Skip to content

Duet with Shruthi – Aaj Ki Raat; Movie : Don (Hindi 2006)

December 22, 2011

Technically, this is my first duet and that too with another blogger. Shruthi, if you guys didn’t know, is a classically trained singer and even does stage shows. Very often, we discuss and gossip about music and at times, I even take tips from her on certain songs. All of my earlier duets were recorded by retaining the original female voice of the song and once, in my desperate attempt to do something different, I also went ‘bisexual’ for chaiyya chaiyya. But this thought of singing with somebody else had always been in my mind. None of my plans worked out because of various reasons and when I suggested this idea to Shruthi during one of our conversations, she agreed without giving it any second thoughts.

Well, as you know, this is not one of those regular film duets but it was fun doing something different and I consider it as an honor to have sung this song along with Shruthi.

Ok, ok, enough of my yapping; listen to the song and, this time, please let ‘us’ know how the song is 🙂 🙂 And, also please read Shruthi’s post here.

[audio http://www.fileden.com/files/2009/9/6/2566344/Aaj%20Ki%20Raat%28don%29.mp3]

 

Yeah, Don 1 song on the eve of Don 2 release! Now that’s what I call timing!! Well, actually no, both of us have been planning to publish this ever since we completed the song, more than a year that is! We wanted publish the song in both the blogs at the same time, but then, like all the late comers say, everything has got its own time and better late than never!! Oh, there is another reason for posting this now; Shruthi is supposedly leaving the Indian soil in a couple of days and I am sure, with her new role, “Shruthi ko pakaddna mushkil hi nahi, naa mumkkin hoga” !!! 😛 😛 😛

PS : I actually had a huge anti-SRK write up here; almost a page and a half, you know, trying to provide some negative publicity for Don 2. But, decided to delete the whole part since this is Shruthi’s first song over here and I didn’t want all the attention to shift towards that loser SRK. Also because, being a huugge Ex fan of SRK, all those remarks against him would make me sound like I am bashing an ex-girlfriend !!! Not worth it, seriously !! But you know what, I feel much better now; I have managed to reduce Mr. SRK to a mere ‘PS’ 😀 😀 😀

((The V-mphony page is also updated with the song))

49 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2011 12:21 am

    *throws in her rumaal* Now that i’m comfortably sitting in here at the first place i’ve decided to go ud sleep. Will comment properly (if i feel like) tomorrow. Pssst the song is sung beautifuly 😀

    Vim : and you still havnt felt ‘like’ ! 😀 😀 😀 Pssst..you said the same last year, when I sent you the song ! 😀 😀

    • December 23, 2011 3:37 pm

      Arey wah u r throwing ur rumaal to srk n all 😀 😀 😀 😀 I knew u would like the song 😀 😀 😀

      • December 23, 2011 11:10 pm

        ha ha ha how despo are hakla Don’s fans; trying to find support from impossible quarters. Bache hum tumhare hakle & langde Don ko hate karte hain aur hum jo kisi ko hate karle to hum apni bhi nahin sunte to tum kya bala ho.

        • December 23, 2011 11:55 pm

          Yawn..i think thts the problem with Nangu’s fans.They dont listen to anyone and they just go ahead and bash up ppl 😛 Why r u guys so violent?

          • December 24, 2011 11:04 am

            Brat Brat Brat !!! stop bringing other actors when we are demeaning your fav actor !! Please try to defend your stars on his merits !! Its not our fault that he doesnt have any ! 😀 😀 😀

          • December 24, 2011 1:10 pm

            We guys are voilent?? bah!! if nothing else you guys are irritating!!!

            P.s. By you guys here I mean “hakle ke fans” 😀

    • December 24, 2011 1:17 pm

      Hehehehe I wanted to comment properly but what to do this brat started talking rubbish.

      Vim : so, whats new ! 😛

      Hmmm here comes my praaaper comment

      Vim : You shouldnt have !! 😛 😛

      You guys have sung the song beautifulllly but I have a complaint. In fact I am angry with you. Why have you not sung a song with me as well?? I mean I am your fren since heydays and still you never took out time to sing with me??? Not fair!!! I know I am not that good a singer (rather am a bad singer) but in friendship these things are immaterial no?

      Vim : yeah, but the software doesnt approve anybody by the name ‘Smita’ ! Not my fault ! I shall download a new one and we could sing one of those ‘teri naani mari tho, mein kya karoon’ type songs ! what say ! 😀 😀

      Ah! I know you will come up with your regular excuse of not having time for me hai na??? huh!!

