! Kya dialogue hain ! 😀 You should write scripts for your fav actor ! 😀

    In the earlier version all major stars be it sports person or actors or any celebrity were blended in the video this time the video is around them!!! You know when my hubby saw Deepika Padukone, his reaction was, “why is she in there? What has she done to be in the video?”

    Vim : LOL ! she is Gen Y ! But if Ranbir is there, Deepika can, na ? 😀

    I guess these idiots were trying to capture the hearts of the Gen X but then they shud have made another song for them!!! Crappy this is!!!

    And Salman’s section is awesome na?? Why are you behind is shirt? He was at least wearing SOME thing!! 😛 he is the only worthy thing in there!!! 😀 Vaise I also liked the Juhi Chawla segment!

    Vim : But still, a shirt (wanted style) would have been nice ! 😀

    And yes cricketer’s & many more players were conspicuous with their absence! Am sure in the case of former they wud have been busy with OTHER commitments!! Somehow I feel that in their effort to keep this version different from the older one they have skipped many worthy people who were there in the old video!!!

    Vim : Abdul Kalaam, Narayana Murthy, Kiran Bedi, any one of them ! Sigh! 😦

    Vaise what more do you expect from makers who are mere socialites!!!

    Vim : yeah ! 😦

    • January 27, 2010 8:35 am

      BTW Aby Baby was there kya?? 😀

    • January 27, 2010 4:53 pm

      The video doesn’t make the stars but it is as if the stars make the video. – Awesome Smita 😀

      • January 27, 2010 11:13 pm

        Totally with you Smita…every star enacted his hit movie part in the video 😥

  5. January 27, 2010 8:47 am

    When sonu nigam came on I thought it was Hritik in his Kites get up, and was going to dance a jig.

    But I am a senti fool when it comes to patriotic vid’s, I get all teary eyed.

    • January 28, 2010 1:30 am

      LOL, yeah, he looked like Hrithik na ? 😀 😀

      But you got patriotic after watching this ? 😀 The ending was horrible, wasnt it ?

  6. January 27, 2010 8:48 am

    @smi – he started the thing right after ARR

  7. January 27, 2010 8:49 am

    Deepika stood out like a sore thumb with legs.

  8. January 27, 2010 9:39 am

    me loves your post!! totally agree with you..

    a bollywood riot this video is. i was fuming when I first saw it. whats with the bachchan family? ek lo do muft eh? and why make Sr.Bachchan sing? ughhhhh! I thought jaya bachchan will mutter the end credits a la Paa style 😛 irritating!
    the original composer, Louis Banks, was given lesser screen time than ranbir kapoor and padukone! wth!
    I wonder what happened to Shankar and gang. Must have lost their musical notations while traveling to that godforsaken desert. I don’t even want to talk about Shaan and Sonu!! pppffftttt..

    p.s. ARR with his continuum fingerboard was mind blowing. I have seen him play in a CNBC interview last year. will send across the youtube link.

    • January 28, 2010 1:34 am

      LOL !!! ek lo do muft !! 😀 😀 😀 and ROFL @ the jaya bachchan dig ! 😀

      oh, glad that he was atleast shown in this idiotic video ! 🙂

      I know ! S-E-L turned very predictable and seemed to have lost focus after the first line itself !

      Oh, still waiting for the youtube link ! 🙂

  9. January 27, 2010 9:40 am

    I HATE the remix song and video. I did not find any personality whom I admire. In the old video, they had selected filmy personalities whom we respected. Here some personalities whom we respect also were picturised like comedians. Cheap taste.

    Himesh Reshamiya! Do you watch Music ka maha muquabla? Gajendra Singh is gaining publicity because of this buffoon!

    • January 28, 2010 1:36 am

      Sandhya, whatever you mentioned in the first para is bang on !!! film personalities whom we respected !

      Ohh that Himesh thing was a joke. I hate that human being ! 😀

  10. January 27, 2010 9:53 am

    LOL!!

    I totally totally agree with you!
    I was thinking that maybe, just maybe I Might learn to like it.. but, you decided it for me! I can’t possibly like it now!! 😀 😀

    • January 28, 2010 1:37 am

      LOL !!! I decided it for you ??? Wow, no one ever said that to me ! 😀 😀 Im all teary eyes now ! 😀 😀 😀

  11. January 27, 2010 10:29 am

    I havent seen the whole version yet.. just saw a bit … ! So wont say anything yet… !

    • January 28, 2010 1:37 am

      Hitchy, the videos are still streaming for you or did you join sanyas after watching the video ?? 😀 😀

      • January 29, 2010 6:18 pm

        i dont have audio at office… and at home.. it wont load… ! i have to rely on tv… !!!!!

        of whatever I have seen… its not even near the first one.. ! 🙂

        • January 30, 2010 2:49 am

          I was jus kidding. Dont even watch it if you love yourself 😀 😀

  12. January 27, 2010 11:17 am

    This is not certainly not the Mile sur, we’re so used to and so in love with.

    This trial to re-make a lovely song, has failed literally.

    Actually, I am sure that the music doesn’t flow from one segment to another, nicely !!! The music flow was so damn gud in the old one, while switching languages.

    ARR playing the continuum is a gud piece, right ???

    Yes, Vimmuuu, even I am feeling GGGGRRRRRR !!!!

