Skip to content

Goodbye !!!

April 21, 2010

Its been 3 and a half years now; Enough is enough !

No no, not to blogging, please. I played that prank once and got a truck load of abuses from you all !!!. Not again for sure πŸ™‚

I am referring to my 3 and a half year old night life. Ever since I joined this office, I had been leading one of those unusual lives; a life that needs to be experienced. It’s a life where you are awake when a part of the world sleeps and vice versa. I go to my workplace when the rest of Chennai is on their way back home and I get back home at a time when people jog and when tamil women draws concentric circles and stars on their doorway. And not to miss those dogs that chase me each time I enter a particular short cut !!!

It’s a life where your lunch becomes your breakfast, dinner your lunch and breakfast your dinner. Even during the weekends, I would sleep during the day and would be a powerhouse in the nights. Now you know why I record those songs at 2 and 3 in the morning. It’s a life where you get to listen to your relatives and friends say, β€œYou don’t have time for us now”. It’s a life where you would feel odd when someone wishes you good night and good morning. It’s a life where you get a very loooong weekend to enjoy. I used to end my work by Sat early morning and then reach office only on Monday late evenings. And a life where you get asked the same stupid question over and over again – β€œDo you work in a call centre?” For one whole year, I kept convincing people on my exact job profile. After a while, I got bored with my own replies that sounded like as though I am made to answer them at an interview panel.

It was also a life where I enjoyed spending a lot of time with the β€˜crazy’ me. I don’t sleep for long hours unlike most of them who does night shifts. I used to wake up at around 11am after my 5 hours of sleep and I had time till 7pm all for myself. Since my shift was at 7.30 pm, there had been days when I used to go for movies, especially on Fridays for the shows that start at 3pm so that I could go directly to office after the movie. My colleagues say there are two kinds of psychos in this world – one who stays alone and the other who goes for movies alone and according to them I am one big psycho for falling under both the categories. But what the heck; I enjoyed being that way !

Going to office and being inside for about 9 hours was itself an excitement. We never had a typical sales atmosphere at office in the nights. Work happened alright, but at the same time, for some of us, it was like visiting a resort with unlimited internet. Oh except on those quarter ends that is !! (and for the top management in my office – please ignore this para πŸ˜‰ )

It’s only been a week in my new day shift and I am already missing my old colleagues so badly. Its never going to be the same, I know. I get to meet them towards the end of my shift, but with others around, it’s just not possible to be the way how we were. I suppose, a few of you might remember this video that was taken in Dec 2008 in our office. That was how we all were inside office too. Β Although a couple of them in the video have left our office for good, the new ones who replaced them were equally crazy, or sometimes I feel the existing crazy lot groomed them that way. Gone are those days when we used to go out for impromptu coffee breaks and end up eating sandwich in a star hotel, gone are those days when we all used to go out for dinner and be back after 2 hours, gone are those days when I used to lose in all indoor game bets, gone are those days when I used to ping each one of them with my new blog post, gone are those days when we used to gossip about our top management, gone are those days when we used to sms each other during management reviews, gone are those days when we used to plan for weekend getaways and end up being at our homes……….

It’s not only my colleagues, I miss my ex boss too in the same way. Can you imagine, he is a regular of V-Lokam and encourages me to write; sometimes even giving me suggestions as to what to include in the posts and what not to. He also listens to my songs and even has a separate folder of my songs which he makes his family members listen. I could go on and on for all the encouragement he has given me both at workplace and also in my personal life. But there was one particular incident for which I regret even today; one of those days when my heart took control of my brain. β€œVJ (name withheld for privacy reasons), I am really sorry for what happened two years back. Please treat that as one of my usual stupidities and request you to kindly accept this apology”.

And how can I forget those people who were responsible for keeping me energized the whole night- β€˜my midnight chat buddies’!! Apart from the regular fun in office, this was another stress buster for me. I am really gonna miss you guys too. Gone are those days…((oh, no vimal, please stop this nonsense!))

Ok…Ok….


Well, everything is changed now. I am not whining or complaining about my new colleagues or my shift; I am the one who chose this new life. It’s too silent nowadays and there’s hardly an element of fun happening in office. I feel everyone is pretending to be real hard workers in this shift aiming for an award for best employer which incidentally doesn’t exist in our office and they also look tensed all the time. It would definitely take time for me to understand them and to adjust with the new atmosphere. As they say, when in Rome, be a Roman; and I am slowly getting transmuted to one of these silent creatures here πŸ˜‰

The worst part of this new life is my travel from home to office in the afternoon with all that horrible traffic and pollution. Our good old Sun has never showed any consideration to Chennai during the summers and this year I feel, our Sun-ji is taking some sort of revenge on me for not appearing in the day for the last 3 years. But it’s at these times I remember my dads philosophy for a content life – β€œlook closely around you; you will realize you that you are the happiest person on earth”. And so I did look, once when I was on my way to office, and found a crippled man trying hard to cross the road, a middle aged guy hanging with a few files on the foot board of a bus, an old woman carrying a basket of guavas on her head, a salesperson wearing a tie and trying to canvas people on the road for whatever that is in his huge leather bag, an old guy standing on a ladder and painting a sign board which is about 20 feet from the ground; all suffering equally from the heat of very same sun. Oh yes, my dad is right, I am leading a better life than any of them.

