Skip to content

Smokin’ Sundays !

July 4, 2010

Spotted the above sign board in Langkawis Bird Sanctuary.

There are certain stuffs that I fail to understand. One of which is, why do people smoke even after knowing all the consequences it has to ones own body! All those horrific and gory pictures on the cigarette packs which are supposed to warn them on the effects of smoking, doesn’t seem to serve the purpose, I guess. It is indeed a personal choice to smoke or not, I can totally understand. But then, why do others have to suffer for their sick addiction? Why don’t these selfish creatures smoke in a secluded area and keep the environment clean and yeah, also the lungs of the person standing nearby? And my blood literally boils when I listen to some of these smokers mention about preserving our environment and keeping the earth green. Hypocrites, they all are! They have no right to advocate all that when they themselves are responsible for part of the damage. There is a saying in Malayalam which literally translates to, “First think of mending your own house, then go about reforming the society”!

Two months back, at the airport, I happened to witness a really depressing incident. There was this young couple who was rushing towards the gate to board the flight. The guy suddenly spotted a smoking cabin inside and changed his direction. The girl quietly followed him, and kept turning back to see if the gates would close. The guy, on the other hand, wasn’t worried about the flight and was taking quick puffs from his cigarette as if it was the end of the world. The girl looked helpless and teary eyed and had to wait until he finished his last puff. What an insensitive, selfish pig he is, I felt. He knew they were late for the flight, his wife was standing outside, waiting for him all worried, but he still wanted that last minute fag to kill himself.

There was a similar incident quite recently too. Our office had arranged a launch party at a beach resort and about 12 of us, all guys, were traveling in a mini van. We were already late, but some of the guys insisted the driver to stop on the way to get some cigarettes. I cursed myself for not taking my bike; I just hate stopping midway for such petty things. Their only reason was, “What if we don’t get cigarettes anywhere near the resort?”! But that’s not all. On our way, some of them started smoking from behind even after the driver of the van had warned them not to. The smoke suffocated people sitting in the front but the selfish lot they are weren’t even bothered. The driver gave them one more warning to stop smoking as its against law to smoke while traveling. I could see the driver check through his rear mirror on whats happening at the back. When he reached an empty road, he took the vehicle to a side and said, “We can go after you all finish smoking!” They all threw their cigarettes away; only because we were falling short of time, or else, I am sure, they wouldn’t have bothered making the van wait till they are done with it.

Years ago, I personally had a real bad experience because of one such idiotic smoker. I was traveling in a public transport and was sitting peacefully near a window listening to my walkman. There was this guy seated a few seats in the front, near a window, who kept releasing smoke from his mouth and occasionally tapping the ashes of his burnt cigarette outside. During one of his tapping, the ash flew with the wind and entered my left eye. It was really painful and for about 10 days, I had to roam around with a patch on my left eye. It was horrible!!

All of us have our own addictions, good and bad. It is hard to give away habits, but according to me everything is in the mind. If we really feel there is a need to stop ourselves from doing something, I think we can. And before you chimneys accuse me of taking moral science lectures in my blog, please understand that I really don’t care if you have decided to end your life with these kinda addictions; you invited it yourself. But I seriously wish if some of you out there could be a little more considerate and stop penalizing the rest of the world for your 5 minute happiness in the form of puffs and fags!

111 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 9:36 am

    Daivamme you are back. I just put that comment saying miss you wonly so that I could get a comment in return. You took it to heart and made a post? *firstly fainting* :mrgreen:

    • July 4, 2010 10:10 am

      “firstly fainting”??? LOL 😀

    • July 4, 2010 10:54 am

      You put what comment and where ??? and you said miss me ??? so the end of the world isnt in 2012 after all !!! 😀 😀

      • July 4, 2010 11:20 am

        grr I put that comment on the previous post and your beltless assistant informed us that you are stuck in some train bathroom 😛

  2. July 4, 2010 9:40 am

    seconduuu! 😛

    • July 4, 2010 10:09 am

      I like that signboard…somebody has creativity 😀

      Smoking is a personal choice but I feel the problem happens with smokers are not sensitive to their surroundings or ppl around them…
      And going by your post, you’ve had some terrible experiences. That cigarette ash bit sounds painful 😐 ouch!

      If we really feel there is a need to stop ourselves from doing something, I think we can.
      Yup agree with you on this one. But they dont feel a need to stop themselves na..

      • July 4, 2010 10:59 am

        Yeah, they got their point made clear without mentioning ‘No smoking’ !! 😀

        ya, Ash is painful, Abhishek would support me 😉

        Only if…..