    • January 28, 2010 1:44 am

      Yeah, this is a Bappi lahiri remixed version ! 🙂

      They should have atleast remade it with new tunes; this was like murdering the old song !

      yeah, here the music was too forced just to showcase the different languages !

      ohh, im glad they dint make him sing with the rest…he looked so genuine !!! 🙂

  13. January 27, 2010 11:33 am

    i totally agree with you.. such a waste in remake.
    even now when the old one comes on Doordarshan, I get goosebumps and even proud to be indian. Only the ARR part is better and nothing else and they missed the feeling we should get when listened to it!!!

    • January 28, 2010 1:47 am

      ya, nothing can match the old one ! Its a superb feeling when you listen to it.

  14. January 27, 2010 11:42 am

    🙂
    I had to comment here. I do agree that this new version is not as good as original one but I do find it just fine. I don’t hate it as much as you do……………
    So Many film stars could have been avoided, yes, but maybe they had a deadline to keep. And yeah not a single cricketer is quite funny.
    I guess if we stop comparing it with original, maybe we will like it better.

    • January 28, 2010 1:50 am

      You had to comment here ???? you have been always commenting here, right ?? 😀

      LOL !! its not about film stars and cricketers; its that patriotic feeling thats missing here. I couldnt connect with the song and the people appearing in it. Where was the common man ??

      if they had a different song and lyrics, I wouldnt have compared it to the original. They didnt leave me a choice 😀

  15. January 27, 2010 11:50 am

    I liked only a few parts of it … Ustad ji, Pt.Shivkumar Sharma, Amjad Ali Khan and Rashid Khan parts to be precise … also, I think Shreya did a decent job .. dint like Shaan’s part .. hate hate hate Sonu’s!

    What got me most ws that the sportsmen were shown like they were given a consolation prize; it ws like they r cast bcoz someone might announce a hadtal for nt dng so 😛 😛

    And no cricketers is just toooo much 😦 😦

    Its too very bollywoodish 😦

    • January 28, 2010 1:52 am

      Yeah thats what I meant by saying that musicians were really good except for Shaan and Sonu.

      Either they shouldve made the video only with the film stars or else shouldve made it with a mix of celebs from all verticals. This was so stupid ! LOL @ the hadtal ! 😀 😀

  16. January 27, 2010 11:50 am

    Rolling away laughing at your title…scrolled down to tell you that 😆

    Off to read the post now.

  17. January 27, 2010 12:01 pm

    ARR opening piece with the fingerboard was impactful. Loved the sound! I liked Dr L Subramaniam and his family’s presentation. Kavita Krishnamoorthi as always sheer magic.
    Oh yes Sonu Nigam was pathetic! What was howling and hooting for?? I didnt like SRK’s Kal-ho-na-ho get up also!

    LOL @ ‘Btw, I thought I saw a shadow of Abhishek Bachchan somewhere.’ even I thought so 😀 😀

    • January 28, 2010 1:54 am

      Yeah, the musicians and singers except for Shaan and Sonu were good ! Sonu acted like Himesh, le ? 😀 😀 😀

      SRK has only one dress in his wardrobe, I guess ! 😀

      So you did see Abhishek ! Hmmm…:D 😀 😀

  18. January 27, 2010 12:02 pm

    I liked phir mile in bits and pieces. Barring the bollywood actors’ representation I felt if was nice. Yes many of the sports personalities were missed!

    • January 28, 2010 1:55 am

      But did you ‘feel’ anything after watching the video ? 😀

      • January 28, 2010 12:42 pm

        totally get what you’re saying,Vims. It certainly lacked the feel. The older version still gives me gooseflesh and the essence of our country is so evident in it.

        • January 29, 2010 3:53 am

          yeah . sadly this was like, “ok , whos the next star?” 😀 😀

  19. January 27, 2010 1:47 pm

    Probably they just wanted the publicity.I mean they concentrated more on celebrities rather than the core theme and essence of the song.I didn’t like the Bollywoodish version of the song( i just didn’t understand why they included deepika, priyankra chopra,sonu nigam and all)

    When i was a kid i thought this is doordarshan theme song 🙂

    • January 27, 2010 11:17 pm

      Ahem Anish…that’s weird 👿 as a kid I too thought it was Doordarshan’s theme song…btw is the new one Zoom…is ko dekho’s theme song?? 🙄

    • January 28, 2010 1:56 am

      Yeah, they wouldve thought this generation is only interested in movies and nothing else !

      LOL. Its actually termed as Indias unofficial national anthem. 😀

  20. January 27, 2010 3:02 pm

    lousy video….not even worth comparing with the old one..

    that’s a classic!!!

    • January 28, 2010 1:58 am

      I know !!! this was like RGVs version of Sholay ! 😀 😀

  21. January 27, 2010 3:41 pm

    Oh God, what a disappointment! Infact, Vimmu, I received emails from friends saying the new Mile Sur was a hair-raising experience. Glad I read your review, and Swaram’s too. Given me realistic standards now! Too bad though, about them screwing the old song so badly.

    • January 28, 2010 2:00 am

      Hair raising experience ??? LOL, the hair in my head raised in shock ! 😀 😀

      But did you watch it yet ??? It truly is an experience ! 😀 😀 😀

  22. January 27, 2010 3:57 pm

    Wonderful !!!! You said it buddy. What you wrote ought to be read out at the National Filmfare Awards , Apsara , Menaka awards and every single bollyood awards nite that happens literally every night! Bang on. Such crass commercialization of a heavenly song!!
    Came to read this from Swaram’s blog.