But you know what, I am considering the idea of wearing my beach wear or my night dress to office to get a relief from the sun while traveling and if any one has a problem seeing me in it, I could change to my formal clothes inside the restroom. What say guys ?

123 Comments leave one →
  1. anitha permalink
    April 21, 2010 4:37 pm

    Hey vimmuuu me first πŸ™‚ :)!!
    a sensible post after a looong time.. πŸ˜‰ never knew u will miss ur night shift soo much..
    by the way who are ur β€œmidnight chat buddies” da?? πŸ˜‰

    • April 21, 2010 5:07 pm

      yeah Vimmuuu saar, anitha and me want a reply… who are these midnight chat buddies? eh eh eh?? πŸ™„

    • April 22, 2010 1:51 pm

      Sheeeesh ! Never knew that would be a separate topic for discussion !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I really miss my shift; I had more time for myself ! πŸ˜€

  2. April 21, 2010 4:58 pm

    Second!

  3. April 21, 2010 5:06 pm

    eygyptian-walk style of dance with following song

    *issko pata na ussko khabar…dhoodh rahi jisse sab ki nazar… na main…na tu… to hai…teesra kaun*

    CRAFTY KUTTY!!!

    I am third! πŸ˜›

  4. Vivek AKA V2 permalink
    April 21, 2010 5:11 pm

    I thot u will end this with a touchin note .. but u added a vimmu touch to it .. liked it ..

    • April 22, 2010 1:53 pm

      LOL !!! If I leave it with a touchin note, people here would think I am going through some phase of depression ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. April 21, 2010 5:14 pm

    Finally, the purpose behind your wedding has been achieved πŸ˜‰

    I never thought somebody would miss his night shifts so badly πŸ™‚ But I can understand that bit about the Chennai sun – but still beach wear??? You want to scandalize everybody on your way to work? Paavam people πŸ™‚

    All the best in your new work timing. Am sure you will soon convert your silent colleagues to some not so silent people πŸ˜‰

    • April 21, 2010 5:17 pm

      SMITHU!!!! while u are here and i am here… (((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))
      πŸ˜€

    • April 21, 2010 5:38 pm

      LOL .. got it rt in the very first line Smithus πŸ˜›

    • April 22, 2010 1:55 pm

      LOL !!! You got it right Smitha !!! I had to get married to get into the day ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Its not any bikini that I am going to where to scandalise everybody. You know shorts, sandals, and probably a loooooose shirt ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I hope that happens or else I will go mad here ! πŸ˜€

  6. April 21, 2010 5:16 pm

    my long comments sure are history thanks to the atrocity called “JOB” πŸ˜₯

    Hugssssssssssssss for all the times u said “gone are the days”… so basically you just got a lot of hugs πŸ˜› *crafty laughs at her own joke coz no one else obliges*

    And i vote for beach wear / night wear to office. When i dressed like that for work and went to the kitchen to get my breakfast, mom said “You are still in home clothes? Go get dressed, you’ll be late to work!” πŸ™„

    All the best for this phase of life where u rise with the sun and set with it!!
    (really, i dunno what the hell i am writing…)

    well….HUGS is what i really wanna say!!! πŸ˜€

    • April 22, 2010 2:02 pm

      Yeah, we are missing your comments because of that ‘Job’ of yours ! πŸ˜€

      ROFL !!! Dont worry, even I laughed when I read that the first time. Ok, now also, ok???

      You went in your night dress to office ??? That wouldve been one hell of a sight for your colleagues ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      lol, it did make sense to me. Btw , were you drunk when you wrote this??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Ohhh, thats what you really wanted to say, huh !! Ok ok !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 23, 2010 6:23 pm

        Me tooo… I too absolutely vote for the beach wear to office !!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 25, 2010 5:26 am

        umm… Just to make you guys jealous. I thougfht to inform you, that i have worn both night wear and beach wear to office/work. πŸ˜›

  7. April 21, 2010 5:37 pm

    Oh u wil miss those midnight chat sessions is it πŸ˜› Ahem .. and the midnight SMS n all that πŸ˜‰
    U dnt like them no πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Vim : LOL ! I know where you are getting to. If those midnight SMS reach me on a weekend, then, I dont like them ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Che .. I know its difficult to adjust to anything new Vimmuuu .. but am sure u will do it πŸ˜› Bcoz, u so wanna be with Laks and cn sacrifice anything for ur wife πŸ™„

    Vim : From where are you scripting these new stories !!! good god !!!

    Btw, someone told me they dnt get much time @ home for blogging and stuff as their attention is elsewhere *ahoo ahoo ahoo*

    Vim : LOL !!! Its forced attention !! If I sit for blogging, I would have to remain hungry !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • April 21, 2010 5:49 pm

      *ahoo ahoo ahoo*???
      πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

      • April 22, 2010 12:05 pm

        Crafty bachcha, remember hw Madhuri coughs up in HAHK πŸ˜› Its that ahhooo ahhoo actually πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        • April 22, 2010 12:09 pm

          ohooooo!!!! its that phamous HAHK cough with fist held near lips!!!! πŸ˜€

          lets do it in chorus for vimmuuu!!

