Skip to content

V-Tunes – April, May, June 2010

July 8, 2010

Yeah yeah, right !!! I had proudly re launched V-tunes in the blog, promised to give a monthly update on the latest releases and here I am, after three months, giving another quarterly update like last time. I am sorry for the delay.

Wait a minute, whom am I apologizing to? This is my blog and I will do whatever I want here 😀 😀 😀 and moreover, I know people aren’t actually interested in going through such a list, so what the heck ! 😉

April

The biggest disappointment in April was the release of ARRs Raavan. I treated it like a normal ARR album by listening to the tracks a few times to like it, but somehow the magic never worked this time. I guess it is also because of the expectation I had for the ARR-Mani-Gulzar combo. To make matters worse, ARR sang a beautiful song – Jaa Udd Jaa Re during the music launch but that didn’t feature in the final album! But I must admit, the songs worked well with the movie and the BGM was simply top notch.

Hindi

Admissions Open – Music : Amit Trivedi

  • Music hi hai
  • Dariya Ubale
  • Roshni

Raavan – Music : A.R.Rahman

  • Ranjha Ranjha
  • Behene de

Badmaash Company – Music : Pritam

  • Fakeera

Tamil

Baana Kathadi – Music :Yuvan Shankar Raja

  • Thaakudhey Kan

Bale Pandiya – Music : Devan Ekambaran

  • Bale Pandiya
  • Sirikkiren (Instrumental)
  • Kangaley Kamalaalayam
  • Aaradha Kobamillai

Madirasappatinam – Music : G.V.Prakash Kumar

  • Aaruyire
  • Pookkal Pokkum

Malayalam

Vande Mataram – Music : D.Imman

  • Saaragiyil
  • Vande Mataram

Kadha Thudarunnu – Music : Ilayaraja

  • Aaro Padunnu Dhoore

Telugu

Darling – Music : G.V.Prakash Kumar

  • Neeve
  • Inka Edo

May

Though ‘Raavan’s music released by the end of April, it took another two weeks for the launch of its Tamil version. But in Tamil, I liked ‘Kalvare’ too (Khilli re in Hindi); Shreya Ghoshal took that song to a different level with her vocals.

Himesh was back in May with his ‘Kajraare’. Some of the songs are actually good, but it really is annoying to listen to his voice and I just hope he understands it one day. I don’t know why he wants to destroy his beautiful compositions by singing them himself. I am not kidding guys, but he seriously sounds like an injured cat in some of the songs in ‘Kajraare’ making them Kachdaa-re !!

‘Vedam’ (Telugu) is one of the best albums I heard in recent times. I heard the movie is good too; waiting to watch it one day. Even ‘Malarvaadi Arts Club’ (Malayalam) is a good fun album; these days you don’t get to listen to good Malayalam songs, you see!

Hindi

Kajraare – Music : Himesh Reshammiya

  • Teriyaan Meriyaan
  • Sanu Guzara Zamaaana (Lounge Mix)
  • Who Lamha

I Hate Luv Storys – Music : Vishal Shekhar

  • Bin Tere (reprise)
  • Sadhka Kiya

Rajneeti

  • Dhan Dhan Dharthi (sonu nigam version) – Music : Wayne Sharpe
  • Mora Piya – Music : Aadesh Shrivastava

Tamil

Raavanan – Music : A.R.Rahman

  • Kaattu Sirikki
  • Usirey Pogudu
  • Kalvare

Malayalam

Malarvadi Arts Club – Music : Shaan Rahman

  • Aayiram Kaadham
  • Innoree Mazhayil
  • Maanyamahaa Janangale

Oru Naal Varum – Music : M.G.Sreekumar

  • Paadan Ninakkoru
  • Maavin Chottile

Telugu

Vedam – Music : M.M.Keeravani

  • Vedam
  • Malli Puttani
  • Ey chikatti cherani

June

Himesh arrives again with the much delayed ‘Milenge Milenge’ and surprisingly the songs are better than ‘Kajraare’. How come? Because, he has sung only three songs and left the others for singers like Sonu Nigam and Rahet Fateh Ali Khan, probably these were recorded before Himesh decided to annoy us with his voice. The songs would remind one of the songs that came up in the late 90’s and early 2000’s especially ‘Tum Chain Ho’ and ‘Ishq Ki Galli’; I somehow miss these kind of songs in Hindi these days. Sigh L

