Skip to content

MOBstory!!! – Part 2 – veendum chila veetukaaryangal

April 18, 2011

This is how the first part ended:

…..……So far so good and now lets see how long is this garland gonna last with the monkey   . Also I hope to continue this series in a year or two………….

Now, before I get into the actual post, please allow me to use the same ‘controversial’ disclaimer that I used in the first part  :

Disclaimer : This isn’t a technical post in any angle. It’s very much my usual non-sense. Expecting a technical post from me would be like expecting Salman Khan to do a good film !!

Sony Ericsson W595 (June 2009 – Dec 2010)

Honestly, I never wished to write a sequel to MOBstory this soon. I really loved my W595. It was neat, with the usual Sony Ericsson (S.E.) interface and applications. And I was in love with its walkman; a user friendly software with crystal clear sound output. Too bad the phone didn’t last long. But, you know what, this time the monkey isn’t to be blamed. Promise; God Promise!! The monkey was very happy with the garland and he was taking good care of it until his parents got him married. Yup; as the tagline of this post says – veendum chila veetukaryangal which means ‘some more stories (sad, in my case) from my home’.

Allow me to narrate two incidents now :

 21st  Aug 2009 :  two months after I purchased the phone and just two days before my engagement. It was 3 am. I was on my way from my office to the railway station to travel all the way to my native and get handcuffed. I had an hour to reach the station and since the roads in Chennai during those wee hours are normally empty, I rode at around 50. As usual, I was listening to some song and the ride was pretty normal until a ditch came up from nowhere. (Imagine the following sequences in slow motion) I had my phone in the shirt pocket and in the sudden jerk, it got out of pocket and flew in the air. During my efforts to slow down the bike, I could see my phone crashing on the ground and rolling a few times. What more; the front wheel went over the phone too!!! I parked my bike and ran towards the phone. (Slow motion stops) To my surprise, except for a few scratches here and there, the phone had no other issues. It didn’t even shut down ! I considered the whole incident to be a warning for what was going to happen in another two days and continued my journey !!

Nov 2010 – It was around 11 pm. She heard some noise and also happened to see a shadow like figure near the window. The house was as it is scary and so, I never bothered to move from my position. She went and closed the windows. Next morning, I picked my phone, which usually lies on the floor near my bedside, and left it for charging.  As soon as I inserted the plug, I noticed something strange on the phone– a huge crack right in the middle of its display. All through my morning rituals I kept wondering to myself about the phone and what could’ve caused the damage to its display. The only issue with the phone until then was its charging IC which in no way is related to the display. It hadn’t even fallen from my hand to deserve that kinda crack. While getting ready to office, I told the missus about the phone and that’s when the truth finally came out! She said she remembered stepping on something the previous night, when she went to close the windows. And that something was…no prizes for guessing folks….my good old phone !!!

Thaaaat’s right; a phone that managed to survive a major accident, with just a few scratches, couldn’t withstand the power of her foot!!

The crack left a few black lines on the screen making it difficult to even figure out who was calling me and this blackening of the screen spread over the days. But inspite of all these issues, I still used the phone and at the same time, I began my research for the latest touch phones.

After almost a month of googling, I decided to go ahead with Sony Ericsson’s Xperia 8. The phone was well within my budget and the reviews were good.

But I still wanted to see the mobile before purchasing and I kept visiting all the mobile shops here to get a glimpse of it. Unfortunately, since it’s a new release, the phone wasn’t available anywhere in Trivandrum. It was at this time that the missus reminded me about a year old promise of mine –a mobile as a gift for her birthday. There was one more month for her bday, but she wanted one ASAP. Women, I tell you !

Great, now I need to get two mobiles !!!! But then, she came up with a wonderful idea. She said, since was responsible for my mobile’s ‘condition’, she could ask her dad, who was supposed to come from the ‘gelf’ in another two months, to get one for me. I initially turned down the idea showing off my stupid useless male ego. But I really thought about her plan and realized that it was not a bad deal at all. She stepped on my phone; it broke; her dad gets a replacement!!!  So what if people think I am cheap, I would still own a S.E. touch phone – Xperia 8 !! Yeyyy !

She has always been a Nokia Fan and so during my extensive phone research, there was this Nokia X6 that caught my attention. According to the reviews, it’s a nice compatible budget touch phone with a 5 megapixel camera; the only issue being the Symbian operating system/ platform. Since she wasn’t too informed on stuffs like OS/platform, and would easily fall for the 5 megapixel, Nokia’s X6 was the only phone that came into my mind.