          Ahooo Ahooo!!!!

    • April 21, 2010 5:51 pm

      @ Swaram: Wow! that was a scoop of the unspoken unpublished ‘real’ story πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 21, 2010 6:18 pm

        ahooooooooo ahoooooooooo ahooooo haaaaaaa:)

    • April 22, 2010 9:02 am

      πŸ˜†

      Crafty! babe!! hiiiiiiiiiiiiii!! πŸ˜€

      {{{{{{{{{{suuper tight hugs}}}}}}}}}

      • April 22, 2010 12:06 pm

        And for me???? :grrrrrrrrrrrr

        • April 22, 2010 12:11 pm

          @ Pixu: Soooooper Tight Cuddle Hugs!!!!

          @ Swaroo: DOes it count if i pull u in? πŸ˜€ ((((((((((hugs))))))))))

          @ Vimmuuu: Well, its ur blog that i am spamming, might as well give u some!! (((((((((((((hugs))))))))))

  8. April 21, 2010 5:50 pm

    It’s good to learn you are finally back to ‘normal day-time’ work hours.

    I had noted it from the time of your comments, but I didn’t know the official declaration post would be this crazy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Enjoyed the video of the graveyard shift, my colleagues would never be game for any mischief of this sort πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hope you adjust to the new timings and the new colleagues soon πŸ™‚

    Enjoy!!

    • April 22, 2010 2:13 pm

      Im glad you said this post is crazy !! Some of them here commented saying this is a sensible and sane post ! Phew; I am a lot relieved now ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You watched the video ??? Hats off to you for your patience ! You must not have understood a lot in the video, na ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the wishes, CB ! πŸ˜€

  9. April 21, 2010 6:16 pm

    I have also worked in night shift 4yrs back…It fun to work when u dont have to bother abt office rules πŸ™‚
    Are you going to write next post abt midnight chat session πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    U will soon be adjusted to new day life though traffic will always be a problem ..sigh !!!

    • April 22, 2010 2:29 pm

      I know. Even if I come with a stubble to office, it was accepted. Now, I have to appear decent !! Chey !!!! πŸ˜€

      you too huh rashmi !!! most of my midnight chat buddies are here in the blog itself ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      yeah, traffic is a perennial problem for me from now on ! sigh !!

  10. April 21, 2010 6:21 pm

    I’m not jealous of u anymore, u have to get up early on monday and go to work and not sleeep hee heee…and timee to be jealous of me, because I don’t have to at least on mondays or tuesdays or wednesday or thursdays or fridays…heee

    Horrifying to try to explain to ppl what ur job is and not! my god! they don’t understand at all, the more u explain the more they still think what they already think before the we began to explain something!!!

    Beach wear.. really, nice chennai tan…sunji are u listening πŸ˜›

    • April 22, 2010 2:33 pm

      So, you were jealous of me all these days ??? You mean, you are jobless now ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Seriously…they keep asking more and more questions and end up confusing us also !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      no…sunji isnt listening and please dont make him/her/it listen !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. April 21, 2010 7:05 pm

    Good luck with your Day-shifts Vimmuuu..
    I have been working in the 2-11 shift from about 6 months and I am not liking it….and there is no way of coming back to ‘normal’ shift until another 6 months 😦

    • April 22, 2010 2:34 pm

      2-11 as in afternoon to night ? Oh then, thats almost the same shift as mine ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the wishes though πŸ˜‰

  12. April 21, 2010 7:16 pm

    Great, atleast your shift is normal now πŸ˜‰ if not you ;-))) Congarats!! And, were you working in a call center btw? Hee hawwwwww……
    You’re right Vimmu, with all our cribbing, we do lead happier lives than many others.. if only we could all remember that more often……

    • April 22, 2010 2:37 pm

      I liked that !!! dont worry, I dont think in this life, I can ever be normal ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr………….didnt I tell you…neva mind !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. Mario permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:38 pm

    Vimmuuu ,

    Great one dude,
    Alot of things that you have mentioned in your post we share in common .
    Trust me , how much ever you sleep and rest during the day , its still nowhere close to the rest you have at night .
    To conclude , we all miss you dude , the fun we used to have , u’ve mentioned them all .
    VIMAL VIJAYAN IS MISSED BY THE US ENTERPRISE TEAM.
    HAVE FUN.

    • April 22, 2010 2:38 pm

      “Trust me , how much ever you sleep and rest during the day , its still nowhere close to the rest you have at night ” — and this comes from a person who has done only night shifts ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Oh my god, dont make me cry now !! Sob Sob !!!

      Bloody hell, I know you must be bursting crackers now in office in my absence !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  14. April 21, 2010 7:39 pm

    I think our formal wear should be Indian weather friendly, trousers and full sleeved shirts are a British hangover…
    If I know correctly, in Indian Navy they have shorts – white shorts as a formal uniform! Why not wear comfortable clothes to work, so long they are clean, I think being comfortable would only make you more efficient πŸ™‚

    • April 22, 2010 2:41 pm

      Ohh, I said the same thing during my schooling !!!