  3. July 4, 2010 9:41 am

    🙂 …. Good to hear this from a guy….
    I have witnessed this many a times…. but thankfully my smoker friends don’t make me wait for their smoking….. 🙂

  4. July 4, 2010 9:46 am

    Unbelievable to read about that guy making a last minute detour to smoke before catching a flight. I wish his wife had taken the chance to leave him there and fly away…sobs!

    I hate people who are inconsiderate smokers too. Usually my bullseye stare does the trick to make them stop here but I know it doesn’t work all the time. You know what makes me seethe about some smokers? It’s those moms and dads who stand by their little ones and smoke away to glory. It’s so common here.

    I totally agree with you about everything is in our mind. If we all have the will power every addiction can be controlled 🙄

    On a light note: Am happy that I won’t have any problems using your smoke free bathroom :mrgreen:

    • July 4, 2010 11:06 am

      LOL, I wished that too. She couldve said, “See you in the flight hon” ! 😀 😀

      Your stare works??? in US, could be? here if you stare at any one smoking, they would come forward and release the smoke on your face ! 😀 😀

      did you mean blogging ?? 🙄

      didnt I mention it before? I dont like sharing my bathrooms !!! 😀 😀

      • July 4, 2010 11:22 am

        eggjactly blogging!! I knew you had a mind like me and would understand why I am rolling away like Ash in Ravaan :mrgreen:

        Ps: Brat is missing…where did you stuff that poor guy away?

        • July 4, 2010 1:00 pm

          So you watched Raavan, huh ? Inspite of all the warnings Brat gave!!

          The last I heard was Mani happened to catch Brat red handed trying to sell his diary at some road side book shop !

      • July 5, 2010 9:05 pm

        heh heh …. u only want the beltless karate kid in ur bathroom .. i see !!!!

    • Swaram permalink
      July 4, 2010 7:30 pm

      LOL ya … but wonder if he cares more for his wife than that ash-stick 😛

  5. July 4, 2010 10:18 am

    I’m in the top 10! Here? Ooshyoo! *Achievement!*
    Commenting off before I lose the spot!

    • July 4, 2010 11:07 am

      LOL !!!! There has been no major number game here ever !! 😀 😀

  6. July 4, 2010 10:21 am

    And I hate smokers. I for one would NEVER marry a smoker. Once a sinner, always a sinner. What’s worse… Some people don’t even bother to change for their loved ones, let alone themselves! LOSERS! 😡

    • July 4, 2010 10:25 am

      err I have a friend who started smoking after marriage *shudders* thinking what will happen to your future husband in such a situation.

    • July 4, 2010 11:09 am

      I wouldnt agree on that. It seems, my dad was a smoker. He quit as soon as my mom got pregnant 🙂

      and yes, like sakshi mentioned, there are people who starts smoking and drinking after wedding ! Thats what marriage does to such poor souls ! 😀

      • Swaram permalink
        July 4, 2010 7:32 pm

        I wudn’t call them sinners anyway! I wish they wud change though!

    • July 4, 2010 6:09 pm

      Vimmuuu is smoking a SIN? Then I am not a sinner?

      • July 5, 2010 8:26 pm

        Arent you one who wrote a post on the meaning of SIN ?? 😀 😀 😀

  7. July 4, 2010 10:23 am

    Hey was just wondering if you looked like a Malayali Pirate with that patch on your eye? :mrgreen:

  8. July 4, 2010 10:52 am

    Loved the picture and the vent here. I too agree with you, smokers sometimes are so heartless and inconsiderate, they would do anything for a puff. I have one at home though he is very much considerate.

    • July 4, 2010 11:15 am

      Glad you have a considerate one around you ! 😀

      • July 4, 2010 6:07 pm

        Loved the picture and the vent here. I also feel that sometimes smokers can be very inconsiderate. Loved the picture, I don’t think we are right to treat other life forms as lesser beings.

  9. July 4, 2010 11:07 am

    And I am allergic to smoke.

  10. July 4, 2010 12:22 pm

    Btw, who wants to save cockroaches? Don’t we Baygon them anyways 😛 Ok, I know that’s not the point but…

    Ok Sorry, this is a serious angry post. No goofing around here. Just to say that I don’t smoke so I’m fine then.

    • July 4, 2010 1:08 pm

      The Malaysian people wants cockroaches, Rakesh. They eat them !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, however angry I sound, you guys can still goof around !!! and I really dint mean that smoking is bad, thats a personal choice na, but inconsiderate smoking is ! 😀 😀

    • July 4, 2010 6:04 pm

      I also don’t like even the idea of lighting a tag ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fag ) so I too am fine then.