The other Hindi album which I am in love with is ‘Mr. Singh and Mrs. Mehta’; wonderful compositions. You gotta listen to them to understand what I am saying. This is going to end up as an underrated album because of the movies fate at the box office!

My favourite album of the month would be ‘Aridhu Aridhu’ (Tamil); especially the song Azhagai Sirithaayada. Thaman, the music director after giving hits in ‘Eeram’ and ‘Mundhinam Paarthaney’ has delivered it again. He is here to stay !! (for the uninitiated, Thaman was one of the guys in Shankars ‘Boys’)

Hindi

Udaan – Music : Amit Trivedi

  • Kahaani
  • Geet
  • Aazadiyaan
  • Naav
  • Udaan Theme

Once upon a time in Mumbaai – Music : Pritam

  • Pee Loon
  • I am in love
  • Tum Jo Aaye(Reprise)

Mr. Singh and Mrs. Mehta – Music : Ustad Shujaat Hussain Khan and Shaarang Dev

  • Losers theme (Shaarang Dev)
  • Barhaan Dil
  • Ajnabi Ankhen
  • Ey Khuda
  • Behoshi Nasha

Khatta Meetha – Music : Pritam

  • Nana Chi Taang
  • Sajde
  • Aila Re Aila

Lamhaa – Music : Mithoon

  • Main Kaun Hoon
  • Madhnoo
  • Rehmat Zara

Milenge Milenge – Music : Himesh Reshammiya

  • Milenge Milenge (Himesh and Shreya version)
  • Ishq Di Galli
  • Tum Chain ho (both versions)

Krantiveer- The Revolution – Music : Sachin Jigar

  • Khuda Mere Khuda

Tamil

Kaadhal Solla Vandhen – Music : Yuvan Shankar Raja

  • Enna Enna Aagiren

Ayyanaar – Music : Thaman S.

  • Aathadi Aathadi

Aridhu Aridhu – Music : Thaman S.

  • Azhagaai Sirithaayada
  • Kanavugal Eduvarai
  • Missing Somethingt
  • Un Uyirai

Malayalam

Apoorva Raagam – Music : Vidyasagar

  • Maanathe
  • Noolila Pattangal

Telugu

Jhummandi Naadam – Music : M.M. Keeravani

  • Laali Paaduthunnadi

And before I end, I dont know if any of you guys had noticed, but check out the words in the first song mentioned under ‘Once upon a time in Mumbaai’ !! I really didn’t want to make a reference to loo’s in this post, but I couldn’t control 😀 😀 ! If I had written on loo’s in my ‘Once upon a time in Europe’ series, this director guy, Milan Luthria, went one step ahead and included it as a song in his movie titled almost similarly !

56 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 10:52 pm

    hahahaha!! Damn it!! I was about to comment something on tht song!! But u already said in the final lines!
    :mrgreen:

    And must say tht song is tailor made for u! 😀 😀 😀

    • July 9, 2010 4:32 pm

      Bro, but listen to that song ! Its a nice melody ! 😉

      Tailor made for the blog, thinking of keeping it as the blogs theme song 😀

  2. July 8, 2010 11:59 pm

    lol @ the song! 😀 And I agree with KB!