      We should wear our traditional dhothis to school and office and lungis as friday casuals !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Riding bike is a problem though ! πŸ˜€

  15. April 21, 2010 7:40 pm

    …β€œlook closely around you; you will realize you that you are the happiest person on earth”
    Loved that.

  16. April 21, 2010 7:55 pm

    So now i guess when the masti in office has come to its sad end, u to are going to work hard for the non-existing employee of the month award? ? ?

    • April 22, 2010 2:45 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment.

      LOL !!! cant believe you pulled my leg with your first comment itself !!! Me me liked it !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  17. April 21, 2010 8:56 pm

    hey I loved your father’s advice and shall try it too! πŸ™‚ and why not try lighter materials for work clothes,and I don’t mean feathers or leaves, just in case u come up with some wisecrack answer for my suggestion!

    Ha…now I know why ur comments are found in my blog at an earthly hour lately! I guess marriage has changed ur timings ?hey you’ll get used to it, but must be hard in the beginning! And u’ve had a great boss !!!

    Hmmm…my niece just got married and her hubby is still stuck with a night shift! bechare!

    • April 22, 2010 2:51 pm

      and I shall tell my father that someone in HK is trying his advise. I just wish my moms not anywhere nearby !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL ..good you came up with your own version of light clothes !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Oh, that niece who got married recently ??? lucky him !!! tell him we will trade jobs ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  18. April 21, 2010 9:36 pm

    Its really miss the friends with whom we have worked for more than 3 years… and hope you get along with everybody in this shift too and make a scarry movie also… in day time πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    this year the summer is really hot… beach wear will be a good option… but these corporates… SIGH…

    • April 22, 2010 2:54 pm

      scary movie in the day time??? kanagu annaaaa, you are giving me ideas !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Let me see if i can write a new script !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I know ! Why dont we start a strike in chennai kanagu ?? We will circulate a mail among all of us and do a dharna near the stadium ???wht say ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 22, 2010 6:34 pm

        while dharna we should wear only the beach wear πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        • April 22, 2010 9:11 pm

          and the new scary movie should be called ‘Dharna’ zaroori hai !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          • April 23, 2010 4:53 pm

            ROFL !!! how do you get such stuffs Rakesh ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  19. April 21, 2010 9:42 pm

    ithu enthu patty valare sentimental…..an unusual vimal

    avasanam rakhapettu alle…..

    eryone is pretending to be real hard workers in this u will understand that after few days πŸ˜€
    there are two kinds of psychos in this world seriously aliya no wonder they asked…how did u manage that???? …..vimmunte sthanathu nan ayirunnekil vattayane πŸ™‚

    anyways enjoy vimmu…have fun πŸ™‚

    • April 22, 2010 3:15 pm

      hehehe….this isnt any raksha moaney !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I think Im already understanding that !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Lots of work now ! πŸ˜€

      Oh, I just love being alone !! Its an awesome feeling πŸ˜‰

  20. April 21, 2010 9:49 pm

    Don’t E.V.E.R. write senti posts about your office…and how much you miss all that fun. Grrrr…now I’m missing my old office so bloody much πŸ˜›

    Anyway, it won’t be soon before you”l change your profile pic. blue shirt will become white and your fair face will become dark πŸ˜€

    Chummaathalla…”Choodo? Chennai-ilo?” ennu chothichondirunnathu. Swimsuit, it seems πŸ˜› Anubhavicho, ketto πŸ˜€

    • April 22, 2010 3:24 pm

      ok. I shall N.E.V.E.R do this again ! porey ? πŸ˜‰

      LOL !!! That pic was taken 2 years ago. Aa glamour onnum illaa ippo !! aalkaarey pattikaanulla ente oro shramangaley !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      when did I say swimsuit ??? kashtam !!! aaagraham kollaaam !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Beach wear…ee nickerum tshirt undallo…adaanu udheshichadu !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  21. April 21, 2010 10:21 pm

    Graveyard shift or morning shift…some things nevr change…for ex..this post also ended up with u being in the bathroom!
    whn will this bathroom saga of urs ever end? sigh!

    Abt the idea of switching into beach wear/formal wear,the only person i know who used to do tht was Mr clark kent aka Superman.Well atleast he was modest enough to…Oh no..did i just give u an idea? D’oh! Damn it!

    I guess im too late now…
    So can we expect the adventures of V-man on chennai newspapers anytime soon ?

    Anyway i think i kinda liked ur graveyard shift job.i would love to experience a life like tht.is tht position vacant now?
    coz i would love to be a Night owl !

    • April 22, 2010 4:16 pm

      sho…I cant even make a mention of it or what ? Donno how you all are going to comment once you read the next installment of my europe series ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You wont believe, I actually wrote ala superman style. I knew this underwear thing would come up and so edited it from the final draft. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Make that misadventures of V-man !! πŸ˜€ Can I rope in you as my buddy superhero ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Send me your CV and let me see what I can do here ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 22, 2010 9:20 pm

        But i am already a side kick to Batman Kanagu…!I am Robin! hmm..anyway..let me see if i can act as a part time sidekick for u..