She finally got her bday gift well in advance and I fulfilled my promise by promising myself that I would never ever promise on anything to anybody anymore. It doesn’t matter who was in urgent need of a mobile, somebody got one! 😀 😀

Nokia X6 (Dec 2010 – Jan 2011)

 

While she was enjoying her new phone, I was still carrying that embarrassment of a phone to office and to all the public places. After a few days, don’t know what happened, she got a spare mobile from her mom (Her mom has three phones. Don’t ask me why, nobody knows that answer) and asked me to use her Nokia X6. As usual, I turned down her idea initially, though deep down, I was waiting to hear that from her. But yeah, that same stupid useless male ego didnt let me accept it that easily. After putting in a lot of drama, I ‘finally succumbed to her pressure’ 😉 😉

It’s a sturdy mobile if you ask me and is a little heavy. I don’t normally take pictures from my mobile, so those megapixels didn’t excite me either. Moreover, there isn’t any separate software for walkman or media, something which I had been used to until then. The Nokia fans would love it, but certainly, not my kinda phone.

During my ‘courtship’ with Nokia’s X6, I finally had a chance to check out S.E.’s Xperia 8 at a store that too when I went to get a washing machine. Yeah, Trivandrum still manages to surprise me! Anyway, I didn’t like the phone on seeing it; though the features and the reviews were great from what I read, the mobile seemed too small for my hands and it was pure white in color which made it look so feminine!!!

But there was another phone that caught my attention in the same store– Sony Ericsson Vivaz. During my now famous The-Great-Mobile-Research, I had read about this phone too. The reviews were, once again, great and even the phone looked stylish and I had rejected it only because it was not popular.  Again, surprisingly, this phone was available in Trivandrum. Well, I immediately asked the missus to update her dad on the recent development and in a month time, I finally got my new mobile !

Sony Ericsson Vivaz (Feb 2011 – )

Everything about the phone is so-far so-good (this is how I ended the first part too :P). It’s even got an awesome 8 megapixel camera and a powerful HD video recording which, frankly, is of no use to me!! But then, I guess, its time I made use of these features. The phone is a big let-down in terms of the Symbian operating system. The whole OS/platform stuff didn’t go to my notice during my research and that, I know, was a big mistake. When it comes to touch phones, the OS/platform should be Android and I am going to be careful with my next phone 😉 😉 😉 Until then, its going to be only Vivaz for me.

And, the best part of Vivaz is that, the phone came with a brilliant idea – an idea that could change my life 😛  —–

The moment I hear about her dad’s next trip to India, I am going to leave my laptop, TV and all other electronic devices under her foot 😀 😀 😀

50 Comments leave one →
  1. The Count permalink
    April 18, 2011 1:09 am

    Firstttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

    • April 18, 2011 11:36 am

      Oh The count!!! you have forgotten the counting after one? are u still chanting first first and forgotten to comment!!!

      Oh now I know like you dear bugger friend you also dunno what to write on a supposedly techincal post!!! 😀 😀 😀

      • April 19, 2011 7:25 am

        he probably went to sleep after counting !

        • The Count permalink
          April 21, 2011 9:47 am

          err thts coz The Count still uses an ancient apparatus known to human beings as Nokia 6020
          http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_6020-922.php

          So thts y i cant comment much on this ‘techincal’ post :mrgreen: smitaji..Btw i LOOOOOVED tht salman khan comparison. 👿

          Anyway the only reason i still use this phone is bcoz it has this super cool voice recorder push button on the side.It has always served its purpose well during my secret espionage missions..Buhahaha 😎

          Ah the Count cant sleep these days,coz whnever i try to Count sheep n get some sleep,i tend to get even more hungry tht i end up waking up n go hunting for prey instead. 👿

  2. Ashwin permalink
    April 18, 2011 6:46 am

    Second………………………………

  3. April 18, 2011 11:35 am

    “Expecting a technical post from me would be like expecting Salman Khan to do a good film !!”

    Don’t u rememeber what I did when u wrote that line last time?? You don’t learn from ur mistakes eh??? I ensure that I will make this Mob Story a Sob story for you!!!

    Lemme get my Dabangg glasses and then hum tumahre new mobile main itne ched kardenge ki u will forget that you hjad bought a new mobile or channi!!!

    • April 19, 2011 7:26 am

      Why should I get scared of you , eh ? I still remember that Salman post and also remember that sms you sent me soon after I published this ! 😀 😀 😀

      eyyyy, if you do anything to my mobile, I wont get a replacement ! Ask her to do it 😛 😛

  4. Vivek permalink
    April 18, 2011 2:28 pm

    Wat an idea Sirjee !!!

