Skip to content

Song : Kaise Mujhe; Movie : Ghajini (Hindi 2008)

July 22, 2010

I should have mentioned this in my previous post which I did only in the comments;  V-Lokam is 3 years old now. Sigh-derman was actually a post written to celebrate my third anniversary and I am glad you all made it special with your comments. Guess what, I got a call from my best friend, Anita, that morning wishing me ‘Happy Anniversary’ and it took me a minute to two to realize what she actually meant. I just cant believe it; 3 years of my torture and I am still around !!! 😀 😀 😀

I initially thought of putting up a post on what made me write Sigh-derman, but one book worm of the blog world recommended me not to and said it will be like elongating an already long post. But then, I felt, I should atleast write a few lines on the actual audition that I attended on which Sigh-derman was based. Ok now, do yourself a favor by listening to this song from Ghajini in my voice which by all means should take you into the mood of the rest of the post; sob ! sob ! :

Suggestions :

  • Please wait till the entire song streams.
  • Try using a headset/earphone for the best sound clarity.

The audition was for a popular song based reality show and its currently being aired in one of the leading Tamil channels. I cant reveal anymore details on the show due to restrictions from its makers; we had to sign a form that mentioned us not to write about the show anywhere in public;) I got into the show by sending them a CD after having seen its ad on TV. The CD was sent somewhere in April with two of my songs – the tamil version of Ey Ajnabi and Kayyil Midakkum (you can find both the songs in the V-mphony page) and I received an intimation from them towards the end of June saying I got selected. The audition was during the first week of this month; I got through the first audition but couldn’t make it through in the next. The judges appreciated my voice in both the auditions but in the second one, they wanted me to sing some challenging song and I fumbled big time! I had practiced 7-8 songs for the second audition and when the judges wanted me to do something out of the blue, I lost track of my thoughts. My presence of mind failed me and all I could think at that time, in front of the judges, were the songs that I had practiced from morning. I ended up singing a normal song which I was sure wouldn’t pass off as a challenging one as expected by the judges.

Now you know how loosely based the post was 😀 😀 I even used the same word used by the judges – ‘challenging’ 😛 😛   The judges kept commenting that I have a good voice which is what I mentioned as ‘smile’ in the Spiderman audition (happy now Swaram?). And on the celebrity part; that was based on how some of the participants behaved during the audition. For example, there was this guy standing outside the audition booth for the whole day inspite of being rejected with a hope of getting back in, thats ‘Dev Anand’ in the post and ‘Mohanlal’ character was based on all those insensitive participants who kept enquiring on “how went wrong with the audition”, “what did the judges ask”, etc. as I came out of the booth. And oh, there was a SRK too, who waved his hands to all of us in true film hero style before even getting into the booth for his audition 😀 😀

To get rejected at such events is a weird feeling; it makes you feel low about yourself and your capabilities. But then, to think of it, I actually learned a lot. I, now, understood the different techniques to impress a judge in the given 5 mins slot. I know the kind of songs I need to prepare and also realised the do’s and don’t’s in an audition. So much so that I could open up a Reality Show Grooming Centre 😉 But I just have two reality shows in my resume! Hmmmm…you know what, let me take part in a few more shows and think seriously on those lines then ! 😀 😀 😀

Anyway, let me know how the song is.

The V-mphony page on this blog is updated with the song.

73 Comments leave one →
  1. Smita permalink
    July 22, 2010 9:45 pm

    me first?

  2. July 22, 2010 9:50 pm

    Aiyyo! I can’t believe this. Though my fingers are itching to comment properly but keying on mobile is too much pain & am in no mood to take it, specially for you :p c ya 2moro…

  3. July 22, 2010 9:52 pm

    Just came back to add, this song of yours is a personal fav of mine from all the songs that you’ve sung 😀 😛

    • July 23, 2010 8:16 pm

      and you never came back tomorrow that is today) !! Now you know why I dont take you or your words seriously !! 😀

      • July 27, 2010 1:16 pm

        You don’t take my words seriously because you don’t value them 😛 but WTH I would still keep advising you @ most it will irritate you 😉 and I wonder had I not advised you this post might have run into 5-6-7 pages of crying!!!

        I am glad u participated in that contest as far as not qualifying in it was concerned all I would say is it is fate! When things have to happen they will happen! So chill!! You are one of the best singers that I have ever met (I have met how many? Hmmm 2-3 :P).