        I will be Ra-man! or whtevr!

        Btw r there any nice ghosts in tht graveyard shift job of urs? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

        • April 23, 2010 5:02 pm

          Ra-man???dont even come near me with such names !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          There are no new ghosts !! the old one is still there though πŸ˜‰

  22. April 21, 2010 10:47 pm

    Great! I’m sure this is surely gonna impact your health in a very positive manner! I kinda figured it out that U’ve moved into the days from the timestamps of your most recent posts and comments!

    But hey, for a moment you had me on, when I saw the feed-reader displaying “Goodbye”

    • April 22, 2010 4:18 pm

      Oh, Inever had any issues with my health in the night shift. Infact, I had dysentery twice after coming to this new timings !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      hehehehe…I knew it. I am still sorry for what happened last time πŸ˜€

  23. April 21, 2010 11:13 pm

    Vimmuuu.. I am letting my Brain take control of my heart in this instance..

    My heart says “Thanks Vimmuuu, you have been so good.. It has been great fun & I enjoyed working with you… I dont even remember any such incident that made you apologize… Never mind… Its a small world.. look forward to working with you again soon.. blah blah “.

    But my Brain says “Vimal – What are you talking about? You made work sound so much like fun (rather ONLY FUN!!) . Not acceptable (Geez.. Browsing center with unlimited internet!! Are you questioning the leniency extended here? !!). For all those readers of this blog, friends and my co-workers, I would like to clarify that ‘We ALSO have fun at work. period’.

    • April 22, 2010 4:20 pm

      @ heart : Yeah me too looking forward to that ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      @ brain : that wasnt me who typed it. I am under Swami Nithyanandas influence ! πŸ˜€

  24. Imran permalink
    April 21, 2010 11:30 pm

    Hey Vimal! Nice one from you once again. Vimal Vijayan is always been missed from the time you have moved to US Enterprise team. And now even more.

    But we are happy that we meet you at least for some time in the evening, and hope you don’t leave this job and make us miss U more.

    Hope to see you back soon in US ( Shift).

    • April 22, 2010 4:22 pm

      Imraaaaannn, never knew you would say all this !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I thought you would be the happiest person , cuz now theres no one to pinpoint your mistakes ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ : D πŸ˜€

      “hope you don’t leave this job and make us miss U more” —- idiot, of all the things you could write, you wrote this and made in a fix, huh ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      hope to see me back ??? –for that something really bad has to happen ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  25. April 22, 2010 12:20 am

    Gone are the days when Undakanni could Al-Valaathi and he would pick up the phone instantly or atleast call back in alittle while.

    Vim : Iam busy these days. Get married or get hooked and you will know ! πŸ˜€

    Gone are the days when Undakanni would be online all nite chatting with Al-Valaathi till 4am.

    Vim : you stayed back only till July until you got yourself a job. After that you became matlabi and slept early ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ There were a few considerate others who stayed back for me πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ So, its actually you who changed after getting a job and not me after getting hooked. Tan ta daaan.

    Gone are the days when Undakanni could sms Al-Valaathi and get an instant response (for matters other than blogging also)! Gone are the…. oh never mind! πŸ™„ πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    Vim : Yeah, I didnt mind. and I thought this post was only about me missing my night shifts !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Neeyalle paranjathu: “ellathinum athintethaya samayam undu daasa”. πŸ˜€ Ippo ninte samayam aayi magane… for day shift!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    [Translation: you only said “everything has its time”. Now it’s ur time…for day shift!!!]

    Vim : yeah yeah. Advises are good when you say it and not when implement it in your own life ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And yes I’d rather say everything has a reason. Ur dad’s philosophy is so true… I’d like to add to that…”the happiest ppl are those who have the best of everything, they just make the most of what comes their way…” πŸ™‚ sometimes we forget to realise how lucky we are…

    Vim : no, dont add to that. My dads philosophy ends there. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    As for beach wear, plssss wear that. Call me also and I shall come over WITH MY NEW CAMERA πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ to take pics of you as well as the expression on the faces of ur colleagues!! πŸ˜†
    Oh no, I aint the least interested in molesting you the way you fancy yourself being victimised πŸ™„ just take the pics and send them..to..er… *shhh secret*! πŸ˜‰

    Vim : I dont have to fancy. That is what happened and remember, there were witnesses to that; including your cab driver !

    • April 24, 2010 1:14 am

      YOUR WIFE was the best witness…:D she knows what happened… how u molested that camera… adu madi! πŸ˜› πŸ™„

  26. April 22, 2010 2:07 am

    kollam aliya………… it is always good to work in decent hours πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I am also a big fan of night shifts but I cannot do it for more than a month πŸ˜›

    I also had another doubt but for decency sake, I will store that up for when we meet next πŸ˜‰

    • April 22, 2010 8:09 am

      ROFL! πŸ˜€

    • April 22, 2010 4:35 pm

      decent hours ??? adinu in the previous shift, I never did anything indecent ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I know, you wouldnt be able to spend time with dosamma, rajamma, and the rest of the ‘ammaas’ le ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      and whats that you are storing for next week?? shoot…shoot, i say ! πŸ˜€

  27. April 22, 2010 9:56 am

    Yes, agree with many others before – a sensible post from the Crazy one. πŸ™‚

    Yes, day shift might be difficult to begin with, but make sure that you dont continue into the night, out of practise. πŸ˜‰

    So touched by your Dad’s statement and thats the reality. We constantly crib abt this and that. Once we start telling our gratitude prayers, then we know how much we have to say Thank You to God. πŸ™‚ Good one and glad u followed ur Dad’s advice.