    And why does Himesh feature in V-tunes so much. Even Pritam is understandable. Himesh’s downright disgusting! Cannot even distinguish between notes
    And I’m 2nd!!! HERE?! :O :O

    • July 9, 2010 4:42 pm

      LOL !! I hate Himeshs voice, but I like some of his compositions. atleast Himesh doesnt lift tunes from Indonesian and Koren songs for which Pritam is famous for. Im sure Himeshs fan following will increase once he stops singing ! 😀

  3. Smita permalink
    July 9, 2010 12:16 am

    Third? hmmm….this post is making me feel sleepy. Good night! May u dream of him-esh chammiya…

    • Swaram permalink
      July 9, 2010 12:34 pm

      LOL 😛 😛

    • July 9, 2010 4:45 pm

      Ya, I can understand. I feel sleepy when I read all your posts, and I literally sleep on your book reviews ! 😀 😀

    • July 10, 2010 12:49 am

      😆 Smita I must add that the hormonal changes are bringing the best out of you. It’s a compliment in case this Vimmu decides to say other wise 👿

  4. July 9, 2010 3:52 am

    Fourth!!
    Awesome list!! I will try to download these from somewhere!

    • July 9, 2010 4:46 pm

      Downloading is illegal ! You listen to them online through raagam or similar sites 😀 😀

  5. July 9, 2010 8:30 am

    Here a loo, there a loo, everywhere a loo loo! Boy, you can’t stay away from it, can you? 🙂

    Ok, jokes apart! I find myself listening to tracks from Rajneeti lately! Very soothing, exceptionally meaningful and absolutely well delivered, the pace, modulation and all!

    • July 9, 2010 8:31 am

      Yaaaaaay! I got into the top 5! 🙂

    • July 9, 2010 4:47 pm

      Who can stay away from loos, temme ?? 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, I love the Sonu Nigam version of Dhan Dhan Dharthi ! Awesome it is !

      Btw, Rakesh, since when have you been interested in this number thingy ? 😀

  6. July 9, 2010 9:30 am

    nice!! Can’t believe mine is the 6th comment here!! 😀

    Have to listen to most of the songs on your list before I can say which I really liked.
    I didn’t like Raavan or Kajarare for sure! 😀
    Just the Behene de song from Raavan was nice.

    • July 9, 2010 4:49 pm

      The ‘nice’ is for the list or for appearing 6th ??? 😀 😀 😀

      Hmmm…do listen if you get time and lemme know !

  7. July 9, 2010 10:27 am

    Ok !! Music list from the music fanatic…but why dont u sing sometime and upload it too….who’s asking for this backlog update ???? Ok, this is ur blog and u can do whatever u want !!!! OK, Cool !!! U made it up by those last lines, that none of the post will miss a mention abt it….LOL….tum to tumhi ho !!! 😉

    I like the songs in Eeram – quite melodious and nice !!! So, the music director is Thaman, one of them from Boys movie ??? WOW, I like the music in that movie too !!!

    So Milenge milenge is good to listen !!! Thanks…

    • July 9, 2010 4:52 pm

      ok, my next post will be an upload, why not Nenjukkul Pedidum ?? 😀

      Ille Uma, I tried my best to stay away from it. Like I used to mention, these stuffs come to me, I dont go to them ! 😀

      ya, Eeram songs are really good. Ya, thaman was one of the fat guys in Boys, the other fat guy is the rising star Nakul (Naakka Mukka fame) 🙂

  8. July 9, 2010 11:29 am

    haha.. lol@ the loo song 🙂 And agree about Kachda re 😀 I cant stand him singing.. injured cat.. lol.. he does sound like that.. When will he stop singing?! I love ‘I hate luv storys’ songs and the ‘milenge milenge’ title track. I somehow did not like anything from Raavan movie. The songs werent that great, not a good one from ARR. This year not many good songs from movies. I liked “Pee loon” from Once upon a time in Mumbai too! No comments on other language songs since I dont watch them 🙂

    • July 9, 2010 4:57 pm

      Ayyo, I just hope he realises it one day ! Doesnt he listen to these songs after recording, I wonder ! 😀

      I know; Raavan songs turned out to be below average stuff from ARR ! Waiting for Endhiran (Tamil), Robot in Hindi; the Shankar – ARR combo has never failed. Lets see !

      and oh yeah, Pee loon is an amazing song ! Listen to ‘I am in love’ from the same movie, another lovely song ! 🙂

      Music has no barriers; such a cliched line I know.

