Skip to content

Part 2 – Flashback

November 14, 2009

Continued from Part 1

 

6. Ego !

 “You can live outside if you cant obey us”

“Fine, Im going”

and I left my house in the afternoon after a huge argument I had with dad. Don’t remember how the argument started and what it was for, but I was just 12 years old ! Ohh, I was a stupid kid back then ! and that wasn’t the first time I left home after my parents asked me to. I did it once when I was in the 3rd grade  !!!

I roamed around the streets with my Tee and shorts till sunset and when I realized I had no other place to go, I got into my building and sat on the stairs near the terrace. My stupid child ego didn’t let me go to my flat. Meanwhile, my brother kept searching for me everywhere and finally ended up reaching the stairs. He asked me to come home, but I refused and asked him to leave (ego!ego!ego!). After sometime, when I got really really bored, I went home myself.

Mom : why did you come home now? No one invited you.

Dad : He must have felt hungry ! (he started laughing and my bro joined him)

Me : I have to study !

Dad and bro still laughing !

Mom : your bro kept searching for you inspite of us asking him not to. And then, when he asked you to come down from the terrace, you couldnt huh?  You are this small (referring my height) and you have this much (referring the cupboards height) of stubbornness in you ?

..and needless to say, that whole week was horrible with all the parent talks. But for whatever I did, I deserve much more than that !!! What was I thinking, crazy idiot !! I never dared to go out of my home after that incident.

 

7. My father-my hero !

It was summer vacation and one fine day, a few of us including my brother were riding our cycles on the sidewalk. That was my first attempt at public cycling after all the practice sessions I had at the terrace with my four-wheeled cycle. It was fun riding on the pavement but those idiotic extra tyres got stuck every now and then which made me the slowest among all. 

We were riding on a pavement which was just opposite to our apartment and all of a sudden, a Pakistani jumped out of his shop and screamed at all of us for riding past his shop. That, I guess, wasn’t new to the rest of them because they sped on their cycles in no time and I was struggling to get that damn thing move. Moreover the look of that idiot made me all nervous that I didn’t know what to do. The Pakistani got furious because I wasn’t moving away from his shop; he took one of his slippers and whacked me on my back real hard!! I started pushing the cycle like a duck and searched for the rest of them. None of my friends were available on sight, not even my bro. I then rode a little further and managed to find my brother. The moment I saw him, I started crying and he took me home immediately.

I kept crying at home continuously not because I was hurt or embarassed, but because the rest of them deserted me. My dad came in sometime after his shift and heard the whole story. Tan ta daaan ! He took me along and off he went to the street like a super hero !! He barged into the shop and started screaming at that idiot; and in sometime, the argument was taken to the streets. I donno when I stopped crying, but I remember standing near my dad and admiring him; totally !  I mean, there he was, arguing in his broken hindi with a Pakistani who is triple his size, whose one small touch could have hurt my dad real bad and all that just because his son was hurt ! Dads are great or what !!!

My dad approached the law that evening and a police official did come along with us….but damn! I don’t remember anything after that ! Oh ya, that night, my bro got an earful from both mom and dad for not performing his basic duties as an elder brother !!

8. My childhood tattoo.

simba

My world used to revolve around my brother and even today, he means everything to me (my brother must be choking now!). After his 12th, he chose to do his graduation in India and it was tough for me to cope up with his departure. For one whole year, I can even claim that I totally ruined myself; my studies went for a toss, I became even more stubborn and rude, made a lot of enemies, never cared for what mom and dad said (oh this is when the gum incident took place too). A day before he took off, he drew an image (almost similar to the one above) with a pen on my wrist– an image of a sun with ‘Simba’ written inside it. We were huuugge fans of Lion King you see, and we still are if I am not wrong 😀 This art of his was too sentimental for me to erase and I decided to keep it on my wrist until I saw him next. I used to cover it with a polythene bag while taking bath and each time it faded, I drew over the image with my left hand. I had a tough time in school covering it and so I avoided half sleeve shirts to school. I didn’t inform my bro through phones or through those long letters of mine about the preserved art and gave him a surprise when he landed three months later.

Incidentally, this was the first design that came into my mind when I decided to get a Tattoo this year. But then, it looked silly as a permanent tattoo and went for the Arian design.

9. The wish hair.

After having played a video game – Atari at our friends place, my brother and me created a ruckus at home asking dad to get a similar one of us. We kept cribbing for more than a week and finally our dad lost all his patience. He shouted at both of us for wishing and demanding things that we found in our friends home and asked us to concentrate on our studies. Both of us sulked the whole night and went to study after dinner. While doing my homework, I observed an eyelash on my finger. That reminded me of what I read in the stories those days – If an eyelash accidentally falls out, you can make a wish on it.

I mentioned this to my brother, but he didn’t care. I put the eyelash on the back of my hand, made a wish and then blew it off. I had nothing to wish for but an Atari. I am not kidding guys, the very next day, my dad came home after work with groceries on his right hand and carrying an Atari game console on his left shoulders !! Both of us were jumping with joy and I could see the happiness in my dads face by watching us go crazy over the video game !! Dad, you are the best !! After Atari, he also got us a Nintendo (Pegasus) and a Sega Mega Drive, but only because my brother excelled in his exams !