    So, is the better and beautiful half, happy abt this Day shift ???? Now, go home early in the evenings and take her out – there is no need to go to movies alone now. πŸ˜‰

    BTW, you had to use that “restroom” somewhere in your post ????? πŸ™„

    • April 22, 2010 4:39 pm

      lol…you didnt find this crazy ??? Chey !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      and what exactly did you mean by that statement ??? my double meaning brain has started giving me ideas !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Im a good son; I always follow their advise. Didnt you see a halo over my head when we met ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Go home early ???? now, where have I heard this before?? oh yeah, even she asks me this…and you know what reply I give — Im not working in my granddads office !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, restroom only le? donno what would you guys write after reading my next installment of the europe series !!!

  28. April 22, 2010 10:02 am

    see now you can record songs during sane hours isnt it? :p your neighbours will be thankful heheheh… Follow Monty Python’s advice- “always look on the bright side of life” πŸ˜€
    so go ahead wear that bright beach wear I say. Go for it. Get a bright blue and yellow combination and gift the colleague next to you a pair of dark shades. Poor chap will need it :p πŸ˜€

    • April 22, 2010 4:44 pm

      No…recording during sane hours is actually a problem ….I wouldnt be able to disturb others, na ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Who is Monty Python ??? and why is his name that way ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Im planning to get a few lungis too …what say ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  29. April 22, 2010 11:18 am

    Ende deivame!!! I’m coming to Chennai for a week.. I’ll look out for an energizer bunny in beach wear πŸ˜‰

    • April 22, 2010 4:45 pm

      ROFL !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I loved that !! πŸ™‚

      When are you coming down ??? Its too hot I tell you !!!

      • April 22, 2010 10:37 pm

        Tomorrow I’ll be there! I’m dreading the heat specially since its paradise in B’lore the last few days:-(

        • April 23, 2010 9:37 am

          aww Lost, I wish you luck..

        • April 23, 2010 5:03 pm

          Im not going to be here for the weekend. Missed seeing someone melt !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  30. April 22, 2010 11:32 am

    As if I wud let you quit blogging before the Part 2 of our post is published!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Vim : As if I will let you live in peace by quitting !!! high hopes you have !

    Hawww!!!! You have a beach wear?? Is it a 2 revealing piece bikni (Oh! but ur paunch won’t fit in it na?)??? You also have a night dress which might give you a relief from heat??? Ahem! Ahem!! Ahem!!

    Vim : Yeah, right ! Look whos talking about paunch !! and crazy woman, Im not wearing your revealing 2 piece bikini, right? (and I dont want it either..ewwwww) whats your problem then !! and whats there to ahem ahem about the night wear you pervert ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Anyways you cribber!!! Stop cribbing about what you had & are not having now but start enjoying life!!! Vaise I was one of those people who used to envy your looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong weekend!!! I don’t even get a saturday off and u used to enjoy such an extended weekend so if you have to blame anyone for the change then count me in hehehehe…

    Vim : I know !!! I cant even go for Sallus movie first day first show ! 😦 You and your black magic !!! πŸ˜€

    Did I tell you that I have a special wish for all my frenz who have a sat off? My wish is “May they get a better paying job, a job which they can not decline for monetary reasons but Hey Lord make them work on Saturday’s also” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› In your case my prayers were answered in some sense!!! Now my next victim is Vee πŸ˜‰ May God Bless him too!!! πŸ˜›

    Vim : Such a sadist you are. and you pretend to be the savior of a few souls like Verbi !!! They dont know the real you and they arent realising it too ! Chey ! Poor Vee

    And and and look who is talking about office being an internet cafe or missing the time to leave long long comments or missing the chatting sessions, is it he same person who keeps reminding me that I go to office for taking pics, reading books, drinking coffee @ CCD et al??? Tcch! Tcch!! Such an hypocrite you are πŸ˜› AT least I never made video’s like you guys πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Vim : Atleast I sit in my seat and do all this. You dont even sit in your office. and the video, you made it sound like some sleazy MMS !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    On a serious note! Life is all about changes & I hope you enjoy these hours like every other normal human being! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ am sure you will make new buddies in this shift too and I am also sure you will spoil the ppl in this shift too, I trust you on that πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    Vim : and after reading the last sentence, I understood that it was on a serious note ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • April 22, 2010 3:22 pm

      is there a “smita’s comment on vimmuuus post” fans association? id like to be a member please..if there isnt one..id like to begin one pls πŸ˜‰