      • July 6, 2010 11:49 am

        You’ve lit a tag that is spreading like wild fire IHM!!!

  11. July 4, 2010 1:06 pm

    Wow. Serious post from goofy guy? 😀 😀

    Hehe. Loved this one, man. Whenever I’ve voiced this at work, i’ve come out sounding “not cool”. In fact, we had “No Smoking” poters put up, which the smokers themselves tore off. We then, got it painted on the walls. Now, they lean on to it (to hide it??) and smoke. Even though they know they’re standing amidst non-smokers.

    Hehe. At home, dad is a smoker, but th husband isn’t. So, now that parents moved to Blore with us, I keep sending dad out of the house n ock th door behind him, whenever he takes a cig in hand 😀

    I hate smokers! And I’ve always made it apparent. I have snatched the ciggy off a moron in a bus once and thrown it out. I’ve asked a smoker once at the bus stop I was in, to throw it away, and when he refused, threatened to sue him for breaking the law (smoking in public).

    I’ve never cared what the ‘smoker’ will think of me…or will feel. I think we should all fight against them 🙂 We have the right to do it.

    Because, am sure no one would like it (or be patient with us and not react) if while having our cup of coffee/tea or food, we throw the remains at the ones nearby 😀 And say, “it’s my personal choice. This is how I drink coffee.” 🙄

    • July 4, 2010 1:25 pm

      Its no use restricting those people; they would find new ways to do it. and the more we tell them, the more aggressive they become with their puffs. I get ridiculed in the same way, now I choose to ignore and stay away from the smoke.

      You shouldve send your dad out before wedding too !! That wouldve reduced the frequency 😀 😀 😀 My dad used to smoke, it seems, but he quit it the next day when my mom became pregnant with my bro.

      Me too. I hate them. i dont like people who drink too ! 😀 There was a time when I used to stop talking to my friends the moment I knew they were smokers and drunkards ! But then I noticed that I my friends around me kept decreasing 😉

      Here, in chennai, there are big boards stating, chennai is the first smoke free major city and blah blah. I still find people smoking on the roads and while travelling. Donno on what basis the govt. comes up with such tall claims !

      LOL, thats a nice idea. hmmm….We should atleast start a campaign on these lines, na? you know a video kinda thing !!! what say ????

      • July 5, 2010 2:38 pm

        LOL. yea, we should. It’ll be fun. But all we’ll probably get are a few laughs…and more smoke 😐

        A few days back, I told a friend “I hate people who smoke/drink”. And he said “Ouch” and stopped talking. 😀 Then, I had to rephrase it to mean tht i hate those habits and ppl sould stop…blah blah. You’re right. We’ll only lose friends; they wont lose the habit 😀

        • July 5, 2010 8:21 pm

          This is one of my fav anti smoking ads. goes somewhat on your lines too.

  12. July 4, 2010 3:48 pm

    The board is superb! Very good idea against the smokers.

    Insensitive mad people, vimmuuu. I know people who need a cigarette hanging in their mouth for discussing about a small problem with a plumber. They think that their mind wont work without a cigarette/smoke. I pity that girl.

    Hats off to the driver, for his guts.

    I can understand how you felt and will ever feel about smokers, vimmuuu. Does that guy knows how his act affected you?

    These addicts never stop because others asked them to. They should realize and stop. Otherwise most of them stop for sometime and restart again. The will power should be there. As you said everything is in the mind.

    Passive smoking affects more than direct smoking, I was told by a doctor.

    • July 5, 2010 8:20 pm

      But how many of them wouldve taken the message from the board, who knows !

      ya, I dont get that. They smoke to clear their thoughts it seems, I really dont understand how that works !

      Seriously! I smiled at the driver and congratulated him in my mind on the bold step he took.

      Nope, the guy who smoked in the bus was a total stranger. Donno how he looks like even 😉

      Very true, passive smoking is much more injurious. We are intaking all the toxins inside, rt?

  13. July 4, 2010 6:01 pm

    Wow good to see you back 🙂 Now i have some hope that you might… err you might start blogging regularly about tags, err I mean fags. No harm in ranting about something you feel strongly about – I feel bad for smokers, but I don’t hate everyone who loves fags… yeah, fags. (not tags, or SAGS) 🙂 Would you like a comment in a rhyme?

    • July 5, 2010 8:23 pm

      😀 😀 😀 IHM, I know where you are heading to !! 😉

      I hate only the inconsiderate smokers ! 😀

  14. July 4, 2010 6:15 pm

    I dislike both smoking and drinking. If someone smokes around me I make such a face and cover my nose that usually the person is embarrassed and goes far from me 😀

    • July 5, 2010 8:24 pm

      me too; two habits which I cant stand. Its ok if they keep it to themselves, otherwise ….