10. noitatciD

Now this is the clumsiest thing any human can ever do in his/her entire lifetime. I was in my 2nd grade and we all had a dictation session during our English period. I was well prepared for the test and the teacher started giving us words to spell in our test paper. The results came out and I got 0 / 10 !!! That’s right ! ZERO !!!

I went home crying and complaining to mom that the teacher is mean and that she gave a big zero inspite of each answer being right. I still didn’t understand the clumsiness I committed. My mom had a look at the test paper and started laughing aloud. She then asked for my timetable and after going through that, she understood what the problem was.

Apparently, we had Arabic classes prior to the English period and you know how the Arabs write. Yeah, from right to left !!! So during the dictation, I was still in some Arab world that I drew a margin on the right hand side of the page and started spelling words backwords. For example, Doctor became ‘rotcoD’ and Giraffe became ‘effariG’ (these are the only two words I remember from that test) !!! The best part is I managed to spell all of them correctly, but backwards !!

Now, read the title of this story backwards and you will know how the teacher would have felt !!!

New Folder

15 wonder years !

Phew ! that was one helluva tag, isn’t it ? The memories I had described in both the parts are only from the first 15 years of my life. I promise to continue this tag after 5 years (if I am still allowed to blog, that is) with the best memories of the next 15 years (16 – 30 😉 )!!!

So in a way, to be continued……

Wait, not over yet. How can tags finish without the new victims ? Since this is an old tag and most of you would have already done it. Therefore, I choose the following ten who I think havent tried their hands on this tag :

Sujith, Rakesh (their first tag ever)

Kanagu (his posts has all the warmth required for this tag)

Rakesh Vanamali (his nostalgic posts are always a treat to read)

Vee (can never refuse any of my tags)

Smita (I  know you hate tags. How else can I take my revenge on you?)

Ashwathy, Shruthi, Rohini, Chatterbox (all the best, LOL)

And anyone who loves self torture is free to take this up !

Happy Childrens Day to all !!!!!!!!!

109 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 3:06 pm

    Me first?? yay!!!

    • November 14, 2009 3:21 pm

      That collage is awesome!! How could somebody so sweet & cute turn out to be the way you are NOW?? Yeh ghor parivartan kaise aur kab hua???

      How could you say, I was a stupid kid back then? Nah! u r one even now 😛

      *I hate myself for saying this*

      I felt bad for the kiddo you being whacked and I can understand why u felt so so proud of your dad. As you have yourself said Dad’s are awesome!!! And I guess you have described the incident so well that my heart went out for the younger you! sigh!!!

      And you used to wrap a polythene bag to save the tatoo?? Aww!! So sweet! *am choking choking choking* We do that when we apply Mehndi on our hands 😀 But seriously how did ur bro react to your sweety sweet act!!!

      lol! @ the diction thing 😀 I hadn’t even noticed the ulti spelling 😀 and that’s not because am silly u bugger but beacuse we read what we want to read 😛 and should have your teacher!! He should have understood 😀

      *Warning read & choke at ur own risk*

      An aersome & very well written post my dear friend so so apt for Children’s day.

      ******
      You shouldn’t be saying “if I am still allowed to blog, that is”, you should be saying If I grow up that is 😀 😀 😀

      And you bugger you have tagged me to seek revenge and you have tagged me onto something which I have already done!!!

      humph!!!!

      • November 14, 2009 9:31 pm

        “Yeh ghor parivartan kaise aur kab hua???” – Jabse tumko dekha hai silly…:D 😀 😀 😀

        Thanks a lot for calling me kid still 😀 😀 😀

        Your heart went out to the younger me??? Glad I didnt meet you then !! 😀 😀

        I dont remember how his reaction was…hmmm…

        The teacher was a she…:D 😀 😀 😀

        You already did this !!! cheyy !!! So who was the other blogger who hated you ?? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      • November 18, 2009 9:19 pm

        I voice Smita’s thought too…yeh ghor parivarthan kaise hua?? 😦 😥

  2. anitha permalink
    November 14, 2009 3:09 pm

    Hey vimmuuu… very very sweet post… guess u had an amazing childhood… pls post more da… 🙂 🙂

    Mom : why did you come home now? No one invited you.

    Dad : He must have felt hungry ! (he started laughing and my bro joined him)

    Me : I have to study !/( i just love this … hey fraud from where did u think of this reply 🙂 …)

    i remember the tattoo which your brother gave u.. u actually wanted to get it permanently tattooed rt 🙂 🙂

    • November 14, 2009 9:34 pm

      More about my childhood aaa??? hehehe…not here…will keep telling you stories over the phone !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      where did I think of that reply??? …. i still give those kind of replies, le..:D 😀 😀

      ya ya, I guess I will do that as my next tattoo !! 😀 😀

  3. anitha permalink
    November 14, 2009 3:11 pm

    i read it first yayyyyyyyy……

    • November 14, 2009 9:36 pm

      Ya, right !!! You are the first to comment here after reading the post; unlike the silly woman up there !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      This way of declaring first is a trend here in the blogosphere. Donno how these people reach as soon as the post is put; I have always wondered. 😀 😀 😀 😀

      • November 18, 2009 9:21 pm

        “Donno how these people reach as soon as the post is put; I have always wondered.” Elementary my dear Vimmu elementary :mrgreen: *sakshi knocks Vimmu’s head with her Sherlock Holmes stick*

  4. November 14, 2009 4:50 pm

    Lovely collage I must say !!!!

    and bidooo you commented on Sachin’s post… about his marriage.. ??