      • April 22, 2010 4:52 pm

        orattannam neraavillaa !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • April 23, 2010 2:01 am

        me too want to join this fan club? πŸ˜€

        Hawww!!!! You have a beach wear?? Is it a 2 revealing piece bikni
        πŸ˜†

        Smita you ROCK! πŸ˜‰

    • April 23, 2010 11:20 am

      What do you mean by “Im not wearing your revealing 2 piece bikini” as if I would tell you if I have one and as if I would share it with you πŸ˜›

      And you don’t know what’s there to ahem ahem about a night dress?? hawww!!! πŸ˜€

      And you know why you can not watch Sallu’s movie 1st day 1st show?? Because you always used to tease me after watching them so this is God’s justice πŸ˜›

      And Verbi & Indy thank you for all the encouragement & support my dear girls πŸ˜‰

      • April 23, 2010 5:08 pm

        Indyeah…you too ???? I know I shouldnt have trusted any woman in the blogworld ! πŸ˜€

        @ Smita : Thats what I wrote, I dont want it even if you were to give me. who would want yours…ewwwww !!!

        That isnt gods justice !! you are a witch ; you did some kinda black magic on me ! You evil evil woman !

  31. April 22, 2010 12:59 pm

    I am able to understand you very well, here, Vimmuuu, when you say people ask you if you were working in a Call centre. My son works night and goes to sleep at 4 or 5 am. So if he comes with us to some function, he is not able to wake up before 10/11 am and gets severe head ache, if he does so. He is wide awake when all of us feel sleepy after 10 or 11 pm. But he has to continue like that, I think. Yes, it is very difficult to explain his difficulty to others.

    So, you have become a pucca family man now, good! What your father says applies to everyone. All of us seem to give importance only to our problems, we never look at others.

    All the best, Vimmuuu!

    • April 22, 2010 5:00 pm

      Yeah, but is he enjoying that life ? I guess its difficult to be that way when you are staying with your family. I have had issues when my parents came over to stay. I mean, disturbing them at odd hours was my issue.

      Thanks a lot for those words ! πŸ™‚

      • April 22, 2010 8:59 pm

        He is a web designer and he needs to keep contact with his customers. When guests come home or if we go to somebody’s place for attending some function, some ‘people’ criticize at my back. I know, Vimmuuu, it is tough for people of your generation to compete with others. Our generation enjoyed life better, even with all the business and other tensions, I feel.

        Find some way to keep some time aside just for family always and you will be happy and relaxed. I know that your exemplary parents are there always to give moral support to you and Laxmi.

        • April 23, 2010 5:12 pm

          I know. We just cant stop these relatives from speaking behind our back. My mom has a very sharp tongue and used to give them back with sarcasms πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I guess, I inherited a lill of that from her ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          I believe, each generation had their own problems. If Im not wrong, unemployment was the issue back then.

          Thanks for the words again. So far everyones been supportive πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  32. April 22, 2010 2:14 pm

    I had worked night shifts while I was in blore. So I can relate with each word you said above. I really enjoyed those crazy graveyard hours. No traffic issues, pick up and drop facility (though i had a bike and lived close to work so did not use the cabs), crazy eating hours, those midnight snacks, plus the excellent rapport with colleagues at work (i somehow feel that night shifts actually brought the guys together). we planned early morning breakfasts, movies during the day, shopping sprees etc. Dinner plans in the evenings. Those were exciting times. And it just does not happen in day shifts.

    Vim : Oh man !!! I was just getting normal and you made me miss all those once again with this comment ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    In a day shift, you are not unique anymore. You are part of countless others who wake up each morning, fight traffic and get to work. And the same thing in the evening. In night shifts, it was like we had our own little system, unique and special. And the best part, we never have to worry about the govt and bank related work. Almost all days, we could wake up in the morning and, at our leisure, just go, without bothering about giving excuses to boss and worrying about getting back on time. And even if the guy asked to come back the following day, that was also not a problem.

    Vim : Spot on. I was never late in getting my bills paid. or any other work for that matter, we had a lot of time in finishing it during the day. As you mentioned, now I would have to get permission for being late. You know what, I kept thinking about what all I would miss in office, but never thought on these !! Sheeesh !!! Iam going to miss a lot then !!!

    I moved to day shift just before I got married. Infact as soon as I got engaged, I made the transition. It took about 4-6 months before I got a day job, but it was in a different country all together. And I moved.

    But sometimes I really miss the good ol night shift days!!!

    Vim : Oh yeah, thats how it is ! I guess this is with anyone who has worked in the night shift ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Oh wow..my comment is qualifies as a post in itself. Look what you’ve done now!

    Vim : Its ok !! Im getting such a long comment from you for the first time ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  33. April 22, 2010 2:19 pm

    Hmmm…this post sounds more of a goodbye mail types πŸ˜‰ NO wonder you were reading and commenting on most of the posts in the night time πŸ™‚ Lovely post !!

    • April 22, 2010 5:17 pm

      I know ! like those mails we send when you put down your papers, na πŸ˜‰

      I cant believe you all actually kept a check on my time of commenting !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  34. April 22, 2010 3:25 pm

    is this “your” post! i sure ur famous (infamous) dream sage wrote ths..otherwise how cud it have so much of a sense?! now u accpeted ur dads advice..and looked closer..and found people suffer more than you..now y do u want to add to their misery by wearing swimsuit?!