  9. July 9, 2010 11:53 am

    ROFL at “but he seriously sounds like an injured cat in some of the songs in ‘Kajraare’ making them Kachdaa-re !!”

    aven’t heard most of these 😀
    You gave me something to do on a jobless friday 😀

    • July 9, 2010 4:58 pm

      LOL !!! so you admit you are jobless on a weekday ! 😀

      Listen to Aayiram Kaadham from Malarvadi Arts Club; a good friendship song. and if you really like fun songs, listen to Levan Kashmalan from the same movie. I didnt include that song here though ! 🙂

  10. Swaram permalink
    July 9, 2010 12:35 pm

    I liked Vedam too. Raavan, I liked Ranjha Ranjha to some extent.
    So much of Himmes Bahi here 😯 I will stop 🙄 and b bk

    • July 9, 2010 5:00 pm

      Just two albums of Himesh and you run away ! 😀 But honestly, I like his compositions, not his voice ! 🙂

  11. July 9, 2010 1:10 pm

    How did you even live through kachda re! cacophony 😀
    I like Amit Trivedi. he has great potential. But i thought Udaan was just bout OK . will listen to Admissions Open soon.
    Raavan did not completely disappoint me, but I guess the expectations were way too high. I heard Jaa udd ja while watching the movie and fell in love with it immediately. probably like Shauk hai (Guru), they’ll release it after few days. I hope they do. i watched it on dvd and couldnt hear much of its bgm 😦

    • July 9, 2010 5:07 pm

      LOL, listen to the songs, they are actually good. Only when his portions come, its difficult ! 😀 : D:D I like that Teriyaan Meriyaan, especially the beginning ! 🙂

      I heard his Aisha is really good; yet to listen them ! 😀

      Oh ya, Jaa udd jaa re is awesome; wonder why he does this all the time ! I hope the song gets released too !

      and I envy you; you watched Raavan in a dvd?? ?lucky you ! 😀 😀 Wait, you are promoting piracy !! 🙄

  12. July 10, 2010 12:57 am

    Thanks to that Brat now I can say for the first time on your V Tunes that I have heard a few of the songs you have listed out here. The mad guy was bombarding me with Ravaan songs (you know as a publicity stunt for his psst psst 😛 )

    I love Ranjha Ranjha and that Javed’s voice to me has become synonymous with your voice…sigh!! Man after all I heard you first and then him copying you in that Kehne ko Jashn… :mrgreen:

    Pee Loon? *faint* You are indeed popular haan? Did the lyricist ask you before stealing your famous lines? Can we sue him?

    • July 10, 2010 11:50 pm

      oh, you listened to raavan songs only because of that brat ??? You should be indebted to him for the rest of your life, na? 😀

      Awwww…..saksh, you and me have become one team, but that doesnt me you we have to compliment each other, is it ?? 😀 😀 😀

      now why didnt I think of that ? I should, na? seriously, I have all my older posts and you guys as proof. Hmmm….. 😀 😀 😀 😀

  13. July 10, 2010 2:01 pm

    Vimmu, very busy times, but thanks for the list, will hear all of them leisurely. And how about a song from you?

    • July 10, 2010 11:51 pm

      all of them? seriously ?? 😛

      wokay, shall upload a song next ! 😀

      • July 12, 2010 4:18 pm

        Actually, not all..I have mentally discarded some already…but the Tamil ones I am waiting to hear. I love Illayaraja..any new songs from the maestro?

        • July 12, 2010 4:26 pm

          In Malayalam, there was a release by Ilayaraja; had mentioned it in this list itself.