    Wedding on mind eh !! 😛 😛

    You know what I too ran away from home once in 10th standard with clothes… thankfully my best friend who was to flee with me advised me against it and told me we must run only after we pass 10th so we can get jobs… !!!!! sigh… wonder what woudl have happened… lol… !! 😛

    • November 14, 2009 9:40 pm

      Thankss !!

      Arey, if I make a comment on someones elses married life, thats also related to my wedding plans, huh??? LOL !! 😀 😀 😀 I should stop commenting then…. (thats just a casual statement, dont hope ! 😉 )

      LOL, your friend is smart !!! 😀 😀 😀 Btw, your best friend is your wife, na??? 😀 😀 😀

      • November 15, 2009 12:43 pm

        well that was before my wife became my best friend… !!

        lol…

        its when this guy shifted from town that my wife became my friend !!! thank god he shifted I must say in hindsight !!!

  5. November 14, 2009 5:07 pm

    Damn cute… you doing all this, slightly hard to believe… 😀

    btw, was gooooooooooood seeing u the other day.. seemed like it had been ages.. and i sat in A11.. A10 was taken :((

    Sari, wanted to ask.. wots with beard n all ? some new look or venduthals till wedding?? 🙂

    Oh and did u see out the window???Raininggggggggggggg!!!yayyyy

    • November 14, 2009 9:42 pm

      Why I cant do that???why ???why ???? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      It wasnt ages; we met for the play, remember??? I think my beard caused that feel !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      and ya, that beard. it isnt a venduthal…just like that…after wedding, it wouldnt be possible, na?

      Im at palakkad and I saw it through TV !! 😀 😀 😀

      • November 15, 2009 11:54 am

        :))just that u dont seem the kind to do those things!! athaan!! 😛

        Oh my..Wotcha doing there??thot sunday u be the busy visiting the to be ‘s big bro.. hehehe…!!! raining some more here, am sure it will wait for ur return and continue…

        What play? oh ya.. how can i forget…!! but it still felt like it had been ages…m sure its been couple of mths atleast.. 🙂 me the curious to know why u cant do beard after wedding?? hmm, Madam kitta thaan kekanum ;o)

        have fun !!

        • November 15, 2009 11:55 am

          oh, forgot to mention loved reading abt Atari.. me n my cousin used to play whenever i came to chennai for hols.. good fun…. remember vividly playing pacman!!! 😀
          Ahh, those were the day.. maybe i’ll do this post.. [note to self- one more post added to the “to write” list..shucks!!! ]

          • November 17, 2009 4:58 am

            Glad it isnt raining anymore ! 😀 😀 😀

            Madam doesnt like all those extra hair on the face, you see ! Sigh !!! 😀

            ohhh yeahhh..ataris pac man ! That was an awesome game !! 😀

            You wanna do this tag !! Ok, You are tagged officially ! 😀

            • November 17, 2009 10:28 pm

              Woww, interesting…. madam doesnt like is it… hmmm!!! 😉 ippove vaaaa….hehehe

              Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee- dont sit smiling like that in office.. colleagues mite think ur nut bolt all gone!!! 😛 [they will all know the real true vimmuuu]

  6. November 14, 2009 5:18 pm

    Lovely post..I loved the pics the most..you look very cute,as a kid… I just knew that wicked people can have cute faces… **sigh**

  7. thesaintlysinner permalink
    November 14, 2009 5:53 pm

    The cycle incident was because – you had a cycle which when pedalled backwards acted as its brake! And you kept pedalling backwards in your tension, while the rest of us all moved forward!! An anyways, you were a lil fat, too – so cudn’t move the cycle anyways :))

    And how the hell do u remember all this ?? Atari and the eyelash? I can’t remember such a thing !! And where did that stair thing happen? in Sharjah ?

    The only one that I distinctly remember is the burden that you were bearing for breaking the cassette player. Bro, you were soooooo easy picking back then! 😉

    • November 14, 2009 9:48 pm

      LOL !!! yeah, that stupid cycle !! 😀 😀 😀 I was a lill fat ??? I was very fat 😀 😀 😀 😀

      You dont remember all that Atari incident ??? We played a game with dad immediately after installing it too 😀 😀 😀 The stair thing happened in Deira !! Gosh !!!!

      yeah yeah !! I was too lill to remember it now; like 1 year ! You evil brother !! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 and you had the guts to reveal that old secret when I was in 5th ! 😀 😀

    • November 14, 2009 10:21 pm

      @saintly sinner

      bro do u remember once he got so mad at u n threw away ur yellow highlighter pen outside the window!

  8. November 14, 2009 6:44 pm

    This is by far your best post(s)…. 🙂

    i totally loved it..

    i too have the experience of leaving home (for 1 hour) in my 3rd grade.. i was so angry i even packed up my bag… 😉 when i was reading that i felt as if i was reading my life incident..

    • November 14, 2009 9:53 pm

      You too ???? 😀 😀 😀 😀 you packed your bag when you were in 3rd grade ???? 😆 but imagine, what would have happened if we all had ran away from home? (check hitchys comment, even he planned to run! :D)

  9. Suji! permalink
    November 14, 2009 10:13 pm

    Alright thanks for tagging… Now tell me what this tag is about and what im supposed to write… 🙄

    • November 17, 2009 4:59 am

      1. You havnt read the post !
      2. You didnt comment anything on the post !!
      3. Again, you havnt read the post !!!