  5. Henna permalink
    April 18, 2011 4:23 pm

    Vimu…..u n ur posts….OMG….Finally u ve started ur stupid posts again….

    BTW awesome idea to get new things….but jst pray that ur FIL does not see this… 😉 otherwise all ur plans will b in vain….

    • April 19, 2011 7:29 am

      I am not back yet Henna 😦 No time these days, Im finally working hard ! 😀 😀 😀 How I wish…..

      You are right ! Let me password protect this post ! 😀 😀 😀 Thanks for the IDEA ! 😀

  6. April 18, 2011 6:18 pm

    ‘she asked her dad’
    ‘she got a replacement from her mom’
    ‘she got u a new phone from her dad’ SIghh!!! and u still complain abt she ‘misstepping’ n th phone??!! Men and gratitude – I say!! 😛

    • April 19, 2011 7:35 am

      ‘She broke MY phone’
      ‘I got HER a new phone (instead of getting one for myself)’
      ‘I was broke to buy another phone and kept using the old phone that didnt have a display’

      Men and their selfless nature, I say !!!

  7. April 18, 2011 8:49 pm

    Slow motion scene was very interesting!

    ‘a phone that managed to survive a major accident, with just a few scratches, couldn’t withstand the power of her foot!!’ Are you reading, Laxmi?!

    You have got such a nice understanding wife but you are grumbling for presenting her a mobile, no good!

    ‘After putting in a lot of drama, I ‘finally succumbed to her pressure’ 😉 😉 – she must be knowing you by now, vimmuuu!

    ‘The moment I hear about her dad’s next trip to India, I am going to leave my laptop, TV and all other electronic devices under her foot 😀 😀 :D’…my eyes are blurring with tears of laughter, vimmuuu!

    Laughing so much after reading a post is almost forgotten now!

    • April 19, 2011 7:39 am

      She read this ! She dint react though ! She’s probably got used to all this blogging mischief of mine ! 😀 😀 😀

      yeah, as i mentioned, never ever will i promise anybody ! 😀 😀 😀

      I guess so, I think I should change my ‘parasanality’, what say ? 😀

      En soga kadhai padichu ungalkku sirippu varudu, le ?? yen? yen ? 😀 😀 😀

      • April 19, 2011 12:50 pm

        Idu soga kathai maadiriyille, Vimmuuu! Athaaan free mobile, laptop etc.etc. vara kathai illeyaa?!

  8. April 18, 2011 11:47 pm

    It was 3 am. I was on my way from my office to the railway station to travel all the way to my native and get handcuffed. I had an hour to reach the station and since the roads in Chennai during those wee hours are normally empty, I rode at around 50.
    I felt like I was transported back in time…..to the time when we used sit n chat late into the night…and you would leave after your shift….or would be waiting to catch the train back home!! Good old days… sigh 😦

    Thanks for telling us where the slow motion stops! 😛 Otherwise we wouldn’t know, y’see! 🙄 😀 😀

    And WTH did you think of Trivandrum? You’d be surprised to know that a lot of new gadgets are in the market almost instantaneously there…. no don’t ask me…I wasn’t expecting that myself! I bought my Canon SX 20 IS from there.

    Whoa! That’s some amount of research you do before buying something. I want to get a new laptop. Pls give me some suggestions. Ask your ettan also!

    P.S.: BTW has Laxmi read this post? 😛

    • April 19, 2011 7:45 am

      yeah, those days! Sigh! Miss that brat and crafty too ! and blogging and commenting ! wahhhhhhhhhh 😦 😦 😦

      Dont even make me open my mouth about Trivandrum. I have had enough with the people here ! Grrrr

      Laptop, eh? Go for Dell, nothing like it !

      PS : Yup, she did ! 😛

  9. April 19, 2011 4:54 am

    ROFL post..Loved reading every bit of it..

  10. April 19, 2011 10:31 pm

    So you’ve promised yourself to never promise anybody anything else anymore?

  11. April 20, 2011 12:49 am

    Its sooooo good to see you back…

    Well this time I’ am on her side coz I’ am also a Nokia fan….

    Hey when is your FIL coming next time… Do let me know… I’ ll also send you my phone and laptop and you can place them along with yours for her to step on them… 😀

    Can’t believe you found it in TRV… TRV is surprising me too…

    Ohh and that slow motion effect was typical of drama king thing… 😛

    • May 1, 2011 10:07 am

      You should use a S.E for a few days and you will be on my side 😀 😀

      LOL, do you really wanna take that risk ??? Please note that you that you might not get anything at all after she sets her foot on it ! 😀 😀

      A few more surprises from TRV…I watched a 3D movie here ! 😀 😀 😀

      hehehe…lovvve slow motions ! 😀

  12. April 20, 2011 11:19 am

    Please DO NOT insult a Monkey by likening it to you! 🙂

    And, phew, what an obsession for the wrong kinda brand! Only you could do so! 🙂

    Btw, read a short while ago – Spidey is gonna shake off his reds and blues! Wassup pal? Going pink? 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • April 20, 2011 11:20 am

      And, most importantly? Has Laxmi read this post, yet?