  15. Swaram permalink
    July 4, 2010 7:36 pm

    I am so with u on this one Vims and I think u knew it too 😛 😛
    One of Su’s friends completely quit smoking when his baby was born .. so, its all in our mind indeed, like everything else 🙂
    A person once dropped a lit cigarette on the road. When Su told him to put it off, he made some rude remark. Then Su just went and put it off, he came and apologized. I dint expect that but it did hurt him 😉 Some Munnabhai tactics there 😉

    • July 5, 2010 8:29 pm

      LOL !!! See, this is why I call Su my guru !!! He was practicing Gandhigiri !! Why cant people put off their own cigaratte buds atleast ! Idiots !

  16. July 4, 2010 7:52 pm

    Gulp!

    I’m a very responsible smoker now, although that may sound very much like an oxymoron! But what I do mean is that I use cigarettes only on social occasions and very well out of reach of public places!

    Good post, I truly appreciate the message!

    • July 5, 2010 8:30 pm

      I have only word Rakesh – OOPS ! 😀 😀 😀

      But seriously, as long as you keep it to yourself, theres no harm…for others ! But have you thought about quitting it? or even tried ?

  17. July 5, 2010 12:26 am

    Vimmuuu Saaaar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    Vim : crafty kutttyyyy…..:D 😀 😀

    I have read this line in an email, and the other memorable one from it was in a restaurant, warning ppl to not dispose their ash in the plate (sheesh). It read, “If you wish to drop your ash in the dish, we’ll be pleased to serve your food in an ashtray” 😆

    Vim : LOL !!! Thats a nice one ! 😀

    Yes, i agree when u say that everyone is entitled to their choice, but not at the inconveniece of ppl around them! I am allergic to smoke, and nicotine intolerant.

    One of my bosses who smokes makes me stand far away when we take a break together. She’ll even go to the extent of seeing wind direction, and then make me stand on the balcony accordingly… it gets better, if someone else comes along and smokes too close by, she tells them, “excuse me…wud you shift a lil further? She is a non-smoker”

    Vim : Wow !! you have such a nice boss ! Wait, is she cute ? Aaahh, no use, she is a bloody chimney ! 😀

    But of course, not all are considerate…

    Maybe we should carry “eye-itching soap bubble maker” and blow away to glory near these ppl?

    Vim : Way to go !!! We can include chilli powder, turmeric powder and all those that are used for cooking and make a mixture out of it ! Im game !! 😀 😀 😀

    now to make such a soap….

    *crafty’s sabbatical will be longer that expected*

    😀 just dropped by to say hi!

    Vim : Hmmm…hope you come back soon. But to think of it, you appeared for the Tasteless Tuesdays and now for this !! From now, I am going to publish posts with weekdays in the titles so that I can get you here 😀 😀 😀

    and that karate brat’s guest posts are missing my comment! just when he thinks he’s got away without the voodoo doll’s wrath, i shall strike! heee haaaaaaaa

    Crafty = 👿 😈 :mrgreen: & other related expressions

    Karate Brat = Hoo! Haa! Haiyaaa! Ai Caramba & other such phrases

    Vimmuuu Saar = 🙄 😀 😆 & other such smileys

    Vim : OH NO !!! Rakesh, you are doomed !! The voodoo doll has woken up ! 😀 😀

    ((((((((((((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))))))))))))

    Vim : Glad to see you here, crafty kuttyyyyyyyyyy…

    • July 5, 2010 2:15 am

      *sakshi adjusting her ammoma soda glasses* alla ithu aaru? nammude Crafty Kuttyyo? *spits her paan and then hears a yelp* Ayyo Bratu mone didn’t see you standing by :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

      Yipeeeeeeeeeeeee Crafty is back!!! All get ready we are gonna have a NO SMOKING PARTY to celebrate Crafty’s comment!….sobs!!

    • July 8, 2010 3:40 am

      Iyoooo she’s back huh!!! i think its time for me to turn into my Bartula Avatar soon!
      I dont stand a chance against her in my Mortal karate avatar!
      This time i have Yakshi for back up to face the Voodoo doll!

      But first let me attend a quick party! wooohooo!!
      I dont like bipasha!! bahh!! Where’s my shruthi haasan?

      @ yakshi
      whn i told u could join me in my team i didnt say u could spit ‘chunambu’ on ur own team leader!! Get ur fake fangs ready ‘chunambu’ chewing yakshi!!we have to get ready for battle! An evil pig tailed Voodoo doll is coming to attack us soon!So be prepared!