    • January 28, 2010 2:02 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      LOL !! all those awards are also manipulated !! 😀 😀 Saif winning Best Actor for hum tum, arjun rampal winning for rock on !!! Arent these enough to prove that our film fraternities are loonies ! 😀

  23. January 27, 2010 4:09 pm

    ” I thought jaya bachchan will mutter the end credits a la Paa style irritating! “.. I laughed & laughed when I read this Shruthi 😀

  24. January 27, 2010 4:12 pm

    I have seen this instrument, continuum, in the ‘Dream theater’ video:

    Have you heard their songs? Many are good, even for me! Son’s influence. Check this and some others.

    • January 27, 2010 9:29 pm

      Sandhya – DT is awesome, and among my hot favs, ever! Have you by heard A Change of Seasons? or for that matter Funeral of a Friend?

      Ur Son sure has taste! 😉

      Cheers!

      Vimmuuu – Couldn’t help feeling ecstatic seeing a DT fan here and hence used ur space to speak out 😉

      • January 28, 2010 2:27 am

        Sandhya ….will check out the video in sometime. Thanks for it 🙂

        Rakesh…be my guest !! Anyone can comment for anyone here ! 😀 😀

      • January 28, 2010 6:38 am

        Thank you Rakesh! He has got huge collection of good songs. I hear a lot alongwith him and some register in my mind and he knows which ones! I forget the names though, sorry! DT’s videos are also good.

        Vimmuuu, I am sure you will like it…they have an Indian touch! My son will have a BIG smile on his face, when he reads this line!

  25. January 27, 2010 5:32 pm

    srk is hung in suraj hua madhyam pose forever and for once I agree I hate aamir there.. my biggest problem with the video it was just bollywood personified and ad for them

    ROFL jaya and amar sigh

    16 minutes of video failed of evoke any emotions in me and the old 8 min video still made my eyes wet

    PS: came here via swaram’s post my first time here ofcourse very familiar with the name

    • January 27, 2010 8:25 pm

      Lol! Suraj hua madham pose! hehe!

    • January 28, 2010 12:03 am

      ROFL Monu at SRK’s pose *runs before Don says…yeh sakshi ka sir mujhe de de Crafty….*

    • January 28, 2010 2:30 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      LOL @ suraj hua madham !!! 😀 😀 That was my problem with the video too; it was too filmy !!! Bollywood written all over it !

      I know; the old video is simply irreplaceable 😀

  26. January 27, 2010 6:00 pm

    That was scathing 🙂 and deservedly so! I watched it properly last night and it was so disappointing. The old one is definitely miles better. No comparison!

    The old one(both the song and the video), even after all these years is still absolutely lovely!

    • January 28, 2010 2:34 am

      LOL !! they shouldve thought of it while creating the video !!! 😀 😀 😀

      The old one is a classic ! and they shouldnt have played around with it ! 🙂

  27. January 27, 2010 6:23 pm

    Spot on..!!

    The only three things i loved abt the video were

    1. ARR entry
    2. Bachchan on the backdrop of Taj {I adore that building}
    3. Salmans part..

    It was all studded with stars.. Where did all common man go..!!
    The ‘malayalam’ part was pathetic… the original one got the essence because the actors were a mix of stars and common man..!!

    😦

    • January 28, 2010 2:36 am

      Vinz…welcome here after a loooong time !! Where were you buddy ??

      It wouldve been horrible if they had shown ARR somewhere in between these idiots ! 😀

      I know ! the common man was missing !!! this is sick ! 😀

      • January 30, 2010 2:07 pm

        oh yeah, exactly…
        same feeling i had…
        atleast we can stop watching it after his part..!!

        😉

        am back dude..
        will be more regular, i guess…oops.. i hope..!!

        😉

  28. January 27, 2010 7:16 pm

    Have u read the awesome post by Kirsh Ashok on this video? check it out
    http://krishashok.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/mile-sur-mera-tomorrow-fail/

    An excerpt from it
    “Shah Rukh, you *really* need to stop doing that wide-open-hands thing. Everybody else is doing it now, and damnit, if Amjad Khan was alive, he’d take those hands and spare us all.”

    LOL 😀
    loved the line – “Better late bashing than never !!” 😀

    • January 28, 2010 2:37 am

      Yeah, I did read his post. Im one of his regulars; but I dont comment ! 😀

  29. January 27, 2010 7:31 pm

    Oh???Is it really that bad? I haven’t seen it yet-will check out the links!

    • January 28, 2010 2:38 am

      So, did you check out ??? what did you feel ?? 😀

      • January 28, 2010 7:13 am

        oh nothing to beat the appeal and reach of the original version-for sure!!! This one seemed like an awkward mish mash and too many film stars…and a bit lengthy no? does not touch the heart strings re! But ok for a remix I guess!

        • January 29, 2010 3:55 am

          bit lengthy??? it was 10 mins more than the original !! 😀 😀

          Some of the portions, yes, but the ending spoilt everything for me !

  30. January 27, 2010 8:29 pm

    A friend actually said this version gave her goosebumps… and she was like WOWW!! i thot poor thing, must have gotten hit on the head or something! 😀

    Just read Swaram’s review and wrote a few words out there n then saw u’ve put up a post on the same thing!!