    • May 1, 2011 10:10 am

      yeah, I will make sure I wont insult you again ! 😀 😀

      S.E rock !!!

      Btw, you have been typing that spidey stuff everywhere, havnt you ? and I believe you finally received that attention only in FB !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

  13. April 21, 2011 12:27 am

    LOL bro!!!

    Never thought you will use these many phones in such short time after that first post 🙂

    Anyway I am also a SE fan… but they are not catching up now a days 😦

    you should have got some HTC mobile for that price.. they are good….

    • May 1, 2011 10:11 am

      I know, neither did I !!! Sigh ! I guess, a third part should come up next year same time ! 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, SE should change their OS !

      a SE Fan and HTC ??? and moreover, it was gifted, I didnt buy it, right 😉

  14. April 22, 2011 10:30 am

    I will read this at leisure as I can pic up info on wht phone to get my dawter soon! And post abt something else next time! Tell us abt Kerala-with pix!

    • April 22, 2011 10:36 am

      and hey, handcuffed my foot! men and their one liners let’s see if u can survive a week without her now! LOL!

    • May 1, 2011 10:13 am

      LOL, I believe you didnt read the post at all !!! How can you pick up any phone for anybody after reading this post ! 😀 😀 😀

  15. April 22, 2011 5:58 pm

    ikkanakkinu, someday, you’ll get under her feet. imagine who’ll be replaced then! buhahahahahahahahahaahaha.

    Btw, long live Sony Ericsson. That’s the only reason I like you 😀

    • April 25, 2011 10:17 am

      If he gets under her feet to be crushed, what will the replacement look like ???? :mrgreen:

    • May 1, 2011 10:14 am

      So, you still like me, eh? 😀 😀

      and how I wish I get replaced ! 😀 😀 😀

  16. April 22, 2011 11:02 pm

    I am a Nokia fan too! I use Nokia 5800 music express which is v good for music lovers. so why dont u use the camera or video feature? One can not always go around with camera! Such good mobile cameras come quite handy.

    • May 1, 2011 10:15 am

      Im just not a photo person ! I love listening to music and thats the reason I go behind sound output and clarity.

  17. The Count permalink
    April 23, 2011 1:25 am

    😆

  18. April 24, 2011 11:20 am

    I used to think Only Nokia makes phones. The rest make toys. But after sufferring the N97 for almost a year, I sold it off for a measly 600 and am using my old bulky Nokia communicator. Till the time I can accumulate enough money to buy a new pohne.

    Btw, I always thought Sony mobiles were feminine. 😛

  19. April 25, 2011 10:15 am

    Laughing so loud on that last line…. 😆

    ha ha ha on ur Mob story !!! 🙂 🙂 But u finally got a good mobile na ??? Is it the same color as the pic ????

    • May 1, 2011 10:16 am

      ya, its the same color as the pic ! That color story didnt pass the censors ! 😦

  20. April 29, 2011 9:33 pm

    sooooooooooooooooooooooper ka undi

    loved this :::

    “I am going to leave my laptop, TV and all other electronic devices under her foot ” sooper !!!

    belated bday wishes to you :D:D MAY YOU CONTINUE TO GROW older AND WISER 😀 😀 😀

    i am a huge noki phone … the shop i went to had only smart phones and a nokia 5310 express music ,… but its nokia for me anyday .. i love the fact that it doesnt crack wven after being dropped on a rock 😀 😀

    • May 1, 2011 10:22 am

      The more people love the last line, the less I get food here 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks for the bday wishes ! and I hate you for that curse ! 😛

      You should probably drop the nokia phone near her leg and then comment ! 😀 😀 😀

  21. April 29, 2011 9:33 pm

    errr… ur phone is pink in colour ??!!!

    • May 1, 2011 10:19 am

      err…its not pink ! Its maroon ! 🙂

      • May 5, 2011 5:26 am

        no way ! that looks liek a shocking pink !!!!!!!
        am sure no legs can damage my nokia

        • May 5, 2011 9:30 pm

          Don’t you know he’s a modern man? A metrosexual hunk? He looooves pink 😀 er er maroon 😛

  22. July 8, 2013 10:03 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright
    infringement? My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