  10. November 14, 2009 10:45 pm

    I have only read the first one yet. My heart went out for the proud little boy.

  11. November 14, 2009 11:00 pm

    Your dad was awesome to take on that bully!!! I am sure that made that Pakistani think before bullying another child!

    How did your brother react when he saw the tattoo? You were such a sweet child!!

    The collage is just adorable!! You look like a very naughty, even a little haughty, but a very sensitive and innocent child 🙂 And actually the face hasn’t changed much… at all!

    I wasn’t able to understand so many baby faces in the blogosphere at first!!

    • November 17, 2009 5:04 am

      I hope so ! But ever since that incident, that pakistani never messed with us !! and we kept riding across his shop !! 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, he is actually completely opposite to me ! 😀 😀

      I know !! most of my classmates and collegemates do recognise me even now; but I have never been able to recognise any of them ! 😀 😀

  12. November 15, 2009 2:45 am

    Wonderful post bro… 🙂 you had an eventual childhood life 🙂 🙂 Dads are always great.. 🙂

    the first incident you have mentioned is really funny.. that happens with most of the kids 🙂

    and you are really sweet in preserving that tatoo… me and my bro never had such great relationship.. 😦

    video games.. sigh.. they are meant to drive us crazy na… only thought runs in our mind is how to kill that enemy and escape the bomb…

    and the collage looks really superb 🙂 🙂 and thanks for considering me worthy of doing this post… but don’t know what I am going to write…. Wil think over few days and will write down.. this is a beautiful tag 🙂 🙂

    • November 17, 2009 5:06 am

      Ohhh, I thought I was the only stupid one ! Most of them here have ran away from their homes !! 😀 😀 😀

      Ohh, no sad smileys in here Kanagu !! You have an elder or a younger bro ?

      LOL, I knoww !!! Video games are cool, but I somehow lost touch playing with them ever since I left Dubai !

      Yeah, please do. Im waiting to read your version ! 😀

  13. November 15, 2009 3:44 am

    Wow! so you did the spelling dictation from right to left.
    Now that’s a big talent in itself, no matter what you scored then, but you’ve learnt a James Bond trick for life.(he.he.he)

    Great to see how your dad came to sort it all out. With that tale you’ve made it easier for me to do this tag 😉

    You’ve been a real cool baby brother in that tattoo incident. You used to wear a polythene bag to keep your tattoo from getting spoilt. Now that’s called dedication.

    Awesome collage of your childhood pics.

    Thanks for passing on this difficult tag.

    Cheers!!

    • November 17, 2009 5:10 am

      ROFL @ the james bond trick !!! 😀 😀 😀 After writing the post, I was thinking of the moms these days; some wouldve have hit their child if they came up with a test paper like that ! 😀 😀

      Oh, you have a similar tale too ??? Gr8 !

      😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, this is a tough tag indeed ! Its hard to choose from the best of memories ! 😀

  14. November 15, 2009 7:08 am

    wow! super Collage Vimmmuuu…
    you were a cute kid back then! 😛

    I always remember my mom asking me if I wanted a sandwich to take along, whenever I mentioned about running away from home!!! Sheeesh! 🙄

    Your dad was and is super awesome! I felt so bad for u… che… what a mean thing to do!

    you know that wish thingy – I always used to do and believe it!
    I remember wishing that my mom would make jamoons for snacks one day in school and when I go home, she had made them!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀
    So, I totally believe in wish hair! even now!! :mrgreen:

    Awesome tag Vimmmuu!!! 🙂 🙂

    • November 17, 2009 5:12 am

      LOL, sandwich??and you agreed ??? thats even more sheeesh !! 😀 😀 😀

      Its ok, then mean , now a post material ! Thats all ! 😀 😀

      Yippieee, I still believe in the wish hair too !! 😀 😀 😀 Some habits dont die, I guess ! 😀 😀

  15. November 15, 2009 9:15 am

    Vimmuuu !!!! One super Collage pic !!!! I especially like the one in the down right corner !!!! 🙂 Your face has not changed, na ????!!!! 🙂

    Vim : Yeah ! I didnt want to do any facial surgery 😉

    – You left home at that age, you silly goose !!!! Then at least you realised your mistake, before the night !!! Was it becos you were hungry, you went back home ?????

    Vim : LOL !! its there in the post na. I felt really really bored ! 😀 😀 😀

    – Loved your heroic dad and the way he stood up for you !!!! 🙂

    Vim : 😀

    – OK !!! Simba, is it ???? Am just getting to know, how sentimental you are !!!! Under the cat mask, lies a sensitive, emotional, and a total hero worshipper of his brother !!!!

    Vim : 😀 😀 😀

    – Ah !!! I too have done that wishing stuff !!! But, cant remember, whether all those came true or not !!!!! Now, my girls keep doing it – passing on the tradition !!!!

    Vim : I still do it ! 😀 😀 Its a nice practice ! 😀

    – Do u still write English like Arabic ????? Or do you have a software to convert the Arabic written english words back to normal english ???? You are the ultimate !!!!

    Vim : ROFL !! No wonder my posts take time in coming out, huh ? 😀 😀

    But, thank God, you didnt tag me !!!! I would have become so senti doing this.