    Only one thing to say – wish they had thot of the essence and what the song means to us before doing this shaudy video….!!

    • January 28, 2010 2:47 am

      LOL !!! there are a lot of chances that she became insane after watching the video 😀 😀

      Yeah, they did it for them and not for us; thats the difference !

  31. January 27, 2010 10:39 pm

    I’m SO GLAD u wrote this… I completely agree!! I wanted to bloody bash up the tv set while watching the ‘remix’ version 😡 bullshit!!!

    Vim : Thats your own TV, le ? Then you can ! 😀 😀

    As someone said, its just phir bollywood mera tumhara….

    Vim : True 😦

    Give me the old version anyday… it was and is so magical… and unforgettable. I can always hum along with that. This one is like all over the place with no meaning.

    Vim : Yeah, some of the sequences didnt make sense at all !

    And seriously where is the rest of India? Even Bollywood was so poorly represented… what’s Ranbir, Shahid and Deepika doing in the video?? What part of India do they really represent?? I agree on what u said.. Deepika looks like she got a dress which shrunk, and she decided to wear it coz its not long enuff to get wet. The lip-synching with Priyanka Chopra was terrible…

    Vim : The new gen stars ! but why did they have to totally ignore the old ones ! They wouldve made this video when the rest of India was sleeping ! 😀

    And I completely agree… the Salman part was very good. He’s good with kids and it showed. Plus the theme behind it was laudable 🙂 I’m no Salman fan… so this is a very honest review.

    Vim : He was the only actor who was natural !

    The beginning was, as u said, so promising… A R Rahman, then Shankar Ehsaan Loy… and then they threw it down the chute! 😦
    If u cant bother to stand up to the original, let alone doing better than that, then why tamper with something??? 🙄

    Vim : Yeah, if this had a different song with different lyrics; I wouldnt have had any issues ! Why destroy the old song !

    • January 28, 2010 9:16 am

      of course it was NOT my tv 😀 😀 😀 I m not staying at my home these days na…u know it!
      Thats why I didnt break it… thought it wud be obvious! 😛

      • January 29, 2010 3:56 am

        Cant believe you replied for that ! I was obviously kidding !!! 😀 Ashwathy….you neeeeed a looooong vacation !!! 😀

        • January 31, 2010 11:46 am

          I AM on vacation… well technically speaking so, since I am away from stress and living peacefully now .. 😀 😀 😀 hence replying to all sorts of nonsense!!!

  32. January 27, 2010 11:55 pm

    ya even i didnt like it that much… the older one was so so inspiring and touching that this felt completely bland… complete bollywood song one can say…
    loved your take… 🙂

    • January 28, 2010 2:52 am

      It was like a bollywood song for sure 🙂 The old still lingers somewhere in your heart !

  33. January 28, 2010 12:01 am

    ARR is playing a what??? Blimey I thought he was reading Braille 😳 Boy O boy am I glad I don’t have Zoom..is ko dekho in this part of the world 😯 I just saw this video on youtube after reading your post 😯 😯 😯

    Vim : Was it like watching a horror movie ?? 😀 😀

    Is this video funded by Amar Singh?? Man the whole Bachan parivaar minus Jaya? just like you, I thought she will be definitely appearing on top of that rock. Btw Aby baby looked like he was resurrected by the smell of Aish after being buried under the rock for ages 😆

    Vim : ROFL !!! I just cant stop laughing reading the last line ! 😀 😀

    What’s magical about Salman Khan?? With due respect to Smita…the damn guy has a problem and should be send to rehab for shooting shirtless around kids 😡

    Vim : Who said he was magical ! I said, his part was well written and executed. I also mentioned that anyone in that part wouldve done well 🙂

    This is why I tell that the National Awards for movies should be banned. Aamir and all of them were enacting a part of their own movie to god knows what lyrics and music??

    Vim : Oh, he was sooo bad !

    Karan Johar was there?? I think the youtube version I saw was discriminatory then 😯 ROFL at your Deepika maxi observations 😆

    Vim : You didnt see Karan Johar ??? How come you missed him !!! Watch it again ! 😀 😀 😀 yeah, she couldve worn something better ! 😀

    Btw who is that black shirt leaning tower of Pisa types tamil singing actor?? 😀

    Vim : He is Vikram ! You can watch him in Mani Ratnams Raavan ! 😀

    OMG Mammoty *faint* Thank god the cameraman saved the honour of us mallus by lifting the camera at top speed before Mammoty could lift his mundu way up :mrgreen:

    Vim : LOL !! our elephant mahout-ty was way better than this mammotty !

    With due respect to Don Sols, IHM *scared smiley* I am pretty sure SRK agreed to act the suraj hua madham pose in Kal Ho Na Ho get up, only bcoz he was given a script where they said the shooting will be with a backdrop of the Brooklyn Bridge 🙄 yeah later they photoshoped it to the Bandra Worli Sea Link 😆

    Vim : ROFL !!! why due respect to Sols and IHM !! Even Sols agreed to it in Krishs blog ! 😀 😀 😀 He wouldve begged for a scene to overact and he did ! 😀

    I love everything about the old version…even the aana’s of kerala…i so so missed them in this…sobs!!