          In Tamil, the last album of his I liked was Nandalala, unfortunately, the movie hasnt been released yet. But try finding them online, real good songs and my pic would be ‘melle oorndhu’ ! 🙂

  14. July 10, 2010 7:06 pm

    I wait for your list!! So that I can know which are the good songs of recent releases 🙂 thanks!

    • July 10, 2010 11:51 pm

      Oyyy reeeema, do you listen to them then ??? 😀 😀 😀

  15. July 10, 2010 8:09 pm

    My current favourite is ‘Nanachi taang’ from khatta meeta 🙂 I always hum it .. even if I happen to see a torn poster of Akshay Kumar on the roadside 😉 Didn’t particularly like any song from Raavan all that much. I must listen to the ARR one you’ve mentioned!

    When’re you gonna put one of your recordings? Pls sing ‘Madhnoo’ (lamha).. Its quite nice isn’t it !! 🙂

    • July 10, 2010 11:54 pm

      yeah, that song is very addictive, na? my two left foot automatically gets to dancing !!! 😀 😀

      Oh ya, please do listen to Jaa Udd Jaa Re; it should be in youtube by now ! 🙂

      Hmmm…I shall upload a song as the next post ! 🙂 and yes, madhnoo is a gud song, lemme check !!! 😀

  16. July 10, 2010 11:56 pm

    I always like Himesh Reshamiya’s songs… 🙂 🙂

    And for Thaman.. he is good in what he does.. 🙂 and how about the song ‘Paniye Paniye’ in Ayyanar… I love it… there is a interlude of little music which is fantastic and it is used at appropriate places in that song.. 🙂

    • July 11, 2010 12:00 am

      You do??? you like his voice too 😀 😀 😀

      Oh, even Paniye Paniye is good, reminded me of a few Ilayaraja songs. But somehow the interest on the song didnt live long for me. and yes, the interludes are placed well !

  17. July 12, 2010 9:22 pm

    Honestly, I haven’t heard much of songs in last quarter. Hindi ones suck big time. All of them. Even Amit couldn’t save it. Suddenly that boy is everywhere. Aisha is his only I guess. Didn’t hear yet (downloaded though).

    Vim : Yeah, he is everywhere these days ! but the issue now is that he is getting monotonous. Its hard to differentiate the songs from DevD, Udaan and Admissions Open. Aisha sounds only a little different !

    Heard a bit of Raajneeti and Raavan couple of times. Didn’t work and rest all in Hindi you mentioned, haven’t followed them at all.

    Vim : Raavan was a big disappointment ! 😦

    Just like movies, the scores are also going down the drains in Hindi Industry especially.

    Vim : I know ! even the ever dependable SEL trio is coming up with mediocre scores !! 😀

    Btw, saw Tamil Movie ‘Mahanadi’ (Kamal’s)…. was superb. Kamal is Kamal after all. …;)

    Vim : Oh, thats a mindblowing movie. My fav scene is when he finds his daughter in the brothel !! He is truly a class apart ! 🙂 Oxy boyyy, try watching his ‘Anbe Sivam’ if you get the subtitled version. One of my fav movies of Kamal and according to me, its madhavans best movie so far.

    • July 14, 2010 8:01 pm

      Kamal is Kamal??? I watched Dashavatar… He sucks, the movie sucks, the make up sucks, the special effects suck…

      • July 14, 2010 9:43 pm

        Kamal is indeed kamaal!!!! He is way better than all the so called ‘class’ actors of Indian cinema !!I must admit the makeup & special effects weren’t up to the mark,but the movie was more than just makeup & effects,it had a beautiful story hidden in it which dealt with chaos theory & the butterfly effect!I thought it was a great movie!i loved it!

        Atleast this fellow tries to do something different in all his movies!I have only immense respect of him!He is a living legend!
        By the way,have u seen ‘Hey ram’?