        But seriously I know u r set for bigger things 🙂 all u have to do is believe in yourself and not feel depressed the way u were after these auditions 🙂

        As far as coming late is concerned! Thank you stars that I came at least 😉

        • July 27, 2010 9:03 pm

          Wogay wogay, what do you want ?? 😀 😀 😀 I dont like reading the sweet you !!! What should I do to avoid such comments from your end ?? 😀 😀 😀

  4. July 22, 2010 10:27 pm

    Me second! The book monster has written 3 comments at one shot 😉
    Btw, congrats on getting thru’ Round I. Vimmu, you have a great voice, and one day, you will be rich and famous 🙂 Btw, I actually don’t like this song from Ghajini, but you’ve sung it extremely well, as always! And whose is the female voice? Mrs.Vimmu????

    • July 23, 2010 8:19 pm

      book monster??? call her worm !!! 😀

      Oh I never liked this song when I listened to it the first time. But this is a slow poison ! Just listen to it once when you are depressed or when you are on an evening walk; you can feel the song when the breeze touches your face while walking, take it from me ! 😀

      LOL, female voice mrs.vimmuuu ? How I wish !!! But Shreya Ghosal didnt care for my numerous proposals ! 😀 😀 😀

  5. July 22, 2010 10:31 pm

    Aaha. . IIT-JEE coaching centre maadhiri, “Reality Show” coaching centre-a? Sabaash!

    P.S. I’v been visiting ur blog for some time now. . Nice stuff! 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 8:20 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping by.

      and may I ask why you didnt comment so far ?? 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, I know, I can even offer correspondence course ! 😀 😀 😀

      Btw, hows the song ? any feedback on that ?

      • July 24, 2010 3:26 am

        For not commenting & for not listening to the song, one answer – procrastination 😀

        Now that I’v heard the song, all I can say in “Reality Show”-style is : “Aapke singing me ek *feel* hai. . Jo dil ko chhoo jaatha hai. . Aap show jeete ya na jeete, hamare liye aap Indian Idol hain our rahenge!!” 😉

        • July 26, 2010 12:08 am

          LOL !!! I shouldve guessed so ! 😀 😀 😀

          ROFL !!! they actually tell that too all sad contestants when they get eliminated, na ? standard cliched dialogue for consoling 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • July 23, 2010 8:22 pm

      I commented too !!

      But seriously, dont you have anything else to comment ? 😀 😀 😀

  6. July 22, 2010 11:58 pm

    ohhhhh so u r competing for all those song reality shows eh?? cool!! all the best for the next one…ek din aayega jab tu bhi achha gayega aur kahi na kahi ka to Idol ban jayega 😛

    • July 23, 2010 8:46 am

      Oh I forgot ..congrats!! Blog on!!

    • July 23, 2010 8:24 pm

      LOL !! the last one that I attended was a mistake, but I made it to an extent. The second time I really wanted to make it , but it didnt go well !! 😀 😀 yeah yeah, hope I dont remain ‘idle’ ! 😀 😀

      Thanks for the wishes Reema ! 😀

  7. July 23, 2010 12:09 am

    ohhh you sang this song… the gajhini song!!! totally awesome 😀 while i was reading it I played it… and I must say you really have a good voice 😀

    • July 23, 2010 8:25 pm

      Thanks yaar ! the second half of the post was actually sad, thats why I put this song ! Sob Sob 😦 😦

  8. July 23, 2010 1:51 am

    😦 😦 Well sung bro! 😦 😦
    You made me all EmoSSSional with tht song !
    Plus shreya’s vocals tht came in between..Man!! thts a tear jerker!
    😦 😦

    And for all those who said tht u cant sing ‘Challenging’ songs!
    Im goin to personally kick their ‘challenging’ butts off to the moon!
    @#%%@!&$#!!!!!!

    • July 23, 2010 8:27 pm

      Well sung with sad smileys?? 😀 😀 😀 Thanks bro !

      and do you sound like a snake when you turn emotional? whats with all the SSS ?? 😀 😀

      Noooooooooo…..dont you know that you arent supposed to say all that here ?? 😀 😀 😀 ente ulla chance um nashippikkalley maaaney ! 😀 😀

  9. July 23, 2010 4:59 am

    Hey – You have a nice voice mate! A lil bit here and there may be, but overall it was really soothing to the ear. Practice regularly. You could go a long way! 😀