    Vim : Me too 😦 😦

    Kamal, Rajni, Johnny Depp at least had the brains to stay away from this national massacre of a video 🙄

    Vim : Ok, Johnny Depp ????? 😀 😀

  34. January 28, 2010 2:04 am

    Vimmu saaar! awesome job as always with your words.. Loved what you said about Deepika, Sonu Nigam was sooo horrible! And you know what! Even I was waiting for Jaya and Amar Singh! 😛
    No idea what Priyanka did and as soon as I saw Salman, I was like ugh! where’s his shirt?? Total disappointment with the sports section…
    Was hoping for Kamal Hassan…,(somewhere in my heart) for Chiranjeevi…. I was actually wondering if Tulsi from Ekta Kapoor’s soaps would also end up here!
    I did get goosebumps for this song.. only when the tunes from the original version were played.. Was so pissed by the end of the video, I searched for the original and watched it!

    • January 28, 2010 3:04 am

      Rohini ….you alive ??? where were you ??? ?:D 😀 😀

      Jaya and Amar…you too, huh ? 😀 😀 😀

      Salmans shirt wasnt there, but he was the only actor who made it natural !

      Sports section??? they ignored it totally ! Idiots !

      Oh yeah, I was waiting for Kamal Haasan, Chiranjeevi, Rajni too ! and a few other non film celebs too !

      I couldnt relate to the video after the first 3 mins; it was like watching a MTV music video !

      • January 28, 2010 3:11 am

        pretty much alive Boss! been too busy packing and moving to a new city and starting MBA.. still stuck between hotels and outdoor stinky meals! yup Salman’s bit was very touchy and beautifully written.. it would have been way better if he’d had a shirt on! It definitely is a disaster video and I don’t think I am ever watching it again… and I spent half an hour buffering it on this hotel’s crappy internet connection, and another 16 mins watching it.. Husband kept telling me.. that maybe the buffer time was technology’s and God’s way of stopping me from watching it! But the stubborn one that I am, I watched it and then put a white face!

        • January 28, 2010 3:26 am

          Ohh I was about to ask the same thing after seeing your come back on my blog “Rohini are you alive?” then thought what difference does it make if I ask it there or here at Vims… 😆

        • January 29, 2010 4:02 am

          Ohhh…anyway, glad you came back !

          and you did all that for this video ??? You deserve a special award ! 🙂

  35. January 28, 2010 7:53 am

    Wow! what an in depth analysis.
    You definitely are a fantastic critic Vimmuu 😀

    Whatever is bad can be called bad or not so good but the brilliant way you write it with heartfelt emotions dripping in each word gives it a whole new dimension 😀

    I am shocked, trying to resist, but over the days I have started agreeing with you lot more than what my sanity should accept 😀 😀

    * an off the topic note: I simply admire the wonderfully imaginative suggestions you post on my fiction tales when I ask my readers what they think will happen next 😀 😀

    Have lots of fun 😀

    Cheers!!

    • January 29, 2010 4:05 am

      Thanks buddy ! Donno what to say; Im not used to these kinda words you see 😀 😀 😀

      and regarding that sanity thing…lol…donno if I should feel great !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Ohhh, thats because I love your stories ! You give it too many twists that keeps readers like me glued to it. The other day when me and Smita were talking, we were mentioning the same thing !

  36. January 28, 2010 8:35 am

    Vimmuuu…….

    When I started reading this post, the first thing that came to mind was what is he talking about.

    Now, after watching both parts of the video I completely agree with you. I mean I haven’t heard nor seen the orignal video BUT this only is hilarious.

    I believe they were trying to illustrate the versatility of India and it’s music today BUT it obviously didn’t portray that.

    • January 29, 2010 4:06 am

      Yeah, but you couldve related more to it if you had grown up with the original video just like most of us here.

      • January 29, 2010 7:14 am

        I guess so.

        I did watch the orignal video and it is much better.

        All I’m trying to say is that the idea of “modeinising” the song was correct BUT they didn’t illustrate it in the right way.

        I mean the video looked more like a circus act rather that india today.

  37. January 28, 2010 10:07 am

    I am rolling with laughter..the way you describe na..it is rocking….
    I am yet to see the video….

    • January 29, 2010 4:07 am

      you didnt see the video ??? You will die laughing then ! 😀 😀

  38. January 28, 2010 3:43 pm

    came here through swaram blog and hey that was pretty good reivew of the very bad song haha. Your review was stright to the point , honest and I could so relate to it 🙂

    • January 29, 2010 4:08 am

      you have come here before through Smitas 😀 😀 😀

      yeah, the song deserved whatever ‘good’ things I have told about it 😀 😀 😀

  39. Rashmi permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:58 pm

    This is nowhere near to classic old version…this is just bollywood glamarous entertaining video …more like OM shanti Om song
    I just like Juhi’s expression in this video which seems to be bit realistic…

    • January 29, 2010 4:14 am

      yeah, this was meant only for publicity. Juhi has always been good. she looked natural !

  40. January 28, 2010 5:04 pm

    Make Money Online – Visit 10 websites and earn 5.5$. Click here to see the Proof

    • January 29, 2010 4:09 am

      Im not going to click. what will you do mr. henry spam !! 😀 😀

  41. January 28, 2010 10:27 pm

    Am back, Am back and Am back 🙂

    I did not hate it as much as you did but I did not like it as much as the old one.

    Change is the only thing that is constant! Can’t compare new to old and bash the new all the time.