      • July 8, 2010 5:06 am

        Team leaderaaa? Hey we had decided that I am the leader in all matters no? How come you changing party clauses at times of a State of Emergency??

        Evil pig tailed voodoo doll? Now why do I have a strange feeling that I will be coming in and out of amnesia while this war is going on? :mrgreen:

  18. July 5, 2010 12:54 am

    glad to hear this coming from a guy 🙂 …
    people can really be such insensitive selfish pigs…

  19. July 5, 2010 1:13 am

    in my profession, I need to meet a lot of people and so many of them smoke… one of my bosses even went to the extent of saying that smoking gives an opportunity to mingle! Some of them don’t like when you say “No, I don’t” to their question of whether you smoke! So, these days I am saying Yes and when we go to the shop, I say “Not today”. But it irritates me neverthless when they release the smoke right on the faces of ppl nearby not even concerned of what they are doing. I must admit that over a period of time, I learnt that association with such smokers is useless.

    Destination Infinity

    • July 5, 2010 8:42 pm

      DI, I donno, but whats the use of lying even? I mean, so what if they dont like when we say no, thats our choice. Are they bothered about our opinion when we say ‘dont smoke’ to them ? It would be great to hear a firm NO from you, the next time they ask you 😀 : D:D

      Yeah, I used to accompany my friends too. But these days, I just avoid such situations. I seriously dont want to be a victim of passive smoking. Thats like dying for absolutely no fault of yours !

  20. July 5, 2010 10:21 am

    Hey! Nice to see you back! 🙂

    I felt bad reading about the wife who stood outside while the husband smoked!! She should’ve simply left him there and boarded the flight!!

    Smoking is a personal choice, but not many are sensitive about the needs of the non-smoking person and very few actually ask if the other person minds or not!!

    • July 5, 2010 8:44 pm

      🙂

      I know. I wished that too. Like I mentioned somewhere above, she could stormed with her bag saying, See ya hon ! 😀 That wouldve been one sight ! 😀

      yeah, they just go on releasing their so called frustration directly into our face without even asking us !

  21. July 5, 2010 10:26 am

    Am I in VLokam ???? Just getting dizzy reading a serious post !!!! Vimmuuu, you are Ok, na ????

    Vim : I am. Relax !! 😀 😀

    Anyway, first, like that sign board. But you think those insensitive idiots will worry abt cockroaches getting cancer – they are not even bothered about their wife or mother getting cancer, thru passive smoking.

    Vim : LOL Uma, that was a sarcasm. Instead of putting it as NO SMOKING, they put this up. Who is bothered about cockroaches otherwise ! 😀 😀 Like Rakesh mentioned, we baygon them anyway !! 😀

    You shld have shook that fellow at the airport for doing such a stupid stuff like that – see how addiction turns the priorities in life, totally upside down.

    Vim : and to shake him, I have to enter the smoking cabin, rt? Why reduced my life span ! 😀

    And of course, the staff in the van – Man, sometimes all these guys are worried abt only these addictions !!!!

    Vim : I know ! 😦

    Cigarette ash in the eye – My God !!! Even ordinary dust hurts so much – that would have been a real pain !!! Some times, we need to shout and make our opinions heard so loud – whether that fellow decides to throw the cigarette or not !!!

    Vim : I was a small kid then ! Ok, not so small. But small enough to shout at a person. I came out the bus holding one eye ! 😀

    • July 5, 2010 10:27 am

      But why smoking sunday ???? Becos u posted on a sunday ???? Come on, these guys are smoking and burning the whole world, every day.

      • July 5, 2010 8:37 pm

        actually yes ! I didnt get a better title and this goes well with those WW , na ? 😀 😀

  22. July 5, 2010 1:28 pm

    I only have to say , Kudos to u, for ‘not joining the brainless crowd’ 🙂 Actually, I love the smell of cigarette, but I dislike smoking.. is that contradictory? I think smoking is both dangerous to the self and extremely insensitive to others!!

    • July 5, 2010 8:32 pm

      ROFL !!! you love the smell of cigarette ??? Please, dont even try smoking, Im sure you will get addicted to it !! Then I guess, your already grown up Jasmine admirer, would have to play mommy around the house ! 😀 😀

      Smoking is dangerous to all living beings ! Thats what you meant na? 😀

      • July 6, 2010 12:35 am

        not just for living things … for everything …. it can set a carpet on fire if not careful 😀

        • July 8, 2010 11:42 pm

          LOL !!! you have been interacting with that Karate Brat lately, havnt you !! 😀 😀 😀

  23. July 5, 2010 9:01 pm

    Dai, don know what to say and how to say. Well, I am actually a smoker. I was heavy one but since last 2 years, very occasionally I do. Now you will in ur typical style wud ask, “And what such occasions are that u smoke occasionally?”…;);):):) Honestly I don’t have an answer…. It is as you said a personal choice but I definitely agree not at the cost of hurting others.