        Kamal is often under appreciated by the so called ‘know it all’ film critics, but he never fails to amuse me. Atleast kamal never blames his editor if a movie bombs! 😉

        • July 14, 2010 10:10 pm

          Hmmm so finally the two great Rakesh’s disagree on something? :mrgreen:

          @Bratu have never seen anyone show so much ammayiappan love. I am sure if Kamal the Kamaal reads all the luv you write about him in various blogs, he will gladly give Shruthi’s hand in urs 🙄

      • July 15, 2010 12:15 am

        @ Rakesh : Well, I loved the tamil version. It has so many layers to it, which I guess must have lost in translation. Yes, agree the prosthetics were kinda overboard for a few characters, but its a single man donning all those makeups. We have to appreciate the efforts he took for the movie. Are there any actors in India, or even in the world, who had done that? and if you are comparing the makeup with hollywood standards, thats again wrong. We dont have that kind of budget here in India, especially in the south movies ! 😀 😀

        moreover, dashvathar was a commercial movie; check out a few movies of his like Anbe Sivam, Virumandi or the one which Vee mentioned 🙂

        @ Brat : oyy, control !!! 😀 😀

        @ Sakshi : from where did you pop up all of a sudden ? 😀

        • July 15, 2010 1:38 pm

          I used to be a fan of Kamal as well… Right from Sagar and Sadma days and right through Appu Raja, and then to Hindustani…

          But Dashavatar was too much! Simbly too much.

          Forget the make up, the pretentious humour was so C-Grade, each story line on top of another just got worse… The entire episode about that krishna bhakt granny was such an eyesore…

          Kamal is a good actor and movie maker, no doubt but Dashavatar was just not upto it. Was simply, a piece of crap.

          And if we have to appreciate the efforts an actor does for a movie, then we should also appreciate Abhishek in Raavan, no? He roamed around with much muck on his face.

  18. July 13, 2010 8:27 am

    Hey! Great selection of songs. I’ve not heard any of the June ones besides the title song from Milenge Milenge so will have to check them out. 🙂

  19. July 14, 2010 4:55 pm

    Thats quite a line up… I have really lost track of songs and movies 😦 ……

    • July 14, 2010 11:59 pm

      Hmmm….thats ok. responsibilities increase as you grow older ! 😀

  20. July 14, 2010 8:02 pm

    Haven’t really heard any song in a long time that I could remember is good… That’s why, I didn’t even know most of the songs in this list.

    I guess the last album I actually bought was Rock On.

    • July 14, 2010 11:58 pm

      Hmmm……there are one or two gems here and there !! But you gotta listen to all the albums to find them !!! 😀 😀

      Rock on??? sheeesh !!! 😀

  21. July 14, 2010 8:15 pm

    jesus christ! look at the length of that list!!! baap re!!!!

    • July 14, 2010 11:56 pm

      ok, be specific…jesus or baap re !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      i shall make it a monthly update; I know the list is too long !! 😀 😀

  22. July 16, 2010 11:55 am

    Long list….Telegu, Tamil, Malyalam…I have no clue. Sometimes It’s a damn shame I hv no idea wots goin on down south. But it’s the language to blame. No one can understand it. 🙂
    Can u think of something that wud ensure ppl across India get to know wots goin on down South too?

    • July 16, 2010 3:46 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping your comment.

      I can understand, but if you are really interested, I dont think its a problem. For me, music is life, and so I try and listen to all the songs that are easily accessible. I dont understand Telugu; but I still take efforts to listen to all the releases. For that matter, I really dont know what ‘mahi ve’ means; but can still enjoy a song that has those lines ! 😀 😀

  23. July 23, 2010 8:49 pm

    Keep doing this series of V-Tunes – this is the only way I get to know the hit songs in Telugu, Malayalam and of late, even Hindi!! In Cbe, hindi movies and songs are non existent!! But better that way I guess, the quality of hindi movies have come down… but the songs are still good…

    Destination Infinity

    • July 23, 2010 9:41 pm

      yes DI, planning to do it every month itself. sometimes it doesnt work ! 😀 😀

      Oh, according to me, even the quality of hindi songs have come down. I hardly listen to a melody these days 😦

Leave a Reply