    • January 29, 2010 4:14 am

      what happened to your back ?? what happened to your back ?? what happened to your back ??

      yeah, I love change; they shouldve changed the tune of the song and I dont think I wouldve had this problem of accepting the change ! 😀

  42. January 28, 2010 11:59 pm

    I was under the impression that I commented here. I had opened 4 posts on ‘Phir Mile Sur’ and went loony laughing at each.

    Vim : Lol, I know. I can understand. Infact, I read your comment at Krishs too ! 😀

    I do think that there were flaws in the old one too. We liked it then because it was a new idea. But this one is on Bollywood overdose. Everyone was on a ego trip.

    Vim : Ohh yeah, ego trip ! Thats the phrase I was looking for ! 😀

    They could have started the video with Lata and ARR. Bachchan and probably another veteran female actor (Waheeda Rehman) near Taj. After that all actors should have been clubbed together for one voice instead of Aati kya khandala, Suraj hua maddham types poses and not to mentione Shahid-Ranbir-Deepika-Shilpa-Vikram-????? Sonu Nigam has lost the plot. Shiamak Davar is a disgrace to dance.

    The uniqueness of our states is not in our over-paid actors. Be it Mammootty or Surya or Prasenjit or Salman Khan. They could have shown the aam janta, festivals, landmarks. Then all actors in 1 or 2 frames similar to sportsmen (including Sachin). Then Scientists, Women achievers, Armed forces.

    Vim : That shouldve been a nice video Don ! I dont like it, but I agree with you ! Hmmm.,…why dont we try making such a video by ourselves. It wouldnt be that tuff. We just have the snaps of all the celebs and then do a proper sync 🙂 What say ?

    • January 29, 2010 4:35 am

      You know what? That’s a fabulous idea. Lets do it. I made a video long back and you make videos often (brother’s birthday one was really good). Now go have fun at your wedding and honeymoon 😉 and when you come back, we will make one and advertise/ tweet to all celebs, journos and everyone that matters. Let them know how good things are actually done (hope no one chories our idea).

      • January 29, 2010 11:31 pm

        Brainstorming haan?? Wonderful idea I must say Don…salaam to your part of the brain :mrgreen:

      • January 30, 2010 2:47 am

        wooooooohoooo !!! we should do it ! forget the lip sync…we will give a new dimension to it !!! 😀 😀

  43. January 29, 2010 2:40 am

    Old one was classic and no video can be same as the old one.

  44. January 29, 2010 3:43 am

    Hellons! Mwhahahahahaha…. 😉

    • January 29, 2010 4:11 am

      What Don ??? why you laughing now ? came up with something to defame me ?? 😀

  45. January 29, 2010 5:41 pm

    hmmm..well…i kinda liked this song! 😛

    It wasnt tht bad…

    Vim : I know why you liked it ! only ‘cuz SRK is there in it 😀 😀

    eventhough i cant understand why the BEEP they had to bring THE BACCHAN to start off this song in his BEEP voice

    and BEEEP the BACCHAN FAMILY! God i hate them!

    Vim : Amitabh was better than SRK in the video dude ! 😀

    And to be really honest..tht continnuum thingy…sounded soo funny n silly…i thought it was a ridiculous piece of crap!!

    Vim : You wouldve loved it if SRK played it, na ? 😀 😀

    i kinda liked the way they ignored the cricketers totally! 😈

    Vim : Bharath mata ki jai ! 😀

    The only thing i missed the most was Kamal Hassans presence in this video…coz he was like the only good looking person in the prev one.. Hehehe
    i mean they could have at least brought in shruthi to compensate 😦

    Vim : and the younger one too !! 😀 😀 😀

    And the second thing i missed the most was Himesh
    Himesh would have been awesome if he was in this song…just imagine him singing with his cap n mike,………
    “oooooooooooooooooo……tera tera teraaaaaaaaaaaaa……….. surrrrrrrrr…..oooooo”

    Vim : Dude, thats it !!!! YOU ARE INSANE !!!!

    wait a minute, are we supposed to take the opposite of all what you wrote ?? hmm…lemme see…you liked disliked the video….you hated loved the continuum sound….you didnt want wanted the cricketers…cant comment on your take on Kamal and Amitabh though….and only I know how much you hate Himesh !!! So, that explains everything !!! your brain is twisted !!! 😀 😀

    U know if they had bought in Saifareena too for this video! Then i would have set the whole zoom channel on fire!

    Vim : LOL !!! They should have shown her in her bikini !!! Chey !!

    oh i almost forgot

    NONE SAYS BAD ABT SRK AND SONU!! DAMN U ALL SRK HATERS!!!

    Vim : Dude, I consider myself as one of THE BIGGEST SRK HATERS !!! Beware !!!

    • January 29, 2010 11:28 pm

      I knew the moment I first set eyes on you that YOU ARE REALLY WEIRD..like the name of your blog…sigh!!!! I am attributing this weirdness as a result of Vimmu’s atyachaar on you as a poor innocent kid…sobs!! See Vimmu…what you have done to this guy?? He loves this video it seems…and of all things want Himesh..let me go and cry…Ooooooo…Ooooooooo…Woooooooooooooo… 😥

      • January 30, 2010 3:03 am

        Oyyy…all this isnt my fault !!! dont blame me for his weirdness !!! Himesh, SRK …no way !!!