    • April 22, 2010 5:20 pm

      LOL !!! the sage appears only when he wants me to write an anti-woman/relationship post !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ actually, I dont like him either ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I donno whats sensible in this post ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      How can it be misery ??? Im adding entertainment in their life, na by wearing minimal clothes ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  35. Henna permalink
    April 23, 2010 1:17 am

    Vimal….. V dont want to see u the way u r planning to come to office…better come in full clothes or u ll be chucked out from office by d HR Team….hahaha

    Anyways….u must be missing the team…I am sure….Isn’t it…..

    The worst part is the life which you are missing, I have got it…and I am not liking it that much…..but office is office….

    • April 23, 2010 5:16 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam, ghost, and thanks for spooking me with your comments πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      LOL, how does it make a difference in what way Im coming to office. I did mention na, I will change like superman in the restroom !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Im missing them alrite; but Im sure they are bursting crackers and celebrating with champagne because Im not there ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      thats not the worst part !! thats the best part according to me !!! and why worry? Im sure facebook will open even in the nights ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  36. April 23, 2010 1:59 am

    But you know what, I am considering the idea of wearing my beach wear or my night dress to office to get a relief from the sun while traveling and if any one has a problem seeing me in it, I could change to my formal clothes inside the restroom. What say guys ? 😯

    Ab kya kya likhoge? Have you left out any details in the bathroom tales ? :mrgreen:

    This gal says a bathroom tale is in the making πŸ˜†

    • April 23, 2010 5:17 pm

      Im going to publish a book on that ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and I will make sure that you all would read it someday ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  37. April 23, 2010 2:06 am

    Aha! Finally you will see the ‘light of day’ πŸ˜€

    Your ex boss and your colleagues sound amazing !! I mean seriously? Giving suggestions? Awesome I say!

    On another note, I like Uncle’s philosophy. So simple and so profound.

    All the best Vimmuuu:) May you become a regular human being again.
    Tathastu.

    *runs* πŸ˜›

    • April 23, 2010 5:21 pm

      Oh, the 100th comment in this post ! πŸ˜€

      yeah, yeah, as if the light from the bulbs werent enough !

      Boohooooo !!! dont remind me again of the good old days 😦

      and you had to mention about being normal at the end !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Wait till you publish your next post ! Buhahahahahaha !!

  38. April 23, 2010 6:21 pm

    your dad’s advice is really cool !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  39. April 23, 2010 6:24 pm

    does that mean no more chat with NRI girls in the night eh… 😦

    • April 26, 2010 7:22 pm

      LOL, I never had an opportunity to chat with NRI girls !! All girls were from India hitchy ! But there was an NRI guy; Rakesh aka Karate brat ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  40. April 24, 2010 2:29 pm

    Dushthan! I saw that title and hopped over with a wide grin thinking life was finally looking up with you saying GOODBYE! And what do I get to know?? that you’re going to be around for a long long long long time to make our lives even more miserable?? You just cant see us happy, can you? Che! 😈

    On to the post! So now you’ll be working at sane hours..congratulations! Marriage is having the desired impact on you. :D. All the best for your new timings!

    I loved your father’s advice to you. So true! Its when you look around that you realize how blessed you are.

    • April 26, 2010 7:25 pm

      I wouldnt leave you all just like that !!! What made you think that way !!! buhahahahaha !!!!

      Desired impact?? have you even read the post properly ??? Im missing it Deeps, missing it ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  41. April 25, 2010 7:32 am

    I was just going to say ‘Thank you Babaji’ and wha? it’s about your work time schedule. Bah!

  42. April 25, 2010 7:33 am

    Did you work in a Call Center? Mwahahahaha

  43. April 25, 2010 7:34 am

    Your ex boss? Wait! so you mean to tell us that he read your blog and left your company? Bhagyavan!

    • April 26, 2010 7:39 pm

      My boss changed when my shift changed !!! Gawwdd !!! how all you people imagine !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  44. April 25, 2010 7:36 am

    You wear dress? 😐

    • April 26, 2010 7:39 pm

      I wear dress always, except for the one time we met !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  45. soneeta permalink
    April 25, 2010 10:53 am

    vimal, you just shifted from a night shift to a day shift which you were longing for so long but you talk as if your entire world has turned upside down.You talk as i f you will have to learn how to get up in the morning and sleep at night.And such a big article on it…Pheeeww

    Finally ypu are happy…..so o more complains and brooding about it…

    • April 26, 2010 7:41 pm

      hehehehe !!! thats what blogging is all about my friend !!! You write on stuffs that arent such a huge thing !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I never complaint ! I was just missing my old life so badly ! 😦

  46. April 25, 2010 2:34 pm

    welcome to normal working hours πŸ˜› so still in same job but day shift or new job?

  47. April 25, 2010 6:19 pm

    πŸ™‚ Welcome to normal working hours…
    1st effects of getting married uh πŸ™‚

    • April 26, 2010 7:44 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam first ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      yeah yeah; after effects I would put it as ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