    Vim : You havnt done this ??? Buahhahahahahahahahaha !!! I am hereby tagging you officially ! 😀 😀

    Hope you are enjoying the rains !!!! Its awesome, na !!!!

    Vim : Errr…its not raining now ! and even then, I hate rains ! 😀

  16. November 15, 2009 9:39 am

    Super duper Vimmuuu!!!! Perhaps there isnt anything better than to revisit childhood, isnt it?

    And hey – it seems your notoriety as a kid isnt all that uncommon! Ask me abt it? 🙂 But then, I got away with it a number of times, thanks to a super-empathetic Dad! 🙂

    Btw, whats with that cat in the picture? And the line “if I am still allowed to blog, that is……”

    Thanks for that note! Glad that you like my posts! 🙂 🙂

    Will do this tag for sure, though in a bit of time maybe!!!

    • November 17, 2009 5:21 am

      You too, huh? Glad we had brave dads ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thats Puss-in-boots from Shrek 2/3 !! You dont know about the character ??? Thats perfect for me !! 😀 😀 😀

      If Im allowed to blog that is…that is, what if wordpress wants to ban me once because of all the nonsense I write here ! 😀 😀 😀

      Are you kidding me? I love your posts ! Yours is one blog where I have always maintained by decency ! 😀 😀

      and take your time on the tag ! 😀

  17. November 15, 2009 12:30 pm

    Read both the posts 🙂

  18. November 15, 2009 2:19 pm

    he he .. the arabic-english thing was soo funny!! and the rest of them cutte!!!

  19. November 15, 2009 4:47 pm

    lol@ dictation incident.. that was the cutest incident of all i must say 🙂

    I love the way you have described the bond between you and your brother. amazing *touch wood*

    Is it a habit of all the younger ones to leave house? I did that too 😀 but I went and sat next to a tank on my terrace. that was the maximum limit I had I guess as a kid 😛

    well what can I say, this was a great post.. as good as Part 1.

    and thanks for tagging me 🙂 will try my best to remember incidents from my life .. its difficult though I have a poor memory 😛

    hope you had a nice children’s day 🙂

    • November 17, 2009 5:24 am

      dictation..cutest ??? that was the clumsiest !! 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks for touching your head, I mean wood 😉

      You left home too ??? Oh gosh !! there are a lot here who had left their homes !! 😀 😀 😀 No wonder we all ended up blogging ! 😀 😀 Tank on your terrace?? good place ! You could still drink water ! Smart ! 😀 😀 😀

      Waiting to read your take now 😀 😀

  20. November 16, 2009 10:28 am

    Wow vimmuuu this was an awesome read!! 😀 😀

    I tried (or thought of, at least!!) run away when i was sure mom would scold me for not doing my homework. I didn’t such a thing since i had a weird idea of running away ( one should HAVE a potli to carry! 🙄 ) so finally i didnt do such a thing! phew!!

    And yes dads are great… my dad did something similar and i was like “WOW”!!

    you had atari too!!! i loved playing the one… once someone changed teh setting from 240 watts to 120 and BOOM.. my atari was gone forever!! 😦

    • November 16, 2009 10:29 am

      and hey… the collage is sooppppeeerrrr… 😀

      p.s. see i DO read your posts!! 😛 😛

      • November 17, 2009 5:27 am

        LOL !! thanks for actually reading the posts !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

        running away for not doing your homework ??? LOL !! Then I shouldve camped outside if I were you ! 😀 😀 😀

        Oh your dad too ??? Wow !!! Why dont you do this tag too ?? 😀

        oh yeah, I guess our atari went kaboom a similar way too ! Dont remember what happened to it ! 😀

        • November 22, 2009 10:28 pm

          oh did u accuse Sakhi of not reading posts? LOL 😀

  21. November 16, 2009 3:05 pm

    @ 6 : Vimmu that was classic ……kudos 2 u’r parents for handling that in such a way
    @ 10 — ROFL …dude that was too much :d :d

    nyways that was a superb post…hopefully some one will tag U to share your teenage\infatuation memories :d :d :d

    • November 17, 2009 5:29 am

      LOL, I know. My parents were very supportive 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

      I mentioned at the end, le? Im doing this tag after 5 years with the rest of the stories ! 😀 😀

  22. November 16, 2009 3:11 pm

    lol, Leaving the house 😀
    Me and My bro ran away in 6th class, came back by 9 P.M, same day because it was too dark to see and we couldn’t risk our lives to ghosts 😀
    Whole colony was laughing at us and we took our revenge by beating every single kid of the colony 🙂

    This post was just awesome, very very very great and good and nice and cool and sweet.

    • November 17, 2009 5:31 am

      you ran away with your bro ??? 😀 😀 😀 you had company atleast ! 😀 and ROFL @ the reason for getting back home ! ghosts 😀 😀 :D:D

      and you hit every child in the colony !! What were you both ??? two dangerous brothers !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • November 19, 2009 12:15 am

        We were man, every single kid of the neighborhood was scared of us ,u knoe the Dudley brothers type 😉

  23. November 16, 2009 4:04 pm

    ROFL @ the first one 😛 My sis hd left home that way too, and with a few dresses and pair of slippers in a basket @ that 😉 Younger brothers n sisters I tell u.. they r just too much 😉
    And then u got ur bro scolded for all those things .. hw much hv we got to suffer being the elder ones 😦 Even when I ws in 2nd, I had to hear ‘U r the elder one na, pls understand’ and got to hear that even today 😛 when this lil monster is working 😛 Hw cruel 😦

    That tattoo thing is so sweet 🙂 I somehw can’t picturize u as someone so sweet 😛 😛
    But ok, thatz ws reallly nice of both of u 🙂 Never knew u hv a tattoo!!!!!