    • July 23, 2010 8:28 pm

      Ohhhh, where have you been ??? Everytime I open your blog, I get directed to some other site, whats happening ? did you sell it ?? 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks a lot man; it means a lot ! 😀

  10. July 23, 2010 8:12 am

    Congratulations and celebrations! Will listen to your song now! I had made a request earlier but wonder if you got the comment! may I request:

    Aaj mausam bada beiman hai

    and

    Kangal Irandal

    • July 23, 2010 8:32 pm

      LOL !!! I got it !! Shall work on them soon ! 😀 😀 Kangal irandal a little difficult; I need a perfect karaoke and I also need a female voice. The missus is very lazy to join me in my recordings ! 😀

  11. July 23, 2010 8:15 am

    • July 23, 2010 2:09 pm

      indy! i too have asked him ..to sing ths song – kankal irandaal!
      now tht we r together in ths fight plsss join me in collecting rotten tomatoes and eggs…if he fails to put it up ;P

      • July 23, 2010 8:06 pm

        Hehe…with so much pressure I am sure he will do -hai nah Vimmuuu???

      • July 23, 2010 8:33 pm

        please if you are planning to throw eggs and tomatoes, why make them rotten ? I mite as well use them na ? 😀

  12. Ashwin permalink
    July 23, 2010 8:37 am

    Nice work dude………, you got a very good voice, there is not much difference between the original one and your version, hope to see your name soon on a movie audio CD……

    • July 23, 2010 8:34 pm

      Ohh Ashwin, finally in your own name, huh ? 😀 😀 😀

      and seriously, I am planning to make you as my best friend for all that you had written up there ! 😀 😀

  13. July 23, 2010 8:44 am

    Vimmuuu, this is awesome! Your delivery, modulation and pace are absolutely on the dot! Besides, I simply love your voice! You know you need to get out there and go for it dude! Surely, a maestro in the making!

    Belated wishes on the blog anniversary! Hope to see V-lokam evolve live on forever!

    Btw, is Laxmi on buzz? 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 8:39 pm

      Ayyyooo…is this the same guy who commented in my previous post ?? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks a lot Rakesh for those words. I just hope I can make it one day and thank all you guys one by one when I receive my first filmfare award 😀 😀 😀

      Belated thanks ! and I dont know if she is there on Buzz ? I dont interfere in her online life much you see; I was hoping for her to reciprocate the same, but….. 😀 😀 😀 😀

  14. July 23, 2010 9:03 am

    Happy 3rd Anniversary Vimmuuu! You have a great voice so don’t worry! You will make it big and all phamus one of these days for sure!! 😉
    Then we can point at you when you are on TV and say – ” Ah.. Vimmuuu is a fraand!! We know him from his blogging days!!” 😉 😉

    You have sung the song so so well 🙂

    :mrgreen:

    • July 23, 2010 5:58 pm

      LOL @ the “fraaand” 😆

    • July 23, 2010 8:44 pm

      Thanks a lot Pixie ! I hope I do make it one day so that you call me a fraaaand in front of everyone !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks again ; I am on cloud nine now ! 😀

  15. Swaram permalink
    July 23, 2010 11:33 am

    I will whack u if u talk abt feeling low and all that dumbo 👿
    See, that gave u fodder for a gr8 post ahem 😉
    Hw I wish I cud meet that DevAnand and SRK version2 on the scenes 😉 😉

    Three cheers for the 3rd Vimmuuu – Wow! We both started blogging in 2007 huh. How come u escaped from my loony posts till last yr then 🙄

    • July 23, 2010 8:50 pm

      LOL !!! I was actually worried about that whack; thats how I turned normal in two days time ! 😀 😀

      Thanks Swarr !! I donno, I dodged all circumstances to end up in your post; but fate, what else can i say; it also made me see the scariest eyes in the world !! 😀 😀 😀

  16. July 23, 2010 12:04 pm

    As I told you before, maybe you are meant for National level auditioning like the Indian Idol !!! LOL !!! Dont bother…its an experience by itself !!! Even though the results are sometimes disappointing, its still a learning, na ???