    • January 30, 2010 3:49 am

      nope..i only lied abt the himesh part!rest all is true! 😈

      Atleast SRK didnt have to behave like total wackos infront of the children like the other khans!

      And nope! i do not wish to see a skeleton in a bikini! u pervert! U better get married soon!!

      “Uwear” u SRK HATER!!!! 😈

  46. Niranjan permalink
    January 29, 2010 11:10 pm

    Dude if you have the karaoke version of Euphoria’s Maaeri. Can you mail me?

    • January 30, 2010 2:50 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Will search for it and send it across.

  47. January 30, 2010 9:06 am

    I agree to each word that you have written here Vims ! Specially the Salman bit and the old “Mile Sur” giving goosebumps 🙂

  48. January 30, 2010 5:24 pm

    Amar Singh….LOLz!!

    Deepika’s part was sponsored by Fiama Di Wills. Read my post on this one: http://removing.blogspot.com/2010/01/how-was-phir-mile-sur-made-inside-story.html

    • February 1, 2010 7:14 am

      For a minute, I thought the Bachchan jr. somehow found my blog and wanted to abuse me just like how he had behaved in twitter recently !!! 😀 😀

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Over to yours to read ! 😀

  49. January 31, 2010 12:51 am

    Completely agree with you…

    Its one of the worst remix that can be ever done… 😡

    its always better to leave the classics as it is….

  50. January 31, 2010 3:03 am

    The best part about bad movies and videos is that they make good reviews! Your post is not only informative but also hilarious. However, i take PMS as a new advertising model. Where the Bollywood celebs advertise in between a few seconds of the PMS video. PMS is awesome!

    • February 1, 2010 7:19 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !

      Arent you the same person who had abused Smita and me for some cheap publicity or something ??? now that you said PMS is awesome, certain things which I had felt about you got confirmed !! 🙂 🙂 Good luck buddy !

      Btw, by PMS, you were referring to the Phir mile sur video only, na ??

  51. January 31, 2010 12:03 pm

    mile sur iska aur uska ..tho sur bane bollywood ka!
    not only was it filled with bollywood people..bt was filled with their insanity too!
    wat has the bachan couple romancing hav to do with india..wat does deepikas and salmans scarcity of clothes hav 2 do with india! wat has aamirs, shahrukhs and shahids..onscreen image hav 2 do wit India! gee entertainment has turned to be considered as essentiality!
    AM I GLAD THAT HRITHIK DID NOT JOIN THE WAGON 🙂 😛

    • February 1, 2010 7:26 am

      I know ! Thats how they shouldve made the lyrics atleast !! crazy ones !!

      They should have atleast made the stars look like common man ! but no, they had to give all their regular antics for this video as well !

      LOL !! They should have shown the Roshans and shown that India has frequent visits by aliens too ! 😀 😀 😀

  52. January 31, 2010 4:42 pm

    I am not able to see the song due to my poor connectivity, but I guess its ok, looking at the comments and the post! I think movie actors should not appear at all in such videos. Its more to do with our obsession with them! Couple of tashing like this will definitely help.

    Destination Infinity

    • February 1, 2010 7:27 am

      You still didnt get to watch the video ??? lucky you !!! 😀 😀 😀 Our country is obsessed with stars !!! and only film stars !

  53. January 31, 2010 6:09 pm

    Totally agree! It was bad. I actually posted it on my FB page saying “MUST WATCH” but only coz its so funny 😛

    It was straight out of OSO. Totally filmi. I would not mind seeing actors in national integration videos but no overdose pls! They could have dropped one out of Shahid n Ranbir,one out of Deepika n Priyanka. and many others.
    Seeing the entire film industry made me miss Hrithik! Usko kyu nahi liya??!

    I liked one thing though.. That they left out cricketers. But they didn’t do justice to other sports people either.

    BTW, loved the title 🙂

    • February 1, 2010 7:30 am

      LOL @ must watch !!! 😀 😀 You must have driven a lot of traffic to the video and they must have cursed you for that status message !!! 😀

      Areyy, they couldve dropped the entire video itself ! Donno what were they thinking !

      Hrithik wouldve knew how insane this is going to turn out !! 😀 😀

      Cmon, cricket is considered one of our religions and missing out Sachin is the biggest flaw in this video !

  54. January 31, 2010 9:57 pm

    arrgh!! you know all this while i was hearing ppl crib about this.. n i hadnt seen it on tv so i was blissfully unaware.. n now u’ve made me watch this very sad, sad version of a classic.. arrrrrrggh!! its horrid!! i cudnt watch it beyond amir khan… it sounds bad, it looks bad and its full of bollywood! arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    • February 1, 2010 7:32 am

      Oh, I made you watch this. Im so sorry 🙂

      You didnt watch it beyond Aamir ??? oh, please do if you want to laugh more !! 😀 😀

      Its totally filmy !!! and nothing to do with our nation !

  55. February 1, 2010 3:36 am

    Deepika though she will re-enact Liril AD.. YUCK… I felt she was constipated and wanted to fart….

    Vim : You said it Boyyyy !!! she looked exactly like that not knowing what to do with her looongg hands !!! 😀 😀

    SRK did his typical arms stretched come-hold-me I am so alone act. Aamir is still in TZP mode. Salman was ok but no that great. Shiamak proved once again he is a pathetic dancer, YUCK YUCK…..

    Vim : ROFL @ im so alone act !! 😀 😀 Shiamak and dance ! hmmpphh !! We have great dancers in our country and all we got was him !