    I became even more stubborn and rude – he he! even more makes sense 😉 Hw wud we believe otherwise 😉

    • November 16, 2009 4:11 pm

      So sweet of ur Dad Vimmuuu .. eesh wait 😛 Let me blow the eyelash n ask for something first 😉

      The dictation story is simply superb 😉 Can’t stop laughing ha ha ha 😀

    • November 17, 2009 5:35 am

      Well, its because of you elder ones that we think of moving out of the house ! 😀 😀 😀

      Ohhhh, you elder ones I tell you !! We should always be around you, but when we have an issue, you are like all “why did you do this?, you shouldnt have,” etc. hmmppphhh ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      LOL, I guess I was…once upon a time ! 😀 😀

      You never knew I had a tattoo !! I even mentioned it in one of recent post. That Abc tag ! 😀 😀

      Noooo, you arent supposed to take an eye lash and wish ! It has to fall down on its own ! 😀 😀 😀

      Yeah, yeah, keep laughing !! 😀 😀 😀

  24. November 16, 2009 7:55 pm

    Done!!! Finished a tag within 2 days of being tagged, a record sorts!!! 😀

  25. Purvi permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:15 pm

    Sharp memory I must say 😉 … they way you could recall details and describe them is really good. I could actually imagine each and every scene. Going back in the memory lanes of childhood is always fun…. but I don’t have many clear memories…most of them are hazy and sometimes I’ll have to ask Mommy-Papa to get the right picture 😛

    • November 17, 2009 5:38 am

      Sharp memory aur me ??? hehehehe. thats the first time anyone said that. I should frame your comment ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Im sure if I approach my dad and mom, I will get more weird stories ! 😀 😀

  26. November 17, 2009 12:19 am

    Didn’t read your posts but saw those pictures.

    You were such a cutie pie as a child. What happened now? 😈

    • November 17, 2009 5:39 am

      Why ??? those pictures didnt let you read the post ??? 😀 😀 😀

      What happened now ??? I met bloggers like you ! 😀 😀

  27. November 17, 2009 2:17 am

    Holy Shit… Now that’s blackmailing or whatever term is that…. I have not so far doesn’t mean I can’t… I am in fix….

    Btw, I forgot how many times I ran and came back home…. They had given up on the search after 2-3 times….

    • November 17, 2009 5:40 am

      ROFL ! you cant na Vee !! You cant say no to me, na ?? 😀 😀 😀

      Ok, go ahead and do this tag ! 😀

      LOL, you ran away too ??? another KBK buddy ! 😀 😀

    • November 17, 2009 11:12 am

      Oye hoy!As if Vee u wouldn’t do what your sweet heart says 😛

      BTW Leaving home reminds me of this incident. 7 year old son of a friend was upset that he was being scolded again & again so finally he decided that he has had enough & decided to leave home!

      He went to the door & turned to her Mom, “Joote pehnao & Darwaza kholo main ghar chod ke ja raha hoon” 😀

      • November 18, 2009 4:43 am

        Is that a true story ???? 😀 😀 😀

        • November 18, 2009 11:57 am

          Of Course its true re!!! Why would I make up a story??? U wanna speak to the kid or his Mom??? (Please Note she is young & beautiful ;-))

          • November 19, 2009 9:35 pm

            who is young ??? the mom ??? 7 year old son she has got !! how young can she be ??? 😀 😀 😀

            • November 20, 2009 3:11 pm

              If she got married at the age of 18 & had a son by 19 wouldn’t that make her young enough??

              And BTW since when have u been bothered about age??? 😀 😀 😀 bolo bolo tell tell!!! 😛

  28. November 17, 2009 11:53 am

    Super post macha!!! 🙂

    Loved ur tales… Aww look at those pics…. cho chweeeet! Fotoyil enthoru paavam! 😀

    • November 18, 2009 4:40 am

      LOL !!! But I never knew you were a mallu !!!

      Namaskaaaaram unnddu !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

      • November 18, 2009 5:49 pm

        Namaskaram!!!

        Athu manasilakaan buddhi venam 😉

        • November 18, 2009 9:32 pm

          Elegant Chic ROFL!! I must add you are getting to know vimmu better :mrgreen:

        • November 19, 2009 1:28 pm

          adu kalakki,EC…ROFL!!

          • November 19, 2009 9:20 pm

            Woah !!! enikku buddhi illaathadu kondaanu I started blogging !! 😀 😀 😀 adaayadu, avidathey poley ivideyum ! 😀 😀 😀

  29. November 17, 2009 11:19 pm

    Hmmm Interesting one…Atari and all..I remember how i used to share my nintendo games with my brothers and how they will not share their atari with me… Grrrrrrr grrrrrrr grrrr [:)]

    • November 18, 2009 4:41 am

      LOL !! what are brothers for, huh ? 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Welcome to V-lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !

      See ya around ! 😀

  30. November 18, 2009 12:49 am

    Whoa! I’ve been away from your blog for so long?!!
    Loved this post…hats off to your dad for being so brave!!
    May the posts keep coming!!

    • November 18, 2009 4:43 am

      Whoa to you too !!! What made you disappear from my blog ?? Tell me …tell me…ya, the posts would keep coming. But I hope your comments keep coming ! 😀 😀

      • November 19, 2009 1:59 am

        Will do. Million apologies. Eye-infection. Bday party (brat’s). Are those reasons enough?

        • November 19, 2009 9:21 pm

          LOL. I was just kidding !!! Gosh ! when will people stop taking me seriously !!! 😀 😀 😀

  31. November 18, 2009 12:11 pm

    Nice pictures vimmuu.

    You are sweet child with sweet childhood memories.

    Dad is always a hero for the kids,i have seen many pakistanis bullying kids here,i don’t understand why they do.

    Now i will recognise u if i see ur here in dxb 😀

    • November 19, 2009 9:22 pm

      LOL, next time Im in dubai, Im calling you all ! 😀 😀 😀

  32. November 18, 2009 1:56 pm

    “Ohh, I was a stupid kid back then !”…and what makes you think you are not one now? 😛 😛

    Your dad is so great! Hats off to him,Vims!

    you got 0/10 in dictation..ayyayyeee..shame shame shame shame!! 😆

    and the snaps are very nice….those innocent cute looks are surely deceptive,arent they?? 😈

    • November 18, 2009 5:50 pm

      ROFL 😆

    • November 19, 2009 9:24 pm

      Im not a stupid kid now ! I am a stupid man now !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

      😦 😦 😦 you related to that teacher in any way ???? 😦

      Heyy, Im still innocent ! 😀 😀

  33. November 18, 2009 8:55 pm

    ytfarc
    lliw
    eb
    kcab
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (vimmuuu saare… did u notice exclamation mark put opposite looks the same?!!!!)

    hugsss for now! i loved this tag! now tell us the truth! whose childhood stories have u whacked and chipkaoed as urs? 😆 tee heeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    and u have no singing memories? ee asugham pinne molluchu elle? 😛

    *vimmuuu is forgetting whatever malayalam he knew*

    did u notice “malayalam” written opposite is also same??

    *vimmuuu is taking off his shoe to at crafty, but she has herself gone to suicide point called “office” *

    😀 hugsssssssssss

    • November 18, 2009 9:35 pm

      :mrgreen: ytuC ytfarC u fo espmilg a ees ot dalg

    • November 19, 2009 9:28 pm

      Glad to see you back Crafty Kuttyyyyy…..!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Missed your comments for a few of my previous posts ! How I wish you would take the pains of commenting for all of them now that you are back !!! (which indirectly means, you better leave your comment for all of them! :D)

      Whose childhood??? What do you mean by that ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀 I need to copywrite my childhood also now ? Sheesh !! 😀

      *vimmuuu blinking his eyes reading Craftys malayalam and the PJ on malayalam*

  34. November 18, 2009 9:44 pm

    You wrote the Dictation from right to left because you were in an Arabic world? Ayee what were you imagining? you were a sheikh with 4 houses and the infinite number of things that come with those houses? 😯

    I was a pro at running away. Did it almost on a daily basis because of the torture melted out by my brothers. But I was smart you see, I took a backpack with books and food and would stay on different terraces till either the food ran out or the book was finished :mrgreen: Your bro is sweet though to come looking for you whereas my bros celebrated my absence and would tease me when I came back 😡

    Aww your dad sure is a super hero….wonder why you didn’t get his genes 😛

    I played Atari too and hid it whenever the Ku Klux Klan of brothers refused me to play with them 😛 Ohh the begging and bribing was worth the hiding places I would think off :mrgreen:

    Are your memories from 15-30 as sweet as this???

    • November 19, 2009 9:34 pm

      by infinite number of things, you dont mean ‘that’ do you ?? you know…you know…arabs..you know…:D 😀 😀 😀

      you ran away with books ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀 I can understand why your brothers didnt come searching for you !!! No one will !! 😀 😀 😀 That wasnt the case with me, you see 😀 😀 😀

      Woaah, my dad is a super hero because he is a dad ! Wait till I become one ! 😀 😀 😀

      ROFL @ Ku Klux Klan brothers !!! 😀 😀 😀

      15-30 …nahhh…life has been a roller coaster ride during these years !! 😀 😀 😀

  35. November 19, 2009 10:10 am

    kollam aliya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! much better than first part I say!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛

    enthayalum, good that your dad got away with it from that pakistani gentleman 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • November 19, 2009 9:30 pm

      Pakistani gentleman, huh? ente achchan kelkkandaa !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

  36. Savitha permalink
    November 19, 2009 11:01 am

    Imagined those incidents frame by frame as you narrated. Nice memories. And god,you saved that tatoo for 3 months??? (Came here from Swaram’s blog, found this one interesting). And, nice collage,vimmuuu(am i right at that?-double m,triple u :P)

    • November 19, 2009 9:30 pm

      Welcome to V-Lokam and thanks for dropping in your comment !

      Yeah, you are right. double m, triple u 😀 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks a lot. Btw, do you blog? Theres no blog link on your name ! 😀

  37. November 19, 2009 1:20 pm

    great post!!!

    i absolutely love making collages too!!

    it brings a lot of nostalgia..