    This song is totally fab !!! 🙂 Loved ur voice in this…. 🙂

    BTW, did u make L sing the female part ???? 😉 😉 😉

    • July 23, 2010 9:01 pm

      LOL yeah and get eliminated like this in front of the whole country !! 😀 😀 😀 😀 ya, thats how I have taken it as now !! 😀

      Thanks a lot Uma ! 😀 She didnt; I retained the female portion !

      wait a minute, you were pulling my leg aaa ? 😀 😀 : D:D

  17. July 23, 2010 12:29 pm

    Super dude! You do have a great voice. Am surprised why didn’t you get selected! Or else, we would’ve known someone who comes on TV 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 9:01 pm

      I did come on TV in 2008 for about 8 episodes; didnt know you back then 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks a lot Rakesh ! 😀 😀

      • July 23, 2010 9:17 pm

        You have a recording of that?
        I played your song aloud and my kids didn’t realise it as not the regular original song playing…

        • July 23, 2010 9:20 pm

          LOL, its there in youtube. But its in tamil, I donno to what extent you will enjoy them ! It was for a show named Raagamalika and I had written 7 looong posts on that ! 😀 😀 😀

  18. July 23, 2010 2:07 pm

    yeyyyy am in the first 20??? cant believe it 🙂
    ur audition failure reminded me of job interview failures…nice way of looking at it 🙂
    and ye…now ive gt company… indy tooo want kankal irandaal! so plsss do the needful..i knw u arent gettng the karoake,..bt
    “anweshippin…kandethum…ennalle :)”

    • July 23, 2010 9:04 pm

      LOL !!! You always come late; this time surprisingly you are a bit early ! 😀 😀

      hmmm…but job interview failures are within the four walls; the whole world sees you getting eliminated here ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      and not a word on the song !! 😀 😀 😀

  19. July 23, 2010 2:48 pm

    Superb vimmu,ur voice is excellent.

    Don’t care much about these reality shows,i feel they all are bakwas.Its ok if you are not selected we are there ur audience to listen ur songs.

    congrats of completing 3 years….

    • July 23, 2010 9:08 pm

      Thanks a lot Saritha; means a lot ! 😀 😀

      Where were you all these days ?? We missed all your tales on the kids ! 😀 😀 😀

  20. Ayishwarya permalink
    July 23, 2010 3:54 pm

    Very good voice. Suggest you try in for Indial idol or something similar. You will get a good break.

    BTW iam vising you site for the 1st time & finding it very interesting.

    All the best.

    • July 23, 2010 9:12 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping by.

      Thanks a lot for the tip. Indian Idol is a good platform, but somehow its not possible to leave my work here and go for even the auditions 😦

      Keep visiting !

      Btw, do you blog ??

  21. July 23, 2010 5:57 pm

    Who are you trying to kid??!! We all know you mean this song for Laxmi!!! 😀 😀 😀 just that u wont admit it in public, hence put it up as a song!! In fact u shud have made her sing shreya ghoshal’s parts!!! 😀 😀
    me looks around for Laxmi’s response and comments to this!

    Now that she has started commenting on ur blog, she can realise the truth!! 😉

    I love the way u have edited the background ‘ohoooo’ part right after the 2nd round of kaise mujhe tum mil gayi second time round! makes it sound far more authetic!

    and yes, fantastic work… keep it coming! 🙂

    And u better be attending those music classes, bugger!! Sheer waste otherwise! 🙄

    • July 23, 2010 9:15 pm

      a song for laxmi??? in your dreams !!! and in her dreams too !!! 😀 😀 😀

      Infact I recorded this last year before even I knew that such a person exists ! 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks for listening !

      Classes; yes, I am planning to start very soon !! getting the rest of the things under control ! 😀 😀 😀

  22. Gautam Jayasurya permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:45 pm

    Soothing sound, you’ve a great future ahead of you.

    • July 23, 2010 8:36 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping by.

      Thanks a lot Gautam; means a lot when new people come here and take efforts in listening to my songs ! 😀

      Btw, do you blog? your blog isnt linked to your name here !

  23. July 23, 2010 9:02 pm

    Vimmuuu there are two voices in that song?

  24. lostworld permalink
    July 23, 2010 10:01 pm

    Actually this song is one of the reasons why I liked Ghajini(hindi) more than the tamil one. Your voice was superb.. I loved the way you sang the final verse – ‘zindagi sitar ho gayee’ one. You matched Benny Dayal ‘s rendition impressively !