    Those incidents you mentioned were absolutely uncalled for. There is no need to harm others. When in group, remain with group. That’s what I feel and I for sure have not harmed anyone because of this habit of mine. I can control the urge till I find right place. Don’t know about others.

    • July 8, 2010 11:46 pm

      I always knew you were a good human being Oxy Boyyy !!!! 😀 😀 😀 Its nice of you to consider people around you when you smoke ! Ok, since you were able to give up chain smoking, why not consider quitting as a whole and leave your body for detoxification ?? oh, did you notice a halo above my head ? 😀

  24. July 5, 2010 9:11 pm

    hey !

    I had a bad exp too when i went to bombay. .. i was going by the ferry to the elephanta caves. there were a couple of foreigners who were smoking. i asked one of the guys to put off the cigarette ,,,, my mom was like “Dont bother” .. but i was mad … the damn thing was blowing onto mine and my sis’s face ….

    the guy made some rude comment and threw into into the ocean … i was all ready to confront him about dumping his dirty ash into the ocean … but couldn’t as it’d lead to some quarrel … really wish i had asked him ….

    in college, the guys were quite vary abt smoking in fromt of us and the teachers. in fact, one of my friends had long hair, an earing and was a smoker … once, his plam got scalded as he couldn’t find a place to dumb his cigarette

    • July 8, 2010 11:49 pm

      Foreigners huh? They are just being like the rest of us. Im sure he wouldnt do that in his place, I guess they have restrictions abroad for smoking and dumping ash just like that.

      whaaat…he tried to fuse the cigarette on his palm??? OMG, he had long hair and an earring?? one of those wannabe’s. huh? 😀 😀

  25. July 5, 2010 9:13 pm

    errr … excuse me … too many spelling mistakes in my comment …. was typing real fast and so ….
    ( and of course, these days , got used to typing in Chinese and German for our beltless f(r)iend 🙂

    • July 8, 2010 11:50 pm

      thats ok !!! btw, how do you know that he is beltless 😀 😀 😀 😀

  26. July 5, 2010 10:01 pm

    Vimmuuu, a post after my own heart! I cannot say how much I agree with you! The inconsideration of smokers towards non-smokers. Today I was out shopping, and there was this young mum, smoking away while pushing her baby’s buggy and directing the smoke behind her, as if that will prevent her child from inhaling it. And what about us who were forced to be behind her? I remember when I was pregnant, I used to take every possible precaution to avoid toxic substances, and yet had to wade through smoke to enter tube/train stations, because some ‘special’ people think that it is perfectly fine to smoke just outside the station(it is banned indoors), and make all of us non-smokers walk through their toxic smoke 😦

    • July 8, 2010 11:57 pm

      How can any mothers even think of doing such stuffs in front of their toddlers, beats me ! and public smoking is allowed in those parts, is it ? I didnt know that !

      I know, idiots ! They have brains in the wrong place; they dont seem to understand why such restrictions are imposed !

  27. July 6, 2010 9:42 am

    I used to be as angry as you, get imitated at others insensitivities but no more. Because I realized the Blood pressure was all mine They only laughed back. So if I don’t like what I am seeing- I walk away. If I can make them stop I dont do it angrily no more but with a smile and good cheer- it simply works better:)

    • July 9, 2010 12:00 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for your comment !

      True, there is no use asking them to stop, they wont ! We will then lose our cool and its our bp that increases. Now I understand why passive smoking kills !! 😀 😀

  28. July 7, 2010 12:07 am

    I am with you in this… Surely I dont hate any smokers who doesn’t create trouble to others… But not many were like that 😦

  29. July 7, 2010 11:17 am

    Let me be honest! There was a time when I thought that people who smoke were cool! I mean hep lagta tha! But now I know better!!!
    I have never had any strong opinions against smokers or drinkers because I feel it is their life that they are putting at stake! As a fren says “my father what goes” but then the incidents that you have gone thorugh would surely make my blood boil!

    If they wanna take a short cut to death they are most welcome but at least spare innocent by standers! Whenever a fren or acquaitaince goes for a smoke I am heard saying “zindagi phoonkne gaye hai” 😀 if only these ppl save the money they wud know how mcuh they are wasting!!