      Vim : Hehehe. you know what, I dont want to sing with you !! Cant you get it !! 😀

      One day I will record a song with a random blogger and then you will repent that u missed a golden opportunity of singing with a good singer. Huh!!!

      Vim : Hmmm….why do I get the feeling that I have read all these somewhere ??? Do you, by any chance, have access to my sms inbox ?? 😀 😀 😀

  2. December 23, 2011 12:22 am

    First…. 🙂

  3. December 23, 2011 7:25 am

    Finally someone posted the song…. 🙂

    Vim : managed to ! 😀

    For the timing thing don’t you think it was just perfectly delayed… 😛

    Vim : Same difference ! 😛

    “I have managed to reduce Mr. SRK to a mere ‘PS’” – So you think this does not counts in ex-girlfriend SRK bashing…??? 😉 😀

    Vim : You caught that, eh? I call you brilliant for nothing ! 😛

    You know its never too late…. Wanna consider posting that anti-SRK write up…. 😀

    Vim : Yeah, Im thinking about it now ! 😀

    • December 23, 2011 3:41 pm

      Haha bery phunny 👿 Even if he does write an anti-srk writeup i would be right there to jump infront of the bullets to save my HERO! So dont u dare try to intimidate me..!! Suttuviden! Muhahaha! 👿

      Vim : Brat buddy, dont provoke me !!! :mrgreen:

      • December 24, 2011 12:21 am

        I know I know…. That oldie can not do any thing on his own…. He needs support for everything… 😛

        • December 24, 2011 12:58 am

          He is not tht lucky like u to have monkeys as bodyguards. Mark my words evil tanishka , if i ever happen to come to mumbai someday, ur monkeys r gonna be dead meat! 👿

          • December 24, 2011 9:51 pm

            That is if ever you happen to come sommmmeeeeeday…. 😛

  4. December 23, 2011 10:59 am

    Very well done, both of you.

    Vimmuuu, dude, you gotta be a rock star pal and not a consultant.

    • December 24, 2011 10:58 am

      Jeee, you always make me think twice about my career !! 😀 😀 😀 Thanks for listening 🙂

  5. December 23, 2011 1:32 pm

    LOVED IT IMMENSELY!! Beautifully rendered by you and Shruthi! Shruthi, you have a beautiful voice! And Vims, you know how much of a fan I am of your voice! For this lovely treat of a rendition I promise to be ultra-nice to you the remainder of this year, orappu! 😀

    Vim : I am not going to buy that orappu ! I have heard so many like that from you all 😀 😀 😀

    How I wish I’d have the honour to sing with you someday, Vims 🙂

    Vim : you said you would be nice to me and why this kolaveri now ! 😀 😀

    Heres wishing you the very best,da! May you keep enthralling all of us more and more with your renditions all through of next year also!

    Vim : Wish you the same too. and that reminds me, whatever happened to your experiments with recording ? 😛

    • December 25, 2011 12:51 pm

      Ah, the karoke recording! I’m going to start pestering you again soon for that..so brace yourself :mrgreen:

  6. December 23, 2011 2:43 pm

    I almost had a heart attack whn i saw the name Shruthi!! Then i realised it wasn’t Shruthi haasan 😛 > The song was pretty awesome. Well sung both of u. I must say tht was a fitting tribute to SRK and DON and i can still see tht u have a soft corner for SRK :D. After all no one can resist his irresistible charm and humbleness :P.

    Vim : Yeah, I do have a soft corner for SRK !! Dont ask me where it is though !!! 😛 😛 😛 I will give a clue; Saks favourite part of the human body !! 😀

    And abt deleting the anti-srk part, i think u were just scared of the consequences 😉 coz DON se panga lene jaanleva hi nahi balki bewakoofi hai..Muhahahhaha!! And by the way i saw the movie yestrdy night and its one of the best thrillers tht i have seen recently. The movie is kinda long but SRK is in his wickedest best 😈 My only complain abt the movie was abt the character “Abdul jabbar” . Man tht guy seriously requires some major breast reduction surgery 😀 😀 😀

    Vim : I have stopped listening to you man ! Its one of the worst movie I have ever seen recently ! go away dude !

    PS: Salman khan is a criminal

    Vim – PS : So ?