    Don’t worry about the show. Participation matters most. I’m sure there’s something better awaiting you!! 🙂

    • July 25, 2010 11:57 pm

      Thanks a lot ! Honestly, I didnt like this song initially; it took me a couple of listens to understand the pathos in this song ! 😀

      Yeah, I am hoping too. Thanks 😀

  25. July 24, 2010 6:46 pm

    Dai kannaaa! sooooper I say 🙂

    honestly till now I never really liked this composition and ‘the making of this song video’ that I was mentioning to you the other day didnt help either :p
    but now I feel like listening to this again and again. bgm is nice too.. Thankuuu for making me like this song 🙂

    • July 26, 2010 12:02 am

      Thanksssss a lot !!! 😀 😀 😀

      I did watch the video; the lyrics are different from what is heard in the final version, na? wonder when they changed it then !

      I am glad that you liked it now; ARR must be happy too ! and Benny; and Prasooon; and Aamir; and Asin; and Murugadoss ! 😀 😀 😀

  26. July 25, 2010 1:51 pm

    Superb singing bro 🙂 🙂 My bro just entered the room and he couldn’t differentiate yours and the film version 😀 😀

    Don’t worry about that Reality show… they would have made you cry in front of TV…

    You have a great voice and surely you will get your chance 🙂

    • July 26, 2010 12:04 am

      Really ?? 😀 😀 😀 😀 Treat your bro from my end; feed him today with whatever he wants ! 😀 😀

      LOL, I really donno how they made me look like in the final edit. I guess they are airing it now; no mood to watch them since I got eliminated ! 😀 : D:D

      Thanks a lot Kanagu ! I hope I do ! 😀

  27. July 25, 2010 2:17 pm

    Sigh!

    • July 26, 2010 12:07 am

      Ok ,does this mean that it was horrible? or that you couldnt play the song? or is it because I didnt still mention how I record these songs? or is it because you were on a mouna vrutham that you are supposed to give only expressions? or is it because you are so tired to write anything else? or is it because ….aaaah, I donno ! 😀

  28. July 25, 2010 9:43 pm

    Outstanding rendition, Vimmu! I’m actually falling short of words to tell you how much I loved listening to you. I love this song even otherwise and now after hearing it in your voice I love it even more. Oh my God, Vims this song is in a high pitch,na..and you’ve sung it so effortlessly!
    Till now I loved your aye ajnabi the most but after hearing kaise mujhe I’m seriously tempted to shift my preference 😀

    Dont be dejected, Vims, ever..because if not this time there’s always a next time. Please dont lose hope and faith. Keep trying and I’m sure you WILL reach great heights. You have it in you!
    Wish you all the luck in life 🙂

    Now am off to hear you again 🙂
    BTW, you voice really compimented well with Shreya Ghoshal..superb!!

    • July 26, 2010 12:13 am

      You are falling short of words??? LOL, yours is the longest comment I got for this song ! 😀 😀 😀 Thanks a lot Deeps ! I am so happy that inspite of your busy schedules, you took an effort in listening to the song; it really means a lot to me 🙂

      yeah, this is a high pitch number and to be honest, it was a lill difficult because I felt like singing this at 3 in the morning and I had to make sure that the neighbors wont kill me 😀

      Thanks a lot for the wishes too. I hope I make it one day and when I get my first filmfare awards; I shall dedicate it to the friends I made through this blog 😀

  29. July 26, 2010 10:27 am

    You’ve got a talent buddy 😛

    No matter what might happen in the short term but you are definitely a star in the making.

    Keep trying, for these learning experiences shall definitely make a huge stepping stone to success someday soon 🙂

    Best wishes for the future 🙂
    Your voice indeed has the mirror cracking charm 😉 😉 😉

    That’s sad that so many of your recordings were lost with the crash of your computer hard disk 😦 😦
    But no worries, get singing and keep recording for we all enjoy listening to you 😀 😀 😀

    Cheers!!

    • July 26, 2010 9:21 pm

      Woaaah !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 Thanks a lot for the wishes CB 😀

      Ya, I hope I can make it one day. But you know, with lifes responsibilities on one side, its difficult to chase dreams ! 😀

      inspite of the language barrier, you still listen to them; hats off to you !! 😀

      Thanks again CB !!! 😀

  30. Ayishwarya permalink
    July 26, 2010 1:07 pm

    No I don’t blog. But yes I do take time to read some of the blogs.

    • July 26, 2010 9:17 pm

      Oh 🙂 Keep visiting and look forward to reading your blog someday 😀

  31. August 7, 2010 5:28 pm

    AWESOMELY SUNG DUDE … !!! JUST AWESOME !!!!!! 🙂

    • August 7, 2010 7:35 pm

      Thanks buddy !! 😀 I am glad you came back and listened to this ! 😀

Leave a Reply