    Loved this post and the message! And that poster was just too good 😀

    • July 9, 2010 12:10 am

      Aaaahh, finally, a sane comment from you !! 😀 😀 😀

      You thought they were hep??? I can understand ! You came from a small town, na? it happens 😀 😀 😀 😀

      All those incidents would make your blood boil??? do you hear the boiling sound as well?? 😀 😀 😀 you should consult a doc smita !! 😀 😀

      thats ok, you read books with all those money, put reviews and annoy us. They smoke ! same difference !! 😀 😀

      what did you think? I will reply decently??? Buhahahahaha…never to you !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • July 9, 2010 11:05 am

        How could u even think that I would expect anything decent from you??? Are you mad!! No no change it to “I know you are mad” 😛 😀 😀 😀

  30. July 7, 2010 1:47 pm

    I completely agree with you. inconsiderate smokers get on my nerves, specially the one’s in public transport (its annoying when someone smokes in trains).

    having said that, tobacco is one of the major revenue generating industries. and people like me make living out of thrashing such companies through reports :p so let the companies thrive but not the passive smokers 😀 😉 muhahahahha

    • July 9, 2010 12:12 am

      Wow !!! you make a living out of this, huh? 😀 😀 😀 but whats happening with your reports, I mean, where does it go and what use is made out of them ?

      btw, thats a genuine question ! 😀 😀

  31. July 7, 2010 6:24 pm

    Very very relevant post, Vimmu. Agree with all that you’ve said. It is disturbing to see such people ruin not just their lives, for momentary pleasures, but the lives of people around them.

    A couple of months back we had gone to a restaurant and we were sitting in the family section where it was clearly mentioned that smoking was not allowed. The restaurant had designated area for smokers. But there was this guy who was puffing away to glory despite countless reminders and stares from diners around. There were children playing there and this guy was least bothered about the harm he was doing to them. R was so furious that he went to the manager’s desk to complain and warn that if the smoker was not asked to leave we’d have to walk out of the restaurant. Thankfully the manager had the good sense to ask the smoker leave 🙂

    Such nonchalance can be so very annoying!

    • July 9, 2010 12:22 am

      Sheesh ! inspite of the reminders and restrictions, huh? Some people think its just too cool to break rules ! and I appreciate what R did, not many do that. They sit and crib, doing nothing !

  32. July 7, 2010 8:58 pm

    Ouch.. ash in your eye directly must’ve been a nightmare. Just b’cos you went through that, I promise not to make fun of you for one entire month 🙂 🙂

    The airport incident was disgusting… That guy must have certainly been an addict beyond repair. Smokers are all pigs..I can’t find a more befitting description. Nice nice post V (I am keeping my promise ..see ). 😉

    • July 9, 2010 12:24 am

      LOL !!! I went through that years ago and I mean YEARS ago ! 😀 😀 😀

      All smokers are pigs, but all pigs arent smokers, na? Wow, quote of the day ! 😀 😀 😀 See, this is what happens when you someone becomes nice to me !! 😀

  33. July 7, 2010 11:41 pm

    VEry pertinent post! That poster is just so good! The message is instantaneous. Why can we ever not learn to be healthy, considerate and humane… all of which we could be sans the cigarette!

    • July 9, 2010 12:27 am

      Welcome to Vlokam and thanks for your comment !

      True ! They should ban the cigarettes in total, but wait, how else will our govt make money !!

  34. July 8, 2010 3:25 am

    I HATE SMOKERS!! SRK is an exception! 😛

    Vim : and exceptions arent good examples ! 😛

    I have seen many people referring to smokers as pigs in the comment section!

    Why is this gender discrimination against smokers? I have seen many cows smoking as much as their male counterparts! And they all looked ugly bcoz of their Tarred teeth and saggy eyes!

    Vim : Atta boy Rakesh !!! Im with you on this !! Pigs arent that bad after all ! 😀 😀

    When i ask most of my friends the reason why they smoke…they always give the same exact stupid reason! Life is short man..u may die tomorrow & u will regret later tht u died without tasting a cigarette! And they feel smoking ‘occasionally’ is not a big problem,bcoz our body cleanses it automatically!And do u know one more thing? The main reason most of them starts smoking or drinking is becuase they feel its ‘manly’!They say u aint a man till u start smoking or drinking! Bull@$%^!!

    Vim : I know ! Some of them questioned my manliness too !! Im happy to be the way I am. and smokers and drinkers dont actually need a reason; they do it when they are happy, they do it when they are sad, they also do it when their neighbor is happy or sad ! 😀 😀

    Then there’s the restaurant employees who make us delicious food!I have seen 5 star chefs to malabari porotta makers smoking and making smoke clouds around buildings & passage entrances where young kids and family usually pass by!Inconsiderate jerks they are!And you can imagine how clean their food might be!MORONS!