    • November 19, 2009 9:28 pm

      Yeah, it does !!! I had posted a similar collage in April when I turned 28. 😀 😀 😀

  38. November 22, 2009 10:31 pm

    Wow!! what an ego!! I was once driven out but only till courtyard 😀 U learnt arabic??? wow! do u remember it now? And both of u look like ur dad!

    • December 3, 2009 1:06 am

      You were driven out??? 😀 😀 😀 They never did that to me !! 😀 😀 😀

      I can write and read a few words in arabic, thats all !! Lost touch !

  39. November 23, 2009 3:36 am

    Vimmuuu, That was such a wonderful post! I read it three times and loved it!

    You ran away from home 🙂 And then went back 🙂 You were gutsy 🙂 I used to wish I had the guts and a reason to run away when I was little 🙂

    You dad is awesome! That was such a touching account! All our Dads are, aren’t they? My daddy strongest 🙂 It is a wonderful feeling when you know that you can count on your dad 🙂 Now, it makes me even prouder when my husband says the same abt my dad 🙂

    You actually kept your bro’s drawing safe for so long 🙂 That is so sweet! You seem to share such a wonderful bond with your brother – it was heart warming to read.

    That dictation story is hilarious! Am sure your teacher must have gone and told loads of people that 🙂

    You looked sooo cute as a child! Those are such cute, cute pics! Are you sure you haven’t put up your brother’s pics 🙂 Very cute! And a lovely post! Sorry to be sooo late here. I came here twice yest and three times today – but never got around to commenting.

    • December 3, 2009 1:11 am

      You read it thrice ??? Take a bow ! 😀 😀

      you dont need guts to run away ! A pair of leg is more than enough 😀 😀 😀

      when your husband says the same about your dad ??? LOL !!! Why o why ?? 😀 😀 😀

      Whaaat??? my teacher wouldve done that ??? Grrrr….

      LOL, those are my pics !! Actually speaking, I wasnt cute at all. No one wanted to even pick me up when I was a kid . 😀 😀 😀

  40. March 26, 2010 2:19 am

    This is such an awww kinda post Vimmuuu. The collage at the end of it specially makes one go awww…

    You ran away from home? For all of a few hours 😀
    reminded me of this ad…I think the jalebi/dhara one 🙂 remember?

    The little kid wants to run away from home…because no one listens to him he feels 😀
    Just one mention of jalebi and he drops his plans 😀

    btw this reminded me I alongwith my brothers had made plans of going on a hunger strike 😀
    I was the gang…err their leader I mean..and we all had made placards too in our scribbly handwriting 😀
    hum bhookh hartal par hain
    You have to meet our demands
    ,em>hamaari maangein poori karo

    needless to say mom was too smart for us 😦 she didnt give a damn (mothers are cruel I tell ya! ) watched TV …all the while eating infront of us…poor us…
    we had to drop our forever hunger strike withing two hours 😦

    Dads are our very own version of superman arent they? Heck!they are superman at that age for us. and even more so for little boys I believe 🙂

    Sherman made the terrible discovery that men make about their fathers sooner or later… that the man before him was not an aging father but a boy, a boy much like himself, a boy who grew up and had a child of his own and, as best he could, out of a sense of duty and, perhaps love, adopted a role called Being a Father so that his child would have something mythical and infinitely important: a Protector, who would keep a lid on all the chaotic and catastrophic possibilities of life. ~Tom Wolfe, The Bonfire of the Vanities
    I have always loved these lines since I dont know when:)

    Loved reading the way your dad tackled that guy..and could almost imagine you…. you…a pint sized kid looking up at your dad with your mouth open with astonishment and admiration….:)

    About your bro?:) Tell me about it…I have seen the kind of bond that exists between both my brothers..where the elder one goes, the little one has to go too:)
    Its bhaiyya this , bhaiyya that….

    If dad was superman for my elder brother then for the younger one his bro is superman 🙂

    And not letting your tattoo fade away? that made me smile 🙂 I can so picture that:) big brothers are so very special:)

    btw that writing everything ulta? Were you a genius or something? coz I cant do that even if I try 😯

    getting zero 😆 for being a super genius in a way 😀

    You were such a cute kid:)
    You know I wont pull your leg this time
    (I do agree with Smita though..yeh ghor parivartan kab aur kaise hua? ) 😀

    But I have always felt that whatever one’s general nature is..I mean the kind of feelings one has towards others…the kind of thoughts that are there in our mind get reflected on our faces…
    So it would be very rare that someone with vindictive thoughts would have face that reflected innocence..(and I am not talking of beauty or cuteness here)

    Most kids are innocence personified aren’t they? They all look alike and cute:)
    You might be wonderign where I am goign with this.

    The point I am trying to make is (dont choke with shock…and if you are drinking your tea/coffee keep it down or you will DEF choke) 😛 that you still have the same face more or less that you had s a kid…that happy go lucky kid is still visible in your face:)
    and it shows in your posts:)

    Dont let the kid in you grow up k?:)

  41. January 12, 2011 11:07 pm

    You were such a cute kiddo… Those pics are so sweet…. 🙂
    Those are such innocent confessions…. 🙂
    Same lines… exactly same…. 😀 I’m so happy that you think I think like you coz others believe I just can not think…. 😀 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Nostalgic Childhood « UmaS Reflections

Leave a comment