    Why so much of footage for BACHCHANS? Fuck!!!

    Vim : areyy, they are indias official family 😀

    My Question is Where is Lata, Sachin Tendulkar? Asha Bhosle?

    Vim : or narayan murthy, or the tatas or abdul kalam ! 😦

    Makers thought the generation who did not see Mile Surr before would find it awe-freaking-some but the sad part is even they find it Sad

    Vim : and Im glad that people of this gen trashed it !

  56. February 1, 2010 3:46 am

    Forgot to mention what the fuck Niigaam (who changed his spelling) was doing there and what Ranbir and Deepika had to say?

    Vim : Niigaam was apt for this video, but why was he overacting and over singing ??? I guess he still wants to try acting !

    Why not Naseer, Kamal Haasan from films? Why not Dhoni, Gambhir from Cricket, Somdev from Tennis, Nehwal from Badminton?

    Vim : 😦 Idiots !!!

    Why not Some aam junta from my neighborhood?

    Vim : Aam junta ?? now whats that ?? We are a country obsessed with stars !

    It might sound cynical to criticize but at the same time it sounds logical.

    Vim : It doesnt Boyyy; this video deserves all the trashing !

  57. February 1, 2010 10:33 am

    i was hoping to feel someeee patriotism watching the video …

    alas, i was pulling my hair out by the end. 😦

    • February 3, 2010 12:04 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      Patriotism??? LOL !!! this video is an insult to that word 😀

  58. Reeta permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:14 pm

    Hi vimal

    I am backkkk after a loong break into commenting on ur blog. I feel the phir mile….had much more hype around it..than it was in reality… Most of the people seemed totally artificial. I dont know in what way Junior B was needed just to accompany his wifey,only some politicians were missing, they should hv included them too.. Most of our cricketers were not seen and the olympic medal winners seemed so lost and artificial. I hv no clue why k Jo was there in it… Deepika was very artificial in her bit…Bhaichung bhutia seemed happier in jhalak dhikla ja than shooting for this video…EVen teh jugal bandhi of shobana and shiamak did not seem tht grt!!! They should hv also included saifeena,rahul mahajan,rakhi and her swayamyar choice elesh with whom her sulr is mil gaya…hehhe…They should not hv made us kinda have horrible memories of the song… Aamir was kinda overdoing his bit and the people wid sonu seem so puzzled when the video is shot….. Anywyas the version 2 is a big No No…..in next version they might include kangana ranaut also as she has gone ahead to win a national award….

    • February 3, 2010 12:07 am

      Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….reeeetas back !!!! I mean, reeta is back !! 😀 😀 😀

      Now I like the video ! I got ur comments back just because of that video, na ? 😀 😀 😀

      LOL @ the people wid sonu seem so puzzled when the video is shot !!! 😀 😀

      oh yeah, wonder how they missed kangana ranaut in this video ! 😀

  59. February 2, 2010 3:36 pm

    One flipside was that the video was a bit too long.. 16+ min is not something the new gen will fix their ass n watch in this era, even if it is called National Integration.

    Did I say National Integration? Bollywood integration it was, and this one feature of the video has made people rage. Is India all about Bollywood?? Every star, moon and crater of bollywood has had their close-ups integrated on the new mile-sur. Not acceptable. :X

    And I agree with the part on Deepika, they could’ve well got Mallika Sharawat to do that…well said dude. Shambles. And yes, as you said, the icons of Indian Sports missing and it was unpardonable. I think Sachin, Ganguly and co may well have done themselves a world of good by staying away from this mess.

    #Epic fail! Bharat Bala Productions, you suck! :X

    • February 3, 2010 12:17 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      I know. 16 mins; people these days dont like watching a music video more than 2 mins ! 😀

      yeah, bollywood integration ! this is also the first time all the three khans are together !! 😀 😀 😀 A lot of thoughts had gone behind the making of this video, you see ! 😀

      and I guess they did it deliberately. They must have got 30 secs of screen time, to which they would said a big NO ! 😀 😀

      This isnt Bharat Bala productions !! They produced only the original mile sur. This was produced by Zoom and Times of India. Bharat Bala productions are always great !! They can never go wrong ! 😀

  60. February 2, 2010 8:43 pm

    WHere is Vimmmuuu hiding? This will not do! No post for so many days????

    • February 2, 2010 11:59 pm

      Published ! published ! didnt you know I was getting ready for my wedding !

      • February 3, 2010 6:05 am

        Oh wow Vimmmuuu! Congratulations and god bless you! Join the bandwagon…but you are joining 22 years after me….hehe!

        And on a lighter note-naan padum avasthai neenum padveer! lol!

        • February 3, 2010 8:32 am

          Dont you think you are supposed to convey your congratulations over there in the new post ? 😀 😀

  61. February 2, 2010 10:09 pm

    Ayooo…aiyayooo… No posts?? U already preparing for your wedding?? Come on how come you are all interested in your own sentencing and busy enough even to make a post?? 😯

    • February 3, 2010 12:00 am

      LOL !!! I just published; Go check my suicide note in the name of a post ! 😀

  62. February 2, 2010 11:48 pm

    *high five* thats all that I have felt about the damn video written down to a T!
    what a pathetic attempt! ugh!

Trackbacks

  1. Dissection time! « The Song of Life

Leave a Reply