    Vim : Ya, I had noticed it too !! some of those pakistani restaurants also, le ? 😀

    I am waiting for a the day when they banish this stupid product forever!If thts not possible , why cant science come up with something else to put in their mouths which doesn’t release such harmful poisonous substances!!!

    Vim : there is bro. there is something called E-cigarette, that isnt toxic. They have to charge it like a mobile or something to run it, the nicotine is also provided and the nicotine is harmless for the smoker and the ones around ! 😀

    Also i would like to take this opportunity to say something here about some people who mentioned drinking beer/alcohol as ‘manly’ in their SAGS tags. A BIG THUMBS DOWN TO YOU LADIES!!!

    Vim : You really are against the SAGS na ? 😀 😀 😀 Count me in !! 😀

    Bro,this is not just a health issue,i have seen one DUMB police officer who was smoking inside a petrol pump!And another fellow, a truck driver of a Fuel truck was smoking away to glory while the decantation process was going on inside the pump!I managed to see this guy on time otherwise he would have blown up the whole village!

    Vim : I thought it was you who smoked inside the petrol pump !!! 😀 😀

    Im glad im doing my bit to save the environment by at least not smoking ! 🙂

    Vim : and I guess thats because, you grew up with me bro ! 😀 😀 😀

    Ooh i almost forgot! Once i put gun powder inside a cigarette and gave to my smoker friend just to teach him a lesson!

    Vim : Whaaaaaaaaa !!! 😀 😀 😀

  35. July 8, 2010 11:28 am

    Wow! you went on a blogging break so did I 😛
    I wrote a anti-smoking post and so did you 😀 😀
    Same pinch 🙂

    On a serious note I loved that sign board for the humor in it’s words at least prompts a thought in the reader’s mind. Thought and then a second thought is all that is need to break free of an addiction 🙂

    I was nodding all the way through while reading your post. Smoking is indeed being selfish by risking others lives for your pleasure and not caring for your loved ones by risking your life and their future just for the sake of a ‘nicotine kick’.

    • July 9, 2010 12:40 am

      Ouch !! that pains !!! next time give me a same handshake, that would do ! 😀 😀

      But do you really think people would quit smoking by reading all these sign boards ??? I dont ! 😦

      I know, those people deserve a kick alright, in their rear ! 😀

  36. July 8, 2010 9:49 pm

    lol@ the poster…

    iam all for personal liberty…allowing ppl to do what they want to do with their life and all that.. but i am not so flexible if what you do affects me…. we share office space with another organisation…and each time i take the stairs and walk down their office, u cant imagine how i curse them!! they are a bpo and ALL their emplpyees are outside the office, standing around in the stairs area smoking ALL the time… n this, wen we’ve been given strict instructions that smoking in public places is not allowed..even if u just pass by these chaps, u inhale gallons of CO2… n u have no choice in it….

    • July 9, 2010 12:42 am

      But isnt there a way to complain about this ? Its really horrible ! Why dont they atleast do it outside instead of polluting the whole office premises ?? Sickos !!!

  37. July 9, 2010 3:25 pm

    😦 i somewhat succeeded in stopping ma dad! But with eby i failed :(. But he’s a lot considerate to everyone that is..smokes only in either smoking zones or where people arent there…not near me or kid or others for that matter! but wish he had put a complete stop 😦

    • July 9, 2010 5:19 pm

      I guess emotional blackmailing dads works, but it doesnt work with the better halves ! 😀 😀 But thats nice of him to be considerate ! 🙂 I always knew Eby was a decent guy, but I dont like his online avatar ! 😀

  38. July 14, 2010 10:18 am

    hi..been followin ur blog for quite sometime now..and this post i liked it particularly…
    i wrote a small story on this..please do read if possible ..
    http://shrikanthkopparthy.blogspot.com/2010/03/sucking-sorrow-story.html

    • July 16, 2010 3:47 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping your comment.

      I did go through the story and liked it too ! 😀

      See ya around ! 😀

  39. July 16, 2010 12:19 pm

    Very well said! I must read this out to hubby! It is such a bad habit, and I am fed up with it! I’ve even said silly things like-if I get cancer it’s thanks to you-nothing helps! Tch! Glad atleast some youngsters like yourself are against it! Good!

    • July 16, 2010 3:48 pm

      Ok, I think I need to take an insurance 😀 😀 😀 is he hefty ?? 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