    • December 24, 2011 1:16 am

      ohh yeah what can you do? other than go Muhahaha all over everyone’s place? themadi kuttan!!! 👿

      Vimmu I say out with that AntiSRK post…. 🙂

      • December 24, 2011 1:28 am

        Do u want to see me to restart my blog with an Anti-johnny depp post on New year’s eve? 👿

        • December 24, 2011 10:55 am

          @ Saks : Now that I have seen Don 2, I am thinking of rewriting it ! Sigh ! and if Brat writes anything about Depp, I am with you ! 😀 😀

  7. Rajani Ram permalink
    December 23, 2011 4:42 pm

    WOW!! awesome!… Just heard the song…. sund very well… totally inspired me to sing somting all of today…. no classical training… but still love to sing… Good Work… both you and Shruthi… Keep it up!!

    • December 24, 2011 10:50 am

      No classical training for me too, but even then, I still bother people !! 🙂 Thanks for listening.

      • Rajani Ram permalink
        December 25, 2011 7:33 pm

        Try singing the song ..”Piccha vaccha Naal Muthal”…. pretty sure you can do it… :-D…. Movie Puthiya Mugam…

  8. December 23, 2011 5:47 pm

    Your blog is eating up my comment just becos they r pro srk !!hrmph !will listen to ur song

  9. December 23, 2011 9:57 pm

    Both of you got wonderful voice…..

  10. December 24, 2011 1:18 am

    Mere ko lovu lovu with your voice and so no nasty comments are coming out of my fingers 😥

    • December 24, 2011 1:26 am

      There’s always a next time 😀

    • December 24, 2011 10:44 am

      The feeling is mutual when you upload your pics ! Sigh ! We should do something together ! A video with your snaps and my song in the background; what say ??? We need a theme for that first ! Wait, we will take this offline !! 😀 😀

      • December 25, 2011 3:59 am

        Don’t you think if we do something like that the blogworld will be wiped off nasty comments? Should we take up on such a huge responsibility on our little red shoulders? 🙄

        • December 25, 2011 12:49 pm

          You have my vote for that terrific idea, Vims & Saksh! So c’mon guys go for it and record the video! 🙂

  11. December 24, 2011 6:56 pm

    Came here through Full Meals. I think both of you have done a great job! You guys have a fan! Loved it, waiting for more such duets…i hope Shruthi don ko ek song ke liye pakadna shouldn’t be tough…so do it! 🙂

    • January 6, 2012 7:26 am

      Welcome to V-Lokam !

      Thanks D.C.; I guess, she’s already out of reach with no whereabouts ! 😀 😀

  12. December 24, 2011 9:57 pm

    do the anti-SRK post!! 😛 😛
    Hitchy went ahead and compared him to a brinjal!! I’m curious to read what you would have to say!! 😀

    And yea, you have sung the song beautifully! 🙂

    • January 6, 2012 7:27 am

      Naahhh, its like giving the poor goat more importance than he deserves !! 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks 🙂

  13. December 26, 2011 11:31 am

    For a moment I thought you sung with Shruthi Hassan ?? 😛 it’s sung really well, man what r u doing n this industry? You should ideally be singing…thnk abt it 😉

    • January 6, 2012 7:28 am

      yeah rt ! I am no dhanush ! 😀 😀 and donno how to react to the latter part of the comment 😛 😛

  14. December 29, 2011 5:32 pm

    loved the song!!

  15. January 3, 2012 12:40 am

    Superbly sung bro.. both of you 🙂 Loved it 🙂 🙂 have you posted it in youtube???

    Happy new year to you 🙂

    • January 6, 2012 7:32 am

      Not yet ! this is a karaoke and so the lip sync will be a problem, I guess. But yeah, I havnt tried; thanks for pointing it out ! 🙂

  16. January 3, 2012 11:42 am

    u know what – i listened to the song – lovved it – and went and commented and congratulated Shruthi for it – 😛 sorry vittu poyi! u guys rock 😀 – now tht u dint like Don 2 – i gotto see it – u heard/saw Shahrukh wen he came to inaugurate Emmanuel silks? what charm man!!! entha oru elima..entha..oru….:D not tht hed stand anywhere near Hrithik – bt still since u hate him – thot i need to point these out 😀

    • January 6, 2012 7:34 am

      LOL, I lost whatever respect I had for him after watching Don 2. All the best !!! 😀 😀 and btw, that six fingered handicapped person appears in the movie in a guest appearance ! 😀 😀

  17. ajay permalink
    January 4, 2012 10:54 pm

    I thought it was Shruthi Hasan. Superb, awesome, amazing, totally rocking song!! Didn’t know you’re such an awesome singer. Hats off bro, hats off to you. 😀 😀

    • January 6, 2012 7:35 am

      🙂 🙂 🙂 Brat wouldve killed me if I sang with Shruthi !! 😀

Leave a comment